A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

One Combo Box won't work??



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 4th, 2009, 03:38 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Sklyn
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 39
Default One Combo Box won't work??

Hi, I have a form with 12 Combo Boxes and the last one won't work.
Well it works but won't update the table/list if a new entry is added.
All the others are the same using the same code in the "On Not In List" Event.
All the rest work perfect, just the last box returns an error:

Run-time error '-2147217900 (80040e14)':
Syntax error in INSERT INTO statement.

When I click Debug it highlights "cmd.Execute" in my code.
Here is the code I am using:

Dim cmd As ADODB.Command
Dim ctrl As Control
Dim strSQL As String, strMessage As String

Set ctrl = Me.ActiveControl
strMessage = "Add " & NewData & " to list of makes?"

strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"

Set cmd = New ADODB.Command
cmd.ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
cmd.CommandType = adCmdText

If MsgBox(strMessage, vbYesNo + vbQuestion) = vbYes Then
cmd.CommandText = strSQL
cmd.Execute
Response = acDataErrAdded
Else
Response = acDataErrContinue
ctrl.Undo
End If

I have checked the properties and all appears the same as other boxes, have
also check the referring table for errors.
Any idea what would cause this so I can check that?
I see that its telling me its an issue with INSERT INTO, but I have checked
and redone that part of the code many times now.

Thanks for ur thoughts

  #2  
Old November 4th, 2009, 05:30 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Tom van Stiphout[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,653
Default One Combo Box won't work??

On Tue, 3 Nov 2009 18:38:01 -0800, Sklyn
wrote:

One way to debug this is to set a breakpoint at the "strSQL =" line,
and paste that sql statement into a new query in SQL view. Switch to
Design view, and the parser will show you the errors of your ways :-)

-Tom.
Microsoft Access MVP


Hi, I have a form with 12 Combo Boxes and the last one won't work.
Well it works but won't update the table/list if a new entry is added.
All the others are the same using the same code in the "On Not In List" Event.
All the rest work perfect, just the last box returns an error:

Run-time error '-2147217900 (80040e14)':
Syntax error in INSERT INTO statement.

When I click Debug it highlights "cmd.Execute" in my code.
Here is the code I am using:

Dim cmd As ADODB.Command
Dim ctrl As Control
Dim strSQL As String, strMessage As String

Set ctrl = Me.ActiveControl
strMessage = "Add " & NewData & " to list of makes?"

strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"

Set cmd = New ADODB.Command
cmd.ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
cmd.CommandType = adCmdText

If MsgBox(strMessage, vbYesNo + vbQuestion) = vbYes Then
cmd.CommandText = strSQL
cmd.Execute
Response = acDataErrAdded
Else
Response = acDataErrContinue
ctrl.Undo
End If

I have checked the properties and all appears the same as other boxes, have
also check the referring table for errors.
Any idea what would cause this so I can check that?
I see that its telling me its an issue with INSERT INTO, but I have checked
and redone that part of the code many times now.

Thanks for ur thoughts

  #3  
Old November 4th, 2009, 06:35 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
ajay indulkar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default repli

i dont no



Sklyn wrote:

One Combo Box won't work??
03-Nov-09

Hi, I have a form with 12 Combo Boxes and the last one will not work.
Well it works but will not update the table/list if a new entry is added.
All the others are the same using the same code in the "On Not In List" Event.
All the rest work perfect, just the last box returns an error:

Run-time error '-2147217900 (80040e14)':
Syntax error in INSERT INTO statement.

When I click Debug it highlights "cmd.Execute" in my code.
Here is the code I am using:

Dim cmd As ADODB.Command
Dim ctrl As Control
Dim strSQL As String, strMessage As String

Set ctrl = Me.ActiveControl
strMessage = "Add " & NewData & " to list of makes?"

strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"

Set cmd = New ADODB.Command
cmd.ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
cmd.CommandType = adCmdText

If MsgBox(strMessage, vbYesNo + vbQuestion) = vbYes Then
cmd.CommandText = strSQL
cmd.Execute
Response = acDataErrAdded
Else
Response = acDataErrContinue
ctrl.Undo
End If

I have checked the properties and all appears the same as other boxes, have
also check the referring table for errors.
Any idea what would cause this so I can check that?
I see that its telling me its an issue with INSERT INTO, but I have checked
and redone that part of the code many times now.

Thanks for ur thoughts

Previous Posts In This Thread:

EggHeadCafe - Software Developer Portal of Choice
XML/XSL VB Tester
http://www.eggheadcafe.com/tutorials...vb-tester.aspx
  #4  
Old November 4th, 2009, 01:22 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
BruceM via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 448
Default repli

What is the exact text of the error message? Did you set the break point as
suggested? If you are unfamiliar with the process, open the VBA editor and
click the vertical gray bar to the left of the code window. This hsould
cause a dot to appear in the bar, and the line of code to be highlighted.
Now run the code by attempting to update the combo box with a value not on
the list.

Also, you could place this line of code after the strSQL line:
Debug.Print strSQL
This will cause strSQL to be written to the immediate window (press Ctrl + G
after running the code, or look for it when the code reaches the break point
you set.

Please post the INSERT for a combo box in which it works.

As mentioned, you could be having the problem is you are trying to add a
value to a Number field, in which case the quotes are incorrect.

ajay indulkar wrote:
i dont no

One Combo Box won't work??
03-Nov-09

Hi, I have a form with 12 Combo Boxes and the last one will not work.
Well it works but will not update the table/list if a new entry is added.
All the others are the same using the same code in the "On Not In List" Event.
All the rest work perfect, just the last box returns an error:

Run-time error '-2147217900 (80040e14)':
Syntax error in INSERT INTO statement.

When I click Debug it highlights "cmd.Execute" in my code.
Here is the code I am using:

Dim cmd As ADODB.Command
Dim ctrl As Control
Dim strSQL As String, strMessage As String

Set ctrl = Me.ActiveControl
strMessage = "Add " & NewData & " to list of makes?"

strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"

Set cmd = New ADODB.Command
cmd.ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
cmd.CommandType = adCmdText

If MsgBox(strMessage, vbYesNo + vbQuestion) = vbYes Then
cmd.CommandText = strSQL
cmd.Execute
Response = acDataErrAdded
Else
Response = acDataErrContinue
ctrl.Undo
End If

I have checked the properties and all appears the same as other boxes, have
also check the referring table for errors.
Any idea what would cause this so I can check that?
I see that its telling me its an issue with INSERT INTO, but I have checked
and redone that part of the code many times now.

Thanks for ur thoughts

Previous Posts In This Thread:

EggHeadCafe - Software Developer Portal of Choice
XML/XSL VB Tester
http://www.eggheadcafe.com/tutorials...vb-tester.aspx


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200911/1

  #5  
Old November 5th, 2009, 02:23 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Sklyn
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 39
Default repli

Ronaldo,
No, the box is text just like the rest.

Tom,
I pasted
strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"
Into a new query in sql view and switched to design view, Got a msg
“Invalid SQL statement;expected ‘DELETE’, ‘INSERT’, ‘PROCEDURE’, ‘SELECT’,
or ‘UPDATE’.”
When I put INSERT; at the beginning I get a msg
“Syntax error in INSERT INTO statement.”

This is the first time I’ve done anything like this so please be patient.

Bruce,
The exact text of the error message is
"Run-time error '-2147217900 (80040e14)':
Syntax error in INSERT INTO statement."

When I run the code with the breakpoint set it just highlights the line
yellow and puts a yellow arrow on top of the 2nd line dot.??
What is meant to happen?

I put “Debug.Print strSQL” after the line and in the immediate window it shows
“INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES("Aaa")”
Aaa is the value not in list I tried to add.

Here is a code that works:

Private Sub Program_NotInList(NewData As String, Response As Integer)
Dim cmd As ADODB.Command
Dim ctrl As Control
Dim strSQL As String, strMessage As String

Set ctrl = Me.ActiveControl
strMessage = "Add " & NewData & " to list of makes?"

strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_program(program) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"

Set cmd = New ADODB.Command
cmd.ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
cmd.CommandType = adCmdText

If MsgBox(strMessage, vbYesNo + vbQuestion) = vbYes Then
cmd.CommandText = strSQL
cmd.Execute
Response = acDataErrAdded
Else
Response = acDataErrContinue
ctrl.Undo
End If
End Sub

And the code that does not work:

Private Sub Position_NotInList(NewData As String, Response As Integer)
Dim cmd As ADODB.Command
Dim ctrl As Control
Dim strSQL As String, strMessage As String

Set ctrl = Me.ActiveControl
strMessage = "Add " & NewData & " to list of makes?"

strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"

Set cmd = New ADODB.Command
cmd.ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
cmd.CommandType = adCmdText

If MsgBox(strMessage, vbYesNo + vbQuestion) = vbYes Then
cmd.CommandText = strSQL
cmd.Execute
Response = acDataErrAdded
Else
Response = acDataErrContinue
ctrl.Undo
End If
End Sub

Thanks so much guys for your efforts


"BruceM via AccessMonster.com" wrote:

What is the exact text of the error message? Did you set the break point as
suggested? If you are unfamiliar with the process, open the VBA editor and
click the vertical gray bar to the left of the code window. This hsould
cause a dot to appear in the bar, and the line of code to be highlighted.
Now run the code by attempting to update the combo box with a value not on
the list.

Also, you could place this line of code after the strSQL line:
Debug.Print strSQL
This will cause strSQL to be written to the immediate window (press Ctrl + G
after running the code, or look for it when the code reaches the break point
you set.

Please post the INSERT for a combo box in which it works.

As mentioned, you could be having the problem is you are trying to add a
value to a Number field, in which case the quotes are incorrect.

ajay indulkar wrote:
i dont no

One Combo Box won't work??
03-Nov-09

Hi, I have a form with 12 Combo Boxes and the last one will not work.
Well it works but will not update the table/list if a new entry is added.
All the others are the same using the same code in the "On Not In List" Event.
All the rest work perfect, just the last box returns an error:

Run-time error '-2147217900 (80040e14)':
Syntax error in INSERT INTO statement.

When I click Debug it highlights "cmd.Execute" in my code.
Here is the code I am using:

Dim cmd As ADODB.Command
Dim ctrl As Control
Dim strSQL As String, strMessage As String

Set ctrl = Me.ActiveControl
strMessage = "Add " & NewData & " to list of makes?"

strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"

Set cmd = New ADODB.Command
cmd.ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
cmd.CommandType = adCmdText

If MsgBox(strMessage, vbYesNo + vbQuestion) = vbYes Then
cmd.CommandText = strSQL
cmd.Execute
Response = acDataErrAdded
Else
Response = acDataErrContinue
ctrl.Undo
End If

I have checked the properties and all appears the same as other boxes, have
also check the referring table for errors.
Any idea what would cause this so I can check that?
I see that its telling me its an issue with INSERT INTO, but I have checked
and redone that part of the code many times now.

Thanks for ur thoughts

Previous Posts In This Thread:

EggHeadCafe - Software Developer Portal of Choice
XML/XSL VB Tester
http://www.eggheadcafe.com/tutorials...vb-tester.aspx


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200911/1

.

  #6  
Old November 5th, 2009, 03:16 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
BruceM via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 448
Default repli

Is it really t_position rather than t_program as in the example that worked?

When you paste into a query you need to get rid of some quotes and provide a
NewData value, as VBA and SQL to not use quite the same language:

INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES("Aaa")

Again, do the same thing with the SQL that works (including Debug.Print in
the VBA code).

Sklyn wrote:
Ronaldo,
No, the box is text just like the rest.

Tom,
I pasted
strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"
Into a new query in sql view and switched to design view, Got a msg
“Invalid SQL statement;expected ‘DELETE’, ‘INSERT’, ‘PROCEDURE’, ‘SELECT’,
or ‘UPDATE’.”
When I put INSERT; at the beginning I get a msg
“Syntax error in INSERT INTO statement.”

This is the first time I’ve done anything like this so please be patient.

Bruce,
The exact text of the error message is
"Run-time error '-2147217900 (80040e14)':
Syntax error in INSERT INTO statement."

When I run the code with the breakpoint set it just highlights the line
yellow and puts a yellow arrow on top of the 2nd line dot.??
What is meant to happen?

I put “Debug.Print strSQL” after the line and in the immediate window it shows
“INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES("Aaa")”
Aaa is the value not in list I tried to add.

Here is a code that works:

Private Sub Program_NotInList(NewData As String, Response As Integer)
Dim cmd As ADODB.Command
Dim ctrl As Control
Dim strSQL As String, strMessage As String

Set ctrl = Me.ActiveControl
strMessage = "Add " & NewData & " to list of makes?"

strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_program(program) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"

Set cmd = New ADODB.Command
cmd.ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
cmd.CommandType = adCmdText

If MsgBox(strMessage, vbYesNo + vbQuestion) = vbYes Then
cmd.CommandText = strSQL
cmd.Execute
Response = acDataErrAdded
Else
Response = acDataErrContinue
ctrl.Undo
End If
End Sub

And the code that does not work:

Private Sub Position_NotInList(NewData As String, Response As Integer)
Dim cmd As ADODB.Command
Dim ctrl As Control
Dim strSQL As String, strMessage As String

Set ctrl = Me.ActiveControl
strMessage = "Add " & NewData & " to list of makes?"

strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"

Set cmd = New ADODB.Command
cmd.ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
cmd.CommandType = adCmdText

If MsgBox(strMessage, vbYesNo + vbQuestion) = vbYes Then
cmd.CommandText = strSQL
cmd.Execute
Response = acDataErrAdded
Else
Response = acDataErrContinue
ctrl.Undo
End If
End Sub

Thanks so much guys for your efforts

What is the exact text of the error message? Did you set the break point as
suggested? If you are unfamiliar with the process, open the VBA editor and

[quoted text clipped - 66 lines]
XML/XSL VB Tester
http://www.eggheadcafe.com/tutorials...vb-tester.aspx


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200911/1

  #7  
Old November 6th, 2009, 06:47 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Sklyn
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 39
Default repli

Well, It turns out it is a VERY basic issue....

POSITION is a reserved word..

So i changed all instances to "JobTitle" and it works perfect..

Should have checked that first hey!

Thanks people..


"Sklyn" wrote:

Ronaldo,
No, the box is text just like the rest.

Tom,
I pasted
strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"
Into a new query in sql view and switched to design view, Got a msg
“Invalid SQL statement;expected ‘DELETE’, ‘INSERT’, ‘PROCEDURE’, ‘SELECT’,
or ‘UPDATE’.”
When I put INSERT; at the beginning I get a msg
“Syntax error in INSERT INTO statement.”

This is the first time I’ve done anything like this so please be patient.

Bruce,
The exact text of the error message is
"Run-time error '-2147217900 (80040e14)':
Syntax error in INSERT INTO statement."

When I run the code with the breakpoint set it just highlights the line
yellow and puts a yellow arrow on top of the 2nd line dot.??
What is meant to happen?

I put “Debug.Print strSQL” after the line and in the immediate window it shows
“INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES("Aaa")”
Aaa is the value not in list I tried to add.

Here is a code that works:

Private Sub Program_NotInList(NewData As String, Response As Integer)
Dim cmd As ADODB.Command
Dim ctrl As Control
Dim strSQL As String, strMessage As String

Set ctrl = Me.ActiveControl
strMessage = "Add " & NewData & " to list of makes?"

strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_program(program) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"

Set cmd = New ADODB.Command
cmd.ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
cmd.CommandType = adCmdText

If MsgBox(strMessage, vbYesNo + vbQuestion) = vbYes Then
cmd.CommandText = strSQL
cmd.Execute
Response = acDataErrAdded
Else
Response = acDataErrContinue
ctrl.Undo
End If
End Sub

And the code that does not work:

Private Sub Position_NotInList(NewData As String, Response As Integer)
Dim cmd As ADODB.Command
Dim ctrl As Control
Dim strSQL As String, strMessage As String

Set ctrl = Me.ActiveControl
strMessage = "Add " & NewData & " to list of makes?"

strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"

Set cmd = New ADODB.Command
cmd.ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
cmd.CommandType = adCmdText

If MsgBox(strMessage, vbYesNo + vbQuestion) = vbYes Then
cmd.CommandText = strSQL
cmd.Execute
Response = acDataErrAdded
Else
Response = acDataErrContinue
ctrl.Undo
End If
End Sub

Thanks so much guys for your efforts


"BruceM via AccessMonster.com" wrote:

What is the exact text of the error message? Did you set the break point as
suggested? If you are unfamiliar with the process, open the VBA editor and
click the vertical gray bar to the left of the code window. This hsould
cause a dot to appear in the bar, and the line of code to be highlighted.
Now run the code by attempting to update the combo box with a value not on
the list.

Also, you could place this line of code after the strSQL line:
Debug.Print strSQL
This will cause strSQL to be written to the immediate window (press Ctrl + G
after running the code, or look for it when the code reaches the break point
you set.

Please post the INSERT for a combo box in which it works.

As mentioned, you could be having the problem is you are trying to add a
value to a Number field, in which case the quotes are incorrect.

ajay indulkar wrote:
i dont no

One Combo Box won't work??
03-Nov-09

Hi, I have a form with 12 Combo Boxes and the last one will not work.
Well it works but will not update the table/list if a new entry is added.
All the others are the same using the same code in the "On Not In List" Event.
All the rest work perfect, just the last box returns an error:

Run-time error '-2147217900 (80040e14)':
Syntax error in INSERT INTO statement.

When I click Debug it highlights "cmd.Execute" in my code.
Here is the code I am using:

Dim cmd As ADODB.Command
Dim ctrl As Control
Dim strSQL As String, strMessage As String

Set ctrl = Me.ActiveControl
strMessage = "Add " & NewData & " to list of makes?"

strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"

Set cmd = New ADODB.Command
cmd.ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
cmd.CommandType = adCmdText

If MsgBox(strMessage, vbYesNo + vbQuestion) = vbYes Then
cmd.CommandText = strSQL
cmd.Execute
Response = acDataErrAdded
Else
Response = acDataErrContinue
ctrl.Undo
End If

I have checked the properties and all appears the same as other boxes, have
also check the referring table for errors.
Any idea what would cause this so I can check that?
I see that its telling me its an issue with INSERT INTO, but I have checked
and redone that part of the code many times now.

Thanks for ur thoughts

Previous Posts In This Thread:

EggHeadCafe - Software Developer Portal of Choice
XML/XSL VB Tester
http://www.eggheadcafe.com/tutorials...vb-tester.aspx


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200911/1

.

  #8  
Old November 6th, 2009, 06:56 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
BruceM via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 448
Default repli

I missed that one. You could have put brackets around the field name, but it
is better to use a non-reserved word. Allen Browne has a utility for
checking such things:
http://www.allenbrowne.com/Ap****ueBadWord.html

Sklyn wrote:
Well, It turns out it is a VERY basic issue....

POSITION is a reserved word..

So i changed all instances to "JobTitle" and it works perfect..

Should have checked that first hey!

Thanks people..

Ronaldo,
No, the box is text just like the rest.

[quoted text clipped - 150 lines]
XML/XSL VB Tester
http://www.eggheadcafe.com/tutorials...vb-tester.aspx


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200911/1

  #9  
Old November 4th, 2009, 12:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
RonaldoOneNil
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 345
Default One Combo Box won't work??

Is the last combo box used for a numerical value (picture) where all the
others are text ?
If this is the case you will not need the quotes around it and that will
cause the error.

"Sklyn" wrote:

Hi, I have a form with 12 Combo Boxes and the last one won't work.
Well it works but won't update the table/list if a new entry is added.
All the others are the same using the same code in the "On Not In List" Event.
All the rest work perfect, just the last box returns an error:

Run-time error '-2147217900 (80040e14)':
Syntax error in INSERT INTO statement.

When I click Debug it highlights "cmd.Execute" in my code.
Here is the code I am using:

Dim cmd As ADODB.Command
Dim ctrl As Control
Dim strSQL As String, strMessage As String

Set ctrl = Me.ActiveControl
strMessage = "Add " & NewData & " to list of makes?"

strSQL = "INSERT INTO t_position(Position) VALUES(""" & _
NewData & """)"

Set cmd = New ADODB.Command
cmd.ActiveConnection = CurrentProject.Connection
cmd.CommandType = adCmdText

If MsgBox(strMessage, vbYesNo + vbQuestion) = vbYes Then
cmd.CommandText = strSQL
cmd.Execute
Response = acDataErrAdded
Else
Response = acDataErrContinue
ctrl.Undo
End If

I have checked the properties and all appears the same as other boxes, have
also check the referring table for errors.
Any idea what would cause this so I can check that?
I see that its telling me its an issue with INSERT INTO, but I have checked
and redone that part of the code many times now.

Thanks for ur thoughts

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.