A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

How to create very wide tables in Access?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 25th, 2004, 11:51 PM
WayneM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to create very wide tables in Access?

I am using VB6 to create and load a table in an Access .mdb database. The table is very wide (6000 bytes wide) and when I load data there are about 200 rows that load and then I get a 'Record is too large' error which means that the table is too wide. I realize that the maximum size of all fields is 2000 bytes, but I am able to create this same table by using the Import/Export tool in SQL Server and then I am able to use it. So once the table is created, there is no problem querying and using it. I assume the limitation is in the DAO and ADO drivers. Also why can I load several hundred rows before I get this error?

Any idea on how to get around this, other than using MSDE?

Thanks in advance,

WayneM
  #2  
Old June 26th, 2004, 10:19 PM
Jeff Boyce
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to create very wide tables in Access?

Wayne

If you can "stuff" the data into SQL Server, why do you need Access?

You didn't provide any information about the data itself ... is there a
chance that simply copying it into Access doesn't reflect any normalization
(i.e., same as stuffing it into a spreadsheet?)?


--
More info, please ...

Jeff Boyce
Access MVP

  #3  
Old June 27th, 2004, 01:13 AM
Jay Vinton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to create very wide tables in Access?

The table is very wide (6000 bytes wide) and when I load data there are about 200 rows that load and then I get a 'Record is too large' error which means that the

Can you fly up about 10,000 feet and provide a more generalized view of what kind of data you are working with and what you want to do with it?

Jay

  #4  
Old June 27th, 2004, 02:30 PM
WayneM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to create very wide tables in Access?

Jay,
The tables have about 250 fields all with varchar and dates and no numeric data. This is why the table is so wide. This data is used to analyze problems in a semiconductor factory, where these tables are joined with other data that has numeric data. There is an analysis tool that uses this data to perform analysis as to what happens over time, what events are common with problem products, etc. It then helps to pinpoint the problem cause. There are many of these wide tables that are used as well as many tables with numeric data. The tables with numeric tables also have about 250 fields, but since they are numeric data types, this is no problem.

The analysis tool creates a type of virtual view of all fields across many tables, so it looks more like a normalized database. This is done for performance reasons, since the tool is a very fast interactive data visualization tool.

Thanks,

Wayne

"Jay Vinton" wrote:

The table is very wide (6000 bytes wide) and when I load data there are about 200 rows that load and then I get a 'Record is too large' error which means that the


Can you fly up about 10,000 feet and provide a more generalized view of what kind of data you are working with and what you want to do with it?

Jay

  #5  
Old June 27th, 2004, 05:52 PM
Jay Vinton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to create very wide tables in Access?

The tables have about 250 fields all with varchar and dates and no numeric data.

Wow, you are way over limit on row size, and almost at the limit for number of columns per table. It seems unlikely that you need so many columns.

Has the data been normalized? If it's already in at least third normal form, then maybe you should re-work your relationship model.

If this is as good as it gets, you should switch to MSDE or SQL Server.

Jay

  #6  
Old June 28th, 2004, 05:47 AM
Ernie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to create very wide tables in Access?

Even if your import tables are in 3rd normal form, I would
consider breaking them down further so that you have like
75-100 columns in each table, then run your analysis pgm
on them.

Are you aware that SQL Server is like 30% faster than
access in a similar query? (and it can handle larger
tables)

In answer to your second question, the first 100 or so
rows are probably just under the limit for row size and
the 101st (or whereever it stops) jumps the limit by a few
bytes.


-----Original Message-----
The tables have about 250 fields all with varchar and

dates and no numeric data.

Wow, you are way over limit on row size, and almost at

the limit for number of columns per table. It seems
unlikely that you need so many columns.

Has the data been normalized? If it's already in at least

third normal form, then maybe you should re-work your
relationship model.

If this is as good as it gets, you should switch to MSDE

or SQL Server.

Jay

.

  #7  
Old June 28th, 2004, 09:03 AM
david epsom dot com dot au
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to create very wide tables in Access?

If you can create this table from SQL Server, then either ADO or DAO must be
able to handle the record.
How are you doing it in VB? ADO or DAO? OLEDB or ODBC? Is this in fact the
same data as tested with the SQL Server export? When you say 'about 200
rows', do you mean any 200 rows? Or is it failing repeatedly on one specific
record?

And if you can get the data from SQL Server, can you just link to a Server
view? Why do you need the data in an Access table at all?

(david)


"WayneM" wrote in message
...
I am using VB6 to create and load a table in an Access .mdb database. The

table is very wide (6000 bytes wide) and when I load data there are about
200 rows that load and then I get a 'Record is too large' error which means
that the table is too wide. I realize that the maximum size of all fields
is 2000 bytes, but I am able to create this same table by using the
Import/Export tool in SQL Server and then I am able to use it. So once the
table is created, there is no problem querying and using it. I assume the
limitation is in the DAO and ADO drivers. Also why can I load several
hundred rows before I get this error?

Any idea on how to get around this, other than using MSDE?

Thanks in advance,

WayneM



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Data Access Page Problem Doug Munich General Discussion 0 June 5th, 2004 12:03 AM
Access Tables June Database Design 1 June 2nd, 2004 02:21 PM
create table based on two tables. brigid Database Design 2 May 14th, 2004 01:11 PM
Query to Access : does'nt see tables Vuillermet Jacques Links and Linking 1 February 25th, 2004 11:48 AM
Trying to create Database / Piviot tables alexzagrant Worksheet Functions 0 November 26th, 2003 06:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.