A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

how to set a certain format



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 25th, 2010, 06:34 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
bhrosey via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 46
Default how to set a certain format

I have what I believe to be a very simple problem for all of you who know
Access better than me. I am using Access 2007 and have a field in my table
where an operator would enter a job number. I want to force them to use a
certain number/text format to insure continuity. Here is a sample of what
some of the job numbers could look like,
09-7654 P/1
10-9076 JD/2.3
09-3425 DS/10.2
10-2579 P/10.12

Thank you for the help. I already figured out how to make sure that caps get
used instead of lowercase.

--
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, so
that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life"

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...esign/201005/1

Ads
  #2  
Old May 25th, 2010, 08:17 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Jerry Whittle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,732
Default how to set a certain format

It looks like that job number has different 'parts' that have meaning. If so
you'd be much better of having them broken down into 3 or 4 different fields.
Then recombine them afterwards. Then you could use things like input masks
and validation rules to ensure that the data entered is most likely correct.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.


"bhrosey via AccessMonster.com" wrote:

I have what I believe to be a very simple problem for all of you who know
Access better than me. I am using Access 2007 and have a field in my table
where an operator would enter a job number. I want to force them to use a
certain number/text format to insure continuity. Here is a sample of what
some of the job numbers could look like,
09-7654 P/1
10-9076 JD/2.3
09-3425 DS/10.2
10-2579 P/10.12

Thank you for the help. I already figured out how to make sure that caps get
used instead of lowercase.

--
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, so
that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life"

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...esign/201005/1

.

  #4  
Old May 25th, 2010, 09:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
bhrosey via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 46
Default how to set a certain format

The job number is already assigned ahead of time. It follows the job from
department to department. I have a field on my form where the job number
gets entered and I just want to make sure that the way it gets entered is
uniform, i.e. the space between the job and the lot #.

Steve wrote:
What would be best is when the job is first created a job number is assigned
and recorded in a job table. Then when any operator needs to add a job
number he selects the job number from a combo box based on the job table.

Steve


I have what I believe to be a very simple problem for all of you who know
Access better than me. I am using Access 2007 and have a field in my

[quoted text clipped - 10 lines]
get
used instead of lowercase.


--
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, so
that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life"

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...esign/201005/1

  #5  
Old May 25th, 2010, 09:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
bhrosey via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 46
Default how to set a certain format

The job number is already assigned ahead of time. It follows the job from
department to department. I have a field on my form where the job number
gets entered and I just want to make sure that the way it gets entered is
uniform, i.e. the space between the job and the lot #.

Steve wrote:
What would be best is when the job is first created a job number is assigned
and recorded in a job table. Then when any operator needs to add a job
number he selects the job number from a combo box based on the job table.

Steve


I have what I believe to be a very simple problem for all of you who know
Access better than me. I am using Access 2007 and have a field in my

[quoted text clipped - 10 lines]
get
used instead of lowercase.


--
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, so
that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life"

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...esign/201005/1

  #6  
Old May 25th, 2010, 09:42 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
bhrosey via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 46
Default how to set a certain format

Jerry, I like your suggestion. I wish I would have thought of that. So to
make sure I follow you, you are basically saying enter the job # (09-8478)
and the lot # (P/1.2) seperately, then I can always concatenate them later on
a report if I want. Thanks for the idea. That should work.

Jerry Whittle wrote:
It looks like that job number has different 'parts' that have meaning. If so
you'd be much better of having them broken down into 3 or 4 different fields.
Then recombine them afterwards. Then you could use things like input masks
and validation rules to ensure that the data entered is most likely correct.
I have what I believe to be a very simple problem for all of you who know
Access better than me. I am using Access 2007 and have a field in my table

[quoted text clipped - 8 lines]
Thank you for the help. I already figured out how to make sure that caps get
used instead of lowercase.


--
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, so
that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life"

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...esign/201005/1

  #7  
Old May 26th, 2010, 02:25 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Steve[_77_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,017
Default how to set a certain format

The job number is already assigned ahead of time.
Perfect! Put it in a table.

I'll bet the lot number is already assigned ahead of time too!! So put it in
a table also.

You can then use a combobox to select the job number and another combobox to
select the lot numer. Once you have these, you can concatenate the two of
them with a space between them.

Viola!!! Your combined job number and lot number gets entered uniformly
one-hundred percent of the time!!!!!

Steve





"bhrosey via AccessMonster.com" [email protected] wrote in message
news:[email protected]
The job number is already assigned ahead of time. It follows the job from
department to department. I have a field on my form where the job number
gets entered and I just want to make sure that the way it gets entered is
uniform, i.e. the space between the job and the lot #.

Steve wrote:
What would be best is when the job is first created a job number is
assigned
and recorded in a job table. Then when any operator needs to add a job
number he selects the job number from a combo box based on the job table.

Steve


I have what I believe to be a very simple problem for all of you who know
Access better than me. I am using Access 2007 and have a field in my

[quoted text clipped - 10 lines]
get
used instead of lowercase.


--
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son,
so
that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life"

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...esign/201005/1



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2020 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.