A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Excel » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Copy buttons by rows



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old August 28th, 2005, 09:12 PM
Optitron
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


I am lost now. I think it would be easier if I sent someone the workbook
and they fix it for me. I won't read this again until tomorrow.

bigwheel Wrote:
I have a button at the end of a row that takes 4 seperate cells
from that row and puts them in 4 seperate cells on another sheet


What is in the macro code?



--
Optitron
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Optitron's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26729
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=399813

  #12  
Old August 29th, 2005, 12:30 AM
Dave Peterson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Post your code and what you want to happen.

Optitron wrote:

I copied everything and changed "sheet2" to what it was and the B, X, C,
and A back to what they were and I get an error. When I leave B, X, C,
and A the same I get a print preview of the form but it doesn't have
the info.

Dave Peterson Wrote:
Do you take the data from each row, populate the other worksheet, then
print,
then get the next row and repeat?

If yes, then maybe selecting all the rows you want to use makes more
sense??

And I made some assumptions--sheet names, cell addresses and the like:

Option Explicit
Sub testme()
Dim prtWks As Worksheet
Dim actWks As Worksheet
Dim myRng As Range
Dim myCell As Range
Dim iRow As Long

Set actWks = ActiveSheet
Set prtWks = Worksheets("Sheet2")

Set myRng = Intersect(Selection.EntireRow, actWks.Range("a:a"))

With prtWks
For Each myCell In myRng.Cells
iRow = myCell.Row
.Range("a1").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "b").Value
.Range("c99").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "x").Value
.Range("b3").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "C").Value
.Range("d4").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "A").Value
Application.Calculate
.PrintOut preview:=True
Next myCell
End With
End Sub

I put the info in column B into A1
X into C99
C into B3
A into D4

I also called the sheet to be printed Sheet2.

Change those things and test it out.

When/if you're happy, get rid of the preview:=true portion. (That's
just to
save some trees!)

Optitron wrote:

OK, I froze the button. Now how do I modify the macro? I'm trying to
program this sheet so that anyone can use it, even a Marine.

--
Optitron

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Optitron's Profile:

http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26729
View this thread:

http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=399813

--

Dave Peterson


--
Optitron
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Optitron's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26729
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=399813


--

Dave Peterson
  #13  
Old August 29th, 2005, 11:58 AM
Optitron
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


HERE IS THE CODE I STARTED WITH:

Sub BUTTON1()
'
' BUTTON1 Macro
' Macro recorded 08/29/2005 by harrisonsl
'

'
Sheets("TURN-IN DOC").Select
Range("B6").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C14"
Range("D10").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C1"
Range("B12:E13").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C26"
Range("B17").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C51"
Range("B18").Select
End Sub

HERE'S WHAT I WANT TO HAPPEN. HOPEFULLY THIS ISN'T TOO CONFUSING. I
WROTE THIS SO YOU CAN REPLICATE THIS IN YOUR OWN EXCEL.:

BUTTON1 = MOVE ROW *9* SHEET2 (BTR) CELLS TO SHEET1 (TURN-IN DOC)
CELLS

SHEET2 CELLS
CELL: A*9*|N*9*|Z*9*|AY*9*
VALUE: 05W297|310|Flashlight,Mag,2Cell,withBaton|6230-01-432-6430

SHEET1 CELLS
CELL: D10|B6|B12|B17
CELL NAME: REPORT #|WORKCENTER|NOMENCLATURE|NSN

SHEET2 A*9* TO SHEET1 D10
SHEET2 N*9* TO SHEET1 B6
SHEET2 Z*9* TO SHEET1 B12
SHEET2 AY*9* TO SHEET1 B17

BUTTON2 = MOVE ROW *10* SHEET2 (BTR) CELLS TO SHEET 1 (TURN-IN DOC)
CELLS

SHEET2 CELLS
CELL: A*10*|N*10*|Z*10*|AY*10*
VALUE: 05W297|310|Flashlight,Mag,2Cell,withBaton|6230-01-432-6430

SHEET1 CELLS
CELL: D10|B6|B12|B17
CELL NAME: REPORT #|WORKCENTER|NOMENCLATURE|NSN

SHEET2 A*10* TO SHEET1 D10
SHEET2 N*10* TO SHEET1 B6
SHEET2 Z*10* TO SHEET1 B12
SHEET2 AY*10* TO SHEET1 B17

I need this for every row without recording each macro over and over
again.

Dave Peterson Wrote:
Post your code and what you want to happen.



--
Optitron
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Optitron's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26729
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=399813

  #14  
Old August 29th, 2005, 02:03 PM
Dave Peterson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It looks like you:

BTR -- turn-in doc
-------- -----------
column A -- D10
N -- B6
Z -- B12
AY -- B17

Do you do something with those values after you copy them to "turn-in doc"? I
did a print preview in this code:

Option Explicit
Sub testme()
Dim prtWks As Worksheet
Dim actWks As Worksheet
Dim myRng As Range
Dim myCell As Range
Dim iRow As Long

Set actWks = ActiveSheet 'BTR is the one with the buttons
Set prtWks = Worksheets("TURN-IN DOC")

Set myRng = Intersect(Selection.EntireRow, actWks.Range("a:a"))

With prtWks
For Each myCell In myRng.Cells
iRow = myCell.Row
.Range("d10").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "a").Value
.Range("b6").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "n").Value
.Range("b12").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "z").Value
.Range("b17").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "ay").Value
Application.Calculate
.PrintOut preview:=True
Next myCell
End With
End Sub

If you just copy the values over, then do some manual effort, you'll only want
to get the row with the activecell.

If that's the case, you can change this line:
Set myRng = Intersect(Selection.EntireRow, actWks.Range("a:a"))
to:
Set myRng = ActiveCell

And delete that .printout line.

Optitron wrote:

HERE IS THE CODE I STARTED WITH:

Sub BUTTON1()
'
' BUTTON1 Macro
' Macro recorded 08/29/2005 by harrisonsl
'

'
Sheets("TURN-IN DOC").Select
Range("B6").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C14"
Range("D10").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C1"
Range("B12:E13").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C26"
Range("B17").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C51"
Range("B18").Select
End Sub

HERE'S WHAT I WANT TO HAPPEN. HOPEFULLY THIS ISN'T TOO CONFUSING. I
WROTE THIS SO YOU CAN REPLICATE THIS IN YOUR OWN EXCEL.:

BUTTON1 = MOVE ROW *9* SHEET2 (BTR) CELLS TO SHEET1 (TURN-IN DOC)
CELLS

SHEET2 CELLS
CELL: A*9*|N*9*|Z*9*|AY*9*
VALUE: 05W297|310|Flashlight,Mag,2Cell,withBaton|6230-01-432-6430

SHEET1 CELLS
CELL: D10|B6|B12|B17
CELL NAME: REPORT #|WORKCENTER|NOMENCLATURE|NSN

SHEET2 A*9* TO SHEET1 D10
SHEET2 N*9* TO SHEET1 B6
SHEET2 Z*9* TO SHEET1 B12
SHEET2 AY*9* TO SHEET1 B17

BUTTON2 = MOVE ROW *10* SHEET2 (BTR) CELLS TO SHEET 1 (TURN-IN DOC)
CELLS

SHEET2 CELLS
CELL: A*10*|N*10*|Z*10*|AY*10*
VALUE: 05W297|310|Flashlight,Mag,2Cell,withBaton|6230-01-432-6430

SHEET1 CELLS
CELL: D10|B6|B12|B17
CELL NAME: REPORT #|WORKCENTER|NOMENCLATURE|NSN

SHEET2 A*10* TO SHEET1 D10
SHEET2 N*10* TO SHEET1 B6
SHEET2 Z*10* TO SHEET1 B12
SHEET2 AY*10* TO SHEET1 B17

I need this for every row without recording each macro over and over
again.

Dave Peterson Wrote:
Post your code and what you want to happen.


--
Optitron
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Optitron's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26729
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=399813


--

Dave Peterson
  #15  
Old August 29th, 2005, 03:01 PM
Optitron
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


It works. I'll just have to select the row and click the button. Can you
get it to just stay on the "Turn-in Doc" sheet without the print preview
each time I hit the button?

Dave Peterson Wrote:
It looks like you:

BTR -- turn-in doc
-------- -----------
column A -- D10
N -- B6
Z -- B12
AY -- B17

Do you do something with those values after you copy them to "turn-in
doc"? I
did a print preview in this code:

Option Explicit
Sub testme()
Dim prtWks As Worksheet
Dim actWks As Worksheet
Dim myRng As Range
Dim myCell As Range
Dim iRow As Long

Set actWks = ActiveSheet 'BTR is the one with the buttons
Set prtWks = Worksheets("TURN-IN DOC")

Set myRng = Intersect(Selection.EntireRow, actWks.Range("a:a"))

With prtWks
For Each myCell In myRng.Cells
iRow = myCell.Row
.Range("d10").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "a").Value
.Range("b6").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "n").Value
.Range("b12").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "z").Value
.Range("b17").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "ay").Value
Application.Calculate
.PrintOut preview:=True
Next myCell
End With
End Sub

If you just copy the values over, then do some manual effort, you'll
only want
to get the row with the activecell.

If that's the case, you can change this line:
Set myRng = Intersect(Selection.EntireRow, actWks.Range("a:a"))
to:
Set myRng = ActiveCell

And delete that .printout line.

Optitron wrote:

HERE IS THE CODE I STARTED WITH:

Sub BUTTON1()
'
' BUTTON1 Macro
' Macro recorded 08/29/2005 by harrisonsl
'

'
Sheets("TURN-IN DOC").Select
Range("B6").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C14"
Range("D10").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C1"
Range("B12:E13").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C26"
Range("B17").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C51"
Range("B18").Select
End Sub

HERE'S WHAT I WANT TO HAPPEN. HOPEFULLY THIS ISN'T TOO CONFUSING. I
WROTE THIS SO YOU CAN REPLICATE THIS IN YOUR OWN EXCEL.:

BUTTON1 = MOVE ROW *9* SHEET2 (BTR) CELLS TO SHEET1 (TURN-IN DOC)
CELLS

SHEET2 CELLS
CELL: A*9*|N*9*|Z*9*|AY*9*
VALUE: 05W297|310|Flashlight,Mag,2Cell,withBaton|6230-01-432-6430

SHEET1 CELLS
CELL: D10|B6|B12|B17
CELL NAME: REPORT #|WORKCENTER|NOMENCLATURE|NSN

SHEET2 A*9* TO SHEET1 D10
SHEET2 N*9* TO SHEET1 B6
SHEET2 Z*9* TO SHEET1 B12
SHEET2 AY*9* TO SHEET1 B17

BUTTON2 = MOVE ROW *10* SHEET2 (BTR) CELLS TO SHEET 1 (TURN-IN DOC)
CELLS

SHEET2 CELLS
CELL: A*10*|N*10*|Z*10*|AY*10*
VALUE: 05W297|310|Flashlight,Mag,2Cell,withBaton|6230-01-432-6430

SHEET1 CELLS
CELL: D10|B6|B12|B17
CELL NAME: REPORT #|WORKCENTER|NOMENCLATURE|NSN

SHEET2 A*10* TO SHEET1 D10
SHEET2 N*10* TO SHEET1 B6
SHEET2 Z*10* TO SHEET1 B12
SHEET2 AY*10* TO SHEET1 B17

I need this for every row without recording each macro over and over
again.

Dave Peterson Wrote:
Post your code and what you want to happen.


--
Optitron

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Optitron's Profile:

http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26729
View this thread:

http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=399813

--

Dave Peterson



--
Optitron
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Optitron's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26729
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=399813

  #16  
Old August 29th, 2005, 07:38 PM
Dave Peterson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Instead of this:
..PrintOut preview:=True
use:
..select

Or even

application.goto .range("a1"),scroll:=true

If you want to go to a specific cell.

Optitron wrote:

It works. I'll just have to select the row and click the button. Can you
get it to just stay on the "Turn-in Doc" sheet without the print preview
each time I hit the button?

Dave Peterson Wrote:
It looks like you:

BTR -- turn-in doc
-------- -----------
column A -- D10
N -- B6
Z -- B12
AY -- B17

Do you do something with those values after you copy them to "turn-in
doc"? I
did a print preview in this code:

Option Explicit
Sub testme()
Dim prtWks As Worksheet
Dim actWks As Worksheet
Dim myRng As Range
Dim myCell As Range
Dim iRow As Long

Set actWks = ActiveSheet 'BTR is the one with the buttons
Set prtWks = Worksheets("TURN-IN DOC")

Set myRng = Intersect(Selection.EntireRow, actWks.Range("a:a"))

With prtWks
For Each myCell In myRng.Cells
iRow = myCell.Row
.Range("d10").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "a").Value
.Range("b6").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "n").Value
.Range("b12").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "z").Value
.Range("b17").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "ay").Value
Application.Calculate
.PrintOut preview:=True
Next myCell
End With
End Sub

If you just copy the values over, then do some manual effort, you'll
only want
to get the row with the activecell.

If that's the case, you can change this line:
Set myRng = Intersect(Selection.EntireRow, actWks.Range("a:a"))
to:
Set myRng = ActiveCell

And delete that .printout line.

Optitron wrote:

HERE IS THE CODE I STARTED WITH:

Sub BUTTON1()
'
' BUTTON1 Macro
' Macro recorded 08/29/2005 by harrisonsl
'

'
Sheets("TURN-IN DOC").Select
Range("B6").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C14"
Range("D10").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C1"
Range("B12:E13").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C26"
Range("B17").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "=BTR!R9C51"
Range("B18").Select
End Sub

HERE'S WHAT I WANT TO HAPPEN. HOPEFULLY THIS ISN'T TOO CONFUSING. I
WROTE THIS SO YOU CAN REPLICATE THIS IN YOUR OWN EXCEL.:

BUTTON1 = MOVE ROW *9* SHEET2 (BTR) CELLS TO SHEET1 (TURN-IN DOC)
CELLS

SHEET2 CELLS
CELL: A*9*|N*9*|Z*9*|AY*9*
VALUE: 05W297|310|Flashlight,Mag,2Cell,withBaton|6230-01-432-6430

SHEET1 CELLS
CELL: D10|B6|B12|B17
CELL NAME: REPORT #|WORKCENTER|NOMENCLATURE|NSN

SHEET2 A*9* TO SHEET1 D10
SHEET2 N*9* TO SHEET1 B6
SHEET2 Z*9* TO SHEET1 B12
SHEET2 AY*9* TO SHEET1 B17

BUTTON2 = MOVE ROW *10* SHEET2 (BTR) CELLS TO SHEET 1 (TURN-IN DOC)
CELLS

SHEET2 CELLS
CELL: A*10*|N*10*|Z*10*|AY*10*
VALUE: 05W297|310|Flashlight,Mag,2Cell,withBaton|6230-01-432-6430

SHEET1 CELLS
CELL: D10|B6|B12|B17
CELL NAME: REPORT #|WORKCENTER|NOMENCLATURE|NSN

SHEET2 A*10* TO SHEET1 D10
SHEET2 N*10* TO SHEET1 B6
SHEET2 Z*10* TO SHEET1 B12
SHEET2 AY*10* TO SHEET1 B17

I need this for every row without recording each macro over and over
again.

Dave Peterson Wrote:
Post your code and what you want to happen.

--
Optitron

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Optitron's Profile:

http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26729
View this thread:

http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=399813

--

Dave Peterson


--
Optitron
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Optitron's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26729
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=399813


--

Dave Peterson
  #17  
Old August 29th, 2005, 08:34 PM
Optitron
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Alright, it's good enough for government work. Thanks alot.


--
Optitron
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Optitron's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26729
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=399813

  #18  
Old August 30th, 2005, 10:47 AM
Optitron
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Now I need something else along the same lines. I need a button to move
2 cells in multiple selected rows to another sheet.

sheet2 -- sheet 1

row(rows selected) column a -- rows (# of rows selected) column a
row(rows selected) column z12 -- rows (# of rows selected) column b


--
Optitron
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Optitron's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26729
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=399813

  #19  
Old August 30th, 2005, 02:34 PM
Dave Peterson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Maybe something like:

Option Explicit
Sub testme2()
Dim toWks As Worksheet
Dim actWks As Worksheet
Dim myRng As Range
Dim myCell As Range
Dim iRow As Long
Dim DestCell As Range

Set actWks = ActiveSheet
Set toWks = Worksheets("Sheet1")

Set myRng = Intersect(Selection.EntireRow, actWks.Range("a:a"))

With toWks
Set DestCell = .Cells(.Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Offset(1, 0)
End With

With toWks
For Each myCell In myRng.Cells
iRow = myCell.Row
DestCell.Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "a").Value
DestCell.Offset(0, 1).Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "z").Value
Next myCell
End With
End Sub

I'm guessing that z12 meant column Z.

Optitron wrote:

Now I need something else along the same lines. I need a button to move
2 cells in multiple selected rows to another sheet.

sheet2 -- sheet 1

row(rows selected) column a -- rows (# of rows selected) column a
row(rows selected) column z12 -- rows (# of rows selected) column b

--
Optitron
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Optitron's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26729
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=399813


--

Dave Peterson
  #20  
Old August 30th, 2005, 03:59 PM
Optitron
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


I copied what you wrote and renamed sheet2 to DRMO SHEET but nothing
happened. I took what you already showed me yesterday and I can get one
row to the sheet with this:

Option Explicit
Sub DRMO()
Dim prtWks As Worksheet
Dim actWks As Worksheet
Dim myRng As Range
Dim myCell As Range
Dim iRow As Long

Set actWks = ActiveSheet
Set prtWks = Worksheets("DRMO SHEET")

Set myRng = Intersect(Selection.EntireRow, actWks.Range("a:a"))

With prtWks
For Each myCell In myRng.Cells
iRow = myCell.Row
.Range("a6").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "a").Value
.Range("e6").Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "z").Value
Application.Calculate
Application.Goto .Range("a1"), scroll:=True
Next myCell
End With
End Sub


Dave Peterson Wrote:
Maybe something like:

Option Explicit
Sub testme2()
Dim toWks As Worksheet
Dim actWks As Worksheet
Dim myRng As Range
Dim myCell As Range
Dim iRow As Long
Dim DestCell As Range

Set actWks = ActiveSheet
Set toWks = Worksheets("Sheet1")

Set myRng = Intersect(Selection.EntireRow, actWks.Range("a:a"))

With toWks
Set DestCell = .Cells(.Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Offset(1, 0)
End With

With toWks
For Each myCell In myRng.Cells
iRow = myCell.Row
DestCell.Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "a").Value
DestCell.Offset(0, 1).Value = actWks.Cells(iRow, "z").Value
Next myCell
End With
End Sub

I'm guessing that z12 meant column Z.



--
Optitron
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Optitron's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26729
View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=399813

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reminder notifications in a column L Mieth General Discussion 6 June 10th, 2005 11:00 AM
Select alternate rows to copy Christina General Discussion 4 January 27th, 2005 01:05 AM
I dont want to copy hidden rows sh0t2bts Worksheet Functions 2 June 23rd, 2004 12:29 AM
macro to insert rows and copy and paste STEVE Worksheet Functions 1 June 4th, 2004 06:26 PM
Copy and Paste hidden rows DuncVern Worksheet Functions 1 April 1st, 2004 05:16 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.