A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

From help



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 25th, 2006, 09:55 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Rodney James
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18
Default From help

Can some advice me on how to create in a form

a button that saves/updates the current record that a user is working on
with out having to go form one record to another
A button that will create a duplicate record by clicking it.




  #2  
Old July 25th, 2006, 10:27 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default From help

It is not necessary to move to a different record for it to update. If you
close the form, it will update; however, if you want a button on the form to
update it manually, all you need in the button's click event is:
If Me.Dirty Then
Me.Dirty = False
End If

Are you saying you want to create an identical record in the same table?
Why would you do that? If you have a primary key, you can't do that. If you
don't have a primary key, your database design is lacking. If you want to
duplicate a record in another table, say for history purposes, etc., then
write the SQL to append the data in the form to the other table.

"Rodney James" wrote:

Can some advice me on how to create in a form

a button that saves/updates the current record that a user is working on
with out having to go form one record to another
A button that will create a duplicate record by clicking it.





  #3  
Old July 27th, 2006, 04:37 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Rodney James
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18
Default From help

Can you step me through how to create the button to do that?

"Klatuu" wrote in message
...
It is not necessary to move to a different record for it to update. If
you
close the form, it will update; however, if you want a button on the form
to
update it manually, all you need in the button's click event is:
If Me.Dirty Then
Me.Dirty = False
End If

Are you saying you want to create an identical record in the same table?
Why would you do that? If you have a primary key, you can't do that. If
you
don't have a primary key, your database design is lacking. If you want to
duplicate a record in another table, say for history purposes, etc., then
write the SQL to append the data in the form to the other table.

"Rodney James" wrote:

Can some advice me on how to create in a form

a button that saves/updates the current record that a user is working on
with out having to go form one record to another
A button that will create a duplicate record by clicking it.







  #4  
Old July 27th, 2006, 05:01 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default From help

In design view of the form, put a command whereever you want it to be.
Open the Properties dialog for the button.
Select the Events tab.
Click the command button with the 3 dots to the right of the On Click event.
Select Code Builder.
Enter the code in the VBA editor when it opens.

If Me.Dirty Then
Me.Dirty = False
End If


"Rodney James" wrote:

Can you step me through how to create the button to do that?

"Klatuu" wrote in message
...
It is not necessary to move to a different record for it to update. If
you
close the form, it will update; however, if you want a button on the form
to
update it manually, all you need in the button's click event is:
If Me.Dirty Then
Me.Dirty = False
End If

Are you saying you want to create an identical record in the same table?
Why would you do that? If you have a primary key, you can't do that. If
you
don't have a primary key, your database design is lacking. If you want to
duplicate a record in another table, say for history purposes, etc., then
write the SQL to append the data in the form to the other table.

"Rodney James" wrote:

Can some advice me on how to create in a form

a button that saves/updates the current record that a user is working on
with out having to go form one record to another
A button that will create a duplicate record by clicking it.








  #5  
Old July 28th, 2006, 04:18 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Rodney James
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18
Default From help

I got the update button thanks

Now The Copy button

I have an autonumber as my primary key so If it makes a copy wouldnt the
autonumber give it a new number?

"Rodney James" wrote in message
...
Can some advice me on how to create in a form

a button that saves/updates the current record that a user is working on
with out having to go form one record to another
A button that will create a duplicate record by clicking it.






  #6  
Old July 28th, 2006, 05:05 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default From help

Create an append query that adds a record to the table using the values of
your controls. For example, lets say you have a field in the table named
[Company_Name] and the control on the form is txt.CompName.
Create a new query in design view.
Select your table as the Append To.
In the Field row, enter the name of the control
Forms!MyFormName!txtCompName
In the Append To row enter the name of the field
[Company_Name]

Do this for all the fields Except the autonumber field (it will take care of
itself)

Then the code behind the button is simple:
CurrentDb.Execute("QueryNameHere"), dbFailOnError

"Rodney James" wrote:

I got the update button thanks

Now The Copy button

I have an autonumber as my primary key so If it makes a copy wouldnt the
autonumber give it a new number?

"Rodney James" wrote in message
...
Can some advice me on how to create in a form

a button that saves/updates the current record that a user is working on
with out having to go form one record to another
A button that will create a duplicate record by clicking it.







  #7  
Old July 31st, 2006, 08:18 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Rodney James
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18
Default From help

Ok I got that thanks I have another how to questions if you are up for it I
really appreciate all your help

In my form I want to be able to filter down what records users are working
with in the list.



I have a few drop down tables that the filter would be applied from: Project
Status, Project Type, Product Type



So for instance. I have 100 Records



I choose a field in Project status to a particular status "Project in
Progress" now I have 50 records in the form that match that criteria



I then choose a field in Project Type to a particular type "Lighting" now I
have 25 records in the form that match this and the preceding criteria.



I lastly choose a field Product Type and pear down the list to 5 records
based on the three fields



I want the filter to work based on any combination of the three fields



"Klatuu" wrote in message
...
In design view of the form, put a command whereever you want it to be.
Open the Properties dialog for the button.
Select the Events tab.
Click the command button with the 3 dots to the right of the On Click
event.
Select Code Builder.
Enter the code in the VBA editor when it opens.

If Me.Dirty Then
Me.Dirty = False
End If


"Rodney James" wrote:

Can you step me through how to create the button to do that?

"Klatuu" wrote in message
...
It is not necessary to move to a different record for it to update. If
you
close the form, it will update; however, if you want a button on the
form
to
update it manually, all you need in the button's click event is:
If Me.Dirty Then
Me.Dirty = False
End If

Are you saying you want to create an identical record in the same
table?
Why would you do that? If you have a primary key, you can't do that.
If
you
don't have a primary key, your database design is lacking. If you want
to
duplicate a record in another table, say for history purposes, etc.,
then
write the SQL to append the data in the form to the other table.

"Rodney James" wrote:

Can some advice me on how to create in a form

a button that saves/updates the current record that a user is working
on
with out having to go form one record to another
A button that will create a duplicate record by clicking it.










  #8  
Old August 1st, 2006, 02:16 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Klatuu
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,074
Default From help

I would suggest a command button that would apply the filter. It would be
something like this in the Click event:

Dim strFilter As String

If Not IsNull(Me.ProjectStatus) Then
strFilter = "[ProjectStatus] = '" & Me.ProjectStatus & "'"
End If

If Not IsNull(Me.ProjectType) Then
If Len strFilter 0 Then
strFilter = strFilter & " AND "
End If
strFilter = strFilter & "[ProjectType] = '" & Me.ProjectType & "'"
End If

If Not IsNull(Me.ProductType) Then
If Len strFilter 0 Then
strFilter = strFilter & " AND "
End If
strFilter = strFilter & "[ProductType] = '" & Me.ProductType & "'"
End If

Me.Filter = strFilter
Me.FilterOn = True


"Rodney James" wrote:

Ok I got that thanks I have another how to questions if you are up for it I
really appreciate all your help

In my form I want to be able to filter down what records users are working
with in the list.



I have a few drop down tables that the filter would be applied from: Project
Status, Project Type, Product Type



So for instance. I have 100 Records



I choose a field in Project status to a particular status "Project in
Progress" now I have 50 records in the form that match that criteria



I then choose a field in Project Type to a particular type "Lighting" now I
have 25 records in the form that match this and the preceding criteria.



I lastly choose a field Product Type and pear down the list to 5 records
based on the three fields



I want the filter to work based on any combination of the three fields



"Klatuu" wrote in message
...
In design view of the form, put a command whereever you want it to be.
Open the Properties dialog for the button.
Select the Events tab.
Click the command button with the 3 dots to the right of the On Click
event.
Select Code Builder.
Enter the code in the VBA editor when it opens.

If Me.Dirty Then
Me.Dirty = False
End If


"Rodney James" wrote:

Can you step me through how to create the button to do that?

"Klatuu" wrote in message
...
It is not necessary to move to a different record for it to update. If
you
close the form, it will update; however, if you want a button on the
form
to
update it manually, all you need in the button's click event is:
If Me.Dirty Then
Me.Dirty = False
End If

Are you saying you want to create an identical record in the same
table?
Why would you do that? If you have a primary key, you can't do that.
If
you
don't have a primary key, your database design is lacking. If you want
to
duplicate a record in another table, say for history purposes, etc.,
then
write the SQL to append the data in the form to the other table.

"Rodney James" wrote:

Can some advice me on how to create in a form

a button that saves/updates the current record that a user is working
on
with out having to go form one record to another
A button that will create a duplicate record by clicking it.











 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.