A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Excel » General Discussion
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Hyperlinks



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 19th, 2005, 05:57 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Hyperlinks


Hi,

I am trying to integrate some hyperlinks into my workbook, essentially
all they are doing is jumping from one area on a sheet to another area
on the same sheet.

However, when I have a link at the top of the sheet and have it linking
to a cell many rows below, when it is clicked the cell it's jumping to
is made active but at the bottom of the visible area on my screen. What
I mean is that the new active cell is not put at the top of the viewing
area.

Is there any way of getting around this? Seems a bit stupid to me!

Cheers,

Mark.


--
mevetts


------------------------------------------------------------------------
mevetts's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=29130
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=494644

  #2  
Old December 19th, 2005, 06:12 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Hyperlinks

How did you insert the hyperlink?

Did you use Insert|Hyperlink?

If yes, then maybe you could rightclick on the worksheet tab that holds the
hyperlink. Select view code.

Paste this in:

Option Explicit
Private Sub Worksheet_FollowHyperlink(ByVal Target As Hyperlink)
On Error Resume Next
Application.Goto Target.SubAddress, scroll:=True
On Error GoTo 0
End Sub


mevetts wrote:

Hi,

I am trying to integrate some hyperlinks into my workbook, essentially
all they are doing is jumping from one area on a sheet to another area
on the same sheet.

However, when I have a link at the top of the sheet and have it linking
to a cell many rows below, when it is clicked the cell it's jumping to
is made active but at the bottom of the visible area on my screen. What
I mean is that the new active cell is not put at the top of the viewing
area.

Is there any way of getting around this? Seems a bit stupid to me!

Cheers,

Mark.

--
mevetts

------------------------------------------------------------------------
mevetts's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=29130
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=494644


--

Dave Peterson
  #3  
Old December 19th, 2005, 06:22 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Hyperlinks


Hi Dave,

I have tried pasting the code in, but when I still click the link it
jumps to the linked cell, but it is still appearing at the bottom of
the screen.

In web design, you use anchors and when a link is clicked that realtes
to an anchor the anchor is displayed at the top of the screen, thus
showing what's below it.

Any other ideas?

Thanks.


--
mevetts


------------------------------------------------------------------------
mevetts's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=29130
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=494644

  #4  
Old December 19th, 2005, 06:35 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Hyperlinks

Did you paste the code behind the correct worksheet?
Did you enable macros when you opened that workbook?
(Try saving, closing and reopening -- answer yes to enable macros)

And you did create the link via Insert|Hyperlink, right?



mevetts wrote:

Hi Dave,

I have tried pasting the code in, but when I still click the link it
jumps to the linked cell, but it is still appearing at the bottom of
the screen.

In web design, you use anchors and when a link is clicked that realtes
to an anchor the anchor is displayed at the top of the screen, thus
showing what's below it.

Any other ideas?

Thanks.

--
mevetts

------------------------------------------------------------------------
mevetts's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=29130
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=494644


--

Dave Peterson
  #5  
Old December 19th, 2005, 06:47 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Hyperlinks


Yep, I did all those things, but no joy.


--
mevetts


------------------------------------------------------------------------
mevetts's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=29130
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=494644

  #6  
Old December 19th, 2005, 07:10 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Hyperlinks

I don't have another suggestion. It worked fine for me.

mevetts wrote:

Yep, I did all those things, but no joy.

--
mevetts

------------------------------------------------------------------------
mevetts's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=29130
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=494644


--

Dave Peterson
  #7  
Old December 19th, 2005, 08:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Hyperlinks


Would it be possible for you to post an example so I could perhaps try
and use a working model?

Or you could email me over a workbook?

Sorry, if that's a bit cheeky, but just really want to get it working.

Mark.


--
mevetts


------------------------------------------------------------------------
mevetts's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=29130
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=494644

  #8  
Old December 19th, 2005, 09:00 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Hyperlinks

The code I posted in the previous response was all I used.

If you did what you said you did, then I don't it'll help.

mevetts wrote:

Would it be possible for you to post an example so I could perhaps try
and use a working model?

Or you could email me over a workbook?

Sorry, if that's a bit cheeky, but just really want to get it working.

Mark.

--
mevetts

------------------------------------------------------------------------
mevetts's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=29130
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=494644


--

Dave Peterson
  #9  
Old December 19th, 2005, 09:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Hyperlinks


Have I put the code where it should be?


+-------------------------------------------------------------------+
|Filename: screen.jpg |
|Download: http://www.excelforum.com/attachment.php?postid=4131 |
+-------------------------------------------------------------------+

--
mevetts


------------------------------------------------------------------------
mevetts's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=29130
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=494644

  #10  
Old December 19th, 2005, 09:42 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.misc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Hyperlinks

I don't see your post through excelforum, so I can't see the attachment.

did you rightclick on the worksheet tab that contained the hyperlink? Did you
select View code and paste into that code window?



mevetts wrote:

Have I put the code where it should be?

+-------------------------------------------------------------------+
|Filename: screen.jpg |
|Download: http://www.excelforum.com/attachment.php?postid=4131 |
+-------------------------------------------------------------------+

--
mevetts

------------------------------------------------------------------------
mevetts's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=29130
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=494644


--

Dave Peterson
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hyperlinks to PDF documents MDatCSC General Discussion 1 April 20th, 2005 09:26 PM
Converting hyperlinks in .doc to working links in .htm... Petter Hære General Discussion 3 December 16th, 2004 04:05 AM
Using Hyperlinks in Mail Merge IF...THEN...ELSE Statements Mark V Mailmerge 8 November 30th, 2004 01:31 PM
Using VBA to search for hyperlinks in textboxes Adelia Powerpoint 1 August 27th, 2004 03:05 AM
What problems can I expect with 1000 hyperlinks? Peter Noneley Links and Linking 0 November 25th, 2003 11:04 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.