A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Access ADO Form Insert Bug



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old October 15th, 2005, 05:44 AM
Sylvain Lafontaine
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Access ADO Form Insert Bug

Strange that a Resync command doesn't work well; as this should work in
every case.

Here an exemple of the dummy Resync command that I use:

CREATE PROCEDURE dbo.DummyResync (@p1 int, @p2 int, @p3 int, @p4 int, @p5
int)
AS
SELECT @p1, @p2, @p3, @p4, @p5
GO

and I call it this way:

DummyResync ?, ?, ?, ?, ?

The article referenced in your previous post says to use the following
syntax instead:

"{call CustordersResync (?)}"

but I didn't have the time to make a full analysis of this.

For the Profiler, click on File -- New -- Trace; then give the correct
connection parameters and click OK. After that, click on Run and you should
see a basic trace showing you all the commands sent by Access.

--
Sylvain Lafontaine, ing.
MVP - Technologies Virtual-PC
E-mail: http://cerbermail.com/?QugbLEWINF


"Pete Nurse" wrote in message
ups.com...
Sylvain, thanks for the response.

1/ Yes, I use a single field primary key of type INT with identity set
(ie autonumber).

2/ As you suggest, I've tried entering a dummy Resynch command and it
seemed to overcome the reported problem, though I don't see how I can
enter "a SP
without the right number of parameters" without receiving an error. In
fact, it seems that entering a non-existent, nonsense SP name works
just as well (ie you get an error message). Could you please explain
how I can overcome that.

I tried entering the Resynch command as recommended at . . .

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...ynccommand.asp

It seemed to work sometimes but not always. Certainly not as well
(apart from the error message) as the dummy SP idea.

3/ I had a look at Profiler, but it's pretty arcane - I have no idea
what I'm looking at.

Thanks for your response - maybe we're homing in on the solution.



  #12  
Old October 15th, 2005, 12:47 PM
Pete Nurse
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Access ADO Form Insert Bug

When I use "DummyResync ?, ?, ?, ?, ?", I get the error "No value
given for one or more required parameters". When I just use
"DummyResych" (no parameters), I get no error - especially I don't get
the errors that brought me here, except . . .

.. . . remember the rogue ID problem from the original post? In the
example below empID is the autonumber employee ID and I'm entering a
new record "Craigie, Vanessa". After inserting the record, empID entry
changes from "(Autonumber)" to the rogue ID (in this case 528, it
increments for reason I don't understand - when I started this the ID
numbers were in the 400s):-
empID Last Name First Name
17853 Boon Elizabeth
17852 Evans Susan
528 Craigie Vanessa

Now, empID 528 has now been deleted and long forgotten and I'm sure SQL
Server will make sure I never use it again. BTW this rogue ID is the
parameter Access sends to the Resync Command SP (I understood enough in
SQL Profiler to see that!).

After I refresh the form, it reorders and corrects the empID:-
empID Last Name First Name
17853 Boon Elizabeth
17852 Evans Susan
30068 Craigie Vanessa

The more worrying thing is that the rogue ID may actually exist, in
which case I think it can update the wrong data (ie an employee from a
totally different company)! This I find quite scarey. I saw this
behaviour last week but it was so confused with the other insoluble
problems that I didn't follow it up.

I can work around the problem (sort of) with the following code which
immediately refreshes the form and moves the cursor to the new (empty)
record . . .
Private Sub Form_AfterInsert()
'Due to a weird bug in Access ADP (in which a completely unrelated
record is magically displayed!),
'we need to refresh then reset and then move to the bottom of the
subform:
Me.Refresh
Me.SelTop = Me.RecordsetClone.RecordCount + 1
End Sub
.. . . but that is an intellectually unacceptable way to solve the
problem.

I think this now becomes the main problem. I guess I should start
another post, but I'll see how this one flies.

Any ideas?

  #13  
Old October 15th, 2005, 07:19 PM
Sylvain Lafontaine
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Access ADO Form Insert Bug

Any trigger performing any kind of insert (even in a temporary table) on the
SQL-Server side?

--
Sylvain Lafontaine, ing.
MVP - Technologies Virtual-PC
E-mail: http://cerbermail.com/?QugbLEWINF


"Pete Nurse" wrote in message
oups.com...
When I use "DummyResync ?, ?, ?, ?, ?", I get the error "No value
given for one or more required parameters". When I just use
"DummyResych" (no parameters), I get no error - especially I don't get
the errors that brought me here, except . . .

. . . remember the rogue ID problem from the original post? In the
example below empID is the autonumber employee ID and I'm entering a
new record "Craigie, Vanessa". After inserting the record, empID entry
changes from "(Autonumber)" to the rogue ID (in this case 528, it
increments for reason I don't understand - when I started this the ID
numbers were in the 400s):-
empID Last Name First Name
17853 Boon Elizabeth
17852 Evans Susan
528 Craigie Vanessa

Now, empID 528 has now been deleted and long forgotten and I'm sure SQL
Server will make sure I never use it again. BTW this rogue ID is the
parameter Access sends to the Resync Command SP (I understood enough in
SQL Profiler to see that!).

After I refresh the form, it reorders and corrects the empID:-
empID Last Name First Name
17853 Boon Elizabeth
17852 Evans Susan
30068 Craigie Vanessa

The more worrying thing is that the rogue ID may actually exist, in
which case I think it can update the wrong data (ie an employee from a
totally different company)! This I find quite scarey. I saw this
behaviour last week but it was so confused with the other insoluble
problems that I didn't follow it up.

I can work around the problem (sort of) with the following code which
immediately refreshes the form and moves the cursor to the new (empty)
record . . .
Private Sub Form_AfterInsert()
'Due to a weird bug in Access ADP (in which a completely unrelated
record is magically displayed!),
'we need to refresh then reset and then move to the bottom of the
subform:
Me.Refresh
Me.SelTop = Me.RecordsetClone.RecordCount + 1
End Sub
. . . but that is an intellectually unacceptable way to solve the
problem.

I think this now becomes the main problem. I guess I should start
another post, but I'll see how this one flies.

Any ideas?



  #14  
Old October 15th, 2005, 10:24 PM
Pete Nurse
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Access ADO Form Insert Bug

No triggers - I've disabled them all.

  #15  
Old October 16th, 2005, 12:36 AM
Sylvain Lafontaine
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Access ADO Form Insert Bug

Your pieces of code ring an old bell: in your 1-1 relations, instead of
storing the primary ID of the unique table Employee into the foreign table
BenefitType, you are storing the primary ID of the foreign table BenefitType
into the primary table Employee. I remember having many problems with this
kind schemas under Access many years ago.

If I were you, I would try reversing this schema.

--
Sylvain Lafontaine, ing.
MVP - Technologies Virtual-PC
E-mail: http://cerbermail.com/?QugbLEWINF


"Pete Nurse" wrote in message
oups.com...
Thanks Malcolm.

1 How are you passing the company id to the subform's sp?

Generally by setting the recordsource eg "EXEC spEmployee 23554" but I
have also tried setting the InputParameters property. This problem
seems to show up in both instances.

2 What is the param list to the sp?

I work in two different ways. Where I had an SP which I wanted to use
for several different situations, I pass a string like 'empID=2435' or
'coyID=436'. The SP then decodes the prefix and acts accordingly.
Otherwise, I just pass the ID as shown above.

3 What is the complete text of the sp, both the one that gives errors and
the one that does not?

These two seem to work...
SELECT *
FROM dbo.tblBenefitType BT RIGHT OUTER JOIN
dbo.tblEmployee E ON BT.btID = E.emp_btID LEFT OUTER JOIN
dbo.tblCompany E ON E.emp_coyID = C.coyID
WHERE (emp_coyID = @coyID)

SELECT E.*, BT.*
FROM dbo.tblBenefitType BT RIGHT OUTER JOIN
dbo.tblEmployee E ON BT.btID = E.emp_btID
WHERE (emp_coyID = @coyID)

However either of the following creates problems:-
SELECT C.*, BT.*, E.*
FROM dbo.tblBenefitType BT RIGHT OUTER JOIN
dbo.tblEmployee E ON BT.btID = E.emp_btID LEFT OUTER JOIN
dbo.tblCompany E ON E.emp_coyID = C.coyID
WHERE (emp_coyID = @coyID)

SELECT *
FROM dbo.tblBenefitType BT RIGHT OUTER JOIN
dbo.tblEmployee E ON BT.btID = E.emp_btID LEFT OUTER JOIN
dbo.tblCompany E ON E.emp_coyID = C.coyID LEFT OUTER JOIN
dbo.tblCorporation Crp ON E.emp_coyID = Crp.crpID
WHERE (emp_coyID = @coyID)

4 Do you have 'Link Child Fields' and 'Link master Fields' set on the
parent's subform object?

No. I've never found that that works with SPs.

5 Do you have 'Input Parameters' set on the subform.Form object?

I've tried it. See 1.

6 What were the exact values you tried as the 'Resync Command' and what
was the exact behavior that resulted (per Syvain's line)

I tried "spDummy" with no parameter. Code below.

ALTER PROCEDURE spDummy @Prm1 VARCHAR(50)
As
PRINT @Prm1

Thanks again.



  #16  
Old October 16th, 2005, 11:35 AM
Pete Nurse
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Access ADO Form Insert Bug

No, the relationships are all 1-many - I don't use 1-1. 12 years of
experience designing databases makes me pretty sure the structure is
correct.

  #17  
Old October 16th, 2005, 06:28 PM
Sylvain Lafontaine
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Access ADO Form Insert Bug

I didn't say that your structure was incorrect but that I've seen in the
past the multi-step updating feature of Access having trouble with updating
some kind schemas.

Are you sure that when you make an insert in the table tblEmploye, new
records don't get created into one of the other tables such as
tblBenefitType, tblCompany or tblCorporation? Is it possible that the rogue
ID could come from one of these three other tables?

Also, I took a second look at your original post and you say that the table
tblEmploye is the subform and the table tblCompany the main form. However,
in your requests, you are extracting the fields of the associated table
tblCompany with a Left Outer Join. I don't see the usefulness of this as
only one associated company can be displayed at the same time in the main
form. In fact, I don't understand at all the use of a Left Outer Join here
instead of a regular Inner Join.

From your first and third exemple, Access seems to make a difference between
« SELECT C.*, BT.*, E.* » and « SELECT * ». What happens if you write down
explicitely all the fields?

Finally, which version of Access are you using? I hope it's not A2000.

--
Sylvain Lafontaine, ing.
MVP - Technologies Virtual-PC
E-mail: http://cerbermail.com/?QugbLEWINF


"Pete Nurse" wrote in message
ups.com...
No, the relationships are all 1-many - I don't use 1-1. 12 years of
experience designing databases makes me pretty sure the structure is
correct.



  #18  
Old October 16th, 2005, 11:55 PM
Pete Nurse
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Access ADO Form Insert Bug

Thanks for sticking with me, Sylvain. Quick answers to your questions.

I'm using Access 2003. Records aren't being created in other tables.
I used "Left Outer Join" so I would display the employee even if the
employee didn't have a benefit type. I didn't try further varying the
SQL because I'm prepared to mark that solved thanks to you and the the
Resync Command (though why it works I'd love to know).

My bigger (let's face it my biggest) concern now is the rogue ID
problem. I created a brand new ADP file containing only tables,
inserted new records into a couple of tables and (depending on the
table) one of three things happened:-
1/ The record added as you would expect (just like DAO);
2/ I got the message "The data was added to the database but the data
won't be dispalyed in the form because it doesn't satisfy the criteria
for the underlying recordsource"
3/ Our old friend the rogue ID appeared and (this is the cruncher) if,
after the rogue ID appears, you enter data into the record the real
record with that same ID updates!

So no forms, VBA code or SPs and the problem still exists. This
problem is of too much concern to be buried deep in this current
thread. I'd appreciate it if you could follow me to the new thread at
microsoft.public.access.adp.sqlserver where I'll include more info.

  #19  
Old October 17th, 2005, 05:28 AM
Pete Nurse
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Access ADO Form Insert Bug

I have now convinced myself that the rogue ID problem is SQL Server not
Access (I reproduced the behaviour in Enterprise Manager), so I won't
pursue it on the newsgroup. I'll pick it up at
microsoft.public.sqlserver.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One user cannot access custom form????? Jenai Contacts 0 September 27th, 2005 09:35 PM
Why is a French Spellchecker a "required" update for English speak French Spellcheck Required? General Discussion 23 April 26th, 2005 01:17 AM
Adding staff photographs to my database KK New Users 2 September 3rd, 2004 07:41 AM
Automatically insert in an Access Form Peter L Using Forms 3 September 1st, 2004 12:36 PM
Upload Image Jason MacKenzie General Discussion 1 September 1st, 2004 04:38 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.