A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Normalization broken...please help fix



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 31st, 2009, 06:56 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
DumbWithData
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 21
Default Normalization broken...please help fix

I am trying to create an invoice table. This table would include a list of
each employee that worked and their hours, equipment used and its hours, and
materials and their quantities. I know that it would be bad design to have
fields like: employee1, employee2, employee3, employee4, equipment1,
equipment2, etc., but I do not know how to do this otherwise. It seems that
I would need to break this into numerous tables, but I do not know the
relationships these should have…Follow up question: If I can get this to
work, I would also like to be able to make revisions to these invoices
without erasing the original. For example, ‘invoice 1’ would have 10 hours
for a particular employee. Later I decide to change this value, but would
not want to overwrite the previous invoice but instead create a revision…so
now there would be ‘invoice 1’ and ‘invoice 1 rev 1’…is this possible?
  #2  
Old January 31st, 2009, 01:26 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Jeff Boyce
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,555
Default Normalization broken...please help fix

The questions you've posed are fairly general ... the folks who volunteer
their time here tend to focus on providing specific suggestions to specific
issues.

One observation ... a relational database (e.g., Microsoft Access) does NOT
work well if your data is structured like a spreadsheet (e.g., Employee1,
Employee2, ....). Plan on learning about normalization.

Developing an application using Microsoft Access (or any other tool) has a
number of necessary learning curves you'll need to work your way up.

1. how the data need to be organized ... in Access, you need to understand
normalization.
2. how the tool do specific things ... tricks and tips specific to the tool
selected
3. how people work best ... graphical user interface design
4. how to put it all together ... application development process

If you neglect any of these, both you and the tool you select will
"struggle".

If you don't have the time to devote to learning all of these, consider
finding someone who has the time or has already learned these lessons.

Good luck!

--
Regards

Jeff Boyce
www.InformationFutures.net

Microsoft Office/Access MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/

Microsoft IT Academy Program Mentor
http://microsoftitacademy.com/

"DumbWithData" wrote in message
news
I am trying to create an invoice table. This table would include a list

of
each employee that worked and their hours, equipment used and its hours,

and
materials and their quantities. I know that it would be bad design to

have
fields like: employee1, employee2, employee3, employee4, equipment1,
equipment2, etc., but I do not know how to do this otherwise. It seems

that
I would need to break this into numerous tables, but I do not know the
relationships these should have…Follow up question: If I can get this to
work, I would also like to be able to make revisions to these invoices
without erasing the original. For example, ‘invoice 1’ would have 10

hours
for a particular employee. Later I decide to change this value, but would
not want to overwrite the previous invoice but instead create a

revision…so
now there would be ‘invoice 1’ and ‘invoice 1 rev 1’…is this possible?


  #3  
Old February 2nd, 2009, 02:40 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
DumbWithData
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 21
Default Normalization broken...please help fix

Jeff:

Next time I will try to be more specific: If I have a subform inside
of a main form, when I update or edit the primary key in the main form does
this automatically update/edit the contents of its related field in the
subform? For example, I am creating a new invoice with its primary key,
invoice number, being 001. When I enter this, will it also enter this number
in its related field in the subform? If not, is there a way I can do this?

Thank you in advance.


"Jeff Boyce" wrote:

The questions you've posed are fairly general ... the folks who volunteer
their time here tend to focus on providing specific suggestions to specific
issues.

One observation ... a relational database (e.g., Microsoft Access) does NOT
work well if your data is structured like a spreadsheet (e.g., Employee1,
Employee2, ....). Plan on learning about normalization.

Developing an application using Microsoft Access (or any other tool) has a
number of necessary learning curves you'll need to work your way up.

1. how the data need to be organized ... in Access, you need to understand
normalization.
2. how the tool do specific things ... tricks and tips specific to the tool
selected
3. how people work best ... graphical user interface design
4. how to put it all together ... application development process

If you neglect any of these, both you and the tool you select will
"struggle".

If you don't have the time to devote to learning all of these, consider
finding someone who has the time or has already learned these lessons.

Good luck!

--
Regards

Jeff Boyce
www.InformationFutures.net

Microsoft Office/Access MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/

Microsoft IT Academy Program Mentor
http://microsoftitacademy.com/

"DumbWithData" wrote in message
news
I am trying to create an invoice table. This table would include a list

of
each employee that worked and their hours, equipment used and its hours,

and
materials and their quantities. I know that it would be bad design to

have
fields like: employee1, employee2, employee3, employee4, equipment1,
equipment2, etc., but I do not know how to do this otherwise. It seems

that
I would need to break this into numerous tables, but I do not know the
relationships these should have…Follow up question: If I can get this to
work, I would also like to be able to make revisions to these invoices
without erasing the original. For example, ‘invoice 1’ would have 10

hours
for a particular employee. Later I decide to change this value, but would
not want to overwrite the previous invoice but instead create a

revision…so
now there would be ‘invoice 1’ and ‘invoice 1 rev 1’…is this possible?



  #4  
Old February 2nd, 2009, 04:26 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Normalization broken...please help fix

On Sun, 1 Feb 2009 18:40:01 -0800, DumbWithData
wrote:

Jeff:

Next time I will try to be more specific: If I have a subform inside
of a main form, when I update or edit the primary key in the main form does
this automatically update/edit the contents of its related field in the
subform? For example, I am creating a new invoice with its primary key,
invoice number, being 001. When I enter this, will it also enter this number
in its related field in the subform? If not, is there a way I can do this?


If the InvoiceNumber is the master/child link field of the subform, it will be
inherited the instant you enter any data into the subform (not before).

Have you... ummm... tried it to see?
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #5  
Old February 2nd, 2009, 04:53 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
DumbWithData
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 21
Default Normalization broken...please help fix

Thank you John. I have not yet created a subform and thereby have not tried
to this, but now I understand the idea of 'normalization' of tables and how
forms with subforms can make this process uncumbersome.

"John W. Vinson" wrote:

On Sun, 1 Feb 2009 18:40:01 -0800, DumbWithData
wrote:

Jeff:

Next time I will try to be more specific: If I have a subform inside
of a main form, when I update or edit the primary key in the main form does
this automatically update/edit the contents of its related field in the
subform? For example, I am creating a new invoice with its primary key,
invoice number, being 001. When I enter this, will it also enter this number
in its related field in the subform? If not, is there a way I can do this?


If the InvoiceNumber is the master/child link field of the subform, it will be
inherited the instant you enter any data into the subform (not before).

Have you... ummm... tried it to see?
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.