A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

show 2nd field when combo box choice is made



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 21st, 2010, 09:44 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Scott_Brasted via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 49
Default show 2nd field when combo box choice is made

Greetings:

I have a db for clients and their purchases. In my attempt to further
normalize my tables, I have created a new table to list the products clients
can purchase. So now i have 3 tables. One has the client info, the 2nd has
the individual orders (ID, client foreign key, product (stores combo box info)
, order date, quantity ordered and a price number field to hold the info this
question is about) and the 3rd has the list of products and the price of each
product.

I have a form to enter the client info and a subform to enter each client's
order info. The order subform has a combo box to choose the product ordered.
When I choose the product,I would like the price from the product table to go
into a field in the subform and be recored in the order table. Is this
possible?

Thanks,
Scott

--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/201005/1

  #2  
Old May 21st, 2010, 10:18 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Linq Adams via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,474
Default show 2nd field when combo box choice is made

Set up your combobox using the wizard and include the fields you need, from
Left-to-Right.

If in the Combobox they appear as

Product Price

the code would be

Private Sub YourComboBoxName_AfterUpdate()
Me.SubformPriceField = Me.YourComboBoxName.Column(1)
End Sub

The column index is zero based, so the first column would have an index of 0
(zero). You sound as if your combobox is bound so that the Product is saved
directly to your underlying table, but if you wanted to assign the Product to
a textbox, you would use

Me.SubformProductField = Me.YourComboBoxName.Column(0)

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000/2003

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/201005/1

  #3  
Old May 21st, 2010, 10:19 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Jeanette Cunningham
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,190
Default show 2nd field when combo box choice is made

In the after update event for the combo, you can use code to copy the price
from a hidden column of the combo to the price textbox.

Me.PriceTextboxName = Me.ComboName.Column(2)

For a sample database that shows this in action go to

http://allenbrowne.com/TechniqueEnterCalcText.html

Don't be put off by the title which is about entering text in calculated
controls, this database does show how to get the price into the orders
table.


Jeanette Cunningham MS Access MVP -- Melbourne Victoria Australia

"Scott_Brasted via AccessMonster.com" u56211@uwe wrote in message
news:a85a0a19e7f37@uwe...
Greetings:

I have a db for clients and their purchases. In my attempt to further
normalize my tables, I have created a new table to list the products
clients
can purchase. So now i have 3 tables. One has the client info, the 2nd has
the individual orders (ID, client foreign key, product (stores combo box
info)
, order date, quantity ordered and a price number field to hold the info
this
question is about) and the 3rd has the list of products and the price of
each
product.

I have a form to enter the client info and a subform to enter each
client's
order info. The order subform has a combo box to choose the product
ordered.
When I choose the product,I would like the price from the product table to
go
into a field in the subform and be recored in the order table. Is this
possible?

Thanks,
Scott

--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/201005/1



  #4  
Old May 22nd, 2010, 04:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Scott_Brasted via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 49
Default show 2nd field when combo box choice is made

That's it exactly. I am trying to understand exactly how to do this. I will
re-read it a couple of times before I throw my hands up and ask for more help.


Many thank to you both.

Best,
Scott

Jeanette Cunningham wrote:
In the after update event for the combo, you can use code to copy the price
from a hidden column of the combo to the price textbox.

Me.PriceTextboxName = Me.ComboName.Column(2)

For a sample database that shows this in action go to

http://allenbrowne.com/TechniqueEnterCalcText.html

Don't be put off by the title which is about entering text in calculated
controls, this database does show how to get the price into the orders
table.

Jeanette Cunningham MS Access MVP -- Melbourne Victoria Australia

Greetings:

[quoted text clipped - 21 lines]
Thanks,
Scott


--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/201005/1

  #5  
Old May 22nd, 2010, 05:27 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
KenSheridan via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,610
Default show 2nd field when combo box choice is made

Scott:

The sample Northwind database illustrates another way of doing this by
looking up the unit price from the Products table by means of the DLookup
function. The code for this is in the AfterUpdate event procedure of the
ProductID control on the Order Details subform. In earlier versions this is
done directly in the event procedure, but in Access 2007 then code calls the
GetListPrice function, which in turn calls the DLookupNumberWrapper function.

Note that the Northwind database has Orders and Order Details tables, the
latter modelling the many-to-many relationship between orders and Products.
This allows each order to include more than one product. In your case you
are allowing only one product per order, which may always be the case in your
business model. If not you should decompose your Orders table along the
lines of those in Northwind. Otherwise your Orders table is not fully
normalized as it would contain redundancies in the event of one order
covering more than one product.

Ken Sheridan
Stafford, England

Scott_Brasted wrote:
Greetings:

I have a db for clients and their purchases. In my attempt to further
normalize my tables, I have created a new table to list the products clients
can purchase. So now i have 3 tables. One has the client info, the 2nd has
the individual orders (ID, client foreign key, product (stores combo box info)
, order date, quantity ordered and a price number field to hold the info this
question is about) and the 3rd has the list of products and the price of each
product.

I have a form to enter the client info and a subform to enter each client's
order info. The order subform has a combo box to choose the product ordered.
When I choose the product,I would like the price from the product table to go
into a field in the subform and be recored in the order table. Is this
possible?

Thanks,
Scott


--
Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.