A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Update UnitsInStock



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 23rd, 2010, 12:12 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
HubbyMax
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 35
Default Update UnitsInStock

I have a problem with my UnitsInStock value.

1- Req4 form contains an entry field for QuantityIssued
2- Products2 table that contains the UnitsInStock value.
3- Req4 table contains Request detail data

The forms record source is a query that joins the 2 tables using a product
number.

As it is now the user must manualy change the UnitsInStock on the form by
substracting the QuantityIssued from the current UnitsInStock. I want the
UnitsInStock to update itself after the QuantityIssued is entered. I have
tried AfterUpdate code and expressions with no luck.
  #4  
Old February 23rd, 2010, 03:32 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Al Campagna[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,462
Default Update UnitsInStock

Hubby,
If I understand correctly, it sounds as though every time you Disburse
a quantity of an item, you want to store the UnitsInStock value in a table?
Products2?
What happens in the case or Recieving PartNos?
Please give some table & field names and example values for each type
of transaction.

As a general rule, and particularly in the case of an inventory system.
it is not advisable, or necessary, to store the current UnitsInStock... but
to calculate that value, when needed, on any form, query, or report.
It's not an iron clad rule, but a matter of good practice.

A inventory system can be done very easily with just one table.
PartNo Rcvd Disb TransDate
1234Q 10 0 1/1/10
5162W 22 0 1/1/10
1234Q 0 5 1/7/10
5162W 0 6 1/25/10
1234Q 6 0 1/27/10

The UnitsInStock at any time for each PartNo would be
Sum of Rcvd for a PartNo - Sum of Disb for a PartNo
1234Q = (16 - 5) = 11 UnitsOnHand
and would be calculated on the fly on any form, query, or report.
--
hth
Al Campagna
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2009
http://home.comcast.net/~cccsolutions/index.html

"Find a job that you love... and you'll never work a day in your life."

"HubbyMax" wrote in message
...
I have a problem with my UnitsInStock value.

1- Req4 form contains an entry field for QuantityIssued
2- Products2 table that contains the UnitsInStock value.
3- Req4 table contains Request detail data

The forms record source is a query that joins the 2 tables using a product
number.

As it is now the user must manualy change the UnitsInStock on the form by
substracting the QuantityIssued from the current UnitsInStock. I want the
UnitsInStock to update itself after the QuantityIssued is entered. I have
tried AfterUpdate code and expressions with no luck.



  #5  
Old February 23rd, 2010, 05:17 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
HubbyMax
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 35
Default Update UnitsInStock

I know I am not doing this in the simplest or best way. I will eventually
redo my program to reflect all have learned from this forum but need to find
a way to make my current program work properly.

The UnitsInStock value is stored in the Products2 table. This is the main
table containg most product information.

The Req4 table contains requision information that includes the amount
distributed as QuantityIssued.

The Req4 form is used to enter requision information including
QuantityIssued. This form shows the UnitsInStock so the user can see that the
requested amount is in stock.

In it's simplest form this is what I want to have happen.

User enters QuantityIssued value. After this is entered the QuantiyInStock
is adjusted.

The QuantityInStock should be Products2.QuantityInStock =
Product2.QuantityInStock - Req4.QuantityIssued
"Al Campagna" wrote:

Hubby,
If I understand correctly, it sounds as though every time you Disburse
a quantity of an item, you want to store the UnitsInStock value in a table?
Products2?
What happens in the case or Recieving PartNos?
Please give some table & field names and example values for each type
of transaction.

As a general rule, and particularly in the case of an inventory system.
it is not advisable, or necessary, to store the current UnitsInStock... but
to calculate that value, when needed, on any form, query, or report.
It's not an iron clad rule, but a matter of good practice.

A inventory system can be done very easily with just one table.
PartNo Rcvd Disb TransDate
1234Q 10 0 1/1/10
5162W 22 0 1/1/10
1234Q 0 5 1/7/10
5162W 0 6 1/25/10
1234Q 6 0 1/27/10

The UnitsInStock at any time for each PartNo would be
Sum of Rcvd for a PartNo - Sum of Disb for a PartNo
1234Q = (16 - 5) = 11 UnitsOnHand
and would be calculated on the fly on any form, query, or report.
--
hth
Al Campagna
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2009
http://home.comcast.net/~cccsolutions/index.html

"Find a job that you love... and you'll never work a day in your life."

"HubbyMax" wrote in message
...
I have a problem with my UnitsInStock value.

1- Req4 form contains an entry field for QuantityIssued
2- Products2 table that contains the UnitsInStock value.
3- Req4 table contains Request detail data

The forms record source is a query that joins the 2 tables using a product
number.

As it is now the user must manualy change the UnitsInStock on the form by
substracting the QuantityIssued from the current UnitsInStock. I want the
UnitsInStock to update itself after the QuantityIssued is entered. I have
tried AfterUpdate code and expressions with no luck.



.

  #6  
Old February 23rd, 2010, 06:07 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Al Campagna[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,462
Default Update UnitsInStock

HubbyMax,
You still haven't answered my question/s.
What happens in the case of Recieving PartNos?
Please give some table & field names and example values for each type
of transaction.

If you had 100 UnitsInStock (for P/N 1234) already, and received 50
more for stocking, how would you update the UnitsInStock in Products2?
Would you go into Products2 table and update the quantity to 150?

Once I know how Receiving and Disbursing are handled now, we can decide
how to proceed.
--
hth
Al Campagna
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2009
http://home.comcast.net/~cccsolutions/index.html

"Find a job that you love... and you'll never work a day in your life."


"HubbyMax" wrote in message
...
I know I am not doing this in the simplest or best way. I will eventually
redo my program to reflect all have learned from this forum but need to
find
a way to make my current program work properly.

The UnitsInStock value is stored in the Products2 table. This is the main
table containg most product information.

The Req4 table contains requision information that includes the amount
distributed as QuantityIssued.

The Req4 form is used to enter requision information including
QuantityIssued. This form shows the UnitsInStock so the user can see that
the
requested amount is in stock.

In it's simplest form this is what I want to have happen.

User enters QuantityIssued value. After this is entered the QuantiyInStock
is adjusted.

The QuantityInStock should be Products2.QuantityInStock =
Product2.QuantityInStock - Req4.QuantityIssued
"Al Campagna" wrote:

Hubby,
If I understand correctly, it sounds as though every time you
Disburse
a quantity of an item, you want to store the UnitsInStock value in a
table?
Products2?
What happens in the case or Recieving PartNos?
Please give some table & field names and example values for each type
of transaction.

As a general rule, and particularly in the case of an inventory
system.
it is not advisable, or necessary, to store the current UnitsInStock...
but
to calculate that value, when needed, on any form, query, or report.
It's not an iron clad rule, but a matter of good practice.

A inventory system can be done very easily with just one table.
PartNo Rcvd Disb TransDate
1234Q 10 0 1/1/10
5162W 22 0 1/1/10
1234Q 0 5 1/7/10
5162W 0 6 1/25/10
1234Q 6 0 1/27/10

The UnitsInStock at any time for each PartNo would be
Sum of Rcvd for a PartNo - Sum of Disb for a PartNo
1234Q = (16 - 5) = 11 UnitsOnHand
and would be calculated on the fly on any form, query, or report.
--
hth
Al Campagna
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2009
http://home.comcast.net/~cccsolutions/index.html

"Find a job that you love... and you'll never work a day in your
life."

"HubbyMax" wrote in message
...
I have a problem with my UnitsInStock value.

1- Req4 form contains an entry field for QuantityIssued
2- Products2 table that contains the UnitsInStock value.
3- Req4 table contains Request detail data

The forms record source is a query that joins the 2 tables using a
product
number.

As it is now the user must manualy change the UnitsInStock on the form
by
substracting the QuantityIssued from the current UnitsInStock. I want
the
UnitsInStock to update itself after the QuantityIssued is entered. I
have
tried AfterUpdate code and expressions with no luck.



.



  #7  
Old February 23rd, 2010, 11:40 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
HubbyMax
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 35
Default Update UnitsInStock

I'm very sorry I forgot to include some info. When items are recieved it is
entered on the Products2 form based on the Products2 table. The addition is
added by a formula, UnitsInStock + AddUnits = TotalUnits. UnitsInStock is
then replaced by the TotalUnits amount by an AfterUpdate event in the
AddUnits field using Me! statements. These controls are in the Products2
table so this works fine.

StockNu UnitsInStock AddUnits TotalUnits
1001 10 10 20

Items going out are handled by the Req4 form. This form is based on a query
that joins the Products2 table with the Req4 table using the StockNu in both.

Products2.StockNu Products2.UnitsInStock Req4.QuantityIssued
Req4.StockNu

1001 20
10

Products2.UnitsInStock for 1001 should change to 10.


"Al Campagna" wrote:

HubbyMax,
You still haven't answered my question/s.
What happens in the case of Recieving PartNos?
Please give some table & field names and example values for each type
of transaction.

If you had 100 UnitsInStock (for P/N 1234) already, and received 50
more for stocking, how would you update the UnitsInStock in Products2?
Would you go into Products2 table and update the quantity to 150?

Once I know how Receiving and Disbursing are handled now, we can decide
how to proceed.
--
hth
Al Campagna
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2009
http://home.comcast.net/~cccsolutions/index.html

"Find a job that you love... and you'll never work a day in your life."


"HubbyMax" wrote in message
...
I know I am not doing this in the simplest or best way. I will eventually
redo my program to reflect all have learned from this forum but need to
find
a way to make my current program work properly.

The UnitsInStock value is stored in the Products2 table. This is the main
table containg most product information.

The Req4 table contains requision information that includes the amount
distributed as QuantityIssued.

The Req4 form is used to enter requision information including
QuantityIssued. This form shows the UnitsInStock so the user can see that
the
requested amount is in stock.

In it's simplest form this is what I want to have happen.

User enters QuantityIssued value. After this is entered the QuantiyInStock
is adjusted.

The QuantityInStock should be Products2.QuantityInStock =
Product2.QuantityInStock - Req4.QuantityIssued
"Al Campagna" wrote:

Hubby,
If I understand correctly, it sounds as though every time you
Disburse
a quantity of an item, you want to store the UnitsInStock value in a
table?
Products2?
What happens in the case or Recieving PartNos?
Please give some table & field names and example values for each type
of transaction.

As a general rule, and particularly in the case of an inventory
system.
it is not advisable, or necessary, to store the current UnitsInStock...
but
to calculate that value, when needed, on any form, query, or report.
It's not an iron clad rule, but a matter of good practice.

A inventory system can be done very easily with just one table.
PartNo Rcvd Disb TransDate
1234Q 10 0 1/1/10
5162W 22 0 1/1/10
1234Q 0 5 1/7/10
5162W 0 6 1/25/10
1234Q 6 0 1/27/10

The UnitsInStock at any time for each PartNo would be
Sum of Rcvd for a PartNo - Sum of Disb for a PartNo
1234Q = (16 - 5) = 11 UnitsOnHand
and would be calculated on the fly on any form, query, or report.
--
hth
Al Campagna
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2009
http://home.comcast.net/~cccsolutions/index.html

"Find a job that you love... and you'll never work a day in your
life."

"HubbyMax" wrote in message
...
I have a problem with my UnitsInStock value.

1- Req4 form contains an entry field for QuantityIssued
2- Products2 table that contains the UnitsInStock value.
3- Req4 table contains Request detail data

The forms record source is a query that joins the 2 tables using a
product
number.

As it is now the user must manualy change the UnitsInStock on the form
by
substracting the QuantityIssued from the current UnitsInStock. I want
the
UnitsInStock to update itself after the QuantityIssued is entered. I
have
tried AfterUpdate code and expressions with no luck.


.



.

  #8  
Old February 24th, 2010, 12:10 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Al Campagna[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,462
Default Update UnitsInStock

HubbyMax,
That's what I thought...
As I mentioned, this is not the way to do it, but...

Use a Dlookup to display the current value of QuantityInStock, for that
P/N on form Req4.
You'll then need to do an Update query on the AfterUpdate event of
QuantityIssued, on Req4... against tblProduct2.
That Update query will add -QuantityIssued to the current value of
QuanitityInStock
for that particular PartNo.
After the Update query runs, you'll need to Refresh/Requery the
Req4 form, so that the QuantityInStock DLookup will recalculate to the new
value.

If you have any further problems keeping track of UnitsInStock, then I
would
strongly suggest you abandon this design for a more stable Credit/Debit
system of
Inventory control.
--
hth
Al Campagna
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2009
http://home.comcast.net/~cccsolutions/index.html

"Find a job that you love... and you'll never work a day in your life."

"HubbyMax" wrote in message
...
I'm very sorry I forgot to include some info. When items are recieved it
is
entered on the Products2 form based on the Products2 table. The addition
is
added by a formula, UnitsInStock + AddUnits = TotalUnits. UnitsInStock is
then replaced by the TotalUnits amount by an AfterUpdate event in the
AddUnits field using Me! statements. These controls are in the Products2
table so this works fine.

StockNu UnitsInStock AddUnits TotalUnits
1001 10 10 20

Items going out are handled by the Req4 form. This form is based on a
query
that joins the Products2 table with the Req4 table using the StockNu in
both.

Products2.StockNu Products2.UnitsInStock Req4.QuantityIssued
Req4.StockNu

1001 20
10

Products2.UnitsInStock for 1001 should change to 10.


"Al Campagna" wrote:

HubbyMax,
You still haven't answered my question/s.
What happens in the case of Recieving PartNos?
Please give some table & field names and example values for each
type
of transaction.

If you had 100 UnitsInStock (for P/N 1234) already, and received 50
more for stocking, how would you update the UnitsInStock in Products2?
Would you go into Products2 table and update the quantity to 150?

Once I know how Receiving and Disbursing are handled now, we can
decide
how to proceed.
--
hth
Al Campagna
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2009
http://home.comcast.net/~cccsolutions/index.html

"Find a job that you love... and you'll never work a day in your
life."


"HubbyMax" wrote in message
...
I know I am not doing this in the simplest or best way. I will
eventually
redo my program to reflect all have learned from this forum but need to
find
a way to make my current program work properly.

The UnitsInStock value is stored in the Products2 table. This is the
main
table containg most product information.

The Req4 table contains requision information that includes the amount
distributed as QuantityIssued.

The Req4 form is used to enter requision information including
QuantityIssued. This form shows the UnitsInStock so the user can see
that
the
requested amount is in stock.

In it's simplest form this is what I want to have happen.

User enters QuantityIssued value. After this is entered the
QuantiyInStock
is adjusted.

The QuantityInStock should be Products2.QuantityInStock =
Product2.QuantityInStock - Req4.QuantityIssued
"Al Campagna" wrote:

Hubby,
If I understand correctly, it sounds as though every time you
Disburse
a quantity of an item, you want to store the UnitsInStock value in a
table?
Products2?
What happens in the case or Recieving PartNos?
Please give some table & field names and example values for each
type
of transaction.

As a general rule, and particularly in the case of an inventory
system.
it is not advisable, or necessary, to store the current
UnitsInStock...
but
to calculate that value, when needed, on any form, query, or report.
It's not an iron clad rule, but a matter of good practice.

A inventory system can be done very easily with just one table.
PartNo Rcvd Disb TransDate
1234Q 10 0 1/1/10
5162W 22 0 1/1/10
1234Q 0 5 1/7/10
5162W 0 6 1/25/10
1234Q 6 0 1/27/10

The UnitsInStock at any time for each PartNo would be
Sum of Rcvd for a PartNo - Sum of Disb for a PartNo
1234Q = (16 - 5) = 11 UnitsOnHand
and would be calculated on the fly on any form, query, or report.
--
hth
Al Campagna
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2009
http://home.comcast.net/~cccsolutions/index.html

"Find a job that you love... and you'll never work a day in your
life."

"HubbyMax" wrote in message
...
I have a problem with my UnitsInStock value.

1- Req4 form contains an entry field for QuantityIssued
2- Products2 table that contains the UnitsInStock value.
3- Req4 table contains Request detail data

The forms record source is a query that joins the 2 tables using a
product
number.

As it is now the user must manualy change the UnitsInStock on the
form
by
substracting the QuantityIssued from the current UnitsInStock. I
want
the
UnitsInStock to update itself after the QuantityIssued is entered. I
have
tried AfterUpdate code and expressions with no luck.


.



.



  #9  
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:34 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
PieterLinden via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 307
Default Update UnitsInStock

HubbyMax,

You might want to look at Allen Browne's Inventory/Quantity on Hand DB on his
website... it would at least give you an idea of how you could do this
(without reinventing the wheel).

http://www.allenbrowne.com/AppInventory.html

--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...arted/201002/1

  #10  
Old February 26th, 2010, 10:05 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted
Fred
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,451
Default Update UnitsInStock

I kind of divide the possibilities of overall approach into three:

1. A table of all transactions (including the initial entry as a
"transaction") and then current inventory is calculated (by a report or
form) as a sum of all transactions. I think Allen's is of this type.

2. A table with current inventory quantities. edited by hand for all
changes.

3. A table with current inventory quantities, and tables which hold all
transactions (sales, purchase, adjustments, use for manufacture, creation by
manufacture etc. ). And then procedures have each of one these modify
inventory values once and only once. All of the "run your whole company"
softwares do this.

I think that you are trying to do #3, which is exceedingly complicated.
I've not seen any templates or example DB's which do this.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.