A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

How do I populate a subform field with a value from the main form?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 17th, 2010, 06:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
SSi308
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 42
Default How do I populate a subform field with a value from the main form?

I have a form called ContractsIn which has a subform called
ContractsInAndHours.
The main part of the form consists of:
Employees.ID
Employees.Name

The subform has the fields:
ContractsAndHours.ID
ContractsAndHours.Name
ContractsAndHours.DailyHoursWorked
ContractsAndHours.ContractOut

This form is used by the supervisor to enter the hours worked and the
contracts in for each day.
When entering hours and contracts for each employee I would like the Name
field in the subform automatically filled in with the name in the main form
when entering through the field.

Can this be accomplished?

Ads
  #2  
Old May 17th, 2010, 07:34 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Arvin Meyer [MVP][_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,310
Default How do I populate a subform field with a value from the main form?

You don't ever need to store the name in 2 places. The only data that should
ever be duplicated is the key.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.accessmvp.com
http://www.mvps.org/access


"SSi308" wrote in message
...
I have a form called ContractsIn which has a subform called
ContractsInAndHours.
The main part of the form consists of:
Employees.ID
Employees.Name

The subform has the fields:
ContractsAndHours.ID
ContractsAndHours.Name
ContractsAndHours.DailyHoursWorked
ContractsAndHours.ContractOut

This form is used by the supervisor to enter the hours worked and the
contracts in for each day.
When entering hours and contracts for each employee I would like the Name
field in the subform automatically filled in with the name in the main
form
when entering through the field.

Can this be accomplished?



  #3  
Old May 18th, 2010, 03:19 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
SSi308
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 42
Default How do I populate a subform field with a value from the main f

How does the table know who the record is for when running reports?
For example the ContractsAndHours subform was created from the
ContractsAndHours table. If I do a query on the ContractsAndHours table
information and there is no name field how do I sort by employee name?

Thanks for the reply it is very much appreciated.

"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote:

You don't ever need to store the name in 2 places. The only data that should
ever be duplicated is the key.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.accessmvp.com
http://www.mvps.org/access


"SSi308" wrote in message
...
I have a form called ContractsIn which has a subform called
ContractsInAndHours.
The main part of the form consists of:
Employees.ID
Employees.Name

The subform has the fields:
ContractsAndHours.ID
ContractsAndHours.Name
ContractsAndHours.DailyHoursWorked
ContractsAndHours.ContractOut

This form is used by the supervisor to enter the hours worked and the
contracts in for each day.
When entering hours and contracts for each employee I would like the Name
field in the subform automatically filled in with the name in the main
form
when entering through the field.

Can this be accomplished?



.

  #4  
Old May 18th, 2010, 05:57 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default How do I populate a subform field with a value from the main f

On Tue, 18 May 2010 07:19:01 -0700, SSi308
wrote:

How does the table know who the record is for when running reports?
For example the ContractsAndHours subform was created from the
ContractsAndHours table. If I do a query on the ContractsAndHours table
information and there is no name field how do I sort by employee name?


Join the Employees table in the query: pull the contract and hour information
from the ContractsAndHours table, and the name from the Employee table. That's
what relational databases DO - let you combine data from multiple related
tables into one result.

If you're assuming that the Report must be based on a single table containing
all the needed information, you're missing the real power of databases!

--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #5  
Old May 19th, 2010, 02:39 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Arvin Meyer [MVP][_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,310
Default How do I populate a subform field with a value from the main f

You use a query to sort and the EmployeeID to identify the employee. A join
on EmployeeID from the employees table will display a name.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.accessmvp.com
http://www.mvps.org/access


"SSi308" wrote in message
...
How does the table know who the record is for when running reports?
For example the ContractsAndHours subform was created from the
ContractsAndHours table. If I do a query on the ContractsAndHours table
information and there is no name field how do I sort by employee name?

Thanks for the reply it is very much appreciated.

"Arvin Meyer [MVP]" wrote:

You don't ever need to store the name in 2 places. The only data that
should
ever be duplicated is the key.
--
Arvin Meyer, MCP, MVP
http://www.datastrat.com
http://www.accessmvp.com
http://www.mvps.org/access


"SSi308" wrote in message
...
I have a form called ContractsIn which has a subform called
ContractsInAndHours.
The main part of the form consists of:
Employees.ID
Employees.Name

The subform has the fields:
ContractsAndHours.ID
ContractsAndHours.Name
ContractsAndHours.DailyHoursWorked
ContractsAndHours.ContractOut

This form is used by the supervisor to enter the hours worked and the
contracts in for each day.
When entering hours and contracts for each employee I would like the
Name
field in the subform automatically filled in with the name in the main
form
when entering through the field.

Can this be accomplished?



.



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.