A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Append data



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 16th, 2007, 11:40 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
msvoboda
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2
Default Append data

My database is a "master table" with general data including itemcode numbers.
From there I have several subtables for additional data using the "master
itemcode numbers" as the primary key in all tables. I want to be able to
type in a new itemcode number into the "master table" and have it add that
piece of data to the subtables. Is there a way to automate this? Append
query? Is it possible to write one large append query for 5 subtables?
--
msvoboda
  #2  
Old September 17th, 2007, 02:07 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
tina
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,997
Default Append data

standard procedure is to *not* enter dummy records in child tables - why
would you want a table record (in any table) that has no data except the
primary key? if you use a mainform/subform setup to enter data (you
shouldn't be entering data directly in tables), then the master itemcode
number will automatically be entered in a subform (bound to a child table)
when you enter data in a new record in the subform.

hth


"msvoboda" wrote in message
...
My database is a "master table" with general data including itemcode

numbers.
From there I have several subtables for additional data using the "master
itemcode numbers" as the primary key in all tables. I want to be able to
type in a new itemcode number into the "master table" and have it add that
piece of data to the subtables. Is there a way to automate this? Append
query? Is it possible to write one large append query for 5 subtables?
--
msvoboda



  #3  
Old September 17th, 2007, 01:34 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
msvoboda
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2
Default Append data

They are not dummy records they keep the tables in sync. One master set of
record numbers with detail data in subtables. I want to be able to enter a
new item number and have only the item number create a new data line in all
tables.

Does this make sense. Cascade update only alters existing records but does
not add a new "client" line to all...???
--
msvoboda


"tina" wrote:

standard procedure is to *not* enter dummy records in child tables - why
would you want a table record (in any table) that has no data except the
primary key? if you use a mainform/subform setup to enter data (you
shouldn't be entering data directly in tables), then the master itemcode
number will automatically be entered in a subform (bound to a child table)
when you enter data in a new record in the subform.

hth


"msvoboda" wrote in message
...
My database is a "master table" with general data including itemcode

numbers.
From there I have several subtables for additional data using the "master
itemcode numbers" as the primary key in all tables. I want to be able to
type in a new itemcode number into the "master table" and have it add that
piece of data to the subtables. Is there a way to automate this? Append
query? Is it possible to write one large append query for 5 subtables?
--
msvoboda




  #4  
Old September 17th, 2007, 05:29 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Jeff Boyce
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,621
Default Append data

If the detail data applies to EVERY new record (i.e., you did say adding a
new data line in all tables), why do you have five "sub" tables to hold it?
This sounds like the data structure is more like a spreadsheet than a
normalized relational database.

Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Office/Access MVP

"msvoboda" wrote in message
...
They are not dummy records they keep the tables in sync. One master set
of
record numbers with detail data in subtables. I want to be able to enter
a
new item number and have only the item number create a new data line in
all
tables.

Does this make sense. Cascade update only alters existing records but
does
not add a new "client" line to all...???
--
msvoboda


"tina" wrote:

standard procedure is to *not* enter dummy records in child tables - why
would you want a table record (in any table) that has no data except the
primary key? if you use a mainform/subform setup to enter data (you
shouldn't be entering data directly in tables), then the master itemcode
number will automatically be entered in a subform (bound to a child
table)
when you enter data in a new record in the subform.

hth


"msvoboda" wrote in message
...
My database is a "master table" with general data including itemcode

numbers.
From there I have several subtables for additional data using the
"master
itemcode numbers" as the primary key in all tables. I want to be able
to
type in a new itemcode number into the "master table" and have it add
that
piece of data to the subtables. Is there a way to automate this?
Append
query? Is it possible to write one large append query for 5 subtables?
--
msvoboda






  #5  
Old September 18th, 2007, 04:24 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
tina
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,997
Default Append data

i don't really know what you mean by "keep the tables in sync". if you think
that each child table must have the same number of records as the parent
table, you're mistaken. suggest you read up on relational design principles,
to get a better grasp of the role of parent (master) tables and related
child (sub) tables. for more information, see
http://www.accessmvp.com/JConrad/acc...abaseDesign101.

hth


"msvoboda" wrote in message
...
They are not dummy records they keep the tables in sync. One master set

of
record numbers with detail data in subtables. I want to be able to enter

a
new item number and have only the item number create a new data line in

all
tables.

Does this make sense. Cascade update only alters existing records but

does
not add a new "client" line to all...???
--
msvoboda


"tina" wrote:

standard procedure is to *not* enter dummy records in child tables - why
would you want a table record (in any table) that has no data except the
primary key? if you use a mainform/subform setup to enter data (you
shouldn't be entering data directly in tables), then the master itemcode
number will automatically be entered in a subform (bound to a child

table)
when you enter data in a new record in the subform.

hth


"msvoboda" wrote in message
...
My database is a "master table" with general data including itemcode

numbers.
From there I have several subtables for additional data using the

"master
itemcode numbers" as the primary key in all tables. I want to be able

to
type in a new itemcode number into the "master table" and have it add

that
piece of data to the subtables. Is there a way to automate this?

Append
query? Is it possible to write one large append query for 5

subtables?
--
msvoboda






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.