A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Realtime clock on a form



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old June 28th, 2007, 06:38 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
missinglinq via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 545
Default Realtime clock on a form

As I said, I've never run into this before, but I post on a number of other
Access forums and will see if I can find out what it's about and if there's a
workaround. I should also add that anytime you post a new question, you need
to be sure and specify that you're using Access 2007! The reason is that
ACC2007 is such a departure from all previous versions that many things that
pertain to it don't pertain to previous versions and vice versa!

Linq

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000

Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com

  #12  
Old June 30th, 2007, 06:20 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
missinglinq via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 545
Default Realtime clock on a form

Hey, Chief!

I've gotten responses from a number of experts about the "Calculating..."
message and no one can explain why the clock code would bring this about. It
does display if complicated calculations are being done, but there are *no*
calculations in the code I provided. You said that the message "alternates
with the field type that is currently selected." What *field type* ? What is
the exact text that appears?

Have a great weekend!

Linq

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200706/1

  #13  
Old July 1st, 2007, 02:45 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
firecop1[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 28
Default Realtime clock on a form

Well aside from this the code works very well.. I tweaked the timing
settings and it is much smoother now.

Thanks Linq

"missinglinq via AccessMonster.com" u28780@uwe wrote in message
news:746254839ce40@uwe...
As I said, I've never run into this before, but I post on a number of
other
Access forums and will see if I can find out what it's about and if
there's a
workaround. I should also add that anytime you post a new question, you
need
to be sure and specify that you're using Access 2007! The reason is that
ACC2007 is such a departure from all previous versions that many things
that
pertain to it don't pertain to previous versions and vice versa!

Linq

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000

Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com


  #14  
Old July 1st, 2007, 06:36 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
missinglinq via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 545
Default Realtime clock on a form

HEy, Chief!

I finally heard from an old hand on another site and he suggested trying to
eliminate the problem by writing the time and date to labels instead of text
boxes. If you want to give it a go:

Backup your db file! You really should do this after closing the db anytime
you spend more than 15-20 minutes making changes, and *at least* once a day
if you've used the db!

In Design View

Select txtOmega
Goto Format - Change To
Select Label

Repeat these steps for txtDayRunner

Then, in code, copy and paste this code over your old code for these two subs
(or insert the code in Form_Open if you have stuff in there not pertaining to
the clock hack) :

Private Sub Form_Open(Cancel As Integer)
'Displays while waiting for timer to crank up
Me.txtOmega.Caption = Format(Time, "HH:MM:SS")
Me.txtDayRunner.Caption = Date 'Display date
End Sub
Private Sub Form_Timer()
Me.txtOmega.Caption = Format(Time, "HH:MM:SS") 'Display time
Me.txtDayRunner.Caption = Date 'Display date
End Sub

Now, by default the background color of labels is the same as the color of
the form section they appear on, so you'll probably want to change this to
make it stand out. Right click on the label then use

Fill/Back Color
Font/Fore Color
Special Effect

to change the appearance to something easier on the eye.

Linq

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200707/1

  #15  
Old July 2nd, 2007, 12:00 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
jahoobob via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 228
Default Realtime clock on a form

I've got to ask why? Windows has a clock at the bottom right of the screen
with the exact same time that you will have in your form (as a matter of fact,
I believe the Windows clock is the source of the Access Time.)
I can look right now and tell you my local time is 7:00 PM.
I realize there is a lot of sarcasm in this message but I think sometimes
database designers (Access in particular) try to put too much fluff in the db
just because we can.

firecop1 wrote:
Is there an easy way to put a real time clock onto a form and if so can
anyone explain the process?

Thanks in advance

Andrew J. Brofman
Chief Fire Marshal
Lake Grove, NY


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200707/1

  #16  
Old July 2nd, 2007, 01:26 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
missinglinq via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 545
Default Realtime clock on a form

There are people who use "full screen" forms for design purposes and/or to
maximize "real estate." And in this case, as noted above, the OP wants the
time display in military time. I don't know anyway to do that in Regional
Settings.

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200707/1

  #17  
Old July 2nd, 2007, 01:59 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
missinglinq via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 545
Default Realtime clock on a form

I take that back! You actually can set the display for military time!

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000

Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com

  #18  
Old July 2nd, 2007, 05:06 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Gina Whipp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,500
Default Realtime clock on a form

Just a 'food for thought'. While the database is in military time I don't
wat to look over to my system clock and see military time. I know I had a
case like this.

--
Gina Whipp

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" - Tremors
II

"missinglinq via AccessMonster.com" u28780@uwe wrote in message
news:748be86c2f8c7@uwe...
I take that back! You actually can set the display for military time!

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000

Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com



  #19  
Old July 2nd, 2007, 05:31 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
firecop1[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 28
Default Realtime clock on a form

Sometimes the obvious is not so obvious...
When my Fire Marshals are in their trucks at night and look over at the
screen it is much easier to see the large yellow/black clock I have on the
form than it is to see the microscopic clock on the task bar. So in essence
I am trying to reduce the accident potential. And if your next question is
why dont they use the clock on the truck radio....I work for the
government-there is no radio.

Andy

"jahoobob via AccessMonster.com" u12179@uwe wrote in message
news:748add028d364@uwe...
I've got to ask why? Windows has a clock at the bottom right of the
screen
with the exact same time that you will have in your form (as a matter of
fact,
I believe the Windows clock is the source of the Access Time.)
I can look right now and tell you my local time is 7:00 PM.
I realize there is a lot of sarcasm in this message but I think sometimes
database designers (Access in particular) try to put too much fluff in the
db
just because we can.

firecop1 wrote:
Is there an easy way to put a real time clock onto a form and if so can
anyone explain the process?

Thanks in advance

Andrew J. Brofman
Chief Fire Marshal
Lake Grove, NY


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200707/1


  #20  
Old July 2nd, 2007, 08:21 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
missinglinq via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 545
Default Realtime clock on a form

Hey,Chief!

Posters here are just like many people in life, they tend to see the world
thru the narrow viewport of their own experiences, never giving thought that
there may be other realities! Unfortunately, this deosn't keep them from
trying to force their views on others! My philosophy over the years has been
to simply ignore posters that only criticize without giving any positive
suggestions!

Linq

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200707/1

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.