A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Creating databases manually?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 7th, 2007, 07:35 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted,microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Cody
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 27
Default Creating databases manually?

Hi,
I am suposed to create a database manually. By this I mean using SQL
statements. I am unable to figure out how this is done though. The only way I
can see how to create a database is to use the wizards and such in Access,
but I am not supposed to use that method. I am not seeing anywhere where SQL
statements can be entered. Or is this done in command prompt somehow? If it
makes any difference, I am using Access 2003.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!
  #2  
Old February 7th, 2007, 07:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted,microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Jerry Whittle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,732
Default Creating databases manually?

I know how to do this in Oracle as you can have Oracle and SQL*Plus running
without a database open. Believe it or not the following will create an
Oracle database using defaults.

CREATE DATABASE;

Then on to things like creating tablespaces, users, tables, etc.

I don't have a clue how you'd do something similer inside Access as you have
to have a database open to get to a SQL window in the first place.
--
Jerry Whittle, Microsoft Access MVP
Light. Strong. Cheap. Pick two. Keith Bontrager - Bicycle Builder.

"Cody" wrote:

Hi,
I am suposed to create a database manually. By this I mean using SQL
statements. I am unable to figure out how this is done though. The only way I
can see how to create a database is to use the wizards and such in Access,
but I am not supposed to use that method. I am not seeing anywhere where SQL
statements can be entered. Or is this done in command prompt somehow? If it
makes any difference, I am using Access 2003.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

  #3  
Old February 7th, 2007, 09:17 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted,microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Creating databases manually?

On Wed, 7 Feb 2007 11:35:02 -0800, Cody
wrote:

Hi,
I am suposed to create a database manually. By this I mean using SQL
statements. I am unable to figure out how this is done though. The only way I
can see how to create a database is to use the wizards and such in Access,
but I am not supposed to use that method. I am not seeing anywhere where SQL
statements can be entered. Or is this done in command prompt somehow? If it
makes any difference, I am using Access 2003.


Whoever assigned you this task apparently is not knowledgable about
Access, since neither Access SQL nor SQL/Server SQL has any commands
to create an Access Database container.

Are you sure that the assignment isn't to create a Table, rather than
a Database? An Access Database is the container file for multiple
tables, forms, reports, and queries - and you certainly *can* use a
Create Table query to create a Table within a database.

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #4  
Old February 7th, 2007, 09:28 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted,microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default Creating databases manually?

Jerry is correct. I don't believe you can create a database without an
instance of Access open. Maybe this is a terminology issue. When you use
the word "database" do you mean create a new table in the database?
If so, you need to do look in the VBA Help file and find the information on
Data Definiition SQL. It will show examples on how you create a table,
define the fields, and the properties of the fields.
--
Dave Hargis, Microsoft Access MVP


"Cody" wrote:

Hi,
I am suposed to create a database manually. By this I mean using SQL
statements. I am unable to figure out how this is done though. The only way I
can see how to create a database is to use the wizards and such in Access,
but I am not supposed to use that method. I am not seeing anywhere where SQL
statements can be entered. Or is this done in command prompt somehow? If it
makes any difference, I am using Access 2003.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

  #5  
Old February 7th, 2007, 11:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted,microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Cody
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 27
Default Creating databases manually?

Sorry, I was in a bit of a rush. I meant to say table instead of database,
but I think I figured it out.

I went to "Create query in Design view". Then closed the "Show Table"
window. Then finally switched the view to "SQL View".

I'm assuming this is the way to do it, but if there are other methods to
create tables using SQL, let me know.

Thanks.


"Cody" wrote:

Hi,
I am suposed to create a database manually. By this I mean using SQL
statements. I am unable to figure out how this is done though. The only way I
can see how to create a database is to use the wizards and such in Access,
but I am not supposed to use that method. I am not seeing anywhere where SQL
statements can be entered. Or is this done in command prompt somehow? If it
makes any difference, I am using Access 2003.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

  #6  
Old February 8th, 2007, 01:43 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted,microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Creating databases manually?

On Wed, 7 Feb 2007 15:04:06 -0800, Cody
wrote:

Sorry, I was in a bit of a rush. I meant to say table instead of database,
but I think I figured it out.

I went to "Create query in Design view". Then closed the "Show Table"
window. Then finally switched the view to "SQL View".

I'm assuming this is the way to do it, but if there are other methods to
create tables using SQL, let me know.


Well, what you describe will let you create a Query in SQL by typing
it in. If that query is a DDL Create Table query with the proper
syntax, it can be executed and will indeed create a table.

But that's a bit like saying that opening a New Document in Word is
how you can create an elegant sonnet. Sure, if you type it in right...

Have you looked at the online help for the queries as suggested?

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #7  
Old February 8th, 2007, 02:19 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Jamie Collins
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,705
Default Creating databases manually?

On Feb 7, 11:04 pm, Cody wrote:
if there are other methods to
create tables using SQL, let me know.


There are many SQL DDL examples in the following article:

Intermediate Microsoft Jet SQL for Access 2000
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...ffice.10).aspx

Jamie.

--


  #8  
Old February 8th, 2007, 04:38 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.gettingstarted,microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Tim Ferguson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 142
Default Creating databases manually?

=?Utf-8?B?S2xhdHV1?= wrote in
:

I don't believe you can create a database without an
instance of Access open.


'
' do this in Excel or vbs or powerpoint etc etc
' the original of this was a working script but I've edited
' it here for clarity, so it's no longer guaranteed!!
'

Dim dbe ' As Object in VBA
Dim db ' As Object in VBA

Const newMDBFile = "r:\TempData\MyMDB.mdb"

Set dbe = CreateObject("DAO.DBEngine.36")

If Len(Dir(newMDBFile))0 Then Kill strMDBFile

Set db = dbe.CreateDatabase(newMDBFile, _
";LANGID=0x0409;CP=1252;COUNTRY=0", _
64)

db.Execute _
"CREATE TABLE MyTable ( " & _
" MyCounter COUNTER PRIMARY KEY, " & _
" MyName TEXT(32) NULL, " & _
" MyBirthday DATETIME NOT NULL " & _
");", _
dbFailOnError

db.Execute _
"INSERT INTO MyTable (MyName, MyBirthday) " & _
"VALUES ( ""Tim"", #2008-12-25# );", _
dbFailOnError

db.Close


' Hope that helps


Tim F

  #9  
Old February 8th, 2007, 09:43 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Creating databases manually?

On 8 Feb 2007 06:19:57 -0800, "Jamie Collins"
wrote:

There are many SQL DDL examples in the following article:

Intermediate Microsoft Jet SQL for Access 2000
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...ffice.10).aspx


Thanks, Jamie!

John W. Vinson [MVP]
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.