A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

limiting number of records



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 12th, 2009, 02:29 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Miami5 via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18
Default limiting number of records

Hi, I looking to put a limit on the number of records a person can enter into
the program.
I want to use it as a demo version to give clients a look at the program and
limit the number of entries they can enter.
not sure eon the code and where i would enter it.

Would it go into the form before update?
thanks for any help

--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200910/1

  #2  
Old October 12th, 2009, 04:32 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Arvin Meyer [MVP][_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,310
Default limiting number of records

Anything you do, you'll need to secure, or your users can change it.

The easiest way to limit records is to set a validation rule both in the
table and in the form. If you want to limit the records to 10, use an
Autonumber field as the primary key, and set the validation rule to:

=10
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


"Miami5 via AccessMonster.com" u52885@uwe wrote in message
news:9d755a3da5a95@uwe...
Hi, I looking to put a limit on the number of records a person can enter
into
the program.
I want to use it as a demo version to give clients a look at the program
and
limit the number of entries they can enter.
not sure eon the code and where i would enter it.

Would it go into the form before update?
thanks for any help

--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200910/1



  #3  
Old October 12th, 2009, 04:44 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Miami5 via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18
Default limiting number of records

Thanks, how can i go about securing the information

Arvin Meyer [MVP] wrote:
Anything you do, you'll need to secure, or your users can change it.

The easiest way to limit records is to set a validation rule both in the
table and in the form. If you want to limit the records to 10, use an
Autonumber field as the primary key, and set the validation rule to:

=10
Hi, I looking to put a limit on the number of records a person can enter
into

[quoted text clipped - 6 lines]
Would it go into the form before update?
thanks for any help


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200910/1

  #4  
Old October 12th, 2009, 08:38 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Arvin Meyer [MVP][_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,310
Default limiting number of records

Security is not trivial. Here's what you need to know:

Security FAQ
http://support.microsoft.com/downloa...les/SECFAQ.EXE

Lynn Trapp's summarization:
http://www.ltcomputerdesigns.com/The10Steps.htm

KB articles:
http://support.microsoft.com/default...;en-us;q165009
http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...-us/secfaq.exe
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?kbid=325261

Joan Wild's articles:
http://www.jmwild.com/security02.htm
http://www.jmwild.com/security97.htm
http://www.jmwild.com/SecureNoLogin.htm
http://www.jmwild.com/Unsecure.htm
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.mvps.org/access
http://www.accessmvp.com


"Miami5 via AccessMonster.com" u52885@uwe wrote in message
news:9d7cd1f46c740@uwe...
Thanks, how can i go about securing the information

Arvin Meyer [MVP] wrote:
Anything you do, you'll need to secure, or your users can change it.

The easiest way to limit records is to set a validation rule both in the
table and in the form. If you want to limit the records to 10, use an
Autonumber field as the primary key, and set the validation rule to:

=10
Hi, I looking to put a limit on the number of records a person can enter
into

[quoted text clipped - 6 lines]
Would it go into the form before update?
thanks for any help


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200910/1



  #5  
Old October 13th, 2009, 12:40 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Linq Adams via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,474
Default limiting number of records

Security is, indeed, not trivial. And, it depends on how complex the database
id, of course, but for\ a given form/table:

Private Sub Form_Load()
DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acLast
DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acLast
End Sub

Private Sub Form_Current()

Dim MaxRecs as Long

MaxRecs = 100

If Me.RecordsetClone.RecordCount MaxRecs Then Me.AllowAdditions = False

End Sub

This limits the number of records to 100. Now simply convert the Mdb file to
an Mde file and distribute it and the code won't be accessible to the end
user so modification won't be possibe.

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000/2003

Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.