A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Newbie: Multiple records to one customer



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 17th, 2004, 06:33 PM
Bill Craig
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Newbie: Multiple records to one customer

This I am sure is a newbie question, but one that I am
having a hard time with. I am creating a repairs database
and I have a table for my repair tickets, for my
customers, for my repair locations, and for my parts. The
problem I am having is when doing a repair I have some
(repairs) that use multiple parts. I want the tech to be
able to choose from a menu the parts(from the parts table)
that they use. And like I said, there will be multiple
parts.

Right now I have it set up as the following:
Repair Table:
there is a field for repair parts.

Parts Table:
Field: PartNumber, text (key)
Field: PartDescription, text
Field: PartVendor, text
Field: PartWholesale
Field: PartRetail

Please help. I think I might be going at this the wrong
way, but I am not sure what the right way is.

Thanks,
Bill Craig
Leesburg Hobbies & Collectibles


  #2  
Old June 17th, 2004, 08:48 PM
rpw
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Newbie: Multiple records to one customer

Hey Bill,

It looked to me like this was a classic order entry type app. I was able to create a new db from template (order entry). The Products table in the template is very similar to your Parts table. You might want to make up a sample db using the template just to see how the various parts (tables, forms, etc) work together.

As far as your actual parts table structure, I'll suggest just a few changes:

tblParts 'do a search on naming conventions for explanation of this.....
PartNumberID 'autonumber PK
PartDescription 'text
VendorID 'foreign key from a vendor table
PartWhsle 'currency
PartRetail 'currency

hth
--
rpw


"Bill Craig" wrote:

This I am sure is a newbie question, but one that I am
having a hard time with. I am creating a repairs database
and I have a table for my repair tickets, for my
customers, for my repair locations, and for my parts. The
problem I am having is when doing a repair I have some
(repairs) that use multiple parts. I want the tech to be
able to choose from a menu the parts(from the parts table)
that they use. And like I said, there will be multiple
parts.

Right now I have it set up as the following:
Repair Table:
there is a field for repair parts.

Parts Table:
Field: PartNumber, text (key)
Field: PartDescription, text
Field: PartVendor, text
Field: PartWholesale
Field: PartRetail

Please help. I think I might be going at this the wrong
way, but I am not sure what the right way is.

Thanks,
Bill Craig
Leesburg Hobbies & Collectibles



  #3  
Old June 17th, 2004, 09:04 PM
rpw
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Newbie: Multiple records to one customer

Just one more thing....

The VendorID (the foreign key) field should be 'Long Integer' so that the field type will match the autonumber PK of the vendor table.

--
rpw


"rpw" wrote:

Hey Bill,

It looked to me like this was a classic order entry type app. I was able to create a new db from template (order entry). The Products table in the template is very similar to your Parts table. You might want to make up a sample db using the template just to see how the various parts (tables, forms, etc) work together.

As far as your actual parts table structure, I'll suggest just a few changes:

tblParts 'do a search on naming conventions for explanation of this.....
PartNumberID 'autonumber PK
PartDescription 'text
VendorID 'foreign key from a vendor table
PartWhsle 'currency
PartRetail 'currency

hth
--
rpw


"Bill Craig" wrote:

This I am sure is a newbie question, but one that I am
having a hard time with. I am creating a repairs database
and I have a table for my repair tickets, for my
customers, for my repair locations, and for my parts. The
problem I am having is when doing a repair I have some
(repairs) that use multiple parts. I want the tech to be
able to choose from a menu the parts(from the parts table)
that they use. And like I said, there will be multiple
parts.

Right now I have it set up as the following:
Repair Table:
there is a field for repair parts.

Parts Table:
Field: PartNumber, text (key)
Field: PartDescription, text
Field: PartVendor, text
Field: PartWholesale
Field: PartRetail

Please help. I think I might be going at this the wrong
way, but I am not sure what the right way is.

Thanks,
Bill Craig
Leesburg Hobbies & Collectibles



  #4  
Old June 18th, 2004, 05:07 PM
Lynn Trapp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Newbie: Multiple records to one customer

Bill,
You will need a third table -- let's call it RepairDetails -- and you will
need to put the field for the RepairParts in that table. Thus you would have
this structure.

Repairs
RepariID (PK)
RepairDate
Customer
---Other fields related to repairs

RepairDetails
RepairDetailID (PK)
RepairID (FK)
PartID (Look this up from the parts Table)
--Other fields related to repair details

Parts
PartID (PK)
--other fields related to parts.

--
Lynn Trapp
MS Access MVP
www.ltcomputerdesigns.com
Access Security: www.ltcomputerdesigns.com/Security.htm


"Bill Craig" wrote in message
...
This I am sure is a newbie question, but one that I am
having a hard time with. I am creating a repairs database
and I have a table for my repair tickets, for my
customers, for my repair locations, and for my parts. The
problem I am having is when doing a repair I have some
(repairs) that use multiple parts. I want the tech to be
able to choose from a menu the parts(from the parts table)
that they use. And like I said, there will be multiple
parts.

Right now I have it set up as the following:
Repair Table:
there is a field for repair parts.

Parts Table:
Field: PartNumber, text (key)
Field: PartDescription, text
Field: PartVendor, text
Field: PartWholesale
Field: PartRetail

Please help. I think I might be going at this the wrong
way, but I am not sure what the right way is.

Thanks,
Bill Craig
Leesburg Hobbies & Collectibles




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.