A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

purpose of subform?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old January 1st, 2009, 03:37 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
mike
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,942
Default purpose of subform?

forgot i wanted to ask about deploying the completed program. curious as to
what obstacles i might face if when i load the .mdb on the teacher network.
-do i copy the .mdb to a network drive for user access (no pun intended
-can mutiple users access it simultaneously?

"John W. Vinson" wrote:

On Wed, 31 Dec 2008 09:06:01 -0800, mike
wrote:

-i imagine i have to use VBA something like

Private Sub cboSubject_click
MessageDialogBox.show("Confirm entry")
if yes, then add record to table w/ selected item in both cbo's
else, reset cbo's w/out writing a new record
End Sub


I'd actually use the Form's BeforeUpdate event.

HOWEVER...

in my experience this kind of confirmation really ends up being an annoyance.
Users will get to the point that they thoughtlessly just choose OK (and then
ask you to fix up the damage they've done), and it will just waste their time.
"Yes, I wanted to make an entry, that's why I opened the blasted form!!!"
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]

  #22  
Old January 1st, 2009, 03:41 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Gina Whipp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,500
Default purpose of subform?

You're most welcome...

Ummm, as a sidenote, "fiddle" on a copy. You don't want to accidently
"fiddle" with the working one and have it stop working!

--
Gina Whipp

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" - Tremors
II
"mike" wrote in message
...
Gina, John (Vinson), and Allen (Browne):

wanted to say thank you for your gracious help. thx to Allen and John i
was
able to "properly" construct a DB using relationships, and thx to Gina for
helping me bring it all together.

john: i agree with your point about the confirmation button. going to
omit
it for now.

as a teacher, i have an appreciation for people who are willing to share
his/her knowledge for the sake of helping

all in all i've got what i set out the create. could use a few bells and
whistles but i can fiddle with it now.

Regards.
Mike


"Gina Whipp" wrote:

Yes, that will work...
--
Gina Whipp

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" -
Tremors
II
"mike" wrote in message
...
Gina,

i'm using 2003.

2. Then by all means add the button to add a new record. You know
your
users better then anyone.
since the cbo's are bound to fields in tblStudentSubject, when i select
a
cboStudent and then select a cboSubject, it creates a new record in
tblStudentSubject which is what i want. however, i'd like to add a
confirmation step. after user selects subject use a messageDialogBox
to
confirm entry.

-i imagine i have to use VBA something like

Private Sub cboSubject_click
MessageDialogBox.show("Confirm entry")
if yes, then add record to table w/ selected item in both cbo's
else, reset cbo's w/out writing a new record
End Sub

will that do it?






  #23  
Old January 1st, 2009, 03:49 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
mike
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,942
Default purpose of subform?

i hear ya. duly noted

"Gina Whipp" wrote:

You're most welcome...

Ummm, as a sidenote, "fiddle" on a copy. You don't want to accidently
"fiddle" with the working one and have it stop working!

--
Gina Whipp

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" - Tremors
II
"mike" wrote in message
...
Gina, John (Vinson), and Allen (Browne):

wanted to say thank you for your gracious help. thx to Allen and John i
was
able to "properly" construct a DB using relationships, and thx to Gina for
helping me bring it all together.

john: i agree with your point about the confirmation button. going to
omit
it for now.

as a teacher, i have an appreciation for people who are willing to share
his/her knowledge for the sake of helping

all in all i've got what i set out the create. could use a few bells and
whistles but i can fiddle with it now.

Regards.
Mike


"Gina Whipp" wrote:

Yes, that will work...
--
Gina Whipp

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" -
Tremors
II
"mike" wrote in message
...
Gina,

i'm using 2003.

2. Then by all means add the button to add a new record. You know
your
users better then anyone.
since the cbo's are bound to fields in tblStudentSubject, when i select
a
cboStudent and then select a cboSubject, it creates a new record in
tblStudentSubject which is what i want. however, i'd like to add a
confirmation step. after user selects subject use a messageDialogBox
to
confirm entry.

-i imagine i have to use VBA something like

Private Sub cboSubject_click
MessageDialogBox.show("Confirm entry")
if yes, then add record to table w/ selected item in both cbo's
else, reset cbo's w/out writing a new record
End Sub

will that do it?






  #24  
Old January 1st, 2009, 06:58 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default purpose of subform?

On Wed, 31 Dec 2008 18:37:01 -0800, mike
wrote:

forgot i wanted to ask about deploying the completed program. curious as to
what obstacles i might face if when i load the .mdb on the teacher network.
-do i copy the .mdb to a network drive for user access (no pun intended
-can mutiple users access it simultaneously?


They can... *BUT THEY SHOULDN'T*.

Sharing a .mdb in this way is a recipe for bad performance, bloat, user
contention, and risk of corruption.

Instead, use Tools... Database Utilities... Database Splitter Wizard to
"split" the database into a Frontend (containing the forms, reports, queries,
and code) and a Backend (containing the tables). Each user gets a copy of the
frontend, linked to the shared backend.

For details see http://www.granite.ab.ca/access/splitapp.htm or Google for
"Access split database".
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #25  
Old January 1st, 2009, 05:24 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
mike
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,942
Default purpose of subform?

thx John i'll use the splitter...

*while testing i noticed that if the user selects a student from the
cboStudent, then you HAVE to select a subject from the cboSubject, else you
cannot do anything until you pick a subject. is there a way to remedy this
in the event the user wants to quit after selecting a student?

i tried adding a btnReset to reset cboStudent to null but cannot continue
until a subject is selected...

"John W. Vinson" wrote:

On Wed, 31 Dec 2008 18:37:01 -0800, mike
wrote:

forgot i wanted to ask about deploying the completed program. curious as to
what obstacles i might face if when i load the .mdb on the teacher network.
-do i copy the .mdb to a network drive for user access (no pun intended
-can mutiple users access it simultaneously?


They can... *BUT THEY SHOULDN'T*.

Sharing a .mdb in this way is a recipe for bad performance, bloat, user
contention, and risk of corruption.

Instead, use Tools... Database Utilities... Database Splitter Wizard to
"split" the database into a Frontend (containing the forms, reports, queries,
and code) and a Backend (containing the tables). Each user gets a copy of the
frontend, linked to the shared backend.

For details see http://www.granite.ab.ca/access/splitapp.htm or Google for
"Access split database".
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]

  #26  
Old January 1st, 2009, 07:44 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default purpose of subform?

On Thu, 1 Jan 2009 08:24:03 -0800, mike
wrote:

thx John i'll use the splitter...

*while testing i noticed that if the user selects a student from the
cboStudent, then you HAVE to select a subject from the cboSubject, else you
cannot do anything until you pick a subject. is there a way to remedy this
in the event the user wants to quit after selecting a student?

i tried adding a btnReset to reset cboStudent to null but cannot continue
until a subject is selected...


They should be able to hit Esc (perhaps twice) to clear all data entered on
the form. Perhaps you could post the actual code you're using and indicate
where the problem is occuring.
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #27  
Old January 1st, 2009, 08:27 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
mike
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,942
Default purpose of subform?

They should be able to hit Esc (perhaps twice) to clear all data entered on
the form.

that did the trick thx again.

one part of the interface is bugging me. the cboSubject and cboStudent
display in column format in the subform in form view, left to right.
however, i want the cboStudent in the left column and the cboSubject in the
right column. how can i switch them?
  #28  
Old January 1st, 2009, 11:37 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default purpose of subform?

On Thu, 1 Jan 2009 11:27:00 -0800, mike
wrote:

one part of the interface is bugging me. the cboSubject and cboStudent
display in column format in the subform in form view, left to right.
however, i want the cboStudent in the left column and the cboSubject in the
right column. how can i switch them?


I'd change the Default View property of the subform from Datasheet to
Continuous. You can then easily rearrange the controls in any order or
presentation you like in design view.

If you want to keep using the Datasheet view (which is IMO too inflexible for
the developer *AND* too flexible for the user, who can contract columns down
to zero and then complain that "my form doesn't display X"), open the form's
Query in design view and change the order of the columns.
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #29  
Old January 2nd, 2009, 01:19 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
mike
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,942
Default purpose of subform?

the default view property is not avaliable for subform but its available for
the main form?

"John W. Vinson" wrote:

On Thu, 1 Jan 2009 11:27:00 -0800, mike
wrote:

one part of the interface is bugging me. the cboSubject and cboStudent
display in column format in the subform in form view, left to right.
however, i want the cboStudent in the left column and the cboSubject in the
right column. how can i switch them?


I'd change the Default View property of the subform from Datasheet to
Continuous. You can then easily rearrange the controls in any order or
presentation you like in design view.

If you want to keep using the Datasheet view (which is IMO too inflexible for
the developer *AND* too flexible for the user, who can contract columns down
to zero and then complain that "my form doesn't display X"), open the form's
Query in design view and change the order of the columns.
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]

  #30  
Old January 2nd, 2009, 01:23 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
mike
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,942
Default purpose of subform?

i was able to move the column order by dragging it (duh)...

"John W. Vinson" wrote:

On Thu, 1 Jan 2009 11:27:00 -0800, mike
wrote:

one part of the interface is bugging me. the cboSubject and cboStudent
display in column format in the subform in form view, left to right.
however, i want the cboStudent in the left column and the cboSubject in the
right column. how can i switch them?


I'd change the Default View property of the subform from Datasheet to
Continuous. You can then easily rearrange the controls in any order or
presentation you like in design view.

If you want to keep using the Datasheet view (which is IMO too inflexible for
the developer *AND* too flexible for the user, who can contract columns down
to zero and then complain that "my form doesn't display X"), open the form's
Query in design view and change the order of the columns.
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.