A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

How to Add a Right Click Menu to A Form in Access 2007 in the RunTime Environmane



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 8th, 2009, 07:26 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Stewart Berman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 68
Default How to Add a Right Click Menu to A Form in Access 2007 in the RunTime Environmane

Access 2007 -- Runtime

We are building an application that will be compiled and then run using MS Access 2007 Runtime.

To limit what the user can do outside of what the application provides we have turned off shortcut
menus in the database. However, we would like to provide the right click menu that is available in
a form opened in datasheet mode which provides:
&Copy
&Past
-------
&Sort A to Z
S&ort Z to AA
-------
C&lear filters
Text &Filters -- sub menu
-------
&Equals
Does &Not Equal
Con&tains
&Does Not Contain

I assume (bad word) that the above is a standard right click menu for Access 2007. Is there a way
to connect it to a form so that it is available to the user in the RunTime environment for specific
forms even if Allow Full Menus and All Default Shortcut Menus are unchecked?
  #2  
Old October 10th, 2009, 10:19 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Mark Andrews[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 600
Default How to Add a Right Click Menu to A Form in Access 2007 in the RunTime Environmane

If you build the popup menu via code and then call it from code it should
work in the runtime environment.
At least I'm 99% sure it does. I don't use the runtime much.

Easy to try a quick test. If you need code send me an email and I'll shoot
you some sample code of building popup menus and calling them (I'm sure you
can find example on the web too).

If the popup menu does show up in the runtime then it's down to just how do
I build this popup menu.

HTH,
Mark


"Stewart Berman" wrote in message
...
Access 2007 -- Runtime

We are building an application that will be compiled and then run using MS
Access 2007 Runtime.

To limit what the user can do outside of what the application provides we
have turned off shortcut
menus in the database. However, we would like to provide the right click
menu that is available in
a form opened in datasheet mode which provides:
&Copy
&Past
-------
&Sort A to Z
S&ort Z to AA
-------
C&lear filters
Text &Filters -- sub menu
-------
&Equals
Does &Not Equal
Con&tains
&Does Not Contain

I assume (bad word) that the above is a standard right click menu for
Access 2007. Is there a way
to connect it to a form so that it is available to the user in the RunTime
environment for specific
forms even if Allow Full Menus and All Default Shortcut Menus are
unchecked?



  #3  
Old October 10th, 2009, 10:45 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Stewart Berman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 68
Default How to Add a Right Click Menu to A Form in Access 2007 in the RunTime Environmane

Thanks for your response and offer.

I was able to build and save a custom shortcut menu in code.

Do you understand the object model? The CommandBars collection is a property of the Application not
the database yet when you add an item to the collection it is stored in the database.I didn't see
anything associated with the custom shortcut menu in any of the MSys tables.


"Mark Andrews" wrote:

If you build the popup menu via code and then call it from code it should
work in the runtime environment.
At least I'm 99% sure it does. I don't use the runtime much.

Easy to try a quick test. If you need code send me an email and I'll shoot
you some sample code of building popup menus and calling them (I'm sure you
can find example on the web too).

If the popup menu does show up in the runtime then it's down to just how do
I build this popup menu.

HTH,
Mark


"Stewart Berman" wrote in message
.. .
Access 2007 -- Runtime

We are building an application that will be compiled and then run using MS
Access 2007 Runtime.

To limit what the user can do outside of what the application provides we
have turned off shortcut
menus in the database. However, we would like to provide the right click
menu that is available in
a form opened in datasheet mode which provides:
&Copy
&Past
-------
&Sort A to Z
S&ort Z to AA
-------
C&lear filters
Text &Filters -- sub menu
-------
&Equals
Does &Not Equal
Con&tains
&Does Not Contain

I assume (bad word) that the above is a standard right click menu for
Access 2007. Is there a way
to connect it to a form so that it is available to the user in the RunTime
environment for specific
forms even if Allow Full Menus and All Default Shortcut Menus are
unchecked?


  #4  
Old October 12th, 2009, 01:25 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Mark Andrews[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 600
Default How to Add a Right Click Menu to A Form in Access 2007 in the RunTime Environmane

I don't look into the MSys tables much, but in short your problem is solved
right?

I write a lot of code, do I understand everything about the object model and
it's inner working, probably not.

The code lives in the database and it relies on code in a DLL to render a
menu. Perhaps there is nothing in the MSys tables.

Mark


"Stewart Berman" wrote in message
...
Thanks for your response and offer.

I was able to build and save a custom shortcut menu in code.

Do you understand the object model? The CommandBars collection is a
property of the Application not
the database yet when you add an item to the collection it is stored in
the database.I didn't see
anything associated with the custom shortcut menu in any of the MSys
tables.


"Mark Andrews" wrote:

If you build the popup menu via code and then call it from code it should
work in the runtime environment.
At least I'm 99% sure it does. I don't use the runtime much.

Easy to try a quick test. If you need code send me an email and I'll
shoot
you some sample code of building popup menus and calling them (I'm sure
you
can find example on the web too).

If the popup menu does show up in the runtime then it's down to just how
do
I build this popup menu.

HTH,
Mark


"Stewart Berman" wrote in message
. ..
Access 2007 -- Runtime

We are building an application that will be compiled and then run using
MS
Access 2007 Runtime.

To limit what the user can do outside of what the application provides
we
have turned off shortcut
menus in the database. However, we would like to provide the right
click
menu that is available in
a form opened in datasheet mode which provides:
&Copy
&Past
-------
&Sort A to Z
S&ort Z to AA
-------
C&lear filters
Text &Filters -- sub menu
-------
&Equals
Does &Not Equal
Con&tains
&Does Not Contain

I assume (bad word) that the above is a standard right click menu for
Access 2007. Is there a way
to connect it to a form so that it is available to the user in the
RunTime
environment for specific
forms even if Allow Full Menus and All Default Shortcut Menus are
unchecked?




  #5  
Old October 23rd, 2009, 05:10 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Stewart Berman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 68
Default How to Add a Right Click Menu to A Form in Access 2007 in the RunTime Environmane

Thanks for your offer but I just built a popup menu editor -- it was faster than using Access 2003
to build the menu.

The only problem I have is that the editor -- which sits in a separate MS Access DB -- cannot show
the popup in the database it created it in via automation. It can only show it if it constructs it
in the editor DB.

"Mark Andrews" wrote:

If you build the popup menu via code and then call it from code it should
work in the runtime environment.
At least I'm 99% sure it does. I don't use the runtime much.

Easy to try a quick test. If you need code send me an email and I'll shoot
you some sample code of building popup menus and calling them (I'm sure you
can find example on the web too).

If the popup menu does show up in the runtime then it's down to just how do
I build this popup menu.

HTH,
Mark


"Stewart Berman" wrote in message
.. .
Access 2007 -- Runtime

We are building an application that will be compiled and then run using MS
Access 2007 Runtime.

To limit what the user can do outside of what the application provides we
have turned off shortcut
menus in the database. However, we would like to provide the right click
menu that is available in
a form opened in datasheet mode which provides:
&Copy
&Past
-------
&Sort A to Z
S&ort Z to AA
-------
C&lear filters
Text &Filters -- sub menu
-------
&Equals
Does &Not Equal
Con&tains
&Does Not Contain

I assume (bad word) that the above is a standard right click menu for
Access 2007. Is there a way
to connect it to a form so that it is available to the user in the RunTime
environment for specific
forms even if Allow Full Menus and All Default Shortcut Menus are
unchecked?


  #6  
Old October 23rd, 2009, 05:19 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Stewart Berman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 68
Default How to Add a Right Click Menu to A Form in Access 2007 in the RunTime Environmane

menu. Perhaps there is nothing in the MSys tables.

But that would violate one of the rules (sorry at this point in the evening I can't remember the
name) -- everything in the database has to be described in data in tables. If MS is going around
that then the MS Access database is not "really" a database.

It is possible to walk the commandbars objects and create a set of tables that fully describe them.
It only takes two tables. I suspect MS is doing that but is not making the tables available even
when system and hidden objects is turned on. Probably part of their "Protect the User from Them
self" policy.

"Mark Andrews" wrote:

I don't look into the MSys tables much, but in short your problem is solved
right?

I write a lot of code, do I understand everything about the object model and
it's inner working, probably not.

The code lives in the database and it relies on code in a DLL to render a
menu. Perhaps there is nothing in the MSys tables.

Mark


"Stewart Berman" wrote in message
.. .
Thanks for your response and offer.

I was able to build and save a custom shortcut menu in code.

Do you understand the object model? The CommandBars collection is a
property of the Application not
the database yet when you add an item to the collection it is stored in
the database.I didn't see
anything associated with the custom shortcut menu in any of the MSys
tables.


"Mark Andrews" wrote:

If you build the popup menu via code and then call it from code it should
work in the runtime environment.
At least I'm 99% sure it does. I don't use the runtime much.

Easy to try a quick test. If you need code send me an email and I'll
shoot
you some sample code of building popup menus and calling them (I'm sure
you
can find example on the web too).

If the popup menu does show up in the runtime then it's down to just how
do
I build this popup menu.

HTH,
Mark


"Stewart Berman" wrote in message
...
Access 2007 -- Runtime

We are building an application that will be compiled and then run using
MS
Access 2007 Runtime.

To limit what the user can do outside of what the application provides
we
have turned off shortcut
menus in the database. However, we would like to provide the right
click
menu that is available in
a form opened in datasheet mode which provides:
&Copy
&Past
-------
&Sort A to Z
S&ort Z to AA
-------
C&lear filters
Text &Filters -- sub menu
-------
&Equals
Does &Not Equal
Con&tains
&Does Not Contain

I assume (bad word) that the above is a standard right click menu for
Access 2007. Is there a way
to connect it to a form so that it is available to the user in the
RunTime
environment for specific
forms even if Allow Full Menus and All Default Shortcut Menus are
unchecked?


  #7  
Old October 28th, 2009, 08:45 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Mark Andrews[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 600
Default How to Add a Right Click Menu to A Form in Access 2007 in the RunTime Environmane

I would ask that question in another post (maybe an MVP knows the answer).
I don't think it's some kind of extra hidden table.
Mark

"Stewart Berman" wrote in message
...
menu. Perhaps there is nothing in the MSys tables.


But that would violate one of the rules (sorry at this point in the
evening I can't remember the
name) -- everything in the database has to be described in data in tables.
If MS is going around
that then the MS Access database is not "really" a database.

It is possible to walk the commandbars objects and create a set of tables
that fully describe them.
It only takes two tables. I suspect MS is doing that but is not making
the tables available even
when system and hidden objects is turned on. Probably part of their
"Protect the User from Them
self" policy.

"Mark Andrews" wrote:

I don't look into the MSys tables much, but in short your problem is
solved
right?

I write a lot of code, do I understand everything about the object model
and
it's inner working, probably not.

The code lives in the database and it relies on code in a DLL to render a
menu. Perhaps there is nothing in the MSys tables.

Mark


"Stewart Berman" wrote in message
. ..
Thanks for your response and offer.

I was able to build and save a custom shortcut menu in code.

Do you understand the object model? The CommandBars collection is a
property of the Application not
the database yet when you add an item to the collection it is stored in
the database.I didn't see
anything associated with the custom shortcut menu in any of the MSys
tables.


"Mark Andrews" wrote:

If you build the popup menu via code and then call it from code it
should
work in the runtime environment.
At least I'm 99% sure it does. I don't use the runtime much.

Easy to try a quick test. If you need code send me an email and I'll
shoot
you some sample code of building popup menus and calling them (I'm sure
you
can find example on the web too).

If the popup menu does show up in the runtime then it's down to just how
do
I build this popup menu.

HTH,
Mark


"Stewart Berman" wrote in message
m...
Access 2007 -- Runtime

We are building an application that will be compiled and then run
using
MS
Access 2007 Runtime.

To limit what the user can do outside of what the application provides
we
have turned off shortcut
menus in the database. However, we would like to provide the right
click
menu that is available in
a form opened in datasheet mode which provides:
&Copy
&Past
-------
&Sort A to Z
S&ort Z to AA
-------
C&lear filters
Text &Filters -- sub menu
-------
&Equals
Does &Not Equal
Con&tains
&Does Not Contain

I assume (bad word) that the above is a standard right click menu for
Access 2007. Is there a way
to connect it to a form so that it is available to the user in the
RunTime
environment for specific
forms even if Allow Full Menus and All Default Shortcut Menus are
unchecked?




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.