A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

checking acct form... help with filter



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 12th, 2005, 05:43 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default checking acct form... help with filter

good day all,

Currently I have two different forms setup along with two different
queries based on my tblcheckingaccout

The reason being is that I have :

frmchecking (continuos form) - qrycheckingaccount - contains only those
records that have not be reconciled (ckbox reconciled is false)

frmcheckingfullrpting (continuos form) - qrycheckingaccountfullrpting
(contains all records)

both the forms have the same layout and fields:

ID
Reconciled
Description
Debit
Credit

there is also a frmcheckingAdd/Edit that has account type, reference,
charge catagory and I open it based on the ID from main form to this form.

What I am wanting to do is have one form, that would default and open up
to all records, but have button (checking acct) and only those records that
matched the following criteria (reconciled = false, account type = checking)
are true.

How would I go about doing this?

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Brook


  #2  
Old December 12th, 2005, 02:56 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default checking acct form... help with filter

Look at the filter property on the form.

HTH;

Amy

"Brook" wrote in message
...
good day all,

Currently I have two different forms setup along with two different
queries based on my tblcheckingaccout

The reason being is that I have :

frmchecking (continuos form) - qrycheckingaccount - contains only those
records that have not be reconciled (ckbox reconciled is false)

frmcheckingfullrpting (continuos form) - qrycheckingaccountfullrpting
(contains all records)

both the forms have the same layout and fields:

ID
Reconciled
Description
Debit
Credit

there is also a frmcheckingAdd/Edit that has account type, reference,
charge catagory and I open it based on the ID from main form to this form.

What I am wanting to do is have one form, that would default and open up
to all records, but have button (checking acct) and only those records
that
matched the following criteria (reconciled = false, account type =
checking)
are true.

How would I go about doing this?

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Brook




  #3  
Old December 12th, 2005, 03:23 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default checking acct form... help with filter

What do you mean? that is the point of my question...

how do I set up a filter based on two properties


Brook

"Amy Blankenship" wrote:

Look at the filter property on the form.

HTH;

Amy

"Brook" wrote in message
...
good day all,

Currently I have two different forms setup along with two different
queries based on my tblcheckingaccout

The reason being is that I have :

frmchecking (continuos form) - qrycheckingaccount - contains only those
records that have not be reconciled (ckbox reconciled is false)

frmcheckingfullrpting (continuos form) - qrycheckingaccountfullrpting
(contains all records)

both the forms have the same layout and fields:

ID
Reconciled
Description
Debit
Credit

there is also a frmcheckingAdd/Edit that has account type, reference,
charge catagory and I open it based on the ID from main form to this form.

What I am wanting to do is have one form, that would default and open up
to all records, but have button (checking acct) and only those records
that
matched the following criteria (reconciled = false, account type =
checking)
are true.

How would I go about doing this?

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Brook





  #4  
Old December 12th, 2005, 05:28 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default checking acct form... help with filter

Brook,

Here is a quick example for you that will use the same
button to apply filter and change the button caption as
needed:


If Me.FilterOn = True Then
Me.FilterOn = False
Me!YourCommandButtonName.Caption = "Unreconciled Checks
Only"
Else
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [Account Type] =
'Checking'"
Me.FilterOn = True
Me!YourCommandButtonName.Caption = "Show All Entries"
End If

You will need to modify this for your command button name

HTH

--
Gary Miller
Sisters, OR

"Brook" wrote in message
...

What do you mean? that is the point of my question...

how do I set up a filter based on two properties



  #5  
Old December 12th, 2005, 06:40 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default checking acct form... help with filter

Gary,

thnaks for the post, I added the code but am getting a run-time error "2448".

You cannot assign a value to this object.

When I click the debug button it goes to this portion of code:

Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] =" 'Checking'"

Brook



"Gary Miller" wrote:

Brook,

Here is a quick example for you that will use the same
button to apply filter and change the button caption as
needed:


If Me.FilterOn = True Then
Me.FilterOn = False
Me!YourCommandButtonName.Caption = "Unreconciled Checks
Only"
Else
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [Account Type] =
'Checking'"
Me.FilterOn = True
Me!YourCommandButtonName.Caption = "Show All Entries"
End If

You will need to modify this for your command button name

HTH

--
Gary Miller
Sisters, OR

"Brook" wrote in message
...

What do you mean? that is the point of my question...

how do I set up a filter based on two properties




  #6  
Old December 12th, 2005, 06:47 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default checking acct form... help with filter

Brook,

It may be that you have an extra quote in your criteria line
after [accounttype]

This...
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] ="
'Checking'"
should be...
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] =
'Checking'"

Also, double check that your AllowFilters property for the
form is set to true in the Data tab of the form properties.


--
Gary Miller
Sisters, OR

"Brook" wrote in message
...
Gary,

thnaks for the post, I added the code but am getting a
run-time error "2448".

You cannot assign a value to this object.

When I click the debug button it goes to this portion of
code:

Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] ="
'Checking'"

Brook



  #7  
Old December 12th, 2005, 10:02 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default checking acct form... help with filter

Thank you very much....

That was perfect!

have a wonderful day...

Brook

"Gary Miller" wrote:

Brook,

It may be that you have an extra quote in your criteria line
after [accounttype]

This...
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] ="
'Checking'"
should be...
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] =
'Checking'"

Also, double check that your AllowFilters property for the
form is set to true in the Data tab of the form properties.


--
Gary Miller
Sisters, OR

"Brook" wrote in message
...
Gary,

thnaks for the post, I added the code but am getting a
run-time error "2448".

You cannot assign a value to this object.

When I click the debug button it goes to this portion of
code:

Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] ="
'Checking'"

Brook




  #8  
Old December 13th, 2005, 02:32 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default checking acct form... help with filter

Gary,

I have another question for you, what if I want the accounttype of contain
multiple names for the filter? I.E. 'Checking' and/or 'checking/Expense'.

Thanks,

Brook

"Gary Miller" wrote:

Brook,

It may be that you have an extra quote in your criteria line
after [accounttype]

This...
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] ="
'Checking'"
should be...
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] =
'Checking'"

Also, double check that your AllowFilters property for the
form is set to true in the Data tab of the form properties.


--
Gary Miller
Sisters, OR

"Brook" wrote in message
...
Gary,

thnaks for the post, I added the code but am getting a
run-time error "2448".

You cannot assign a value to this object.

When I click the debug button it goes to this portion of
code:

Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] ="
'Checking'"

Brook




  #9  
Old December 13th, 2005, 03:50 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default checking acct form... help with filter

Brook,

Now you are getting toward full functionality! If you have
covered your bases well with your design, you are pulling
the account types from a table, hopefully using a combobox
to limit the users choices when they fill out a check on the
register.

If you do have a lookup table you can create a combobox to
select between 'Checking', 'Checking/Expense' or whatever
other types you have. Now you can reference the whatever the
content of that combobox is when you run your filter.
Assuming that you are always toggling between 'All' and
different types of unreconciled you could change the earlier
code to something like...

Dim strType as string

' Pick up the value of the combo or zero length string if
empty
strType = Nz(cboAccountType),"")


If Me.FilterOn = True Then
Me.FilterOn = False
Me!YourCommandButtonName.Caption = "Unreconciled Checks
Only"
Else
' If the entry length is longer than zero (a type was
selected)
If Len(strType) 0 Then
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = False AND [accounttype] = '"
&
Me!cboAccountType & "'"
Else
' Show all UnReconciled regardless of type
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = False
End If
Me.FilterOn = True
Me!YourCommandButtonName.Caption = "Show All Entries"
End If

Be careful on the line where you reference the combobox. For
a string data type that should read...

[accounttype] equals singlequote doublequote ampersand
Me!cboAccountType ampersand doublequote singlequote
doublequote

Sometimes things like this will be triggered directly from
the combobox AfterUpdate. You will have to modify your
button captions, of course.

--
Gary Miller
Sisters, OR



"Brook" wrote in message
...
Gary,

I have another question for you, what if I want the
accounttype of contain
multiple names for the filter? I.E. 'Checking' and/or
'checking/Expense'.

Thanks,

Brook

"Gary Miller" wrote:

Brook,

It may be that you have an extra quote in your criteria
line
after [accounttype]

This...
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] ="
'Checking'"
should be...
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] =
'Checking'"

Also, double check that your AllowFilters property for
the
form is set to true in the Data tab of the form
properties.


--
Gary Miller
Sisters, OR

"Brook" wrote in
message
...
Gary,

thnaks for the post, I added the code but am getting a
run-time error "2448".

You cannot assign a value to this object.

When I click the debug button it goes to this portion
of
code:

Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] ="
'Checking'"

Brook






  #10  
Old December 13th, 2005, 04:06 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default checking acct form... help with filter

Gary,

Actually I only want to toggle between the following :

All Records and Records containing Accounttype as (Checking, Checking /
Expense & Checking / Loan).

Is this clear?

Brook

"Gary Miller" wrote:

Brook,

Now you are getting toward full functionality! If you have
covered your bases well with your design, you are pulling
the account types from a table, hopefully using a combobox
to limit the users choices when they fill out a check on the
register.

If you do have a lookup table you can create a combobox to
select between 'Checking', 'Checking/Expense' or whatever
other types you have. Now you can reference the whatever the
content of that combobox is when you run your filter.
Assuming that you are always toggling between 'All' and
different types of unreconciled you could change the earlier
code to something like...

Dim strType as string

' Pick up the value of the combo or zero length string if
empty
strType = Nz(cboAccountType),"")


If Me.FilterOn = True Then
Me.FilterOn = False
Me!YourCommandButtonName.Caption = "Unreconciled Checks
Only"
Else
' If the entry length is longer than zero (a type was
selected)
If Len(strType) 0 Then
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = False AND [accounttype] = '"
&
Me!cboAccountType & "'"
Else
' Show all UnReconciled regardless of type
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = False
End If
Me.FilterOn = True
Me!YourCommandButtonName.Caption = "Show All Entries"
End If

Be careful on the line where you reference the combobox. For
a string data type that should read...

[accounttype] equals singlequote doublequote ampersand
Me!cboAccountType ampersand doublequote singlequote
doublequote

Sometimes things like this will be triggered directly from
the combobox AfterUpdate. You will have to modify your
button captions, of course.

--
Gary Miller
Sisters, OR



"Brook" wrote in message
...
Gary,

I have another question for you, what if I want the
accounttype of contain
multiple names for the filter? I.E. 'Checking' and/or
'checking/Expense'.

Thanks,

Brook

"Gary Miller" wrote:

Brook,

It may be that you have an extra quote in your criteria
line
after [accounttype]

This...
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] ="
'Checking'"
should be...
Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] =
'Checking'"

Also, double check that your AllowFilters property for
the
form is set to true in the Data tab of the form
properties.


--
Gary Miller
Sisters, OR

"Brook" wrote in
message
...
Gary,

thnaks for the post, I added the code but am getting a
run-time error "2448".

You cannot assign a value to this object.

When I click the debug button it goes to this portion
of
code:

Me.Filter = "[Reconciled] = True AND [accounttype] ="
'Checking'"

Brook






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Move feild entries from form to form using global variables JackCGW General Discussion 11 November 14th, 2005 05:22 AM
Tell if Form is a Dialog Alex Using Forms 7 August 30th, 2005 06:22 PM
Need Help In Printing Current Record in Specific Report RNUSZ@OKDPS Setting Up & Running Reports 1 May 16th, 2005 09:06 PM
Need query to separate 2 entry types in a table field Jan Il Running & Setting Up Queries 31 November 23rd, 2004 05:57 PM
dlookup miaplacidus Using Forms 9 August 5th, 2004 09:16 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.