A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

"Property Value is Too Large"?????



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 28th, 2004, 03:00 AM
Zoe
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default "Property Value is Too Large"?????

I am creating a new table for 225 fields. I have ~140
entered, but when I try to enter any more fields a
warning pops up and says that the "property value is too
large." I have no idea what this means or how to remedy
it. Please help!!!
Ads
  #2  
Old July 28th, 2004, 03:15 AM
Duane Hookom
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default "Property Value is Too Large"?????

This suggests you have too many fields and too many characters stored in a
single record. 225 fields is generally about 200 too many.

--
Duane Hookom
MS Access MVP


"Zoe" wrote in message
...
I am creating a new table for 225 fields. I have ~140
entered, but when I try to enter any more fields a
warning pops up and says that the "property value is too
large." I have no idea what this means or how to remedy
it. Please help!!!



  #3  
Old July 28th, 2004, 04:56 PM
Van T. Dinh
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default "Property Value is Too Large"?????

There is another restriction besides the limit of 255 Fields in the Table:
the max size of the Record is 2K bytes for A97 (I think for A2K0 and later,
the max is 4K but then the Unicode needs 2 bytes per character
uncompressed). Memo Fields and BLOB Fields are not included in the limit
(except for a number of bytes , possibly 16, being used as "pointer"???).

Once the Record hits the max. size, you get this error.

As Duane wrote, you probably need to denormalize your Table as in properly
normalized databases, Tables tend to be long (lots of Records) but narrow
(small number of Fields).

--
HTH
Van T. Dinh
MVP (Access)


"Zoe" wrote in message
...
I am creating a new table for 225 fields. I have ~140
entered, but when I try to enter any more fields a
warning pops up and says that the "property value is too
large." I have no idea what this means or how to remedy
it. Please help!!!



  #4  
Old July 28th, 2004, 05:51 PM
Tim Ferguson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default "Property Value is Too Large"?????

"Van T. Dinh" wrote in
:


As Duane wrote, you probably need to denormalize your Table as in
properly normalized databases,


ITYM "normalize your Table" ... :-)

Tim F

  #5  
Old July 28th, 2004, 06:08 PM
Van T. Dinh
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default "Property Value is Too Large"?????

Thanks, Tim.

Forgot to proof-read ...

--
HTH
Van T. Dinh
MVP (Access)


"Tim Ferguson" wrote in message
...
"Van T. Dinh" wrote in
:


As Duane wrote, you probably need to denormalize your Table as in
properly normalized databases,


ITYM "normalize your Table" ... :-)

Tim F



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error message -- "property value is too large" lizbgreen Database Design 6 August 3rd, 2004 07:23 PM
scrolling programmatically? alekm New Users 1 July 6th, 2004 02:56 AM
Formula Property - Referencing Strings Inside Formula Property Value Oak Worksheet Functions 8 February 10th, 2004 11:54 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2021 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.