A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Use Schedule Task to run Updates, but bypass User-Level Security



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 17th, 2010, 05:52 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
amanda_jb
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 23
Default Use Schedule Task to run Updates, but bypass User-Level Security

I am trying to run a scheduled task to run a macro with updates, but have to
enter my Password as soon as Access opens, is there a way around this so it
can be ran while i'm away? The only place I see to enter in the actual Task
is for the Windows Login itself.

Help please!!!

Thank you!!


--
Amanda
Ads
  #2  
Old May 18th, 2010, 03:34 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Tom van Stiphout[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,653
Default Use Schedule Task to run Updates, but bypass User-Level Security

On Mon, 17 May 2010 09:52:01 -0700, amanda_jb
wrote:

Check out the command line options for msaccess.exe. You can add your
username and password in addition to the (I presume) /x option to run
the macro.

-Tom.
Microsoft Access MVP


I am trying to run a scheduled task to run a macro with updates, but have to
enter my Password as soon as Access opens, is there a way around this so it
can be ran while i'm away? The only place I see to enter in the actual Task
is for the Windows Login itself.

Help please!!!

Thank you!!

  #3  
Old May 18th, 2010, 05:42 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
amanda_jb
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 23
Default Use Schedule Task to run Updates, but bypass User-Level Securi

Can you provide more info on how i would indicate this info? I currently
only have it set to open access and then as you stated, the /x macro. I
pasted if this helps.

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\MSACCESS.EXE"
"\\05-mis-a2\CRM\Database\DB.mdb"/x InventoryAutoUpdate


I greatly appreciate it!!! I'll continue to see if i can figure it out, but
this is my first scheduled task.

Thank you!!
--
Amanda


"Tom van Stiphout" wrote:

On Mon, 17 May 2010 09:52:01 -0700, amanda_jb
wrote:

Check out the command line options for msaccess.exe. You can add your
username and password in addition to the (I presume) /x option to run
the macro.

-Tom.
Microsoft Access MVP


I am trying to run a scheduled task to run a macro with updates, but have to
enter my Password as soon as Access opens, is there a way around this so it
can be ran while i'm away? The only place I see to enter in the actual Task
is for the Windows Login itself.

Help please!!!

Thank you!!

.

  #4  
Old May 18th, 2010, 11:00 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Use Schedule Task to run Updates, but bypass User-Level Securi

On Tue, 18 May 2010 09:42:03 -0700, amanda_jb
wrote:

Can you provide more info on how i would indicate this info? I currently
only have it set to open access and then as you stated, the /x macro. I
pasted if this helps.

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\MSACCESS.EXE"
"\\05-mis-a2\CRM\Database\DB.mdb"/x InventoryAutoUpdate


I greatly appreciate it!!! I'll continue to see if i can figure it out, but
this is my first scheduled task.

Thank you!!


Is this a database password, or User Level Security (workgroup security)?
They're different! If you have a .mdw file with user and group names and user
passwords you need to reference the workgroup:

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\MSACCESS.EXE"
"\\05-mis-a2\CRM\Database\DB.mdb"/x InventoryAutoUpdate
/wrkgrp "\\05-mis-a2\CRM\database\SomeFile.mdw" /user JoeUser /pwd MyPassword

If it's a password protected database I'm guessing the /pwd command line
switch will work but the Help is ambiguous and I haven't tried it!
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #5  
Old May 18th, 2010, 11:16 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Use Schedule Task to run Updates, but bypass User-Level Securi

On Tue, 18 May 2010 09:42:03 -0700, amanda_jb
wrote:

Odd. I replied but my answer promptly got deleted... not sure why. I'll
obfuscate the word that might be getting it trashed...

Can you provide more info on how i would indicate this info? I currently
only have it set to open access and then as you stated, the /x macro. I
pasted if this helps.

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\MSACCESS.EXE"
"\\05-mis-a2\CRM\Database\DB.mdb"/x InventoryAutoUpdate


I greatly appreciate it!!! I'll continue to see if i can figure it out, but
this is my first scheduled task.

Thank you!!


Is this a database pass-word, or User Level Security (workgroup security)?
They're different! If you have a .mdw file with user and group names and user
pass-words you need to reference the workgroup:

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\MSACCESS.EXE"
"\\05-mis-a2\CRM\Database\DB.mdb"/x InventoryAutoUpdate
/wrkgrp "\\05-mis-a2\CRM\database\SomeFile.mdw" /user JoeUser /pwd MyPasswd

If it's a pass-word protected database I'm guessing the /pwd command line
switch will work but the Help is ambiguous and I haven't tried it!
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.