A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » General Discussion
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Remote Database and Office Database



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 26th, 2010, 07:41 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Thomas Kroljic
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 21
Default Remote Database and Office Database

Hello,

My boss would like to have several of his field employees (9) have an
Access application
on there laptop/netbook device so when they visit customers, they can
input data
into the database. They will not have access to the internet or any type
of
Remote connection. This will be a stand-alone Access application on their
laptop. ( Field person will meet with 10 customer a day.)

My two questions have to do with when the field employees come back into
the office.
What will be the best way to a) get data from their version of the
database on their
laptop into the Office database?
a) Should I user Replication Manager
or
b) would it be easier in the long run to write (vba)
code to move the data between the
laptop database and the Office database? If this is
the route to take, how
would I connect (using vba code) from the Field
version of the database
to the Office version?
or
c) export the appropriate data to a separate file?

For some reason, I'm thinking if I can steer clear of the Replication
Manager, I'll have fewer headaches. Is this true?

And my second question would have to do with any changes that I would need
to make to the data structure. How do I update the Field databases? Again,
would it be better to write the vba code to modify the data sturctures
instead of using Replication Manager?

I envision very few changes to the database sturcture. But I can see
forms, reports, queries... being added or updated.

Thank you,
Timothy



  #2  
Old May 27th, 2010, 12:28 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
Thomas Kroljic
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 21
Default Remote Database and Office Database

Is this the right forum to post this message?


"Thomas Kroljic" wrote in message
...
Hello,

My boss would like to have several of his field employees (9) have an
Access application
on there laptop/netbook device so when they visit customers, they can
input data
into the database. They will not have access to the internet or any type
of
Remote connection. This will be a stand-alone Access application on
their laptop. ( Field person will meet with 10 customer a day.)

My two questions have to do with when the field employees come back into
the office.
What will be the best way to a) get data from their version of the
database on their
laptop into the Office database?
a) Should I user Replication Manager
or
b) would it be easier in the long run to write (vba)
code to move the data between the
laptop database and the Office database? If this is
the route to take, how
would I connect (using vba code) from the Field
version of the database
to the Office version?
or
c) export the appropriate data to a separate file?

For some reason, I'm thinking if I can steer clear of the Replication
Manager, I'll have fewer headaches. Is this true?

And my second question would have to do with any changes that I would need
to make to the data structure. How do I update the Field databases? Again,
would it be better to write the vba code to modify the data sturctures
instead of using Replication Manager?

I envision very few changes to the database sturcture. But I can see
forms, reports, queries... being added or updated.

Thank you,
Timothy





  #3  
Old May 27th, 2010, 01:06 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
PieterLinden via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 307
Default Remote Database and Office Database

Thomas Kroljic wrote:
Is this the right forum to post this message?

Hello,

[quoted text clipped - 37 lines]
Thank you,
Timothy


David Fenton must be busy... dig around for his website. He'll know.

--
Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...ccess/201005/1

  #4  
Old May 27th, 2010, 06:50 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Remote Database and Office Database

On Wed, 26 May 2010 14:41:47 -0400, "Thomas Kroljic"
wrote:

Hello,

My boss would like to have several of his field employees (9) have an
Access application
on there laptop/netbook device so when they visit customers, they can
input data
into the database. They will not have access to the internet or any type
of
Remote connection. This will be a stand-alone Access application on their
laptop. ( Field person will meet with 10 customer a day.)

My two questions have to do with when the field employees come back into
the office.
What will be the best way to a) get data from their version of the
database on their
laptop into the Office database?
a) Should I user Replication Manager
or
b) would it be easier in the long run to write (vba)
code to move the data between the
laptop database and the Office database? If this is
the route to take, how
would I connect (using vba code) from the Field
version of the database
to the Office version?
or
c) export the appropriate data to a separate file?

For some reason, I'm thinking if I can steer clear of the Replication
Manager, I'll have fewer headaches. Is this true?

And my second question would have to do with any changes that I would need
to make to the data structure. How do I update the Field databases? Again,
would it be better to write the vba code to modify the data sturctures
instead of using Replication Manager?


I would VERY strongly urge that you a) split the database into a frontend and
backend (backend containing only tables), and give each employee their own
copy of the frontend; and b) use the Replication Manager to replicate the
backend (NOT the frontend!!!), and give each remote employee a member of the
replica set of the backend. The replica master must remain on the central
office server (and should not be used by anyone except the administrator).
Central office users would share a common backend, itself a member of the
replica set; when remote users come in they can connect to the network and
synchronize their replicas with this "sub-master" (and thereby with the
master).

David Fenton is one of the current gurus on replication, try a
http://groups.google.com advanced search of these groups using "replication"
and "fenton" as search terms.

--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #5  
Old May 27th, 2010, 01:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Thomas Kroljic
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 21
Default Remote Database and Office Database

John and Pieter,

Thanks for the tip. Is Replication stable? The last time attemtpted to
use it was 8 years ago. At that time it seem like a pain-in-the-butt...in
the end, we ended up using Terminal Services. Unfortunately, I don't have
that option at the moment.
I'll check on David Fenton in the group you listed below.

Thank you.


"John W. Vinson" wrote in message
...
On Wed, 26 May 2010 14:41:47 -0400, "Thomas Kroljic"
wrote:

Hello,

My boss would like to have several of his field employees (9) have an
Access application
on there laptop/netbook device so when they visit customers, they can
input data
into the database. They will not have access to the internet or any
type
of
Remote connection. This will be a stand-alone Access application on
their
laptop. ( Field person will meet with 10 customer a day.)

My two questions have to do with when the field employees come back
into
the office.
What will be the best way to a) get data from their version of the
database on their
laptop into the Office database?
a) Should I user Replication Manager
or
b) would it be easier in the long run to write (vba)
code to move the data between the
laptop database and the Office database? If this
is
the route to take, how
would I connect (using vba code) from the Field
version of the database
to the Office version?
or
c) export the appropriate data to a separate file?

For some reason, I'm thinking if I can steer clear of the Replication
Manager, I'll have fewer headaches. Is this true?

And my second question would have to do with any changes that I would need
to make to the data structure. How do I update the Field databases? Again,
would it be better to write the vba code to modify the data sturctures
instead of using Replication Manager?


I would VERY strongly urge that you a) split the database into a frontend
and
backend (backend containing only tables), and give each employee their own
copy of the frontend; and b) use the Replication Manager to replicate the
backend (NOT the frontend!!!), and give each remote employee a member of
the
replica set of the backend. The replica master must remain on the central
office server (and should not be used by anyone except the administrator).
Central office users would share a common backend, itself a member of the
replica set; when remote users come in they can connect to the network and
synchronize their replicas with this "sub-master" (and thereby with the
master).

David Fenton is one of the current gurus on replication, try a
http://groups.google.com advanced search of these groups using
"replication"
and "fenton" as search terms.

--

John W. Vinson [MVP]



  #6  
Old May 27th, 2010, 04:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Remote Database and Office Database

On Thu, 27 May 2010 08:39:46 -0400, "Thomas Kroljic"
wrote:

John and Pieter,

Thanks for the tip. Is Replication stable? The last time attemtpted to
use it was 8 years ago. At that time it seem like a pain-in-the-butt...in
the end, we ended up using Terminal Services. Unfortunately, I don't have
that option at the moment.
I'll check on David Fenton in the group you listed below.


It's stable, it does the job, it's a pain in the butt, and it's complicated to
set it up correctly. I've used it with two clients and they both ended up
using Citrix (terminal services basically).

It is possible to "roll your own" replication as you suggest, but it's a VERY
complicated and difficult process; you wouldn't be reinventing the wheel, more
like reinventing an automatic transmission!
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #7  
Old May 27th, 2010, 06:17 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
David W. Fenton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,373
Default Remote Database and Office Database

"Thomas Kroljic" wrote in
:

Is this the right forum to post this message?


How is this inappropriate?

--
David W. Fenton http://www.dfenton.com/
usenet at dfenton dot com http://www.dfenton.com/DFA/
  #8  
Old May 27th, 2010, 06:24 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
David W. Fenton
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,373
Default Remote Database and Office Database

"Thomas Kroljic" wrote in
:

And my second question would have to do with any changes that I
would need to make to the data structure. How do I update the
Field databases? Again, would it be better to write the vba code
to modify the data sturctures instead of using Replication
Manager?

I envision very few changes to the database sturcture. But I
can see
forms, reports, queries... being added or updated.


Why you mention Replication Manager, I don't know. It's an
out-of-date tool that doesn't provide much in the way of
functionality that you can't get via other metods.

See the Jet Replication Wiki for somewhat comprehensive info:

http://dfenton.com/DFA/Replication/

Now, to some issues:

1. as others have said, your app needs to be split, front end
(forms/reports, etc.) and back end (data tables). Only the back end
should be replicated, as:

a. replication is not needed to push out changes to a front end.

b. replication doesn't work reliably with anything but pure Jet
objects (tables/queries).

Your app should be split in this form even if you're *not* using
replication.

2. if the users are always connected to the Internet when away from
the central office, you'd be much better off avoiding replication
entirely and using Windows Terminal Server as your remote host for
the app.

3. if your users need to work outside the office disconnected from
the Internet, then using a local replica is a great way to manage
that. If you limit synchs to when they are back in the office
connected to the wired LAN, then it's very easy to implement with
plain old direct replication. If they want to synch in the field
(with an occasional Internet connection) or they need to synch
across a WiFi or WAN connection, then you would have to use indirect
replication which is an order of magnitude or more harder to
implement and much more difficult to keep running reliably (because
there are so many more "moving parts"). If you need remote synchs,
then I'd recommend upgrading to Access 2010 and using Sharepoint
2010 instead. That allows both offline editing and easy synching
when connected.

Basically, even though I'm one of the few people who has a lot of
knowledge of Jet replication, I recommend against using it except in
a very narrow range of circumstances. A2010 and Sharepoint 2010
remove the last of those except for those who can't afford the
dependency on a Sharepoint server.

--
David W. Fenton http://www.dfenton.com/
usenet at dfenton dot com http://www.dfenton.com/DFA/
  #9  
Old May 28th, 2010, 01:04 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
Thomas Kroljic
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 21
Default Remote Database and Office Database

John,
and it's complicated to set it up correctly.
Even as an experience programmer, I still think it a complicated setup for
basically transferring data from one database to another.
Unfortunatetly, we will not have access to any internet connections while
in the field. So, all field data (computers) will return to the office by
the end of the day.



"John W. Vinson" wrote in message
...
On Thu, 27 May 2010 08:39:46 -0400, "Thomas Kroljic"
wrote:

John and Pieter,

Thanks for the tip. Is Replication stable? The last time attemtpted to
use it was 8 years ago. At that time it seem like a pain-in-the-butt...in
the end, we ended up using Terminal Services. Unfortunately, I don't have
that option at the moment.
I'll check on David Fenton in the group you listed below.


It's stable, it does the job, it's a pain in the butt, and it's
complicated to
set it up correctly. I've used it with two clients and they both ended up
using Citrix (terminal services basically).

It is possible to "roll your own" replication as you suggest, but it's a
VERY
complicated and difficult process; you wouldn't be reinventing the wheel,
more
like reinventing an automatic transmission!
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]



  #10  
Old May 28th, 2010, 01:22 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
Thomas Kroljic
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 21
Default Remote Database and Office Database

David,
Not sure that I fully understand what you are trying to tell me. Can you
either list or point me in the direction for "other methods"? The laptop
that goes out to the field will not have the ability to connect back to the
office via the internet. The Field computer will return back to the office
at the end of the day. If replication Manager isn't the way to go, then what
would you suggest I use when the laptop comes back to the office? Do I
create VBA code that does the exchange of data from the Field laptop
database to the main Office database (both will be Access 2010) or do you
have something else in mind.

As for splitting the database, I always do this when more than one person
wants access to the application. I'm very familiar with this setup.

Terminal Service, now called Remote Desktop by MS, would be great but they
will not have access to an internet connect while in the field.

If you limit synchs to when they are back in the office connected to the
wired LAN, then it's very easy to implement with plain old direct
replication.

if I decide to use this replication process when they come back to the
office, are you saying that it is easy to not only implement but maintain?
Do I need to have a tech person available every time a field laptop comes
into the office and attempts to sync? Once the process is setup and tested,
is it pretty user friendly?

I'm very comfortable with VBA coding, if coding a good procedure to move
data from one database to another is the way the go, then I would rather
take that approach. What do you recommend?

Thank you,

"David W. Fenton" wrote in message
36.94...
"Thomas Kroljic" wrote in
:

And my second question would have to do with any changes that I
would need to make to the data structure. How do I update the
Field databases? Again, would it be better to write the vba code
to modify the data sturctures instead of using Replication
Manager?

I envision very few changes to the database sturcture. But I
can see
forms, reports, queries... being added or updated.


Why you mention Replication Manager, I don't know. It's an
out-of-date tool that doesn't provide much in the way of
functionality that you can't get via other metods.

See the Jet Replication Wiki for somewhat comprehensive info:

http://dfenton.com/DFA/Replication/

Now, to some issues:

1. as others have said, your app needs to be split, front end
(forms/reports, etc.) and back end (data tables). Only the back end
should be replicated, as:

a. replication is not needed to push out changes to a front end.

b. replication doesn't work reliably with anything but pure Jet
objects (tables/queries).

Your app should be split in this form even if you're *not* using
replication.

2. if the users are always connected to the Internet when away from
the central office, you'd be much better off avoiding replication
entirely and using Windows Terminal Server as your remote host for
the app.

3. if your users need to work outside the office disconnected from
the Internet, then using a local replica is a great way to manage
that. If you limit synchs to when they are back in the office
connected to the wired LAN, then it's very easy to implement with
plain old direct replication. If they want to synch in the field
(with an occasional Internet connection) or they need to synch
across a WiFi or WAN connection, then you would have to use indirect
replication which is an order of magnitude or more harder to
implement and much more difficult to keep running reliably (because
there are so many more "moving parts"). If you need remote synchs,
then I'd recommend upgrading to Access 2010 and using Sharepoint
2010 instead. That allows both offline editing and easy synching
when connected.

Basically, even though I'm one of the few people who has a lot of
knowledge of Jet replication, I recommend against using it except in
a very narrow range of circumstances. A2010 and Sharepoint 2010
remove the last of those except for those who can't afford the
dependency on a Sharepoint server.

--
David W. Fenton http://www.dfenton.com/
usenet at dfenton dot com http://www.dfenton.com/DFA/



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.