A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

list box selections



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 14th, 2005, 09:05 PM
kalyhan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default list box selections

Hello Access Users.

I've been setting up list boxes for a while now (enough knowledge to
be dangerous I guess).

Why does my list box selection (once it is already selected on the form),
print out with a black background? I ensured the properties on the form
for all list box fields print without a background color, using standard text.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for your help!!

kalyhan
(Please respond to this post)
  #2  
Old March 14th, 2005, 09:10 PM
Rick B
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Why are you printing a FORM? Reports are designed for printing (and
normally would not have any list boxes on them since they are not really
printed types of controls.

Build a report and use appropriate controls. Print that, not the form.


Rick B



"kalyhan" wrote in message
...
Hello Access Users.

I've been setting up list boxes for a while now (enough knowledge to
be dangerous I guess).

Why does my list box selection (once it is already selected on the form),
print out with a black background? I ensured the properties on the form
for all list box fields print without a background color, using standard

text.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for your help!!

kalyhan
(Please respond to this post)



  #3  
Old March 14th, 2005, 09:57 PM
kalyhan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for the reply. Most databases I set up for my employer allows
users to enter data in a form and click on a "print form" key - embedded
in the form itself. This saves the users, many of which are unfamiliar
with Access features, from having to go into the print menu. In any event,
it keeps users from printing the entire database contents.

This particular database, users enter inspection data directly into a form.
If everything inspects good, then the user simply moves on to a new record
for the
next inspection job they do. If parts are bad however, the user clicks on
the embedded "print form" key, and a rejection report prints out, which gets
attached to the parts.

I find embedding everything on the form itself, keeps users in one screen -
all day - there is no jumping from entry screen or database to reports -
just to print one page - they create a great deal of records in a day.

kalyhan

"Rick B" wrote:

Why are you printing a FORM? Reports are designed for printing (and
normally would not have any list boxes on them since they are not really
printed types of controls.

Build a report and use appropriate controls. Print that, not the form.


Rick B



"kalyhan" wrote in message
...
Hello Access Users.

I've been setting up list boxes for a while now (enough knowledge to
be dangerous I guess).

Why does my list box selection (once it is already selected on the form),
print out with a black background? I ensured the properties on the form
for all list box fields print without a background color, using standard

text.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for your help!!

kalyhan
(Please respond to this post)




  #4  
Old March 14th, 2005, 10:05 PM
Rick B
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Why not code a button to print the report mentioned? Use a link on your
form (some key number) to have the report only print the curretn record.

I just posted an example earlier today...


Private Sub Print_Button_Click()

If (IsNull([UserID])) Then

' Verify the key field (UserID) has a selection

Exit Sub

End If

DoCmd.OpenReport "SomeReportName", acViewNormal, "","[UserID] =
Forms![frmSomeFormName]![UserID]"

End Sub



This could not be simpler for the user. You would need to save the record
before printing. You could do this in the code, or require the user to save
the record. To do so in the code, I think you would insert a line in the
code just before yur DoCmd.OpenReport... line. To save, I think you put the
following...

Me.dirty=false.



Hope that helps,

Rick B





"kalyhan" wrote in message
...
Thanks for the reply. Most databases I set up for my employer allows
users to enter data in a form and click on a "print form" key - embedded
in the form itself. This saves the users, many of which are unfamiliar
with Access features, from having to go into the print menu. In any

event,
it keeps users from printing the entire database contents.

This particular database, users enter inspection data directly into a

form.
If everything inspects good, then the user simply moves on to a new record
for the
next inspection job they do. If parts are bad however, the user clicks on
the embedded "print form" key, and a rejection report prints out, which

gets
attached to the parts.

I find embedding everything on the form itself, keeps users in one

screen -
all day - there is no jumping from entry screen or database to reports -
just to print one page - they create a great deal of records in a day.

kalyhan

"Rick B" wrote:

Why are you printing a FORM? Reports are designed for printing (and
normally would not have any list boxes on them since they are not really
printed types of controls.

Build a report and use appropriate controls. Print that, not the form.


Rick B



"kalyhan" wrote in message
...
Hello Access Users.

I've been setting up list boxes for a while now (enough knowledge to
be dangerous I guess).

Why does my list box selection (once it is already selected on the

form),
print out with a black background? I ensured the properties on the

form
for all list box fields print without a background color, using

standard
text.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for your help!!

kalyhan
(Please respond to this post)






  #5  
Old March 14th, 2005, 10:43 PM
kalyhan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks Rick. I might give that a try. I meant to ask you if that was
possible.

I've done these list boxes several times though - the background of the
selection has never been in black. I must have done something wrong.
Having users enter data into a form and print without leaving that form is
critical
when making their jobs easier and reduces the chances of human error -
a little anyway.

Thanks again, I will try the code tomorrow.

kalyhan

"Rick B" wrote:

Why not code a button to print the report mentioned? Use a link on your
form (some key number) to have the report only print the curretn record.

I just posted an example earlier today...


Private Sub Print_Button_Click()

If (IsNull([UserID])) Then

' Verify the key field (UserID) has a selection

Exit Sub

End If

DoCmd.OpenReport "SomeReportName", acViewNormal, "","[UserID] =
Forms![frmSomeFormName]![UserID]"

End Sub



This could not be simpler for the user. You would need to save the record
before printing. You could do this in the code, or require the user to save
the record. To do so in the code, I think you would insert a line in the
code just before yur DoCmd.OpenReport... line. To save, I think you put the
following...

Me.dirty=false.



Hope that helps,

Rick B





"kalyhan" wrote in message
...
Thanks for the reply. Most databases I set up for my employer allows
users to enter data in a form and click on a "print form" key - embedded
in the form itself. This saves the users, many of which are unfamiliar
with Access features, from having to go into the print menu. In any

event,
it keeps users from printing the entire database contents.

This particular database, users enter inspection data directly into a

form.
If everything inspects good, then the user simply moves on to a new record
for the
next inspection job they do. If parts are bad however, the user clicks on
the embedded "print form" key, and a rejection report prints out, which

gets
attached to the parts.

I find embedding everything on the form itself, keeps users in one

screen -
all day - there is no jumping from entry screen or database to reports -
just to print one page - they create a great deal of records in a day.

kalyhan

"Rick B" wrote:

Why are you printing a FORM? Reports are designed for printing (and
normally would not have any list boxes on them since they are not really
printed types of controls.

Build a report and use appropriate controls. Print that, not the form.


Rick B



"kalyhan" wrote in message
...
Hello Access Users.

I've been setting up list boxes for a while now (enough knowledge to
be dangerous I guess).

Why does my list box selection (once it is already selected on the

form),
print out with a black background? I ensured the properties on the

form
for all list box fields print without a background color, using

standard
text.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for your help!!

kalyhan
(Please respond to this post)






  #6  
Old March 15th, 2005, 07:17 PM
kalyhan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Rick,
I was trying to code as you suggested, but I was doing something wrong.
While coding a new print button, to print a report, I realized that my
list boxes, should be combo boxes - problem fixed. This might
be an easier solution for my users anyway - they don't need to save
anything, they remain in one screen and it's less coding to worry about.

Thanks for your input!

"kalyhan" wrote:

Thanks Rick. I might give that a try. I meant to ask you if that was
possible.

I've done these list boxes several times though - the background of the
selection has never been in black. I must have done something wrong.
Having users enter data into a form and print without leaving that form is
critical
when making their jobs easier and reduces the chances of human error -
a little anyway.

Thanks again, I will try the code tomorrow.

kalyhan

"Rick B" wrote:

Why not code a button to print the report mentioned? Use a link on your
form (some key number) to have the report only print the curretn record.

I just posted an example earlier today...


Private Sub Print_Button_Click()

If (IsNull([UserID])) Then

' Verify the key field (UserID) has a selection

Exit Sub

End If

DoCmd.OpenReport "SomeReportName", acViewNormal, "","[UserID] =
Forms![frmSomeFormName]![UserID]"

End Sub



This could not be simpler for the user. You would need to save the record
before printing. You could do this in the code, or require the user to save
the record. To do so in the code, I think you would insert a line in the
code just before yur DoCmd.OpenReport... line. To save, I think you put the
following...

Me.dirty=false.



Hope that helps,

Rick B





"kalyhan" wrote in message
...
Thanks for the reply. Most databases I set up for my employer allows
users to enter data in a form and click on a "print form" key - embedded
in the form itself. This saves the users, many of which are unfamiliar
with Access features, from having to go into the print menu. In any

event,
it keeps users from printing the entire database contents.

This particular database, users enter inspection data directly into a

form.
If everything inspects good, then the user simply moves on to a new record
for the
next inspection job they do. If parts are bad however, the user clicks on
the embedded "print form" key, and a rejection report prints out, which

gets
attached to the parts.

I find embedding everything on the form itself, keeps users in one

screen -
all day - there is no jumping from entry screen or database to reports -
just to print one page - they create a great deal of records in a day.

kalyhan

"Rick B" wrote:

Why are you printing a FORM? Reports are designed for printing (and
normally would not have any list boxes on them since they are not really
printed types of controls.

Build a report and use appropriate controls. Print that, not the form.


Rick B



"kalyhan" wrote in message
...
Hello Access Users.

I've been setting up list boxes for a while now (enough knowledge to
be dangerous I guess).

Why does my list box selection (once it is already selected on the

form),
print out with a black background? I ensured the properties on the

form
for all list box fields print without a background color, using

standard
text.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for your help!!

kalyhan
(Please respond to this post)






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refresh a Validation List? jhollin1138 General Discussion 3 February 17th, 2005 06:48 PM
E-mail Display name is wrong Jane Nangle Contacts 9 February 4th, 2005 11:05 AM
Clear the "Recent Files" list in the hyperlink window Mike Powerpoint 15 July 22nd, 2004 02:51 AM
Multiple List function George Worksheet Functions 8 February 15th, 2004 11:13 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.