A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Getting from Access to Word



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 2nd, 2007, 03:18 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Susan H. White
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 26
Default Getting from Access to Word

In a form, I have a listbox based on a table that contains Section,
Subsection, Page and Pathway. What I want to have happen is that selecting
one of the lines in the listbox automatically activates the Pathway so that
the specified document comes up in WORD.

I’m just unable to do this, despite hours of frustration with macros,
coding, etc. Can anyone help?

  #2  
Old January 2nd, 2007, 03:28 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,354
Default Getting from Access to Word

"Susan H. White" wrote in message
...
In a form, I have a listbox based on a table that contains Section,
Subsection, Page and Pathway. What I want to have happen is that selecting
one of the lines in the listbox automatically activates the Pathway so that
the specified document comes up in WORD.

I'm just unable to do this, despite hours of frustration with macros,
coding, etc. Can anyone help?


What code are you using now? I would expect something like...

Application.FollowHyperLink Me.ListBoxName.Column(3)

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #3  
Old January 2nd, 2007, 04:27 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Susan H. White
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 26
Default Getting from Access to Word

Exactly. I tried that code, built on a command button, just as you specified
earlier, but that didn't work. Then I tried building a macro. More failure.
Can't believe I'm this stupid. Susan

"Rick Brandt" wrote:

"Susan H. White" wrote in message
...
In a form, I have a listbox based on a table that contains Section,
Subsection, Page and Pathway. What I want to have happen is that selecting
one of the lines in the listbox automatically activates the Pathway so that
the specified document comes up in WORD.

I'm just unable to do this, despite hours of frustration with macros,
coding, etc. Can anyone help?


What code are you using now? I would expect something like...

Application.FollowHyperLink Me.ListBoxName.Column(3)

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com



  #4  
Old January 2nd, 2007, 04:30 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,354
Default Getting from Access to Word

"Susan H. White" wrote in message
...
Exactly. I tried that code, built on a command button, just as you specified
earlier, but that didn't work. Then I tried building a macro. More failure.
Can't believe I'm this stupid. Susan


Forget Macros. They will only hold you back. What exactly "didn't work"? Did
you get an error?

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #5  
Old January 2nd, 2007, 05:52 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Susan H. White
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 26
Default Getting from Access to Word

I get Compile Error. Method or data member not found.

"Rick Brandt" wrote:

"Susan H. White" wrote in message
...
Exactly. I tried that code, built on a command button, just as you specified
earlier, but that didn't work. Then I tried building a macro. More failure.
Can't believe I'm this stupid. Susan


Forget Macros. They will only hold you back. What exactly "didn't work"? Did
you get an error?

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com



  #6  
Old January 2nd, 2007, 05:58 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,354
Default Getting from Access to Word

"Susan H. White" wrote in message
...
I get Compile Error. Method or data member not found.


Does your Path contain spaces? If so you might need to wrap the whole value in
an extra set of double-quotes.

Application.FollowHyperLink Chr(34) & Me.ListBoxName.Column(3) & Chr(34)


--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #7  
Old January 2nd, 2007, 07:05 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Susan H. White
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 26
Default Getting from Access to Word

OK I'll try that Rick. But before I go off on another trip to frustration,
can you tell me what "Chr(34)" is? We've not talked about that one before and
I don't want to complicate the situation unless you say I need to. Thanks
again, Susan

"Rick Brandt" wrote:

"Susan H. White" wrote in message
...
I get Compile Error. Method or data member not found.


Does your Path contain spaces? If so you might need to wrap the whole value in
an extra set of double-quotes.

Application.FollowHyperLink Chr(34) & Me.ListBoxName.Column(3) & Chr(34)


--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com



  #8  
Old January 2nd, 2007, 09:40 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,354
Default Getting from Access to Word

"Susan H. White" wrote in message
...
OK I'll try that Rick. But before I go off on another trip to frustration,
can you tell me what "Chr(34)" is? We've not talked about that one before and
I don't want to complicate the situation unless you say I need to. Thanks
again, Susan


Chr(34) is the double-quote character. Using the Chr() function eliminates the
need to put double-quotes around your double-quotes (which can get confusing).

Do you have at least one path that contains no spaces that you can test with,
even if that means creating a temporary one? That should tell you if that is
the problem with what you have now.

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #9  
Old January 3rd, 2007, 03:08 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
lewie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 40
Default Getting from Access to Word

found this:
Question From my Microsoft Access form I would like to hyperlink to
a Microsoft Word document. At present each record contains a document
name and a full file path to where the document is stored. I would like
to open Word and view the specified document.


Answer The details below show how to Open the Microsoft Word
application and view the document specified in the associated record on
the form.

Paste the following code into a module:

'------------------Code Start-----------------------
Sub OpenWordDoc(strDocName As String)
Dim objApp As Object

'Opens the document

Set objApp = CreateObject("Word.Application")
objApp.Visible = True
objApp.Documents.Open strDocName
End Sub
'------------------Code End-------------------------
Then from the On Click event of the command button on the form (named
cmdOpenWordDoc in this example) paste the following (where Me.FilePath
is the name of the control on the form storing the path to the
associated file):

'------------------Code Start-----------------------
Private Sub cmdOpenWordDoc_Click()
'Check to see that there is a document file path associated with the
record
If IsNull(Me.FilePath) Or Me.FilePath = "" Then
MsgBox "Please Ensure There Is A File Path Associated For This
Document", _
vbInformation, "Action Cancelled"
Exit Sub
Else
'Check that the document specified in the file path is actually
there
If (Dir(Me.FilePath) = "") Then
MsgBox "Document Does Not Exist In The Specified Location",
_
vbExclamation, "Action Cancelled"
Exit Sub
Else
'Opens document in Word
Call OpenWordDoc(Me.FilePath)
End If
End If
End Sub
'------------------Code End-----------------------
This will initially check to see that the Microsoft Access record
contains a File Path in the control labelled FilePath. If there is no
entry in this field a message box is displayed to inform the user and
the action is cancelled.


Error when there is no file path associated with the record

If there is a file path entered, the next section If (Dir(Me.FilePath)
= "") checks to see that the document is present in the specified
location. If there is no document present the action is again cancelled
and a message box informs the user.


Error when the document does not exist in the specifed location

You can now open up Microsoft Word documents stored in any location as
long as you specify the full path to the file.

My guess would be you don't have the reference set.
Lewie
Rick Brandt wrote:
"Susan H. White" wrote in message
...
OK I'll try that Rick. But before I go off on another trip to frustration,
can you tell me what "Chr(34)" is? We've not talked about that one before and
I don't want to complicate the situation unless you say I need to. Thanks
again, Susan


Chr(34) is the double-quote character. Using the Chr() function eliminates the
need to put double-quotes around your double-quotes (which can get confusing).

Do you have at least one path that contains no spaces that you can test with,
even if that means creating a temporary one? That should tell you if that is
the problem with what you have now.

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #10  
Old January 3rd, 2007, 03:44 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Susan H. White
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 26
Default Getting from Access to Word

Rick: Following your suggestion, we seem to be getting closer. Now I get "Run
Time Error 432. File name or class name not found during Automation
operation."

I'll give it a rest for a bit and then go on to try Lewie's solution. Thanks
again. Susan

"Rick Brandt" wrote:

"Susan H. White" wrote in message
...
OK I'll try that Rick. But before I go off on another trip to frustration,
can you tell me what "Chr(34)" is? We've not talked about that one before and
I don't want to complicate the situation unless you say I need to. Thanks
again, Susan


Chr(34) is the double-quote character. Using the Chr() function eliminates the
need to put double-quotes around your double-quotes (which can get confusing).

Do you have at least one path that contains no spaces that you can test with,
even if that means creating a temporary one? That should tell you if that is
the problem with what you have now.

--
Rick Brandt, Microsoft Access MVP
Email (as appropriate) to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.