A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

ShowAllRecords not working



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 29th, 2007, 05:30 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Sheridan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9
Default ShowAllRecords not working

I link the 1st form with 2nd form using Master/Child without open a new form
window, I put all the forms in Tab Control, that works fine. I also have a
button in the 2nd form that intends to show all records in the 2nd form,
DoCmd.ShowAllRecords. However it seems not functioning, the 2nd form still
shows one record linked from the 1st form. Any advise?
If my approach is wrong, do you have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance
Sheridan


  #2  
Old March 29th, 2007, 09:56 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Mr B
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 210
Default ShowAllRecords not working

With your subform linked to the master form via the Master/Child properties,
you will always only see records in the sub form that are linked to the
record in the master form. That is the purpose of the Master/child
relationship of the two forms.

--
HTH

Mr B
email if needed to:
draccess at askdoctoraccess dot com


"Sheridan" wrote:

I link the 1st form with 2nd form using Master/Child without open a new form
window, I put all the forms in Tab Control, that works fine. I also have a
button in the 2nd form that intends to show all records in the 2nd form,
DoCmd.ShowAllRecords. However it seems not functioning, the 2nd form still
shows one record linked from the 1st form. Any advise?
If my approach is wrong, do you have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance
Sheridan


  #3  
Old March 30th, 2007, 12:14 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
SusanV
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 399
Default ShowAllRecords not working

You can set the subform to show all records without the "filtering"
relationship between master and child forms via code similar to the
following:

Me.Parent.subformName.LinkChildFields = ""
Me.Parent.subformName.LinkMasterFields = ""

Or change it to another field like so:

Me.Parent.subformName.LinkChildFields = "FieldName"
Me.Parent.subformName.LinkMasterFields = "FieldName"

I use this fairly frequently in the After Update event of an Option group,
in a Select Case statement.

--
hth,
SusanV


"Mr B" wrote in message
...
With your subform linked to the master form via the Master/Child
properties,
you will always only see records in the sub form that are linked to the
record in the master form. That is the purpose of the Master/child
relationship of the two forms.

--
HTH

Mr B
email if needed to:
draccess at askdoctoraccess dot com


"Sheridan" wrote:

I link the 1st form with 2nd form using Master/Child without open a new
form
window, I put all the forms in Tab Control, that works fine. I also have
a
button in the 2nd form that intends to show all records in the 2nd form,
DoCmd.ShowAllRecords. However it seems not functioning, the 2nd form
still
shows one record linked from the 1st form. Any advise?
If my approach is wrong, do you have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance
Sheridan




  #4  
Old March 30th, 2007, 03:42 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Sheridan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 9
Default ShowAllRecords not working

It works the way I want it!!! I owe a HUGE Thanks.
Sheridan

"SusanV" wrote:

You can set the subform to show all records without the "filtering"
relationship between master and child forms via code similar to the
following:

Me.Parent.subformName.LinkChildFields = ""
Me.Parent.subformName.LinkMasterFields = ""

Or change it to another field like so:

Me.Parent.subformName.LinkChildFields = "FieldName"
Me.Parent.subformName.LinkMasterFields = "FieldName"

I use this fairly frequently in the After Update event of an Option group,
in a Select Case statement.

--
hth,
SusanV


"Mr B" wrote in message
...
With your subform linked to the master form via the Master/Child
properties,
you will always only see records in the sub form that are linked to the
record in the master form. That is the purpose of the Master/child
relationship of the two forms.

--
HTH

Mr B
email if needed to:
draccess at askdoctoraccess dot com


"Sheridan" wrote:

I link the 1st form with 2nd form using Master/Child without open a new
form
window, I put all the forms in Tab Control, that works fine. I also have
a
button in the 2nd form that intends to show all records in the 2nd form,
DoCmd.ShowAllRecords. However it seems not functioning, the 2nd form
still
shows one record linked from the 1st form. Any advise?
If my approach is wrong, do you have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance
Sheridan





  #5  
Old March 30th, 2007, 04:31 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
SusanV
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 399
Default ShowAllRecords not working

Glad to help - always nice to know I could save someone the headbanging I
had to do the first time

;-D

"Sheridan" wrote in message
...
It works the way I want it!!! I owe a HUGE Thanks.
Sheridan

"SusanV" wrote:

You can set the subform to show all records without the "filtering"
relationship between master and child forms via code similar to the
following:

Me.Parent.subformName.LinkChildFields = ""
Me.Parent.subformName.LinkMasterFields = ""

Or change it to another field like so:

Me.Parent.subformName.LinkChildFields = "FieldName"
Me.Parent.subformName.LinkMasterFields = "FieldName"

I use this fairly frequently in the After Update event of an Option
group,
in a Select Case statement.

--
hth,
SusanV


"Mr B" wrote in message
...
With your subform linked to the master form via the Master/Child
properties,
you will always only see records in the sub form that are linked to the
record in the master form. That is the purpose of the Master/child
relationship of the two forms.

--
HTH

Mr B
email if needed to:
draccess at askdoctoraccess dot com


"Sheridan" wrote:

I link the 1st form with 2nd form using Master/Child without open a
new
form
window, I put all the forms in Tab Control, that works fine. I also
have
a
button in the 2nd form that intends to show all records in the 2nd
form,
DoCmd.ShowAllRecords. However it seems not functioning, the 2nd form
still
shows one record linked from the 1st form. Any advise?
If my approach is wrong, do you have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance
Sheridan







 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.