A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Requery of Subforms



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 10th, 2004, 02:06 PM
Joe
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Requery of Subforms

I have successfully used various methods of requering subforms in the past.

Now, however, I seem to have a hard time to update subforms based on
changing values in cascading combo boxes.

I previously listed 1 or 2 threads but none of them have solved my problem
(this is not to say the I wasn't given any answers... somehow I believe I
didn't understand the given answer), so I'll try again providing more
generic information.

Instead of listing all the details, I will attempt to explain my scenario
with simple example data.

Table Structu
- 4 tables that are joined via One-To-Many relationship (all follow the
principle of "GrandFather, Father, GrandChild, GrandGrandChild"
architecture).

Form Structu
- MainForm "GrandFather" has general information (listed in Single Form)
- SubForm "Father" uses ComboBox1
- SubSubForm "GrandChild" uses ComboBox2
- SubSubSubForm "GrandGrandChild" uses ComboBox3


The information in the 3 combo boxes follow the principle of "State",
"City", "Community". For instance:
- ComboBox1 uses values such as "CA" or "TX"
- ComboBox2 uses values such as "LA", "San Francisco", "Austin", "El Paso"
- ComboBox3 uses values such as "LA North, "LA South, ...."Austin North",
"Austin South"...


Okay, here's what I need to get to work, but just can't seem to figure out:
- If value in ComboBox1 is changed on Subform (Father), then
- update values in ComboBox2 on SubSubForm (GrandChild) + update values in
ComboBox3 on SubSubSubForm "GrandGrandChild"
- Then, if value in ComboBox2 is change on SubSubForm (GrandChild), then
- update values in ComboBox3 on SubSubSubForm (GrandGrandChild).
.... in other words, if I select "TX" (ComboBox1), then I want to see
"Austin" and "El Paso" (ComboBox2). Then, if I select "Austin"
(ComboBox2), then I want to see "Austin North" and "Austin South"
(ComboBox3).


I have received a few replies in earlier threads. Unfortunately, I still
can't figure out how to write the "Requery" statements that have a domino
effect on multiple combo boxes that ALSO resides on multiple layers of forms
and subforms.

I'd truly appreciate if someone could provide me some pointers as to how fix
that. It would be really beneficial if the sample information of a)
Subform, SubSubForm, and SubSubSubForm and b) ComboBox1, ComboBox2,
ComboBox3 would be used in any help that you might be providing to me.


Thousand thanks to anyone who can help me out,
Joe





  #2  
Old June 10th, 2004, 04:33 PM
Andy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Requery of Subforms

Joe:

This worked for me w/3 Combo boxes:
Q209595 - ACC2000: How to Synchronize Two Combo Boxes on a Form

Go to Miicrosoft.com and search for the above.

You will need to change Your Primary keys in the tables to txt.

Takes a little time but it works.

Andy

"Joe" wrote in message
...
I have successfully used various methods of requering subforms in the

past.

Now, however, I seem to have a hard time to update subforms based on
changing values in cascading combo boxes.

I previously listed 1 or 2 threads but none of them have solved my problem
(this is not to say the I wasn't given any answers... somehow I believe I
didn't understand the given answer), so I'll try again providing more
generic information.

Instead of listing all the details, I will attempt to explain my scenario
with simple example data.

Table Structu
- 4 tables that are joined via One-To-Many relationship (all follow the
principle of "GrandFather, Father, GrandChild, GrandGrandChild"
architecture).

Form Structu
- MainForm "GrandFather" has general information (listed in Single Form)
- SubForm "Father" uses ComboBox1
- SubSubForm "GrandChild" uses ComboBox2
- SubSubSubForm "GrandGrandChild" uses ComboBox3


The information in the 3 combo boxes follow the principle of "State",
"City", "Community". For instance:
- ComboBox1 uses values such as "CA" or "TX"
- ComboBox2 uses values such as "LA", "San Francisco", "Austin", "El Paso"
- ComboBox3 uses values such as "LA North, "LA South, ...."Austin North",
"Austin South"...


Okay, here's what I need to get to work, but just can't seem to figure

out:
- If value in ComboBox1 is changed on Subform (Father), then
- update values in ComboBox2 on SubSubForm (GrandChild) + update values in
ComboBox3 on SubSubSubForm "GrandGrandChild"
- Then, if value in ComboBox2 is change on SubSubForm (GrandChild), then
- update values in ComboBox3 on SubSubSubForm (GrandGrandChild).
... in other words, if I select "TX" (ComboBox1), then I want to see
"Austin" and "El Paso" (ComboBox2). Then, if I select "Austin"
(ComboBox2), then I want to see "Austin North" and "Austin South"
(ComboBox3).


I have received a few replies in earlier threads. Unfortunately, I still
can't figure out how to write the "Requery" statements that have a domino
effect on multiple combo boxes that ALSO resides on multiple layers of

forms
and subforms.

I'd truly appreciate if someone could provide me some pointers as to how

fix
that. It would be really beneficial if the sample information of a)
Subform, SubSubForm, and SubSubSubForm and b) ComboBox1, ComboBox2,
ComboBox3 would be used in any help that you might be providing to me.


Thousand thanks to anyone who can help me out,
Joe







  #3  
Old June 10th, 2004, 09:09 PM
Joe
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Requery of Subforms

Andy:

Thanks for the sharing this resources w/ me. I just downloaded the mdb
file and also the info on the 2 combo boxes.

Joe


"Andy" wrote in message
...
Joe:

This worked for me w/3 Combo boxes:
Q209595 - ACC2000: How to Synchronize Two Combo Boxes on a Form

Go to Miicrosoft.com and search for the above.

You will need to change Your Primary keys in the tables to txt.

Takes a little time but it works.

Andy

"Joe" wrote in message
...
I have successfully used various methods of requering subforms in the

past.

Now, however, I seem to have a hard time to update subforms based on
changing values in cascading combo boxes.

I previously listed 1 or 2 threads but none of them have solved my

problem
(this is not to say the I wasn't given any answers... somehow I believe

I
didn't understand the given answer), so I'll try again providing more
generic information.

Instead of listing all the details, I will attempt to explain my

scenario
with simple example data.

Table Structu
- 4 tables that are joined via One-To-Many relationship (all follow the
principle of "GrandFather, Father, GrandChild, GrandGrandChild"
architecture).

Form Structu
- MainForm "GrandFather" has general information (listed in Single Form)
- SubForm "Father" uses ComboBox1
- SubSubForm "GrandChild" uses ComboBox2
- SubSubSubForm "GrandGrandChild" uses ComboBox3


The information in the 3 combo boxes follow the principle of "State",
"City", "Community". For instance:
- ComboBox1 uses values such as "CA" or "TX"
- ComboBox2 uses values such as "LA", "San Francisco", "Austin", "El

Paso"
- ComboBox3 uses values such as "LA North, "LA South, ...."Austin

North",
"Austin South"...


Okay, here's what I need to get to work, but just can't seem to figure

out:
- If value in ComboBox1 is changed on Subform (Father), then
- update values in ComboBox2 on SubSubForm (GrandChild) + update values

in
ComboBox3 on SubSubSubForm "GrandGrandChild"
- Then, if value in ComboBox2 is change on SubSubForm (GrandChild), then
- update values in ComboBox3 on SubSubSubForm (GrandGrandChild).
... in other words, if I select "TX" (ComboBox1), then I want to see
"Austin" and "El Paso" (ComboBox2). Then, if I select "Austin"
(ComboBox2), then I want to see "Austin North" and "Austin South"
(ComboBox3).


I have received a few replies in earlier threads. Unfortunately, I

still
can't figure out how to write the "Requery" statements that have a

domino
effect on multiple combo boxes that ALSO resides on multiple layers of

forms
and subforms.

I'd truly appreciate if someone could provide me some pointers as to how

fix
that. It would be really beneficial if the sample information of a)
Subform, SubSubForm, and SubSubSubForm and b) ComboBox1, ComboBox2,
ComboBox3 would be used in any help that you might be providing to me.


Thousand thanks to anyone who can help me out,
Joe









 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.