A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Home Version Access



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old November 27th, 2006, 05:55 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
accessdesigner
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 89
Default Home Version Access

If Not IsNull(Me.optionbutton) Then
If Len(strwhere) 0 Then
strwhere = strwhere & " And "
End If
strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.fieldname]LIKE ""*"
& Me.Combobox & "*"""
End If

"accessdesigner" wrote:

when i f9 and f8 to step through the program, it wont turn yellow.....

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

Show your code (making sure you indicate how it's being invoked).

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner" wrote in message
...
the statement wont work as a stand alone, but it will work if i include an
additional criteria combo box with that one, ... like subject and date,
but
the subject criteria wont work by itself

"accessdesigner" wrote:

exactly.... and i meant "textbox" to where i type in a value to be
searched,
versus pulling from a predefined list... it wont work correctly.... every
time i retry... sometimes the form comes up blank, sometimes it has one
or
two records that did include the search word, then sometimes it locks up
completely, and contain wrong records...

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

Don't understand what you mean by "reading new data". Once you've set
the
criteria, it's set: changing the combo box won't be reflected unless
you
select a new value from the combo box.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner" wrote in
message
...
Something else is wrong because its not reading it correctly, it
locks up
after opening the form but it is not reading new data if i enter new
data
into the combo box

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

Sorry, my typo.

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ""*" & Me.Combobox
&
"*"""


--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner" wrote in
message
...
Getting closer.... at least this time it did open the form, but it
was
blank...

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ""*" *
Me.Combobox &
"*"""

i replaced *Me.Combobox with ... &Me.Combobox

but it did not read any data, it bypassed the statement completely
and
just
opened the form.... but thats a start in the right direction,
because
at
first my statement locked the program and the form did not open at
all...

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

That doesn't work because it's looking for the literal string
[Me.Combobox]
anywhere in your subject field.

Assuming you want the value that's currently selected in
Combobox, you
need
to use:

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE '*" *
Me.Combobox &
"*'"

Note the inclusion of single quotes in there. Exagerated for
clarity,
it's

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ' * " *
Me.Combobox
&
" *
' "

If it's possible that what's in Combobox is going to include
apostrophes,
use the following instead:

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ""*" *
Me.Combobox &
"*"""

That's

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE " " * " *
Me.Combobox &
"
* " " "

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner" wrote
in
message
...
I will try that when I get back home.... I was trying to
practice on
my
work
version, which still doesnt work:

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject]LIKE
''*[Me.Combobox]*"

it still wont work.....

"John Vinson" wrote:

On Sun, 26 Nov 2006 09:31:02 -0800, accessdesigner
wrote:

ty... ( need you all on speed dial.... lol)

my combobox is connected to :
SELECT Names.Name FROM [Names] ORDER BY [Name];
(thats a table where my list names scroll down from the
combobox

The Query: NameThings .....is only connected to my Report

The word Name is a bad Name to Name a field or a control,
since
both
tables and controls have a Name property already!

Try changing the table definition so that you're using a
nonreserved
term in place of Name - or at the very least bracket it.

The difference between the home and work versions *MIGHT* be
because
one of them has Name Autocorrect set in the database's
Options, and
the other doesn't. IN my experience this misfeature should be
turned
OFF.

Perhaps you could post the complete SQL of the NameThings
query,
with
some indication of the datatypes of the table fields.

John W. Vinson[MVP]













  #32  
Old November 27th, 2006, 06:01 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
accessdesigner
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 89
Default Home Version Access

BUT its a textbox

"accessdesigner" wrote:

If Not IsNull(Me.optionbutton) Then
If Len(strwhere) 0 Then
strwhere = strwhere & " And "
End If
strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.fieldname]LIKE ""*"
& Me.Combobox & "*"""
End If

"accessdesigner" wrote:

when i f9 and f8 to step through the program, it wont turn yellow.....

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

Show your code (making sure you indicate how it's being invoked).

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner" wrote in message
...
the statement wont work as a stand alone, but it will work if i include an
additional criteria combo box with that one, ... like subject and date,
but
the subject criteria wont work by itself

"accessdesigner" wrote:

exactly.... and i meant "textbox" to where i type in a value to be
searched,
versus pulling from a predefined list... it wont work correctly.... every
time i retry... sometimes the form comes up blank, sometimes it has one
or
two records that did include the search word, then sometimes it locks up
completely, and contain wrong records...

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

Don't understand what you mean by "reading new data". Once you've set
the
criteria, it's set: changing the combo box won't be reflected unless
you
select a new value from the combo box.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner" wrote in
message
...
Something else is wrong because its not reading it correctly, it
locks up
after opening the form but it is not reading new data if i enter new
data
into the combo box

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

Sorry, my typo.

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ""*" & Me.Combobox
&
"*"""


--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner" wrote in
message
...
Getting closer.... at least this time it did open the form, but it
was
blank...

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ""*" *
Me.Combobox &
"*"""

i replaced *Me.Combobox with ... &Me.Combobox

but it did not read any data, it bypassed the statement completely
and
just
opened the form.... but thats a start in the right direction,
because
at
first my statement locked the program and the form did not open at
all...

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

That doesn't work because it's looking for the literal string
[Me.Combobox]
anywhere in your subject field.

Assuming you want the value that's currently selected in
Combobox, you
need
to use:

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE '*" *
Me.Combobox &
"*'"

Note the inclusion of single quotes in there. Exagerated for
clarity,
it's

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ' * " *
Me.Combobox
&
" *
' "

If it's possible that what's in Combobox is going to include
apostrophes,
use the following instead:

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ""*" *
Me.Combobox &
"*"""

That's

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE " " * " *
Me.Combobox &
"
* " " "

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner" wrote
in
message
...
I will try that when I get back home.... I was trying to
practice on
my
work
version, which still doesnt work:

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject]LIKE
''*[Me.Combobox]*"

it still wont work.....

"John Vinson" wrote:

On Sun, 26 Nov 2006 09:31:02 -0800, accessdesigner
wrote:

ty... ( need you all on speed dial.... lol)

my combobox is connected to :
SELECT Names.Name FROM [Names] ORDER BY [Name];
(thats a table where my list names scroll down from the
combobox

The Query: NameThings .....is only connected to my Report

The word Name is a bad Name to Name a field or a control,
since
both
tables and controls have a Name property already!

Try changing the table definition so that you're using a
nonreserved
term in place of Name - or at the very least bracket it.

The difference between the home and work versions *MIGHT* be
because
one of them has Name Autocorrect set in the database's
Options, and
the other doesn't. IN my experience this misfeature should be
turned
OFF.

Perhaps you could post the complete SQL of the NameThings
query,
with
some indication of the datatypes of the table fields.

John W. Vinson[MVP]













  #33  
Old November 27th, 2006, 06:03 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Douglas J. Steele
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9,313
Default Home Version Access

You know, getting information from you is difficult!

You've been working on this build-your-criteria for days. I doubt any of us
have any idea what your code looks like at present. Show it all: you're
saying you need to include a second criteria for it to work, but you're not
showing us enough to figure out why.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner" wrote in message
...
If Not IsNull(Me.optionbutton) Then
If Len(strwhere) 0 Then
strwhere = strwhere & " And "
End If
strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.fieldname]LIKE ""*"
& Me.Combobox & "*"""
End If

"accessdesigner" wrote:

when i f9 and f8 to step through the program, it wont turn yellow.....

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

Show your code (making sure you indicate how it's being invoked).

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner" wrote in
message
...
the statement wont work as a stand alone, but it will work if i
include an
additional criteria combo box with that one, ... like subject and
date,
but
the subject criteria wont work by itself

"accessdesigner" wrote:

exactly.... and i meant "textbox" to where i type in a value to be
searched,
versus pulling from a predefined list... it wont work correctly....
every
time i retry... sometimes the form comes up blank, sometimes it has
one
or
two records that did include the search word, then sometimes it
locks up
completely, and contain wrong records...

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

Don't understand what you mean by "reading new data". Once you've
set
the
criteria, it's set: changing the combo box won't be reflected
unless
you
select a new value from the combo box.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner" wrote
in
message
...
Something else is wrong because its not reading it correctly, it
locks up
after opening the form but it is not reading new data if i enter
new
data
into the combo box

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

Sorry, my typo.

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ""*" &
Me.Combobox
&
"*"""


--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner"
wrote in
message
...
Getting closer.... at least this time it did open the form,
but it
was
blank...

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ""*" *
Me.Combobox &
"*"""

i replaced *Me.Combobox with ... &Me.Combobox

but it did not read any data, it bypassed the statement
completely
and
just
opened the form.... but thats a start in the right direction,
because
at
first my statement locked the program and the form did not
open at
all...

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

That doesn't work because it's looking for the literal
string
[Me.Combobox]
anywhere in your subject field.

Assuming you want the value that's currently selected in
Combobox, you
need
to use:

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE '*" *
Me.Combobox &
"*'"

Note the inclusion of single quotes in there. Exagerated for
clarity,
it's

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ' * " *
Me.Combobox
&
" *
' "

If it's possible that what's in Combobox is going to include
apostrophes,
use the following instead:

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ""*" *
Me.Combobox &
"*"""

That's

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE " " * " *
Me.Combobox &
"
* " " "

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner"
wrote
in
message
...
I will try that when I get back home.... I was trying to
practice on
my
work
version, which still doesnt work:

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject]LIKE
''*[Me.Combobox]*"

it still wont work.....

"John Vinson" wrote:

On Sun, 26 Nov 2006 09:31:02 -0800, accessdesigner
wrote:

ty... ( need you all on speed dial.... lol)

my combobox is connected to :
SELECT Names.Name FROM [Names] ORDER BY [Name];
(thats a table where my list names scroll down from the
combobox

The Query: NameThings .....is only connected to my
Report

The word Name is a bad Name to Name a field or a control,
since
both
tables and controls have a Name property already!

Try changing the table definition so that you're using a
nonreserved
term in place of Name - or at the very least bracket it.

The difference between the home and work versions *MIGHT*
be
because
one of them has Name Autocorrect set in the database's
Options, and
the other doesn't. IN my experience this misfeature
should be
turned
OFF.

Perhaps you could post the complete SQL of the NameThings
query,
with
some indication of the datatypes of the table fields.

John W. Vinson[MVP]















  #34  
Old November 27th, 2006, 06:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
accessdesigner
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 89
Default Home Version Access

I understand how you feel, because I feel the same way, when I think I gave
enough information towards asking for help, yet after 35 strings, people keep
saying "what are you talking about?".... this is a good service, but I wish
it came through instant messaging... because I do not know what you mean when
you say show your code; what code?

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

You know, getting information from you is difficult!

You've been working on this build-your-criteria for days. I doubt any of us
have any idea what your code looks like at present. Show it all: you're
saying you need to include a second criteria for it to work, but you're not
showing us enough to figure out why.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner" wrote in message
...
If Not IsNull(Me.optionbutton) Then
If Len(strwhere) 0 Then
strwhere = strwhere & " And "
End If
strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.fieldname]LIKE ""*"
& Me.Combobox & "*"""
End If

"accessdesigner" wrote:

when i f9 and f8 to step through the program, it wont turn yellow.....

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

Show your code (making sure you indicate how it's being invoked).

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner" wrote in
message
...
the statement wont work as a stand alone, but it will work if i
include an
additional criteria combo box with that one, ... like subject and
date,
but
the subject criteria wont work by itself

"accessdesigner" wrote:

exactly.... and i meant "textbox" to where i type in a value to be
searched,
versus pulling from a predefined list... it wont work correctly....
every
time i retry... sometimes the form comes up blank, sometimes it has
one
or
two records that did include the search word, then sometimes it
locks up
completely, and contain wrong records...

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

Don't understand what you mean by "reading new data". Once you've
set
the
criteria, it's set: changing the combo box won't be reflected
unless
you
select a new value from the combo box.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner" wrote
in
message
...
Something else is wrong because its not reading it correctly, it
locks up
after opening the form but it is not reading new data if i enter
new
data
into the combo box

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

Sorry, my typo.

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ""*" &
Me.Combobox
&
"*"""


--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner"
wrote in
message
...
Getting closer.... at least this time it did open the form,
but it
was
blank...

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ""*" *
Me.Combobox &
"*"""

i replaced *Me.Combobox with ... &Me.Combobox

but it did not read any data, it bypassed the statement
completely
and
just
opened the form.... but thats a start in the right direction,
because
at
first my statement locked the program and the form did not
open at
all...

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

That doesn't work because it's looking for the literal
string
[Me.Combobox]
anywhere in your subject field.

Assuming you want the value that's currently selected in
Combobox, you
need
to use:

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE '*" *
Me.Combobox &
"*'"

Note the inclusion of single quotes in there. Exagerated for
clarity,
it's

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ' * " *
Me.Combobox
&
" *
' "

If it's possible that what's in Combobox is going to include
apostrophes,
use the following instead:

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE ""*" *
Me.Combobox &
"*"""

That's

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject] LIKE " " * " *
Me.Combobox &
"
* " " "

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)


"accessdesigner"
wrote
in
message
...
I will try that when I get back home.... I was trying to
practice on
my
work
version, which still doesnt work:

strwhere = strwhere & "[queryobject.subject]LIKE
''*[Me.Combobox]*"

it still wont work.....

"John Vinson" wrote:

On Sun, 26 Nov 2006 09:31:02 -0800, accessdesigner
wrote:

ty... ( need you all on speed dial.... lol)

my combobox is connected to :
SELECT Names.Name FROM [Names] ORDER BY [Name];
(thats a table where my list names scroll down from the
combobox

The Query: NameThings .....is only connected to my
Report

The word Name is a bad Name to Name a field or a control,
since
both
tables and controls have a Name property already!

Try changing the table definition so that you're using a
nonreserved
term in place of Name - or at the very least bracket it.

The difference between the home and work versions *MIGHT*
be
because
one of them has Name Autocorrect set in the database's
Options, and
the other doesn't. IN my experience this misfeature
should be
turned
OFF.

Perhaps you could post the complete SQL of the NameThings
query,
with
some indication of the datatypes of the table fields.

John W. Vinson[MVP]
















  #35  
Old November 28th, 2006, 01:27 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
David W. Fenton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,373
Default Home Version Access

accessdesigner wrote in
:

I understand how you feel, because I feel the same way, when I
think I gave enough information towards asking for help, yet after
35 strings, people keep saying "what are you talking about?"


I have read the whole thread, but don't have a clue where you are
doing this or what you are trying to accomplish. I don't know what
events are running the code you've posted or what the hell you want
to do in the first place.

You haven't explained yourself well at all.

You haven't answered the questions that have been asked.

You haven't provided the code that has been requested.

And you wonder why people can't help you.

--
David W. Fenton http://www.dfenton.com/
usenet at dfenton dot com http://www.dfenton.com/DFA/
  #36  
Old November 29th, 2006, 02:29 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
accessdesigner
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 89
Default Home Version Access

This string had gotten too long so I started a new one, and it has been
solved.... sorry... ty....

"David W. Fenton" wrote:

accessdesigner wrote in
:

I understand how you feel, because I feel the same way, when I
think I gave enough information towards asking for help, yet after
35 strings, people keep saying "what are you talking about?"


I have read the whole thread, but don't have a clue where you are
doing this or what you are trying to accomplish. I don't know what
events are running the code you've posted or what the hell you want
to do in the first place.

You haven't explained yourself well at all.

You haven't answered the questions that have been asked.

You haven't provided the code that has been requested.

And you wonder why people can't help you.

--
David W. Fenton http://www.dfenton.com/
usenet at dfenton dot com http://www.dfenton.com/DFA/

  #37  
Old March 2nd, 2008, 05:46 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
aprialos
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Home Version Access

I apologize for jumping into the middle of this discussion. I am lookinng to
find out if I can purchase just access alone? I have student home and office
2007. Acces is the only program I need to get. And if I can, does any one
know where? I cannot fint it by itself on the MS website.

"tina" wrote:

you can't return a value from a query that way, unless the query is bound to
the form that the code is running from (in which case, all you'd need is the
field reference, as ruralguy pointed out).

if the query NameThings only returns one record, then you can retrieve the
value of the NameLOOK field with a DLookup() function as described by Doug
Steele, and assign it to Me.NameList; otherwise, you're going to need to
apply criteria in the DLookup() to retrieve the appropriate record from the
query.

hth


"accessdesigner" wrote in message
...
It's a query, and field name,... i was surprised too that i didnt work,
because it worked at work....

"Douglas J. Steele" wrote:

I'm surprised it recognizes that in any version.

What is NameThings?

If it's an open form, that should be Forms![NameThings]![NameLOOK]

If it's a table, you need to use a DLookup: DLookup("[NameLOOK]",
"[NameThings]")

If it's a recordset, you need to use NameThings!NameLOOK


--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no private e-mails, please)


"accessdesigner" wrote in

message
...
I purchased a home version of Access from Microsoft through my job, and
when
I tried the following statement using the home version of Access, it

wont
recognize [NameThings.NameLOOK] as being correct, but it works at

work:
(why?)

Dim strwhere As String
strwhere = ""
If Not IsNull(Me.NameList) Then
If Me.NameList = [NameThings.NameLOOK] Then
strwhere = strwhere & Me.NameList
End If
End If






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.