A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Looking for a recent thread on multple combo boxes



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 27th, 2006, 08:54 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Looking for a recent thread on multple combo boxes

If I skip the 1st combo box selection, the next (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box
will
not populate a list. I can't choose from a list in any of my combo boxes
Unless I select each combo box in order. I'm forced to proceed in order
using a method I found at Microsoft help "Basing one combo box on another".

Is there another example someone can show me?

Sometimes I already know what I need in the (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and
would rather save time and start my "drill-down" at the combo box that
applies.

Can I choose from a list in (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and in any order and
then requery and populate a new list for each of the other combo boxes. is
this realistic?

  #2  
Old February 27th, 2006, 09:10 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Looking for a recent thread on multple combo boxes

How are you populating the subsequent ones now? Are you pointing Combo2 to
Forms!MyForm!Combo1? If so, change your condition to also include Or
Forms!MyForm!Combo1 Is Null

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"potter" wrote in message
...
If I skip the 1st combo box selection, the next (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box
will
not populate a list. I can't choose from a list in any of my combo boxes
Unless I select each combo box in order. I'm forced to proceed in order
using a method I found at Microsoft help "Basing one combo box on

another".

Is there another example someone can show me?

Sometimes I already know what I need in the (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and
would rather save time and start my "drill-down" at the combo box that
applies.

Can I choose from a list in (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and in any order

and
then requery and populate a new list for each of the other combo boxes.

is
this realistic?



  #3  
Old February 27th, 2006, 09:17 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Looking for a recent thread on multple combo boxes

I don't know which method you used to filter the combo's.
One way to achieve what you are looking for, is to create a filter in the
row source of the combo with reference to the previous combo box

Select FieldName From TableName Where FieldName =
Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Or Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Is Null

============================
The Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Is Null part of the criteria, will display
all the records in the combo if no record is selected in the previous one
============================
On the After update event of each combo, set a requery to the next combo

Me.[ComboName].Requery


--
\\// Live Long and Prosper \\//
BS"D


"potter" wrote:

If I skip the 1st combo box selection, the next (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box
will
not populate a list. I can't choose from a list in any of my combo boxes
Unless I select each combo box in order. I'm forced to proceed in order
using a method I found at Microsoft help "Basing one combo box on another".

Is there another example someone can show me?

Sometimes I already know what I need in the (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and
would rather save time and start my "drill-down" at the combo box that
applies.

Can I choose from a list in (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and in any order and
then requery and populate a new list for each of the other combo boxes. is
this realistic?

  #4  
Old February 27th, 2006, 09:49 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Looking for a recent thread on multple combo boxes

Originally I did have something similar--[Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt]

I've tried the following as my Criteria but it still does not populate the
list in my second combo box.
IIf(IsNull([Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt]),"",[Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt])

cboMkt is the name of my first combo box. cboSector is the mane of my
second combobox.

"Ofer" wrote:

I don't know which method you used to filter the combo's.
One way to achieve what you are looking for, is to create a filter in the
row source of the combo with reference to the previous combo box

Select FieldName From TableName Where FieldName =
Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Or Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Is Null

============================
The Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Is Null part of the criteria, will display
all the records in the combo if no record is selected in the previous one
============================
On the After update event of each combo, set a requery to the next combo

Me.[ComboName].Requery


--
\\// Live Long and Prosper \\//
BS"D


"potter" wrote:

If I skip the 1st combo box selection, the next (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box
will
not populate a list. I can't choose from a list in any of my combo boxes
Unless I select each combo box in order. I'm forced to proceed in order
using a method I found at Microsoft help "Basing one combo box on another".

Is there another example someone can show me?

Sometimes I already know what I need in the (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and
would rather save time and start my "drill-down" at the combo box that
applies.

Can I choose from a list in (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and in any order and
then requery and populate a new list for each of the other combo boxes. is
this realistic?

  #5  
Old February 27th, 2006, 10:01 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Looking for a recent thread on multple combo boxes

It's the wrong criteria, when the first combo is null, then it filter on ""
empty records.

Try

FieldName = [Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt] Or [Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt] Is Null

Or Try
FieldName Like
IIf(IsNull([Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt]),"*",[Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt])


--
\\// Live Long and Prosper \\//
BS"D


"potter" wrote:

Originally I did have something similar--[Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt]

I've tried the following as my Criteria but it still does not populate the
list in my second combo box.
IIf(IsNull([Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt]),"",[Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt])

cboMkt is the name of my first combo box. cboSector is the mane of my
second combobox.

"Ofer" wrote:

I don't know which method you used to filter the combo's.
One way to achieve what you are looking for, is to create a filter in the
row source of the combo with reference to the previous combo box

Select FieldName From TableName Where FieldName =
Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Or Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Is Null

============================
The Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Is Null part of the criteria, will display
all the records in the combo if no record is selected in the previous one
============================
On the After update event of each combo, set a requery to the next combo

Me.[ComboName].Requery


--
\\// Live Long and Prosper \\//
BS"D


"potter" wrote:

If I skip the 1st combo box selection, the next (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box
will
not populate a list. I can't choose from a list in any of my combo boxes
Unless I select each combo box in order. I'm forced to proceed in order
using a method I found at Microsoft help "Basing one combo box on another".

Is there another example someone can show me?

Sometimes I already know what I need in the (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and
would rather save time and start my "drill-down" at the combo box that
applies.

Can I choose from a list in (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and in any order and
then requery and populate a new list for each of the other combo boxes. is
this realistic?

  #6  
Old February 27th, 2006, 10:21 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Looking for a recent thread on multple combo boxes

EXCELLENT...It works. Much, much, much slower now but it works. Let me
quess...as I keep adding more combo boxes that need to requery a list the
slower for will take to populate?

Maybe I could use option buttons for my combo boxes with short list ( 6
items or less). Any ideas?

Thx again for you help.

"Ofer" wrote:

It's the wrong criteria, when the first combo is null, then it filter on ""
empty records.

Try

FieldName = [Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt] Or [Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt] Is Null

Or Try
FieldName Like
IIf(IsNull([Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt]),"*",[Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt])


--
\\// Live Long and Prosper \\//
BS"D


"potter" wrote:

Originally I did have something similar--[Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt]

I've tried the following as my Criteria but it still does not populate the
list in my second combo box.
IIf(IsNull([Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt]),"",[Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt])

cboMkt is the name of my first combo box. cboSector is the mane of my
second combobox.

"Ofer" wrote:

I don't know which method you used to filter the combo's.
One way to achieve what you are looking for, is to create a filter in the
row source of the combo with reference to the previous combo box

Select FieldName From TableName Where FieldName =
Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Or Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Is Null

============================
The Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Is Null part of the criteria, will display
all the records in the combo if no record is selected in the previous one
============================
On the After update event of each combo, set a requery to the next combo

Me.[ComboName].Requery


--
\\// Live Long and Prosper \\//
BS"D


"potter" wrote:

If I skip the 1st combo box selection, the next (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box
will
not populate a list. I can't choose from a list in any of my combo boxes
Unless I select each combo box in order. I'm forced to proceed in order
using a method I found at Microsoft help "Basing one combo box on another".

Is there another example someone can show me?

Sometimes I already know what I need in the (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and
would rather save time and start my "drill-down" at the combo box that
applies.

Can I choose from a list in (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and in any order and
then requery and populate a new list for each of the other combo boxes. is
this realistic?

  #7  
Old February 27th, 2006, 10:42 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Looking for a recent thread on multple combo boxes

When you say slower, you mean to load the form?
Or each combo take while to open?

--
\\// Live Long and Prosper \\//
BS"D


"potter" wrote:

EXCELLENT...It works. Much, much, much slower now but it works. Let me
quess...as I keep adding more combo boxes that need to requery a list the
slower for will take to populate?

Maybe I could use option buttons for my combo boxes with short list ( 6
items or less). Any ideas?

Thx again for you help.

"Ofer" wrote:

It's the wrong criteria, when the first combo is null, then it filter on ""
empty records.

Try

FieldName = [Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt] Or [Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt] Is Null

Or Try
FieldName Like
IIf(IsNull([Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt]),"*",[Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt])


--
\\// Live Long and Prosper \\//
BS"D


"potter" wrote:

Originally I did have something similar--[Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt]

I've tried the following as my Criteria but it still does not populate the
list in my second combo box.
IIf(IsNull([Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt]),"",[Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt])

cboMkt is the name of my first combo box. cboSector is the mane of my
second combobox.

"Ofer" wrote:

I don't know which method you used to filter the combo's.
One way to achieve what you are looking for, is to create a filter in the
row source of the combo with reference to the previous combo box

Select FieldName From TableName Where FieldName =
Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Or Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Is Null

============================
The Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Is Null part of the criteria, will display
all the records in the combo if no record is selected in the previous one
============================
On the After update event of each combo, set a requery to the next combo

Me.[ComboName].Requery


--
\\// Live Long and Prosper \\//
BS"D


"potter" wrote:

If I skip the 1st combo box selection, the next (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box
will
not populate a list. I can't choose from a list in any of my combo boxes
Unless I select each combo box in order. I'm forced to proceed in order
using a method I found at Microsoft help "Basing one combo box on another".

Is there another example someone can show me?

Sometimes I already know what I need in the (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and
would rather save time and start my "drill-down" at the combo box that
applies.

Can I choose from a list in (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and in any order and
then requery and populate a new list for each of the other combo boxes. is
this realistic?

  #8  
Old February 28th, 2006, 03:31 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Looking for a recent thread on multple combo boxes

Each combo box takes a while to open.

BTW - I ran a few more test and the 3rd combo box list (and beyond) does not
seem to populate correctly...even if I select them in order. The 2nd combo
box is corret only after 1st combo box is selected. the rest do not seem to
requrey correctly.

Thank you again for you help... I did make some progress though. If I jump
to 2nd, 3rd, etc. as my first choice, the first choice of any combo box seem
to populate correctly....the rest seem to be a mess.

I hope I was clear enough?

Do you know of an example of a form with at least 4 "synchronized" combo
boxes where it does not matter which combo box is selected first? Maybe I
can then see a pattern to follow. the example with only two combo boxes is
not enough.

The end result I want is a "Drill-down" form where a user can skip over any
combo boxes and select any combo box as a starting point to achieve the
desired results from the large database of records.

"Ofer" wrote:

When you say slower, you mean to load the form?
Or each combo take while to open?

--
\\// Live Long and Prosper \\//
BS"D


"potter" wrote:

EXCELLENT...It works. Much, much, much slower now but it works. Let me
quess...as I keep adding more combo boxes that need to requery a list the
slower for will take to populate?

Maybe I could use option buttons for my combo boxes with short list ( 6
items or less). Any ideas?

Thx again for you help.

"Ofer" wrote:

It's the wrong criteria, when the first combo is null, then it filter on ""
empty records.

Try

FieldName = [Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt] Or [Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt] Is Null

Or Try
FieldName Like
IIf(IsNull([Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt]),"*",[Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt])


--
\\// Live Long and Prosper \\//
BS"D


"potter" wrote:

Originally I did have something similar--[Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt]

I've tried the following as my Criteria but it still does not populate the
list in my second combo box.
IIf(IsNull([Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt]),"",[Forms]![Frmcbox2]![cboMkt])

cboMkt is the name of my first combo box. cboSector is the mane of my
second combobox.

"Ofer" wrote:

I don't know which method you used to filter the combo's.
One way to achieve what you are looking for, is to create a filter in the
row source of the combo with reference to the previous combo box

Select FieldName From TableName Where FieldName =
Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Or Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Is Null

============================
The Forms![FormName]![ComboName] Is Null part of the criteria, will display
all the records in the combo if no record is selected in the previous one
============================
On the After update event of each combo, set a requery to the next combo

Me.[ComboName].Requery


--
\\// Live Long and Prosper \\//
BS"D


"potter" wrote:

If I skip the 1st combo box selection, the next (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box
will
not populate a list. I can't choose from a list in any of my combo boxes
Unless I select each combo box in order. I'm forced to proceed in order
using a method I found at Microsoft help "Basing one combo box on another".

Is there another example someone can show me?

Sometimes I already know what I need in the (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and
would rather save time and start my "drill-down" at the combo box that
applies.

Can I choose from a list in (2nd, 3rd, etc.) combo box and in any order and
then requery and populate a new list for each of the other combo boxes. is
this realistic?

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Make combo boxes change contents depending on other combo boxes Glynn Using Forms 1 December 9th, 2005 01:32 PM
Filtering records using combo boxes on a form 576422 General Discussion 1 December 1st, 2005 06:06 AM
Confused about 3 combo boxes esparzaone New Users 1 April 28th, 2005 01:06 PM
Combo boxes producing error message Tom U New Users 3 April 26th, 2005 09:32 PM
combo question rob New Users 10 March 21st, 2005 02:05 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.