OfficeFrustration

OfficeFrustration (http://www.officefrustration.com/index.php)
-   Using Forms (http://www.officefrustration.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Property sheet problem (http://www.officefrustration.com/showthread.php?t=82084)

Jim Orson August 20th, 2004 04:15 AM

Property sheet problem
 
Hello,

I have a strange problem with the property sheet in Access 2003. I have the
Allowable Design Changes set to Design View Only on my form. I leave the
property sheet open when I leave design view and shutdown the database.
When I reopen the database and go to design view, the property sheet is now
closed. I can reopen it with the mouse or the menu, but that is not how I
understand it is supposed to work. I can also reopen the property sheet if
I make even the slightest change in the size of the design view window,
either horizontal or vertical or increase or decrease. If, on the other
hand, I set Allowable Design Changes to All Views, then the property sheet
remains open as it should when the database is reopened. However, I don't
want to allow design changes in all views.

Has anyone seen this behavior and/or know of a way to make the property
sheet work as it should? BTW, this behavior occurs with all my databases on
this computer.

Jim...



Allen Browne August 20th, 2004 04:53 AM

Hi Jim

I can't repro that problem on my installation of Office 2003.

Possible differences:
- Have you applied Service Pack1 for Office 2003 yet?
- Do you have Name AutoCorrect off (Tools | Options | General)?

--
Allen Browne - Microsoft MVP. Perth, Western Australia.
Tips for Access users - http://allenbrowne.com/tips.html
Reply to group, rather than allenbrowne at mvps dot org.

"Jim Orson" wrote in message
...
Hello,

I have a strange problem with the property sheet in Access 2003. I have
the
Allowable Design Changes set to Design View Only on my form. I leave the
property sheet open when I leave design view and shutdown the database.
When I reopen the database and go to design view, the property sheet is
now
closed. I can reopen it with the mouse or the menu, but that is not how I
understand it is supposed to work. I can also reopen the property sheet
if
I make even the slightest change in the size of the design view window,
either horizontal or vertical or increase or decrease. If, on the other
hand, I set Allowable Design Changes to All Views, then the property sheet
remains open as it should when the database is reopened. However, I don't
want to allow design changes in all views.

Has anyone seen this behavior and/or know of a way to make the property
sheet work as it should? BTW, this behavior occurs with all my databases
on
this computer.

Jim...




Jon August 20th, 2004 06:08 AM

I tried out what you described in Access 2002, but here it worked as you
described it should. So I couldn't reproduce what you described either. But
I am very curious as to exactly what you're trying to do that makes this
important. If I hadn't read you post I never would have thought to even try
something like this.

Jon



Jim Orson August 20th, 2004 10:08 AM

Jon,
It is more of an irritant than a problem. When I use design view, I am more
than likely going to examine and/or change properties at some point, and it
would be more convenient to have the property sheet already open. From
experience, it's not a good sign when my system doesn't work the same way as
other people's do under the same apparent circumstances. I have gotten into
the habit of double clicking the box at the intersection of the rulers after
opening design view. BTW, I think you will find that your property sheet
behavior in design view is the same for reports as for forms. I have the
same gremlin for reports as for forms. Maybe service pack 2 will stomp it??
Thanks for your comments.
Jim...

"Jon" wrote in message
...
I tried out what you described in Access 2002, but here it worked as you
described it should. So I couldn't reproduce what you described either.

But
I am very curious as to exactly what you're trying to do that makes this
important. If I hadn't read you post I never would have thought to even

try
something like this.

Jon





Jon August 20th, 2004 04:13 PM

Very interesting. Now that I see now how you're using it, I might try to
work that way too. I wish I had an answer but I wonder if there's not some
other application or form property setting that's changing the behaviour.
Does that same thing happen if you create a new empty database?

Jon




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
OfficeFrustration.com