A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Setting Up & Running Reports
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Export to RTF very slow when code is present in Access report.



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 24th, 2004, 04:27 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Export to RTF very slow when code is present in Access report.

I have seen this happen with reports anywhere from 200-600 pages in Access
2003 running on Windows 2000 or XP.

I have some simple code in the Detail_Format event of a report that either
displays or hides certain text boxes.

When I export the report to Word it hangs for 2.5 minutes on the Now
outputting...
window and then finally it will begin to output to RTF.

If I preview the report with the code still there the report comes up fine
as normal and then if I comment out the code it will output to RTF just fine.
I put a breakpoint in the Detail_Format event and it didn't even break when
outputting to RTF so I can't imagine why the code would cause it to have such
a delay.

Any ideas?

Ryan

  #2  
Old August 24th, 2004, 05:46 PM
Vikrant V Dalwale [MSFT]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default



Hello Ryan,

I would appreciate your patience while I am having tech experts look into
this issue.

Thanks for using MSDN Managed Newsgroup.

Vikrant Dalwale

Microsoft SQL Server Support Professional


Microsoft highly recommends to all of our customers that they visit the
http://www.microsoft.com/protect site and perform the three straightforward
steps listed to improve your computer’s security.
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.



--------------------
Thread-Topic: Export to RTF very slow when code is present in Access

report.
thread-index: AcSJ7tC6+pF1b2QHTKqoZGtsXszArQ==
X-WBNR-Posting-Host: 156.153.255.134
From: "=?Utf-8?B?UnlhbkBuZXdzZ3JvdXBzLm5vc3BhbQ==?="


Subject: Export to RTF very slow when code is present in Access report.
Date: Tue, 24 Aug 2004 08:27:07 -0700
Lines: 20
Message-ID:
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="Utf-8"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Newsreader: Microsoft CDO for Windows 2000
Content-Class: urn:content-classes:message
Importance: normal
Priority: normal
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.3790.0
Newsgroups: microsoft.public.access.reports
NNTP-Posting-Host: TK2MSFTNGXA03.phx.gbl 10.40.1.29
Path: cpmsftngxa10.phx.gbl!TK2MSFTNGXA03.phx.gbl
Xref: cpmsftngxa10.phx.gbl microsoft.public.access.reports:145104
X-Tomcat-NG: microsoft.public.access.reports

I have seen this happen with reports anywhere from 200-600 pages in Access
2003 running on Windows 2000 or XP.

I have some simple code in the Detail_Format event of a report that either
displays or hides certain text boxes.

When I export the report to Word it hangs for 2.5 minutes on the Now
outputting...
window and then finally it will begin to output to RTF.

If I preview the report with the code still there the report comes up fine
as normal and then if I comment out the code it will output to RTF just

fine.
I put a breakpoint in the Detail_Format event and it didn't even break

when
outputting to RTF so I can't imagine why the code would cause it to have

such
a delay.

Any ideas?

Ryan



  #3  
Old August 31st, 2004, 05:23 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I am using the following code, as a test example, in the report:
----------------------------------------------------
Private Sub Detail_Format(Cancel As Integer, FormatCount As Integer)
If Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtFirstName.Valu e = "sdf" Then
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtFirstName.Visi ble = True
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtBoldFirstName. Visible = False
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtLastName.Visib le = True
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtBoldLastName.V isible = False
Else
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtFirstName.Visi ble = False
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtBoldFirstName. Visible = True
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtLastName.Visib le = False
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtBoldLastName.V isible = True
End If
End Sub
---------------------------------------------------
I have the report based on a table with 3 fields and 10,000 rows.

The code works fine when I preview the report. When I export to Word it
will "hang" at outputting... for 2.5 minutes and then begin outputting page
1, 2, ...

If I comment out the code AFTER I have already opened it in Preview mode it
will begin outputting page 1,2,... immediately.

I included a Stop command in the code and when I output to Word it never
breaks to the code leading me to believe the code never runs during the
output to Word. If the code never runs why is there such a delay when the
code is there?

Ryan

"Vikrant V Dalwale [MSFT]" wrote:



Hello Ryan,

I would appreciate your patience while I am having tech experts look into
this issue.

Thanks for using MSDN Managed Newsgroup.

Vikrant Dalwale

Microsoft SQL Server Support Professional


Microsoft highly recommends to all of our customers that they visit the
http://www.microsoft.com/protect site and perform the three straightforward
steps listed to improve your computer’s security.
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.



--------------------
Thread-Topic: Export to RTF very slow when code is present in Access

report.
thread-index: AcSJ7tC6+pF1b2QHTKqoZGtsXszArQ==
X-WBNR-Posting-Host: 156.153.255.134
From: "=?Utf-8?B?UnlhbkBuZXdzZ3JvdXBzLm5vc3BhbQ==?="


Subject: Export to RTF very slow when code is present in Access report.
Date: Tue, 24 Aug 2004 08:27:07 -0700
Lines: 20
Message-ID:
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="Utf-8"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Newsreader: Microsoft CDO for Windows 2000
Content-Class: urn:content-classes:message
Importance: normal
Priority: normal
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.3790.0
Newsgroups: microsoft.public.access.reports
NNTP-Posting-Host: TK2MSFTNGXA03.phx.gbl 10.40.1.29
Path: cpmsftngxa10.phx.gbl!TK2MSFTNGXA03.phx.gbl
Xref: cpmsftngxa10.phx.gbl microsoft.public.access.reports:145104
X-Tomcat-NG: microsoft.public.access.reports

I have seen this happen with reports anywhere from 200-600 pages in Access
2003 running on Windows 2000 or XP.

I have some simple code in the Detail_Format event of a report that either
displays or hides certain text boxes.

When I export the report to Word it hangs for 2.5 minutes on the Now
outputting...
window and then finally it will begin to output to RTF.

If I preview the report with the code still there the report comes up fine
as normal and then if I comment out the code it will output to RTF just

fine.
I put a breakpoint in the Detail_Format event and it didn't even break

when
outputting to RTF so I can't imagine why the code would cause it to have

such
a delay.

Any ideas?

Ryan




  #4  
Old September 3rd, 2004, 10:23 PM
Dale Dixon [MSFT]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Ryan,

My name is Dale and I'm reveiwing your issue:

I attempted to make this response earlier this week but messed it up. This
should work better.

ISSUE:

=====

Export to RTF very slow when code is present in Access report.

Occurs with reports with 200-600 pages

ENVIRONMENT

===========

Access 2003

Widows 2000 or XP.

STEPS TAKEN

==============

1. Simple code in the Detail_Format event of a report: displays or hides

certain text boxes.

2. Report is exported to Word it hangs for 2.5 minutes displaying the Now

outputting window but output to RTF begins.

3. Preview the report with the code still in detail section - Displays

normal

4. If code is commented out , output to RTF works fine.

5. A breakpoint is placed in the Detail_Format event and it didn't break

during outputting to RTF

Appears that items 2 and 5 are issues to address at this point: the report

hanging during the output operation and the fact that putting a breakpoint

in his code does not break during execution of the output to RTF operation.

STEPS TO TAKE

============

1. Need to gather more specific information about the environment, such as:

- Service packs and versions of applications like Word.

- Versions of Jet, MDAC

- Need to determine if this can be reproduced in the Northwind sample

database or similar database

2. It will be a good idea to provide the specific steps to reproduce the

issue in a similar environment.

3. If its possible please provide sample code, or a sample database with a

report which displays this behavior.

- specific fields

- specific code used in detail section

- specific data used in the report

- specific configuration of database and system when issue occurs

NOTES

=====

The breakpoints being ignored may be attributed to the issue addressed in

the following article:

ACC2000: Breakpoints Are Ignored in Visual Basic for Applications Code

(296848)

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;EN-US;296848

NEXT STEPS

=========

Ryan if its possible for you to provide specific repro steps and a sample

database that would be great for me to troubleshoot here also. Also Ryan

please review the informtion above and let me know if this correct.

Thanks

Dale

wrote in message
...
I am using the following code, as a test example, in the report:
----------------------------------------------------
Private Sub Detail_Format(Cancel As Integer, FormatCount As Integer)
If Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtFirstName.Valu e = "sdf" Then
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtFirstName.Visi ble = True
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtBoldFirstName. Visible = False
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtLastName.Visib le = True
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtBoldLastName.V isible = False
Else
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtFirstName.Visi ble = False
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtBoldFirstName. Visible = True
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtLastName.Visib le = False
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtBoldLastName.V isible = True
End If
End Sub
---------------------------------------------------
I have the report based on a table with 3 fields and 10,000 rows.

The code works fine when I preview the report. When I export to Word it
will "hang" at outputting... for 2.5 minutes and then begin outputting
page
1, 2, ...

If I comment out the code AFTER I have already opened it in Preview mode
it
will begin outputting page 1,2,... immediately.

I included a Stop command in the code and when I output to Word it never
breaks to the code leading me to believe the code never runs during the
output to Word. If the code never runs why is there such a delay when the
code is there?

Ryan

"Vikrant V Dalwale [MSFT]" wrote:



Hello Ryan,

I would appreciate your patience while I am having tech experts look
into
this issue.

Thanks for using MSDN Managed Newsgroup.

Vikrant Dalwale

Microsoft SQL Server Support Professional


Microsoft highly recommends to all of our customers that they visit the
http://www.microsoft.com/protect site and perform the three
straightforward
steps listed to improve your computer's security.
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
rights.



--------------------
Thread-Topic: Export to RTF very slow when code is present in Access

report.
thread-index: AcSJ7tC6+pF1b2QHTKqoZGtsXszArQ==
X-WBNR-Posting-Host: 156.153.255.134
From: "=?Utf-8?B?UnlhbkBuZXdzZ3JvdXBzLm5vc3BhbQ==?="


Subject: Export to RTF very slow when code is present in Access report.
Date: Tue, 24 Aug 2004 08:27:07 -0700
Lines: 20
Message-ID:
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="Utf-8"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Newsreader: Microsoft CDO for Windows 2000
Content-Class: urn:content-classes:message
Importance: normal
Priority: normal
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.3790.0
Newsgroups: microsoft.public.access.reports
NNTP-Posting-Host: TK2MSFTNGXA03.phx.gbl 10.40.1.29
Path: cpmsftngxa10.phx.gbl!TK2MSFTNGXA03.phx.gbl
Xref: cpmsftngxa10.phx.gbl microsoft.public.access.reports:145104
X-Tomcat-NG: microsoft.public.access.reports

I have seen this happen with reports anywhere from 200-600 pages in
Access
2003 running on Windows 2000 or XP.

I have some simple code in the Detail_Format event of a report that
either
displays or hides certain text boxes.

When I export the report to Word it hangs for 2.5 minutes on the Now
outputting...
window and then finally it will begin to output to RTF.

If I preview the report with the code still there the report comes up
fine
as normal and then if I comment out the code it will output to RTF just

fine.
I put a breakpoint in the Detail_Format event and it didn't even break

when
outputting to RTF so I can't imagine why the code would cause it to have

such
a delay.

Any ideas?

Ryan






  #5  
Old September 3rd, 2004, 10:35 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

My previous post in this thread has the sample code. I put a Stop statement,
not a breakpoint in the code, and it never stopped.

Setup a simple table with ~10,000 rows.
Create a query that returns all rows.
Create a report on the query.
Add the sample code.
Preview the report and everything works fine and fast.
Output to Word with code still there and it is extremely slow.
Preview the report with the code, then comment the code, and output to Word
is fast.

Office 2003. Latest Jet.

"Dale Dixon [MSFT]" wrote:

Hi Ryan,

My name is Dale and I'm reveiwing your issue:

I attempted to make this response earlier this week but messed it up. This
should work better.

ISSUE:

=====

Export to RTF very slow when code is present in Access report.

Occurs with reports with 200-600 pages

ENVIRONMENT

===========

Access 2003

Widows 2000 or XP.

STEPS TAKEN

==============

1. Simple code in the Detail_Format event of a report: displays or hides

certain text boxes.

2. Report is exported to Word it hangs for 2.5 minutes displaying the Now

outputting window but output to RTF begins.

3. Preview the report with the code still in detail section - Displays

normal

4. If code is commented out , output to RTF works fine.

5. A breakpoint is placed in the Detail_Format event and it didn't break

during outputting to RTF

Appears that items 2 and 5 are issues to address at this point: the report

hanging during the output operation and the fact that putting a breakpoint

in his code does not break during execution of the output to RTF operation.

STEPS TO TAKE

============

1. Need to gather more specific information about the environment, such as:

- Service packs and versions of applications like Word.

- Versions of Jet, MDAC

- Need to determine if this can be reproduced in the Northwind sample

database or similar database

2. It will be a good idea to provide the specific steps to reproduce the

issue in a similar environment.

3. If its possible please provide sample code, or a sample database with a

report which displays this behavior.

- specific fields

- specific code used in detail section

- specific data used in the report

- specific configuration of database and system when issue occurs

NOTES

=====

The breakpoints being ignored may be attributed to the issue addressed in

the following article:

ACC2000: Breakpoints Are Ignored in Visual Basic for Applications Code

(296848)

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;EN-US;296848

NEXT STEPS

=========

Ryan if its possible for you to provide specific repro steps and a sample

database that would be great for me to troubleshoot here also. Also Ryan

please review the informtion above and let me know if this correct.

Thanks

Dale

wrote in message
...
I am using the following code, as a test example, in the report:
----------------------------------------------------
Private Sub Detail_Format(Cancel As Integer, FormatCount As Integer)
If Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtFirstName.Valu e = "sdf" Then
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtFirstName.Visi ble = True
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtBoldFirstName. Visible = False
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtLastName.Visib le = True
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtBoldLastName.V isible = False
Else
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtFirstName.Visi ble = False
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtBoldFirstName. Visible = True
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtLastName.Visib le = False
Report_ReportonqryNotPassThrough!txtBoldLastName.V isible = True
End If
End Sub
---------------------------------------------------
I have the report based on a table with 3 fields and 10,000 rows.

The code works fine when I preview the report. When I export to Word it
will "hang" at outputting... for 2.5 minutes and then begin outputting
page
1, 2, ...

If I comment out the code AFTER I have already opened it in Preview mode
it
will begin outputting page 1,2,... immediately.

I included a Stop command in the code and when I output to Word it never
breaks to the code leading me to believe the code never runs during the
output to Word. If the code never runs why is there such a delay when the
code is there?

Ryan

"Vikrant V Dalwale [MSFT]" wrote:



Hello Ryan,

I would appreciate your patience while I am having tech experts look
into
this issue.

Thanks for using MSDN Managed Newsgroup.

Vikrant Dalwale

Microsoft SQL Server Support Professional


Microsoft highly recommends to all of our customers that they visit the
http://www.microsoft.com/protect site and perform the three
straightforward
steps listed to improve your computer's security.
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
rights.



--------------------
Thread-Topic: Export to RTF very slow when code is present in Access
report.
thread-index: AcSJ7tC6+pF1b2QHTKqoZGtsXszArQ==
X-WBNR-Posting-Host: 156.153.255.134
From: "=?Utf-8?B?UnlhbkBuZXdzZ3JvdXBzLm5vc3BhbQ==?="

Subject: Export to RTF very slow when code is present in Access report.
Date: Tue, 24 Aug 2004 08:27:07 -0700
Lines: 20
Message-ID:
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="Utf-8"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Newsreader: Microsoft CDO for Windows 2000
Content-Class: urn:content-classes:message
Importance: normal
Priority: normal
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.3790.0
Newsgroups: microsoft.public.access.reports
NNTP-Posting-Host: TK2MSFTNGXA03.phx.gbl 10.40.1.29
Path: cpmsftngxa10.phx.gbl!TK2MSFTNGXA03.phx.gbl
Xref: cpmsftngxa10.phx.gbl microsoft.public.access.reports:145104
X-Tomcat-NG: microsoft.public.access.reports

I have seen this happen with reports anywhere from 200-600 pages in
Access
2003 running on Windows 2000 or XP.

I have some simple code in the Detail_Format event of a report that
either
displays or hides certain text boxes.

When I export the report to Word it hangs for 2.5 minutes on the Now
outputting...
window and then finally it will begin to output to RTF.

If I preview the report with the code still there the report comes up
fine
as normal and then if I comment out the code it will output to RTF just
fine.
I put a breakpoint in the Detail_Format event and it didn't even break
when
outputting to RTF so I can't imagine why the code would cause it to have
such
a delay.

Any ideas?

Ryan







  #6  
Old September 6th, 2004, 11:03 PM
Dale Dixon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Ryan,

I did receive your information, thanks for the information I will use it to
reproduce your issue,
I'm presently attempting to repro and will provide feedback 09/07/2004 on
my results.

Dale

  #7  
Old September 9th, 2004, 06:35 AM
Dale Dixon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Ryan

I'm listing below a sample of a test I performed based on the information
you provided:

Created a sample database with the following fields in a table:
* txtFirstName Text 50
* txtLastName Text 50
* txtBoldFirstName Text 50
* Attempts made with 14,000 plus and 10,000 records same results.

Created 2 reports to test :

1. OnPrint code added to the report detail section of the sample Report
=========================================
Private Sub Detail_Print(Cancel As Integer, PrintCount As Integer)
If Reports!rpt3!txtFirstName.Value = "Nancy" Then
Reports!rpt3!txtFirstName.Visible = True
Reports!rpt3!txtBoldFirstName.Visible = False
Reports!rpt3!txtLastName.Visible = True
Reports!rpt3!txtBoldLastName.Visible = False
Else
Reports!rpt3!txtFirstName.Visible = False
Reports!rpt3!txtBoldFirstName.Visible = True
Reports!rpt3!txtLastName.Visible = False
Reports!rpt3!txtBoldLastName.Visible = True
End If
End Sub

RESULTS
======
* preview of the report was satisfactory
* export to .rtf was satisfactory
* publish it to Microsoft Word was satisfactory.

2. OnFormat code added to the report detail section

Private Sub Detail_Format(Cancel As Integer, FormatCount As Integer)
If Reports!rpt3Flds!txtFirstName.Value = "Nancy" Then
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtFirstName.Visible = True
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtBoldFirstName.Visible = False
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtLastName.Visible = True
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtBoldLastName.Visible = False
Else
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtFirstName.Visible = False
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtBoldFirstName.Visible = True
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtLastName.Visible = False
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtBoldLastName.Visible = True
End If

End Sub

RESULTS
======
* preview of the report was satisfactory
* export to .rtf was satisfactory
* publish it to Microsoft Word received overflow error. once but continued
satisfacatory

Next Steps
=======
Ryan could you verify that the test performed are the steps you are also
taking also:
1. See if moving the code to the OnPrint property display the same results
2. Let me know if export to .rtf is what you are accomplishing or are you
using publish it to word in Office links.

Thanks
ddixon

  #8  
Old September 9th, 2004, 04:45 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If I comment out all of the Detail_Format event and use the Detail_Print
event everything seems to work fine.

I still have slowness if the Detail_Format event exists, even if there is no
code in it.

Using the Print event is sufficient but if there is an answer as to why the
Format event appears to be "checked" even thogh not used during exporting to
rtf that would be helpful.

Using the Word icon in OfficeLinks or Export to RTF have the same results.

Thank you for the information.

Ryan

"Dale Dixon" wrote:

Hi Ryan

I'm listing below a sample of a test I performed based on the information
you provided:

Created a sample database with the following fields in a table:
* txtFirstName Text 50
* txtLastName Text 50
* txtBoldFirstName Text 50
* Attempts made with 14,000 plus and 10,000 records same results.

Created 2 reports to test :

1. OnPrint code added to the report detail section of the sample Report
=========================================
Private Sub Detail_Print(Cancel As Integer, PrintCount As Integer)
If Reports!rpt3!txtFirstName.Value = "Nancy" Then
Reports!rpt3!txtFirstName.Visible = True
Reports!rpt3!txtBoldFirstName.Visible = False
Reports!rpt3!txtLastName.Visible = True
Reports!rpt3!txtBoldLastName.Visible = False
Else
Reports!rpt3!txtFirstName.Visible = False
Reports!rpt3!txtBoldFirstName.Visible = True
Reports!rpt3!txtLastName.Visible = False
Reports!rpt3!txtBoldLastName.Visible = True
End If
End Sub

RESULTS
======
* preview of the report was satisfactory
* export to .rtf was satisfactory
* publish it to Microsoft Word was satisfactory.

2. OnFormat code added to the report detail section

Private Sub Detail_Format(Cancel As Integer, FormatCount As Integer)
If Reports!rpt3Flds!txtFirstName.Value = "Nancy" Then
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtFirstName.Visible = True
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtBoldFirstName.Visible = False
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtLastName.Visible = True
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtBoldLastName.Visible = False
Else
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtFirstName.Visible = False
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtBoldFirstName.Visible = True
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtLastName.Visible = False
Reports!rpt3Flds!txtBoldLastName.Visible = True
End If

End Sub

RESULTS
======
* preview of the report was satisfactory
* export to .rtf was satisfactory
* publish it to Microsoft Word received overflow error. once but continued
satisfacatory

Next Steps
=======
Ryan could you verify that the test performed are the steps you are also
taking also:
1. See if moving the code to the OnPrint property display the same results
2. Let me know if export to .rtf is what you are accomplishing or are you
using publish it to word in Office links.

Thanks
ddixon


  #9  
Old September 10th, 2004, 11:06 PM
Dale Dixon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Ryan,

Thanks for the update, the possible solution provided was one based on
previous related issues which have been reported , related to code and
calculations in the reports format event.

You state that the print event works sufficiently, however would like to
know why the fomat event appears "checked". I'm not exactly sure I know
what you mean by appearing checked. Could you let me know what is the exact
display which indicates that the format event is checked and I will respond
to your question.

Thanks.

Dale

  #10  
Old September 11th, 2004, 12:37 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Dale,

Quick Example:
If I remove all code from the report and preview the report, the report of
course opens fine.
Then if I switch to VB Editor still with the report open and add this code:

Private Sub Detail_Format(Cancel As Integer, FormatCount As Integer)
Stop
End Sub

when I switch back to the report and click the Microsoft Word button on the
OfficeLinks toolbar I get the Now Outputting window but it does not list any
page numbers yet. After about 2.5 minutes it begins to say Now Outputting
page 1,2,etc.

The reason I say it appears "checked" is because I put the Stop command in
there but the code never breaks when outputting to Word. If I delete out the
above 3 lines of code it exports to Word right away.

Granted, this is running on a 450 MHz machine so you may not see what I am
talking about.

To recap: If the detail_format event exists, there is a large delay
outputting to word, even if there is not code in the event.

Ryan

"Dale Dixon" wrote:

Hi Ryan,

Thanks for the update, the possible solution provided was one based on
previous related issues which have been reported , related to code and
calculations in the reports format event.

You state that the print event works sufficiently, however would like to
know why the fomat event appears "checked". I'm not exactly sure I know
what you mean by appearing checked. Could you let me know what is the exact
display which indicates that the format event is checked and I will respond
to your question.

Thanks.

Dale


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Images in a database Franz General Discussion 10 October 7th, 2004 09:35 AM
Export of Report Drops Code tyrdrannoy General Discussion 4 September 9th, 2004 10:59 PM
Export to RTF very slow when code is present in Access report. [email protected] Setting Up & Running Reports 3 August 21st, 2004 12:53 PM
subreport not showing fully Pam Ammond Setting Up & Running Reports 11 August 19th, 2004 10:19 PM
6 Tables, 1 Report, W/O 6 Qrys Andy Setting Up & Running Reports 9 June 29th, 2004 09:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.