A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

How to run a make table qry from switchboard



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 23rd, 2009, 04:09 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
rachael
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 78
Default How to run a make table qry from switchboard

I have built a switchboard that runs reports.

All of the reports are built from queries which have a common table. That
table is built from a make table query.

Question: How can I run the make table query from the switchboard so that
my data is up to date?

THANKS
  #2  
Old November 23rd, 2009, 04:40 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
rachael
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 78
Default How to run a make table qry from switchboard

OK...I figured out how to get the Query to run...So now, how do I Supress the
question windows and get them to automatically select "Yes" so the Make table
will run without the user having to select Yes to delete and Yes to run?

Thanks

"Rachael" wrote:

I have built a switchboard that runs reports.

All of the reports are built from queries which have a common table. That
table is built from a make table query.

Question: How can I run the make table query from the switchboard so that
my data is up to date?

THANKS

  #3  
Old November 23rd, 2009, 05:10 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Douglas J. Steele[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,143
Default How to run a make table qry from switchboard

Assuming you're using a macro, SetWarnings False before running (and it's a
good idea to issue SetWarnings True after running)

If you're using VBA, using the Excecute method of the Database object is
superior.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"Rachael" wrote in message
...
OK...I figured out how to get the Query to run...So now, how do I Supress
the
question windows and get them to automatically select "Yes" so the Make
table
will run without the user having to select Yes to delete and Yes to run?

Thanks

"Rachael" wrote:

I have built a switchboard that runs reports.

All of the reports are built from queries which have a common table.
That
table is built from a make table query.

Question: How can I run the make table query from the switchboard so
that
my data is up to date?

THANKS



  #4  
Old November 23rd, 2009, 06:34 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default How to run a make table qry from switchboard

On Mon, 23 Nov 2009 08:09:02 -0800, Rachael
wrote:

All of the reports are built from queries which have a common table. That
table is built from a make table query.


Why?

Reports can be - and should usually be - based on a Select query. Running a
MakeTable query is just an added step that takes more time, bloats your
database, reduces flexibility, and is generally a Bad Idea.

Are you certain that you need a MakeTable at all???
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #5  
Old November 23rd, 2009, 06:49 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
rachael
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 78
Default How to run a make table qry from switchboard

Thanks. How do I "SetWarnings" to False? In the "Action" column on the
macro that is not an option?

Thanks again for the help.

Also, If I want the query to allow me to add a criteria to one of the
fields when I run the query from the switchboard, how would I do that?

thanks again

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

Assuming you're using a macro, SetWarnings False before running (and it's a
good idea to issue SetWarnings True after running)

If you're using VBA, using the Excecute method of the Database object is
superior.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"Rachael" wrote in message
...
OK...I figured out how to get the Query to run...So now, how do I Supress
the
question windows and get them to automatically select "Yes" so the Make
table
will run without the user having to select Yes to delete and Yes to run?

Thanks

"Rachael" wrote:

I have built a switchboard that runs reports.

All of the reports are built from queries which have a common table.
That
table is built from a make table query.

Question: How can I run the make table query from the switchboard so
that
my data is up to date?

THANKS



.

  #6  
Old November 23rd, 2009, 07:34 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Douglas J. Steele[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,143
Default How to run a make table qry from switchboard

What version of Access are you using? Access 2007 "hides" a number of macros
unless you click on the Show All Macros button on the ribbon.

To be prompted for input by the query, put something like [What value do you
want to use?] as the criteria (the wording isn't important: the critical
part is the square brackets at the beginning and end)

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"Rachael" wrote in message
...
Thanks. How do I "SetWarnings" to False? In the "Action" column on the
macro that is not an option?

Thanks again for the help.

Also, If I want the query to allow me to add a criteria to one of the
fields when I run the query from the switchboard, how would I do that?

thanks again

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

Assuming you're using a macro, SetWarnings False before running (and it's
a
good idea to issue SetWarnings True after running)

If you're using VBA, using the Excecute method of the Database object is
superior.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"Rachael" wrote in message
...
OK...I figured out how to get the Query to run...So now, how do I
Supress
the
question windows and get them to automatically select "Yes" so the Make
table
will run without the user having to select Yes to delete and Yes to
run?

Thanks

"Rachael" wrote:

I have built a switchboard that runs reports.

All of the reports are built from queries which have a common table.
That
table is built from a make table query.

Question: How can I run the make table query from the switchboard so
that
my data is up to date?

THANKS



.



  #7  
Old November 30th, 2009, 03:20 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
rachael
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 78
Default How to run a make table qry from switchboard

originally I set it to look at the table to make the queries run faster. I
changed it back to run from the Query itself.



"John W. Vinson" wrote:

On Mon, 23 Nov 2009 08:09:02 -0800, Rachael
wrote:

All of the reports are built from queries which have a common table. That
table is built from a make table query.


Why?

Reports can be - and should usually be - based on a Select query. Running a
MakeTable query is just an added step that takes more time, bloats your
database, reduces flexibility, and is generally a Bad Idea.

Are you certain that you need a MakeTable at all???
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.