A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » General Discussion
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

How to protect myself without a condom



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 20th, 2010, 03:40 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
ericb
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 76
Default How to protect myself without a condom

Hi, imagine after a year and a half i'm getting to the end this !

I made a runtime application and it seems to work ok.

Now how can I protect the source code as best as possible. I figure their
will always be a crack somewhere but I want to give them a little bit of a
hard time to get the code.

For one thing, how can i disable the shift key when the application starts ?

And what else should i do or you can recommend that i do to protect this
application ?

Is it possible to split a runtime application and lock the structur of the
backend ?

Basically I want to lock this thing down so someone else can use it but not
look inside.

How to protect myself ?

Thank you for the tips.
--
Eric
Ads
  #2  
Old May 20th, 2010, 04:38 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Jerry Whittle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,732
Default How to protect myself without a condom

If you make the database an MDE file, that effectively hides the code in
modules, forms, and reports to where mere mortals can't get to it. Tables,
queries, and macros (for the most part) can still be gotten at.

The next thing to do is to institute user level security on the FE and BE.
That way you can lock down who can do what.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"ericb" wrote:

Hi, imagine after a year and a half i'm getting to the end this !

I made a runtime application and it seems to work ok.

Now how can I protect the source code as best as possible. I figure their
will always be a crack somewhere but I want to give them a little bit of a
hard time to get the code.

For one thing, how can i disable the shift key when the application starts ?

And what else should i do or you can recommend that i do to protect this
application ?

Is it possible to split a runtime application and lock the structur of the
backend ?

Basically I want to lock this thing down so someone else can use it but not
look inside.

How to protect myself ?

Thank you for the tips.
--
Eric

  #3  
Old May 20th, 2010, 08:21 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
ericb
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 76
Default How to protect myself without a condom

If a MDE file is the same as a ACCDE file I have another problem.

I customized the ribbon in my application. So when you start it all you get
is a login and exit button.

So to make a MDE file I have to use the shift key to get the acces ribbon
back. I then save the application as a ACCDE file.

Then I close the DB.

When I reload it i always come back to the ACCESS ribbon and not mine.

So how do I save the application as a ACCDE file and still have my own
ribbon ?

Also, how to remove the shift key bypass?

Thank you.
--
Eric


"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

If you make the database an MDE file, that effectively hides the code in
modules, forms, and reports to where mere mortals can't get to it. Tables,
queries, and macros (for the most part) can still be gotten at.

The next thing to do is to institute user level security on the FE and BE.
That way you can lock down who can do what.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"ericb" wrote:

Hi, imagine after a year and a half i'm getting to the end this !

I made a runtime application and it seems to work ok.

Now how can I protect the source code as best as possible. I figure their
will always be a crack somewhere but I want to give them a little bit of a
hard time to get the code.

For one thing, how can i disable the shift key when the application starts ?

And what else should i do or you can recommend that i do to protect this
application ?

Is it possible to split a runtime application and lock the structur of the
backend ?

Basically I want to lock this thing down so someone else can use it but not
look inside.

How to protect myself ?

Thank you for the tips.
--
Eric

  #4  
Old May 21st, 2010, 01:00 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Jon Lewis[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 40
Default How to protect myself without a condom

See http://www.databasedev.co.uk/disable_shift_bypass.html

Also I can't reproduce your problem when creating a ACCDE file. My custome
ribbon has the ribbon startFromScratch="true" attibute and Access
OptionsCurrent DatabaseRibbon and Toolbar OptionsRibbon Name is set to my
custom ribbon name with Allow Full Menus unchecked. My ACCDE file behaves
the same as my ACCDB.

HTH

Jon

"ericb" wrote in message
...
If a MDE file is the same as a ACCDE file I have another problem.

I customized the ribbon in my application. So when you start it all you
get
is a login and exit button.

So to make a MDE file I have to use the shift key to get the acces ribbon
back. I then save the application as a ACCDE file.

Then I close the DB.

When I reload it i always come back to the ACCESS ribbon and not mine.

So how do I save the application as a ACCDE file and still have my own
ribbon ?

Also, how to remove the shift key bypass?

Thank you.
--
Eric


"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

If you make the database an MDE file, that effectively hides the code in
modules, forms, and reports to where mere mortals can't get to it.
Tables,
queries, and macros (for the most part) can still be gotten at.

The next thing to do is to institute user level security on the FE and
BE.
That way you can lock down who can do what.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"ericb" wrote:

Hi, imagine after a year and a half i'm getting to the end this !

I made a runtime application and it seems to work ok.

Now how can I protect the source code as best as possible. I figure
their
will always be a crack somewhere but I want to give them a little bit
of a
hard time to get the code.

For one thing, how can i disable the shift key when the application
starts ?

And what else should i do or you can recommend that i do to protect
this
application ?

Is it possible to split a runtime application and lock the structur of
the
backend ?

Basically I want to lock this thing down so someone else can use it but
not
look inside.

How to protect myself ?

Thank you for the tips.
--
Eric



  #5  
Old May 21st, 2010, 02:23 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
ericb
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 76
Default How to protect myself without a condom

I set ribbon name and all just like you say.But I can't get it to run properly.

Can it have something to do with the fact that I split the DB first ?


And thank you for the link.


--
Eric


"Jon Lewis" wrote:

See http://www.databasedev.co.uk/disable_shift_bypass.html

Also I can't reproduce your problem when creating a ACCDE file. My custome
ribbon has the ribbon startFromScratch="true" attibute and Access
OptionsCurrent DatabaseRibbon and Toolbar OptionsRibbon Name is set to my
custom ribbon name with Allow Full Menus unchecked. My ACCDE file behaves
the same as my ACCDB.

HTH

Jon

"ericb" wrote in message
...
If a MDE file is the same as a ACCDE file I have another problem.

I customized the ribbon in my application. So when you start it all you
get
is a login and exit button.

So to make a MDE file I have to use the shift key to get the acces ribbon
back. I then save the application as a ACCDE file.

Then I close the DB.

When I reload it i always come back to the ACCESS ribbon and not mine.

So how do I save the application as a ACCDE file and still have my own
ribbon ?

Also, how to remove the shift key bypass?

Thank you.
--
Eric


"Jerry Whittle" wrote:

If you make the database an MDE file, that effectively hides the code in
modules, forms, and reports to where mere mortals can't get to it.
Tables,
queries, and macros (for the most part) can still be gotten at.

The next thing to do is to institute user level security on the FE and
BE.
That way you can lock down who can do what.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"ericb" wrote:

Hi, imagine after a year and a half i'm getting to the end this !

I made a runtime application and it seems to work ok.

Now how can I protect the source code as best as possible. I figure
their
will always be a crack somewhere but I want to give them a little bit
of a
hard time to get the code.

For one thing, how can i disable the shift key when the application
starts ?

And what else should i do or you can recommend that i do to protect
this
application ?

Is it possible to split a runtime application and lock the structur of
the
backend ?

Basically I want to lock this thing down so someone else can use it but
not
look inside.

How to protect myself ?

Thank you for the tips.
--
Eric



.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2020 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.