A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

On Open



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old October 3rd, 2006, 08:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Dirk Goldgar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,164
Default On Open

"JohnLute" wrote in message

"Dirk Goldgar" wrote:

Bear with me for another question or two. What do you mean when you
say you want to "have cbNavigateProfiles filter to the record from
frmFinishedGoods.cbProfileID"? Presumably, cbNavigateProfiles is a
combo box that shows ProfileIDs. Do you mean that you want this
combo box's dropdown list to show only the ProfileID from
frmFinishedGoods.cbProfileID?


Yes! I have a record selected in frmFinishedGoods.cbProfileID and
when I click my "Go!" button I want
frmQueryFGProcessingFacIDsLineIDs.cbNavigateProfil es to open to that
same record.


That's still not making a lot of sense to me, sorry. Combo boxes don't
"open", the way I think about them. Please verify that the code I
posted doesn't do what you're after, as it would make sense to me for
that to be what you want. If not, I'll have to delve deeper.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)


  #12  
Old October 3rd, 2006, 08:19 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
JohnLute
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 299
Default On Open

I placed the code in the button's click event:

Private Sub cmdGOrpt_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_cmdGOrpt_Click

Dim stDocName As String

DoCmd.OpenForm "frmQueryFGProcessingFacIDsLineIDs"

Forms!frmQueryFGProcessingFacIDsLineIDs!cbProfileI D = _
Forms!frmFinishedGoods!cbProfileID

DoCmd.OpenForm Me!cbSelectReportRQ, acNormal

Exit_cmdGOrpt_Click:
Exit Sub

Err_cmdGOrpt_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_cmdGOrpt_Click

End Sub

I hope I've understood properly. When I click the button the form opens
however I get the error dialog:
MS Access can't find the field 'cbProfileID' referred to in your expression.

I click OK to close the dialog and the form is open but NOT filtered to the
correct record.

frmFinishedGoods.cbProfileID is most definitely correct. Not sure why it
wouldn't be found.






--
www.Marzetti.com


"Dirk Goldgar" wrote:

"JohnLute" wrote in message

"Dirk Goldgar" wrote:

Bear with me for another question or two. What do you mean when you
say you want to "have cbNavigateProfiles filter to the record from
frmFinishedGoods.cbProfileID"? Presumably, cbNavigateProfiles is a
combo box that shows ProfileIDs. Do you mean that you want this
combo box's dropdown list to show only the ProfileID from
frmFinishedGoods.cbProfileID?


Yes! I have a record selected in frmFinishedGoods.cbProfileID and
when I click my "Go!" button I want
frmQueryFGProcessingFacIDsLineIDs.cbNavigateProfil es to open to that
same record.


That's still not making a lot of sense to me, sorry. Combo boxes don't
"open", the way I think about them. Please verify that the code I
posted doesn't do what you're after, as it would make sense to me for
that to be what you want. If not, I'll have to delve deeper.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)



  #13  
Old October 3rd, 2006, 08:36 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Dirk Goldgar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,164
Default On Open

"JohnLute" wrote in message

I placed the code in the button's click event:

Private Sub cmdGOrpt_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_cmdGOrpt_Click

Dim stDocName As String

DoCmd.OpenForm "frmQueryFGProcessingFacIDsLineIDs"

Forms!frmQueryFGProcessingFacIDsLineIDs!cbProfileI D = _
Forms!frmFinishedGoods!cbProfileID

DoCmd.OpenForm Me!cbSelectReportRQ, acNormal

Exit_cmdGOrpt_Click:
Exit Sub

Err_cmdGOrpt_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_cmdGOrpt_Click

End Sub

I hope I've understood properly. When I click the button the form
opens however I get the error dialog:
MS Access can't find the field 'cbProfileID' referred to in your
expression.

I click OK to close the dialog and the form is open but NOT filtered
to the correct record.


This is the first time you've said you want to filter the *form*. Up to
this point, you've said repeatedly that you want to filter the combo box
(which hasn't made a lot of sense to me). Which is it you want to
filter, the form or the combo box?

I do see that I made a mistake in the code I posted; I posted this:

Forms!frmQueryFGProcessingFacIDsLineIDs!cbProfileI D = _

Forms!frmFinishedGoods!cbProfileID

when I meant to post this:

Forms!frmQueryFGProcessingFacIDsLineIDs!cbNavigate Profiles = _
Forms!frmFinishedGoods!cbProfileID

I'm not sure now whether that's what you want or not, but please fix
that and try it again.

If it doesn't give you what you want, then I'm guessing you really want
to filter the *form*. In that case, please post the recordsource of
form "frmQueryFGProcessingFacIDsLineIDs". If it's a table, please give
the name of the field that holds the ProfileID value you want to filter
by; if it's a query, please post the SQL of the query.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)


  #14  
Old October 3rd, 2006, 09:06 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
JohnLute
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 299
Default On Open

PERFECT! That works! Sorry - I didn't recognize the typo, either and should
have.

As always - Thanks!!! I hope others find this useful.

--
www.Marzetti.com


"Dirk Goldgar" wrote:

"JohnLute" wrote in message

I placed the code in the button's click event:

Private Sub cmdGOrpt_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_cmdGOrpt_Click

Dim stDocName As String

DoCmd.OpenForm "frmQueryFGProcessingFacIDsLineIDs"

Forms!frmQueryFGProcessingFacIDsLineIDs!cbProfileI D = _
Forms!frmFinishedGoods!cbProfileID

DoCmd.OpenForm Me!cbSelectReportRQ, acNormal

Exit_cmdGOrpt_Click:
Exit Sub

Err_cmdGOrpt_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_cmdGOrpt_Click

End Sub

I hope I've understood properly. When I click the button the form
opens however I get the error dialog:
MS Access can't find the field 'cbProfileID' referred to in your
expression.

I click OK to close the dialog and the form is open but NOT filtered
to the correct record.


This is the first time you've said you want to filter the *form*. Up to
this point, you've said repeatedly that you want to filter the combo box
(which hasn't made a lot of sense to me). Which is it you want to
filter, the form or the combo box?

I do see that I made a mistake in the code I posted; I posted this:

Forms!frmQueryFGProcessingFacIDsLineIDs!cbProfileI D = _

Forms!frmFinishedGoods!cbProfileID

when I meant to post this:

Forms!frmQueryFGProcessingFacIDsLineIDs!cbNavigate Profiles = _
Forms!frmFinishedGoods!cbProfileID

I'm not sure now whether that's what you want or not, but please fix
that and try it again.

If it doesn't give you what you want, then I'm guessing you really want
to filter the *form*. In that case, please post the recordsource of
form "frmQueryFGProcessingFacIDsLineIDs". If it's a table, please give
the name of the field that holds the ProfileID value you want to filter
by; if it's a query, please post the SQL of the query.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)



  #15  
Old October 3rd, 2006, 09:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Dirk Goldgar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,164
Default On Open

"JohnLute" wrote in message

PERFECT! That works! Sorry - I didn't recognize the typo, either and
should have.


Ah, very good. I think Albert and I were both thinking you needed
something more complicated.

As always - Thanks!!! I hope others find this useful.


You're welcome.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)


  #16  
Old October 3rd, 2006, 09:33 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
JohnLute
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 299
Default On Open

I tend to come across as complicated despite the fact that I'm rather
incapable of being so!

I thought I described it accurately but I see now where it wasn't.

Thanks for your patience and help, guys!

--
www.Marzetti.com


"Dirk Goldgar" wrote:

"JohnLute" wrote in message

PERFECT! That works! Sorry - I didn't recognize the typo, either and
should have.


Ah, very good. I think Albert and I were both thinking you needed
something more complicated.

As always - Thanks!!! I hope others find this useful.


You're welcome.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.