OfficeFrustration

OfficeFrustration (http://www.officefrustration.com/index.php)
-   Database Design (http://www.officefrustration.com/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Populate a new field in an existing table (http://www.officefrustration.com/showthread.php?t=1117557)

Dominic May 27th, 2010 09:59 PM

Populate a new field in an existing table
 
Hi all

Access 2003:

I have an existing Access table, containing 10,000+ rows called "Printing"
and I have decided to insert a new column called "Financial Year". However,
I am struggling of finding a way to instantly populate this field with the
value "2009-10", without going into each row (I have three more tables to do
this to with 30,000+ rows)

Going forward it will be populated with all the other fields, but I just
need to bring them all up to date first.

Can anyone help out?

Thanks for reading.

DominicB

John W. Vinson May 28th, 2010 12:36 AM

Populate a new field in an existing table
 
On Thu, 27 May 2010 13:59:37 -0700, Dominic
wrote:

Hi all

Access 2003:

I have an existing Access table, containing 10,000+ rows called "Printing"
and I have decided to insert a new column called "Financial Year". However,
I am struggling of finding a way to instantly populate this field with the
value "2009-10", without going into each row (I have three more tables to do
this to with 30,000+ rows)

Going forward it will be populated with all the other fields, but I just
need to bring them all up to date first.

Can anyone help out?

Thanks for reading.

DominicB


This field should simply NOT EXIST AT ALL, if it can be derived from other
data in the table - e.g. a date field.

The Update query Dorian suggests will work nicely, but I really question
whether you're solving the wrong problem!
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]

Dominic May 28th, 2010 02:53 PM

Populate a new field in an existing table
 
Thank you for the advice guys. The information in the field isn't available
elsewhere.

Dorian, the query worked perfectly, and thank you for the heads up on spaces
in column names. This has now been amended.

Dominic

"John W. Vinson" wrote:

On Thu, 27 May 2010 13:59:37 -0700, Dominic
wrote:

Hi all

Access 2003:

I have an existing Access table, containing 10,000+ rows called "Printing"
and I have decided to insert a new column called "Financial Year". However,
I am struggling of finding a way to instantly populate this field with the
value "2009-10", without going into each row (I have three more tables to do
this to with 30,000+ rows)

Going forward it will be populated with all the other fields, but I just
need to bring them all up to date first.

Can anyone help out?

Thanks for reading.

DominicB


This field should simply NOT EXIST AT ALL, if it can be derived from other
data in the table - e.g. a date field.

The Update query Dorian suggests will work nicely, but I really question
whether you're solving the wrong problem!
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
.



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
OfficeFrustration.com