A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Update Problem



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 23rd, 2005, 09:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Update Problem

Hi all

How do I force a form to save after programatically entering data, without
entering the form.


  #2  
Old November 23rd, 2005, 10:17 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Update Problem

Derek Brown wrote:
Hi all

How do I force a form to save after programatically entering data,
without entering the form.


Forms!NameOfForm.Dirty = False

--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #3  
Old November 24th, 2005, 06:07 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Update Problem

Hi Rick

Thank you

"Rick Brandt" wrote in message
. com...
Derek Brown wrote:
Hi all

How do I force a form to save after programatically entering data,
without entering the form.


Forms!NameOfForm.Dirty = False

--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com



  #4  
Old November 24th, 2005, 06:08 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Update Problem

Derek Brown wrote:
Hi again

Can I use you reply to solve the following

I have an Invoicing form that consists of 1.main form, (customers
details) 2. Subform Invoice details (invoice number delivery address etc. and
3. Sub-subform, Invoice items.(Products prices etc).

The Problem. The form has three tables one for each form linked with
referencial integrety. When a customer calls, the user finds the
customers details. The user usualy tries to skip entering details in
the first subform (2) and tries to enter information straight into
the item subform (3) without entering information into the first
subform (2)causing a gap in the link between the three tables. Is it
possible to automatically enter a value linking the field between (1)
and (2) so that they can go straight to the Item or SuSubform (3)
without causing a referencial integrity error? "Rick Brandt"


What I usually do is hide or disable the inner form until after the user has
made an entry in the outer form.

--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #5  
Old November 24th, 2005, 06:09 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Update Problem

Hi again

Can I use you reply to solve the following

I have an Invoicing form that consists of 1.main form, (customers details)
2. Subform Invoice details (invoice number delivery address etc. and 3.
Sub-subform, Invoice items.(Products prices etc).

The Problem. The form has three tables one for each form linked with
referencial integrety. When a customer calls, the user finds the customers
details. The user usualy tries to skip entering details in the first
subform (2) and tries to enter information straight into the item subform
(3) without entering information into the first subform (2)causing a gap in
the link between the three tables. Is it possible to automatically enter a
value linking the field between (1) and (2) so that they can go straight to
the Item or SuSubform (3) without causing a referencial integrity error?
"Rick Brandt" wrote in message
. com...
Derek Brown wrote:
Hi all

How do I force a form to save after programatically entering data,
without entering the form.


Forms!NameOfForm.Dirty = False

--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com



  #6  
Old November 27th, 2005, 10:43 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Update Problem

Thats great Rick

But how do you overcome the problem of wanting a form to open and show the
inner subform if data exists but not if no data is available.
I have tried:

Me!SubsubForm(3).Visible =Me!SubsubForm(3).HasData Doesn't work.
It's the sintax of where and how to use it in a three layer form.
I have also used the expression builder to no avail, any clues?

"Rick Brandt" wrote in message
. net...
Derek Brown wrote:
Hi again

Can I use you reply to solve the following

I have an Invoicing form that consists of 1.main form, (customers
details) 2. Subform Invoice details (invoice number delivery address etc.
and
3. Sub-subform, Invoice items.(Products prices etc).

The Problem. The form has three tables one for each form linked with
referencial integrety. When a customer calls, the user finds the
customers details. The user usualy tries to skip entering details in
the first subform (2) and tries to enter information straight into
the item subform (3) without entering information into the first
subform (2)causing a gap in the link between the three tables. Is it
possible to automatically enter a value linking the field between (1)
and (2) so that they can go straight to the Item or SuSubform (3)
without causing a referencial integrity error? "Rick Brandt"


What I usually do is hide or disable the inner form until after the user
has made an entry in the outer form.

--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com



  #7  
Old November 27th, 2005, 10:54 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Update Problem

Derek Brown wrote:
Thats great Rick

But how do you overcome the problem of wanting a form to open and
show the inner subform if data exists but not if no data is available.
I have tried:


In the Current event of the outer form...

Me.SubformControlName.Visible = Not Me.NewRecord

In the AfterInsert event...

Me.SubformControl.Visible = True



--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #8  
Old November 27th, 2005, 11:56 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Update Problem

Thanks again

Should the code be writen in the first subform or the main form. I have
guessed it was the outer subform but try as i may i cannot get it to work. I
have Main Form, SubForm and SubsubForm

"Rick Brandt" wrote in message
om...
Derek Brown wrote:
Thats great Rick

But how do you overcome the problem of wanting a form to open and
show the inner subform if data exists but not if no data is available.
I have tried:


In the Current event of the outer form...

Me.SubformControlName.Visible = Not Me.NewRecord

In the AfterInsert event...

Me.SubformControl.Visible = True



--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com



  #9  
Old November 28th, 2005, 12:00 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Update Problem

Derek Brown wrote:
Thanks again

Should the code be writen in the first subform or the main form. I
have guessed it was the outer subform but try as i may i cannot get
it to work. I have Main Form, SubForm and SubsubForm


In the first subform. Post your exact code.

--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #10  
Old November 28th, 2005, 12:47 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Update Problem

Hi Rick

Private Sub Form_Current()
Me.ItemForm.Visible = Not Me.NewRecord
End Sub

Private Sub Form_AfterInsert()
Me.ItemForm.Visible = True
End Sub

"Rick Brandt" wrote in message
om...
Derek Brown wrote:
Thanks again

Should the code be writen in the first subform or the main form. I
have guessed it was the outer subform but try as i may i cannot get
it to work. I have Main Form, SubForm and SubsubForm


In the first subform. Post your exact code.

--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to update these figures? Yorkie118 Running & Setting Up Queries 11 October 22nd, 2005 05:56 PM
update query problem Yorkie118 Running & Setting Up Queries 0 October 20th, 2005 03:03 PM
Why did update cause "requires valid sender domain" problem? E. Thomas Wood General Discussion 0 June 19th, 2005 07:15 PM
KB837009 update problem [email protected] Outlook Express 29 May 21st, 2005 05:45 PM
Update problem Jens Burup Running & Setting Up Queries 4 October 7th, 2004 10:05 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.