A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Multiple Prices for same product



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 14th, 2006, 05:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
ashlanddave
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default Multiple Prices for same product

Hello World! I am working on a dbase for sales order entry (like template)
and need to have different price levels or prices (eg. 3 levels) for the same
product. Each company has an entire pricing level assigned to them (either
level 1,2 or 3). How do I set up the diffent pricing levels? I have a table
for customers, orders, order details and parts.
  #2  
Old July 14th, 2006, 05:24 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Amy Blankenship
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 539
Default Multiple Prices for same product

Are the price levels pretty much random, or is there a mathematical
relationship... For example, would level 2 be level 1 * 1.5 and level 3 be
level 1 * 2, etc.?

"ashlanddave" wrote in message
...
Hello World! I am working on a dbase for sales order entry (like
template)
and need to have different price levels or prices (eg. 3 levels) for the
same
product. Each company has an entire pricing level assigned to them
(either
level 1,2 or 3). How do I set up the diffent pricing levels? I have a
table
for customers, orders, order details and parts.



  #3  
Old July 14th, 2006, 05:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Duane Hookom
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,251
Default Multiple Prices for same product

I would count on there being 4 or more levels in the future. Consider a
normalized approach where the PriceLevel is a field that stores a value like
1, 2, or 3.

tblPricingLevels
===================
PriceLevelID PK
ProductID
PriceLevel
UnitPrice

You may need more complexity if your levels vary over time and you need to
keep a history of pricing levels.
--
Duane Hookom
MS Access MVP


"ashlanddave" wrote in message
...
Hello World! I am working on a dbase for sales order entry (like
template)
and need to have different price levels or prices (eg. 3 levels) for the
same
product. Each company has an entire pricing level assigned to them
(either
level 1,2 or 3). How do I set up the diffent pricing levels? I have a
table
for customers, orders, order details and parts.



  #4  
Old July 14th, 2006, 07:16 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
ashlanddave
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default Multiple Prices for same product

Hi Amy,

The prices are random, unfortunately




"Amy Blankenship" wrote:

Are the price levels pretty much random, or is there a mathematical
relationship... For example, would level 2 be level 1 * 1.5 and level 3 be
level 1 * 2, etc.?

"ashlanddave" wrote in message
...
Hello World! I am working on a dbase for sales order entry (like
template)
and need to have different price levels or prices (eg. 3 levels) for the
same
product. Each company has an entire pricing level assigned to them
(either
level 1,2 or 3). How do I set up the diffent pricing levels? I have a
table
for customers, orders, order details and parts.




  #5  
Old July 14th, 2006, 09:12 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Amy Blankenship
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 539
Default Multiple Prices for same product

I would probably do it something like this:

Company
=========
CompanyID
CompanyDesc
CompanyPriceLevel
Companyetc.

Product
========
ProductID
ProductDesc
ProductEtc.


We'll assume that product prices can change over time and that you'll want
to retain an accurate view of what the prices were.

PriceLevelProductDates
===========
PriceLevelDateID
PriceLevel
PriceLevelBeginDate
PriceLevelEndDate
ProductID
Price

If all prices change at once, you would want to have a different structure,
so you didn't have to enter begin/end dates for each and every product. You
also could assume that when a new price level begins the old is superseded.
That makes the queries harder, but prevents dead times with no price and
overlaps.

HTH;

Amy

"ashlanddave" wrote in message
...
Hi Amy,

The prices are random, unfortunately




"Amy Blankenship" wrote:

Are the price levels pretty much random, or is there a mathematical
relationship... For example, would level 2 be level 1 * 1.5 and level 3
be
level 1 * 2, etc.?

"ashlanddave" wrote in message
...
Hello World! I am working on a dbase for sales order entry (like
template)
and need to have different price levels or prices (eg. 3 levels) for
the
same
product. Each company has an entire pricing level assigned to them
(either
level 1,2 or 3). How do I set up the diffent pricing levels? I have a
table
for customers, orders, order details and parts.






  #6  
Old July 17th, 2006, 04:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
ashlanddave
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default Multiple Prices for same product

Thanks Amy, I have a table setup now.......

I need to figure out how to modify / insert the unit price into the order
details subform (orderdetails.unitprice). agian, the problem is that there
are different prices for the same product based on different customers - some
customers get a break that varies by prodcut.

I have added a new field for each customer in customers table: a pricing
level e.g. customers.pricing (=a,b,c). Each product has a productID,
partnumber in table: Products. I have also created a pricinglevels table
with the following fields:
[pricinglevelID, part number, pricing, unitprice] with pricing=a,b or c

Customer Product Pricing
Levels
------------- ------------------
---------------------------
customerid productid
pricinglevelid
pricing productnumber productnumber
addresses, etc productname pricing

unitprice

So I can't pull the unit price from the products table (products.unitprice)
in the order detail subform directly as in the sample db. I need to match up
the correct product, prcinglevel and pull that into the order detail's
unitprice field.

I do not need to keep historical or date information on pricing!

Dave


"Amy Blankenship" wrote:

I would probably do it something like this:

Company
=========
CompanyID
CompanyDesc
CompanyPriceLevel
Companyetc.

Product
========
ProductID
ProductDesc
ProductEtc.


We'll assume that product prices can change over time and that you'll want
to retain an accurate view of what the prices were.

PriceLevelProductDates
===========
PriceLevelDateID
PriceLevel
PriceLevelBeginDate
PriceLevelEndDate
ProductID
Price

If all prices change at once, you would want to have a different structure,
so you didn't have to enter begin/end dates for each and every product. You
also could assume that when a new price level begins the old is superseded.
That makes the queries harder, but prevents dead times with no price and
overlaps.

HTH;

Amy

"ashlanddave" wrote in message
...
Hi Amy,

The prices are random, unfortunately




"Amy Blankenship" wrote:

Are the price levels pretty much random, or is there a mathematical
relationship... For example, would level 2 be level 1 * 1.5 and level 3
be
level 1 * 2, etc.?

"ashlanddave" wrote in message
...
Hello World! I am working on a dbase for sales order entry (like
template)
and need to have different price levels or prices (eg. 3 levels) for
the
same
product. Each company has an entire pricing level assigned to them
(either
level 1,2 or 3). How do I set up the diffent pricing levels? I have a
table
for customers, orders, order details and parts.






  #7  
Old July 17th, 2006, 04:35 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
ashlanddave
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default Multiple Prices for same product

Thanks Duane - foresight for growth is always a good idea! How do I get the
value in orderdetails form to pull the right value from pricing levels? Do
not need historical pricing data!

"Duane Hookom" wrote:

I would count on there being 4 or more levels in the future. Consider a
normalized approach where the PriceLevel is a field that stores a value like
1, 2, or 3.

tblPricingLevels
===================
PriceLevelID PK
ProductID
PriceLevel
UnitPrice

You may need more complexity if your levels vary over time and you need to
keep a history of pricing levels.
--
Duane Hookom
MS Access MVP


"ashlanddave" wrote in message
...
Hello World! I am working on a dbase for sales order entry (like
template)
and need to have different price levels or prices (eg. 3 levels) for the
same
product. Each company has an entire pricing level assigned to them
(either
level 1,2 or 3). How do I set up the diffent pricing levels? I have a
table
for customers, orders, order details and parts.




  #8  
Old July 17th, 2006, 05:16 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Amy Blankenship
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 539
Default Multiple Prices for same product


"ashlanddave" wrote in message
...
Thanks Amy, I have a table setup now.......

I need to figure out how to modify / insert the unit price into the order
details subform (orderdetails.unitprice). agian, the problem is that
there
are different prices for the same product based on different customers -
some
customers get a break that varies by prodcut.

I have added a new field for each customer in customers table: a pricing
level e.g. customers.pricing (=a,b,c). Each product has a productID,
partnumber in table: Products. I have also created a pricinglevels table
with the following fields:
[pricinglevelID, part number, pricing, unitprice] with pricing=a,b or c

Customer Product
Pricing
Levels
------------- ------------------
---------------------------
customerid productid
pricinglevelid
pricing productnumber
productnumber
addresses, etc productname pricing

unitprice

So I can't pull the unit price from the products table
(products.unitprice)
in the order detail subform directly as in the sample db. I need to match
up
the correct product, prcinglevel and pull that into the order detail's
unitprice field.

I do not need to keep historical or date information on pricing!


Let me ask you a question: If a customer makes an order today and tomorrow
you need to change the pricing level for future orders, and the order
doesn't get filled and the invoice printed until the day after tomorrow, how
would you ensure that the invoice showed the correct price so the client was
billed correctly? That's the sort of situation keeping historical pricing
data allows for.

Also, you should probably be relating on ProductID instead of PartNumber.

You need to create a query that joins the CustomerID to the ProductID and
UnitPrice in the PricingLevels table, as well as joining to the Products
table to retrieve the decryption of each product. Then use that query as
the datasource for your subform, and use CustomerID as the
LinkMaster/LinkChild fields.

HTH;

Amy


  #9  
Old July 17th, 2006, 05:56 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
mnature
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 67
Default Multiple Prices for same product

Do not need historical pricing data!

You have mentioned that you do not need historical pricing data. However,
you are keeping track of orders and order details. If you change the price
on an item, that new price will show up on all of your old orders, and you
will no longer have an accurate record of orders. Would this be a problem?

  #10  
Old July 17th, 2006, 09:31 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Duane Hookom
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,251
Default Multiple Prices for same product

You create a query of your Company table and the Products table and the
Pricing table.
Join
tblProducts.ProductID - tblPricingLevels.ProductID
and
tblCompany.PriceLevel - tblPricingLevels.PriceLevel


--
Duane Hookom
MS Access MVP

"ashlanddave" wrote in message
...
Thanks Duane - foresight for growth is always a good idea! How do I get
the
value in orderdetails form to pull the right value from pricing levels?
Do
not need historical pricing data!

"Duane Hookom" wrote:

I would count on there being 4 or more levels in the future. Consider a
normalized approach where the PriceLevel is a field that stores a value
like
1, 2, or 3.

tblPricingLevels
===================
PriceLevelID PK
ProductID
PriceLevel
UnitPrice

You may need more complexity if your levels vary over time and you need
to
keep a history of pricing levels.
--
Duane Hookom
MS Access MVP


"ashlanddave" wrote in message
...
Hello World! I am working on a dbase for sales order entry (like
template)
and need to have different price levels or prices (eg. 3 levels) for
the
same
product. Each company has an entire pricing level assigned to them
(either
level 1,2 or 3). How do I set up the diffent pricing levels? I have a
table
for customers, orders, order details and parts.






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compare product prices from two supliers and produce report [email protected] Worksheet Functions 0 June 9th, 2006 07:16 AM
Office 2003 Standard MultiLingual User Interface (MUI) installation [email protected] Setup, Installing & Configuration 3 May 23rd, 2006 11:59 AM
how do i find unique avg buy prices in multiple group of buys/sell John Robbins Worksheet Functions 1 May 4th, 2006 06:44 PM
Printing Different first page headers Cat's Meow Setting Up & Running Reports 9 January 10th, 2006 01:03 PM
multiple copies of office which product key is correct?? Shawn. Setup, Installing & Configuration 1 October 9th, 2005 05:05 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.