A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » General Discussion
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Hide Access Application window?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 20th, 2008, 01:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
NES
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 106
Default Hide Access Application window?

I have a simple application - one form only - and the Access menu bar and the
window that holds it is somewhat annoying. Is there any way to hide
(preferably temporarily) the Access window and menu bar when I call the
application in? I'm NOT speaking of the database window, but rather the title
bar and the gray screen that sits behind and around the application. It would
just look neater to see only the form without this area showing. I have it
reduced in size, but I can't eliminate it altogether. Is it possible to hide
it? Any help would be most appreciated. Thank you.
--
Norm Shimmel
Butler, PA
  #2  
Old November 20th, 2008, 02:36 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Tom van Stiphout[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,653
Default Hide Access Application window?

On Thu, 20 Nov 2008 04:32:01 -0800, NES
wrote:

That is possible, but certainly not trivial. You have to use a Popup
form, and then use a bunch of Windows API calls to resize the main
Access window behind your form, and to keep it there when your form is
moved.

-Tom.
Microsoft Access MVP


I have a simple application - one form only - and the Access menu bar and the
window that holds it is somewhat annoying. Is there any way to hide
(preferably temporarily) the Access window and menu bar when I call the
application in? I'm NOT speaking of the database window, but rather the title
bar and the gray screen that sits behind and around the application. It would
just look neater to see only the form without this area showing. I have it
reduced in size, but I can't eliminate it altogether. Is it possible to hide
it? Any help would be most appreciated. Thank you.

  #3  
Old November 20th, 2008, 02:50 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
NES
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 106
Default Hide Access Application window?

Oh wow. That sounds like a lot of fun --- NOT! I suspected it might not be
easy, and it's not really worth a lot of effort. But I sure thank you for the
information. I've often wondered about that. Thanks again.
--
Norm Shimmel
Butler, PA


"Tom van Stiphout" wrote:

On Thu, 20 Nov 2008 04:32:01 -0800, NES
wrote:

That is possible, but certainly not trivial. You have to use a Popup
form, and then use a bunch of Windows API calls to resize the main
Access window behind your form, and to keep it there when your form is
moved.

-Tom.
Microsoft Access MVP


I have a simple application - one form only - and the Access menu bar and the
window that holds it is somewhat annoying. Is there any way to hide
(preferably temporarily) the Access window and menu bar when I call the
application in? I'm NOT speaking of the database window, but rather the title
bar and the gray screen that sits behind and around the application. It would
just look neater to see only the form without this area showing. I have it
reduced in size, but I can't eliminate it altogether. Is it possible to hide
it? Any help would be most appreciated. Thank you.


  #4  
Old November 21st, 2008, 03:28 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
Dirk Goldgar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,529
Default Hide Access Application window?

"Tom van Stiphout" wrote in message
...
On Thu, 20 Nov 2008 04:32:01 -0800, NES
wrote:

That is possible, but certainly not trivial. You have to use a Popup
form, and then use a bunch of Windows API calls to resize the main
Access window behind your form, and to keep it there when your form is
moved.



It's not quite that hard, Tom -- you can hide the application window
completely with (I think) one API call. However, any form or report you
want to show on the screen has to be both popup and modal, so it's
definitely cumbersome to do for any but the simplest application. This link
has the code:

http://www.mvps.org/access/api/api0019.htm
API: Manipulate Access Window


--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)

  #5  
Old November 21st, 2008, 06:01 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
NES
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 106
Default Hide Access Application window?

Dirk, thank you for that information and link. I've copied it for safe
keeping. I'm not sure exactly where this code should be placed I'm assuming
that selecting the On Open option from the form properties will allow me to
open the proper window.

If that is so, I'm going to give this a try. Thanks again.
--
Norm Shimmel
Butler, PA


"Dirk Goldgar" wrote:

"Tom van Stiphout" wrote in message
...
On Thu, 20 Nov 2008 04:32:01 -0800, NES
wrote:

That is possible, but certainly not trivial. You have to use a Popup
form, and then use a bunch of Windows API calls to resize the main
Access window behind your form, and to keep it there when your form is
moved.



It's not quite that hard, Tom -- you can hide the application window
completely with (I think) one API call. However, any form or report you
want to show on the screen has to be both popup and modal, so it's
definitely cumbersome to do for any but the simplest application. This link
has the code:

http://www.mvps.org/access/api/api0019.htm
API: Manipulate Access Window


--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)


  #6  
Old November 21st, 2008, 06:16 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
Dirk Goldgar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,529
Default Hide Access Application window?

"NES" wrote in message
...
Dirk, thank you for that information and link. I've copied it for safe
keeping. I'm not sure exactly where this code should be placed I'm
assuming
that selecting the On Open option from the form properties will allow me
to
open the proper window.

If that is so, I'm going to give this a try. Thanks again.



The code from the web page should go into a new standard module, which you
would create by going to the Modules tab of the database window (if you're
using Access 2003 or earlier) and clicking the "New" button. If you're
using Access 2007, I don't remember exactly how you do it, but I think you
go to the Create tab of the ribbon, and drop down the Macro button to choose
Module -- or something like that. Once you're in the module, paste in the
code from the web page, and save the module.

The form's Open event is where you put the code to call that function. If
you set the form's On Open property to "[Event Procedure]", then click the
builder button (caption "...") at the end of the property line, you'll find
yourself in the VBA editor, positioned inside the Form_Open event procedure,
ready to add the code. It will look like this:

Private Sub Form_Open(Cancel As Integer)


End Sub

You'll add lines to make it look like this:

Private Sub Form_Open(Cancel As Integer)

Me.Visible = True
DoEvents
fSetAccessWindow SW_HIDE

End Sub

That's all the coding you need to do. The only other thing you need to do
is make sure your form's PopUp and Modal properties are both set to Yes.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)

  #7  
Old September 21st, 2009, 05:42 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Girl Seeking Access Help
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default Hide Access Application window?

Hi Dirk,
I followed the instructions above and it WORKED!!! The instructions were
great and easy to follow. It took it me a couple of minutes to figure out
PopUp and Modal were in the "other" tab, but other than that... it worked
like a charm!!
Thank you very much
--
Anna


"Dirk Goldgar" wrote:

"NES" wrote in message
...
Dirk, thank you for that information and link. I've copied it for safe
keeping. I'm not sure exactly where this code should be placed I'm
assuming
that selecting the On Open option from the form properties will allow me
to
open the proper window.

If that is so, I'm going to give this a try. Thanks again.



The code from the web page should go into a new standard module, which you
would create by going to the Modules tab of the database window (if you're
using Access 2003 or earlier) and clicking the "New" button. If you're
using Access 2007, I don't remember exactly how you do it, but I think you
go to the Create tab of the ribbon, and drop down the Macro button to choose
Module -- or something like that. Once you're in the module, paste in the
code from the web page, and save the module.

The form's Open event is where you put the code to call that function. If
you set the form's On Open property to "[Event Procedure]", then click the
builder button (caption "...") at the end of the property line, you'll find
yourself in the VBA editor, positioned inside the Form_Open event procedure,
ready to add the code. It will look like this:

Private Sub Form_Open(Cancel As Integer)


End Sub

You'll add lines to make it look like this:

Private Sub Form_Open(Cancel As Integer)

Me.Visible = True
DoEvents
fSetAccessWindow SW_HIDE

End Sub

That's all the coding you need to do. The only other thing you need to do
is make sure your form's PopUp and Modal properties are both set to Yes.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)


  #8  
Old September 21st, 2009, 07:07 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Dirk Goldgar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,529
Default Hide Access Application window?

"Girl Seeking Access Help"
wrote in message ...
Hi Dirk,
I followed the instructions above and it WORKED!!! The instructions were
great and easy to follow. It took it me a couple of minutes to figure out
PopUp and Modal were in the "other" tab, but other than that... it worked
like a charm!!
Thank you very much
--
Anna



You're welcome, Anna.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
Access tips: www.datagnostics.com/tips.html

(please reply to the newsgroup)

  #9  
Old September 21st, 2009, 07:51 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Girl Seeking Access Help
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10
Default Hide Access Application window?

Gee...
Now I have a problem...
the form has command buttons to preview and print certain reports. They
don't work now. I undid the entire precedure and only then the command
buttons worked again. Please help!! I really want to hide the access menu
(it looks much more professional!) but i definetily need to be able to call
the reports from the form.
--
Anna


"Dirk Goldgar" wrote:

"Girl Seeking Access Help"
wrote in message ...
Hi Dirk,
I followed the instructions above and it WORKED!!! The instructions were
great and easy to follow. It took it me a couple of minutes to figure out
PopUp and Modal were in the "other" tab, but other than that... it worked
like a charm!!
Thank you very much
--
Anna



You're welcome, Anna.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
Access tips: www.datagnostics.com/tips.html

(please reply to the newsgroup)

  #10  
Old September 22nd, 2009, 12:09 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
Larry Daugherty
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,012
Default Hide Access Application window?

The below snippet of code is taken from one of the "execute" command
buttons that causes a form to be either Previewed or Printed
immediately depending on the state of two radio buttons in an option
box that toggle each other. The sense of the line of code with the
DcCmd is:

print the report whose name is in local string variable DocName. If
the value of Me!optPrintOrPrieview = 1 then print the report
immediately, else just display it for preview. There is (or used to
be) complete information in Access Help including useful examples.



Dim DocName As String

DocName = "rptLineCountSortedbyDate"
DoCmd.OpenReport DocName, IIf(Me![optPrintOrPreview] = 1,
A_NORMAL, A_PREVIEW)



HTH
--
-Larry-
--

"Girl Seeking Access Help"
wrote in message
...
Gee...
Now I have a problem...
the form has command buttons to preview and print certain reports.

They
don't work now. I undid the entire precedure and only then the

command
buttons worked again. Please help!! I really want to hide the

access menu
(it looks much more professional!) but i definetily need to be able

to call
the reports from the form.
--
Anna


"Dirk Goldgar" wrote:

"Girl Seeking Access Help"


wrote in message

...
Hi Dirk,
I followed the instructions above and it WORKED!!! The

instructions were
great and easy to follow. It took it me a couple of minutes to

figure out
PopUp and Modal were in the "other" tab, but other than that...

it worked
like a charm!!
Thank you very much
--
Anna



You're welcome, Anna.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
Access tips: www.datagnostics.com/tips.html

(please reply to the newsgroup)



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.