A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Database for VBA



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 17th, 2010, 02:29 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
KB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 121
Default Database for VBA

I am building a database catalogue of all our reports and want to include the
SQL and VBA used in the reports. I have added a memo field to hold this data
but the database becomes unstable when I add the VBA (I copy it from MS Excel
and paste it in the memo field). I suspect that Access is trying to run the
VBA.

Could someone suggest how I can embed this data in the database. I know that
I could hyperlink to files external to the database but don't want to do this
unless there are no other issues.

Thanks

Ads
  #2  
Old March 17th, 2010, 03:22 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Jeff Boyce
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,621
Default Database for VBA

It sounds like you are trying to document the application.

Do you require electronic documentation, or could you use Access' built in
documenter and print off the documentation?

For that matter, instead of documenting it yourself, what about just using
Access' built in documenter?

Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP

--
Disclaimer: This author may have received products and services mentioned
in this post. Mention and/or description of a product or service herein
does not constitute endorsement thereof.

Any code or pseudocode included in this post is offered "as is", with no
guarantee as to suitability.

You can thank the FTC of the USA for making this disclaimer
possible/necessary.

"KB" wrote in message
...
I am building a database catalogue of all our reports and want to include
the
SQL and VBA used in the reports. I have added a memo field to hold this
data
but the database becomes unstable when I add the VBA (I copy it from MS
Excel
and paste it in the memo field). I suspect that Access is trying to run
the
VBA.

Could someone suggest how I can embed this data in the database. I know
that
I could hyperlink to files external to the database but don't want to do
this
unless there are no other issues.

Thanks



  #3  
Old March 17th, 2010, 04:59 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
KB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 121
Default Database for VBA

Hi Jeff

Thank you for your response. To give you a bit more background, we have a
number of reports within the department that we want to document in a way
that can be searched by anyone in the department (so that they can find which
reports might be relevant to them and to reduce duplication). We are building
a MS Access catalogue that will be the main data store with a sharepoint user
interface. Although most people won't need to see the VBA and SQL stored in
the database we want to have all the documentation/backup of the code for the
various reports in one place i.e. within the database. A number of the
reports that we want to document are built in MS Excel and are automated
through VBA.

I thought MS Access would be a good way to go and that VBA in a memo field
would be seen as text but it seems to be corrupting the databse. I have used
Access's documenter in the past but do not have a similar documenter for
Excel (although I am aware there are products we could buy). I am loathed to
have a central folder with backups of the code and hyperlinks due to the
fragility of them but would welcome any ideas.....

K

"Jeff Boyce" wrote:

It sounds like you are trying to document the application.

Do you require electronic documentation, or could you use Access' built in
documenter and print off the documentation?

For that matter, instead of documenting it yourself, what about just using
Access' built in documenter?

Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP

--
Disclaimer: This author may have received products and services mentioned
in this post. Mention and/or description of a product or service herein
does not constitute endorsement thereof.

Any code or pseudocode included in this post is offered "as is", with no
guarantee as to suitability.

You can thank the FTC of the USA for making this disclaimer
possible/necessary.

"KB" wrote in message
...
I am building a database catalogue of all our reports and want to include
the
SQL and VBA used in the reports. I have added a memo field to hold this
data
but the database becomes unstable when I add the VBA (I copy it from MS
Excel
and paste it in the memo field). I suspect that Access is trying to run
the
VBA.

Could someone suggest how I can embed this data in the database. I know
that
I could hyperlink to files external to the database but don't want to do
this
unless there are no other issues.

Thanks



.

  #4  
Old March 18th, 2010, 04:00 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Jeff Boyce
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,555
Default Database for VBA

I've not run across this issue before, so I'll step back. Hopefully one of
the other newsgroup readers has some insight on this...

--

Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP

Disclaimer: This author may have received products and services mentioned in
this post. Mention and/or description of a product or service herein does
not constitute endorsement thereof.

Any code or pseudocode included in this post is offered "as is", with no
guarantee as to suitability.

You can thank the FTC of the USA for making this disclaimer
possible/necessary.

"KB" wrote in message
...
Hi Jeff

Thank you for your response. To give you a bit more background, we have a
number of reports within the department that we want to document in a way
that can be searched by anyone in the department (so that they can find
which
reports might be relevant to them and to reduce duplication). We are
building
a MS Access catalogue that will be the main data store with a sharepoint
user
interface. Although most people won't need to see the VBA and SQL stored
in
the database we want to have all the documentation/backup of the code for
the
various reports in one place i.e. within the database. A number of the
reports that we want to document are built in MS Excel and are automated
through VBA.

I thought MS Access would be a good way to go and that VBA in a memo field
would be seen as text but it seems to be corrupting the databse. I have
used
Access's documenter in the past but do not have a similar documenter for
Excel (although I am aware there are products we could buy). I am loathed
to
have a central folder with backups of the code and hyperlinks due to the
fragility of them but would welcome any ideas.....

K

"Jeff Boyce" wrote:

It sounds like you are trying to document the application.

Do you require electronic documentation, or could you use Access' built
in
documenter and print off the documentation?

For that matter, instead of documenting it yourself, what about just
using
Access' built in documenter?

Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP

--
Disclaimer: This author may have received products and services mentioned
in this post. Mention and/or description of a product or service herein
does not constitute endorsement thereof.

Any code or pseudocode included in this post is offered "as is", with no
guarantee as to suitability.

You can thank the FTC of the USA for making this disclaimer
possible/necessary.

"KB" wrote in message
...
I am building a database catalogue of all our reports and want to
include
the
SQL and VBA used in the reports. I have added a memo field to hold this
data
but the database becomes unstable when I add the VBA (I copy it from MS
Excel
and paste it in the memo field). I suspect that Access is trying to run
the
VBA.

Could someone suggest how I can embed this data in the database. I know
that
I could hyperlink to files external to the database but don't want to
do
this
unless there are no other issues.

Thanks



.



  #5  
Old March 18th, 2010, 04:50 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
KB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 121
Default Database for VBA

Thank you for trying to help

"Jeff Boyce" wrote:

I've not run across this issue before, so I'll step back. Hopefully one of
the other newsgroup readers has some insight on this...

--

Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP

Disclaimer: This author may have received products and services mentioned in
this post. Mention and/or description of a product or service herein does
not constitute endorsement thereof.

Any code or pseudocode included in this post is offered "as is", with no
guarantee as to suitability.

You can thank the FTC of the USA for making this disclaimer
possible/necessary.

"KB" wrote in message
...
Hi Jeff

Thank you for your response. To give you a bit more background, we have a
number of reports within the department that we want to document in a way
that can be searched by anyone in the department (so that they can find
which
reports might be relevant to them and to reduce duplication). We are
building
a MS Access catalogue that will be the main data store with a sharepoint
user
interface. Although most people won't need to see the VBA and SQL stored
in
the database we want to have all the documentation/backup of the code for
the
various reports in one place i.e. within the database. A number of the
reports that we want to document are built in MS Excel and are automated
through VBA.

I thought MS Access would be a good way to go and that VBA in a memo field
would be seen as text but it seems to be corrupting the databse. I have
used
Access's documenter in the past but do not have a similar documenter for
Excel (although I am aware there are products we could buy). I am loathed
to
have a central folder with backups of the code and hyperlinks due to the
fragility of them but would welcome any ideas.....

K

"Jeff Boyce" wrote:

It sounds like you are trying to document the application.

Do you require electronic documentation, or could you use Access' built
in
documenter and print off the documentation?

For that matter, instead of documenting it yourself, what about just
using
Access' built in documenter?

Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP

--
Disclaimer: This author may have received products and services mentioned
in this post. Mention and/or description of a product or service herein
does not constitute endorsement thereof.

Any code or pseudocode included in this post is offered "as is", with no
guarantee as to suitability.

You can thank the FTC of the USA for making this disclaimer
possible/necessary.

"KB" wrote in message
...
I am building a database catalogue of all our reports and want to
include
the
SQL and VBA used in the reports. I have added a memo field to hold this
data
but the database becomes unstable when I add the VBA (I copy it from MS
Excel
and paste it in the memo field). I suspect that Access is trying to run
the
VBA.

Could someone suggest how I can embed this data in the database. I know
that
I could hyperlink to files external to the database but don't want to
do
this
unless there are no other issues.

Thanks



.



.

  #7  
Old March 18th, 2010, 08:30 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Gina Whipp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,500
Default Database for VBA

KB,

You say the VBA in the memo field is causing corruption. How are you
inserting the VBA into the memo field. Also, what version of Access and
what SP is it on?

--
Gina Whipp
2010 Microsoft MVP (Access)

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" - Tremors
II

http://www.regina-whipp.com/index_files/TipList.htm

"KB" wrote in message
...
Hi Jeff

Thank you for your response. To give you a bit more background, we have a
number of reports within the department that we want to document in a way
that can be searched by anyone in the department (so that they can find
which
reports might be relevant to them and to reduce duplication). We are
building
a MS Access catalogue that will be the main data store with a sharepoint
user
interface. Although most people won't need to see the VBA and SQL stored in
the database we want to have all the documentation/backup of the code for
the
various reports in one place i.e. within the database. A number of the
reports that we want to document are built in MS Excel and are automated
through VBA.

I thought MS Access would be a good way to go and that VBA in a memo field
would be seen as text but it seems to be corrupting the databse. I have used
Access's documenter in the past but do not have a similar documenter for
Excel (although I am aware there are products we could buy). I am loathed to
have a central folder with backups of the code and hyperlinks due to the
fragility of them but would welcome any ideas.....

K

"Jeff Boyce" wrote:

It sounds like you are trying to document the application.

Do you require electronic documentation, or could you use Access' built in
documenter and print off the documentation?

For that matter, instead of documenting it yourself, what about just using
Access' built in documenter?

Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP

--
Disclaimer: This author may have received products and services mentioned
in this post. Mention and/or description of a product or service herein
does not constitute endorsement thereof.

Any code or pseudocode included in this post is offered "as is", with no
guarantee as to suitability.

You can thank the FTC of the USA for making this disclaimer
possible/necessary.

"KB" wrote in message
...
I am building a database catalogue of all our reports and want to include
the
SQL and VBA used in the reports. I have added a memo field to hold this
data
but the database becomes unstable when I add the VBA (I copy it from MS
Excel
and paste it in the memo field). I suspect that Access is trying to run
the
VBA.

Could someone suggest how I can embed this data in the database. I know
that
I could hyperlink to files external to the database but don't want to do
this
unless there are no other issues.

Thanks



.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.