A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

ACCESS



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old October 23rd, 2004, 08:30 PM
Ken Snell [MVP]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

OK - no need for a subform after all, now that I see your setup.

On your frmOrder, you want to use a combo box for the Hauler Name values.
Use a query as the Row Source for this combo box. The query should obtain
the Hauler Name, Hauler #, Contact, and Phone # fields.

Then see The ACCESS Web for an article on how to have textboxes autofill in
after you make a selection in a combo box; you'll want to use the one that
uses code to put the values into the boxes, because you'll want to bind the
textboxes to the fields in the tblOrder table and you want the ability to
modify those values:
http://www.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0058.htm

Post back if you need more info.
--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP




"ROB" wrote in message
...
tblOrder;
Hauler Name, Contact, Phone #, Project, Job #, PO#, Freight Rate, Dump

Fee,
Prevailing Wage

TblHauler;
Hauler Name, Hauler #, Contact, Phone #,

frmOrder;
Hauler Name, Contact, Phone #, Project, Job #, PO#, Freight Rate, Dump

Fee,
Prevailing Wage

I use frmOrder to input my data to tblOrder. In tblHauler I have several
Hauler names, but only 1 contact name and number assigned to each Hauler.
When using frmOrder I would like to select a Hauler name from my combo

box,
and would like contact & phone # to fill in the corresponding cells on my
form, however I want the ability to type over the contact & phone # fields

in
the event that there may be a temporary change in that information for a
particular order.


"Ken Snell [MVP]" wrote:

THERE IS NO NEED TO SHOUT....

You cannot do this in a table, but you can do it on a form that has a
subform(s) based on the other tables. But you'll need to give us more

info
about your specific setup.

--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP


"ROB" wrote in message
...
TABLE1 HAS SEVERAL FIELDS, ONE OF WHICH CURRENTLY HAS A COMBO BOX

DISPLAYING
INFORMATION BASED FROM A FIELD IN TABLE 2.

UPON SELECTING AN ENTRY FROM THE COMBO BOX, I WOULD LIKE TO AUTO

POPULATE
THREE ADDITION FIELDS IN TABLE1, TO MATCH THEIR CORROSPONDING FIELDS

IN
TABLE2.

I HOPE THIS MAKES SENSE, AND THAT SOMEONE CAN ASSIST/DIRECT ME
THANKS






  #12  
Old October 23rd, 2004, 08:30 PM
Ken Snell [MVP]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

OK - no need for a subform after all, now that I see your setup.

On your frmOrder, you want to use a combo box for the Hauler Name values.
Use a query as the Row Source for this combo box. The query should obtain
the Hauler Name, Hauler #, Contact, and Phone # fields.

Then see The ACCESS Web for an article on how to have textboxes autofill in
after you make a selection in a combo box; you'll want to use the one that
uses code to put the values into the boxes, because you'll want to bind the
textboxes to the fields in the tblOrder table and you want the ability to
modify those values:
http://www.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0058.htm

Post back if you need more info.
--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP




"ROB" wrote in message
...
tblOrder;
Hauler Name, Contact, Phone #, Project, Job #, PO#, Freight Rate, Dump

Fee,
Prevailing Wage

TblHauler;
Hauler Name, Hauler #, Contact, Phone #,

frmOrder;
Hauler Name, Contact, Phone #, Project, Job #, PO#, Freight Rate, Dump

Fee,
Prevailing Wage

I use frmOrder to input my data to tblOrder. In tblHauler I have several
Hauler names, but only 1 contact name and number assigned to each Hauler.
When using frmOrder I would like to select a Hauler name from my combo

box,
and would like contact & phone # to fill in the corresponding cells on my
form, however I want the ability to type over the contact & phone # fields

in
the event that there may be a temporary change in that information for a
particular order.


"Ken Snell [MVP]" wrote:

THERE IS NO NEED TO SHOUT....

You cannot do this in a table, but you can do it on a form that has a
subform(s) based on the other tables. But you'll need to give us more

info
about your specific setup.

--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP


"ROB" wrote in message
...
TABLE1 HAS SEVERAL FIELDS, ONE OF WHICH CURRENTLY HAS A COMBO BOX

DISPLAYING
INFORMATION BASED FROM A FIELD IN TABLE 2.

UPON SELECTING AN ENTRY FROM THE COMBO BOX, I WOULD LIKE TO AUTO

POPULATE
THREE ADDITION FIELDS IN TABLE1, TO MATCH THEIR CORROSPONDING FIELDS

IN
TABLE2.

I HOPE THIS MAKES SENSE, AND THAT SOMEONE CAN ASSIST/DIRECT ME
THANKS






  #13  
Old October 28th, 2004, 06:37 PM
ROB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

OK - if you haven't figured it out yet I am new to Access, VB and this forum.
I reviewed the article you referenced and created the hypothetical
situation. Works great this is exactly what I am after.
However I can't seem to figure out how to add the additional steps to the
code so that each textbox receives a value from the appropriate column number
of the combo box. (Bound textbox example)


"Ken Snell [MVP]" wrote:

OK - no need for a subform after all, now that I see your setup.

On your frmOrder, you want to use a combo box for the Hauler Name values.
Use a query as the Row Source for this combo box. The query should obtain
the Hauler Name, Hauler #, Contact, and Phone # fields.

Then see The ACCESS Web for an article on how to have textboxes autofill in
after you make a selection in a combo box; you'll want to use the one that
uses code to put the values into the boxes, because you'll want to bind the
textboxes to the fields in the tblOrder table and you want the ability to
modify those values:
http://www.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0058.htm

Post back if you need more info.
--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP




"ROB" wrote in message
...
tblOrder;
Hauler Name, Contact, Phone #, Project, Job #, PO#, Freight Rate, Dump

Fee,
Prevailing Wage

TblHauler;
Hauler Name, Hauler #, Contact, Phone #,

frmOrder;
Hauler Name, Contact, Phone #, Project, Job #, PO#, Freight Rate, Dump

Fee,
Prevailing Wage

I use frmOrder to input my data to tblOrder. In tblHauler I have several
Hauler names, but only 1 contact name and number assigned to each Hauler.
When using frmOrder I would like to select a Hauler name from my combo

box,
and would like contact & phone # to fill in the corresponding cells on my
form, however I want the ability to type over the contact & phone # fields

in
the event that there may be a temporary change in that information for a
particular order.


"Ken Snell [MVP]" wrote:

THERE IS NO NEED TO SHOUT....

You cannot do this in a table, but you can do it on a form that has a
subform(s) based on the other tables. But you'll need to give us more

info
about your specific setup.

--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP


"ROB" wrote in message
...
TABLE1 HAS SEVERAL FIELDS, ONE OF WHICH CURRENTLY HAS A COMBO BOX
DISPLAYING
INFORMATION BASED FROM A FIELD IN TABLE 2.

UPON SELECTING AN ENTRY FROM THE COMBO BOX, I WOULD LIKE TO AUTO

POPULATE
THREE ADDITION FIELDS IN TABLE1, TO MATCH THEIR CORROSPONDING FIELDS

IN
TABLE2.

I HOPE THIS MAKES SENSE, AND THAT SOMEONE CAN ASSIST/DIRECT ME
THANKS






  #14  
Old October 28th, 2004, 08:25 PM
Ken Snell [MVP]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Give me a bit more to go on... what code and form controls have you put
together so far, and what (in words) do you want to do yet?

--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP

"ROB" wrote in message
...
OK - if you haven't figured it out yet I am new to Access, VB and this

forum.
I reviewed the article you referenced and created the hypothetical
situation. Works great this is exactly what I am after.
However I can't seem to figure out how to add the additional steps to the
code so that each textbox receives a value from the appropriate column

number
of the combo box. (Bound textbox example)


"Ken Snell [MVP]" wrote:

OK - no need for a subform after all, now that I see your setup.

On your frmOrder, you want to use a combo box for the Hauler Name

values.
Use a query as the Row Source for this combo box. The query should

obtain
the Hauler Name, Hauler #, Contact, and Phone # fields.

Then see The ACCESS Web for an article on how to have textboxes autofill

in
after you make a selection in a combo box; you'll want to use the one

that
uses code to put the values into the boxes, because you'll want to bind

the
textboxes to the fields in the tblOrder table and you want the ability

to
modify those values:
http://www.mvps.org/access/forms/frm0058.htm

Post back if you need more info.
--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP




"ROB" wrote in message
...
tblOrder;
Hauler Name, Contact, Phone #, Project, Job #, PO#, Freight Rate, Dump

Fee,
Prevailing Wage

TblHauler;
Hauler Name, Hauler #, Contact, Phone #,

frmOrder;
Hauler Name, Contact, Phone #, Project, Job #, PO#, Freight Rate, Dump

Fee,
Prevailing Wage

I use frmOrder to input my data to tblOrder. In tblHauler I have

several
Hauler names, but only 1 contact name and number assigned to each

Hauler.
When using frmOrder I would like to select a Hauler name from my combo

box,
and would like contact & phone # to fill in the corresponding cells on

my
form, however I want the ability to type over the contact & phone #

fields
in
the event that there may be a temporary change in that information for

a
particular order.


"Ken Snell [MVP]" wrote:

THERE IS NO NEED TO SHOUT....

You cannot do this in a table, but you can do it on a form that has

a
subform(s) based on the other tables. But you'll need to give us

more
info
about your specific setup.

--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP


"ROB" wrote in message
...
TABLE1 HAS SEVERAL FIELDS, ONE OF WHICH CURRENTLY HAS A COMBO BOX
DISPLAYING
INFORMATION BASED FROM A FIELD IN TABLE 2.

UPON SELECTING AN ENTRY FROM THE COMBO BOX, I WOULD LIKE TO AUTO

POPULATE
THREE ADDITION FIELDS IN TABLE1, TO MATCH THEIR CORROSPONDING

FIELDS
IN
TABLE2.

I HOPE THIS MAKES SENSE, AND THAT SOMEONE CAN ASSIST/DIRECT ME
THANKS








  #15  
Old October 30th, 2004, 05:51 PM
ROB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I would like to select an ID number from cboPersonID and populate the
FirstName, MiddleName & LastName fields on the form with data from
tblPersons. Currently I can only populate one field. (FirstName or MiddleName
or LastName).

I know this is a bad example. It’s just a quick DB to learn how to perform
this function, it has no other purpose.

FrmNewPersons (for data input to tblNewPersons)

cboPersonID
Bound Column…1
Column Count…4
Column Widths…1”;0”
Row Source Type…Table/Query
Row Source…SELECT [tblPersons].[ID], [tblPersons].[FirstName],
[tblPersons].[MiddleName], [tblPersons].[LastName] FROM tblPersons;

After Update…
Private Sub cboPersonID_AfterUpdate()
Me.FirstName.Value = Me.cboPersonID.Column(1)
End Sub

TextBox1… FirstName
TextBox2… MiddleName
TextBox3… LastName

TblPersons; ID, FirstName, MiddleName, LastName

TblNewPersons; ID, FirstName, MiddleName, LastName

  #16  
Old October 30th, 2004, 06:45 PM
ROB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I would like to select an ID number from cboPersonID and populate the
FirstName, MiddleName & LastName fields on the form with data from
tblPersons. Currently I can only populate one field. (FirstName or MiddleName
or LastName).

I know this is a bad example. It’s just a quick DB to learn how to perform
this function, it has no other purpose.

FrmNewPersons (for data input to tblNewPersons)

cboPersonID
Bound Column…1
Column Count…4
Column Widths…1”;0”
Row Source Type…Table/Query
Row Source…SELECT [tblPersons].[ID], [tblPersons].[FirstName],
[tblPersons].[MiddleName], [tblPersons].[LastName] FROM tblPersons;

After Update…
Private Sub cboPersonID_AfterUpdate()
Me.FirstName.Value = Me.cboPersonID.Column(1)
End Sub

TextBox1… FirstName
TextBox2… MiddleName
TextBox3…LastName

TblPersons; ID, FirstName, MiddleName, LastName

TblNewPersons; ID, FirstName, MiddleName, LastName

  #17  
Old October 31st, 2004, 06:34 PM
Ken Snell [MVP]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You just need to add additional code steps for the other textboxes:

Private Sub cboPersonID_AfterUpdate()
Me.FirstName.Value = Me.cboPersonID.Column(1)
Me.MiddleName.Value = Me.cboPersonID.Column(2)
Me.LastName.Value = Me.cboPersonID.Column(3)
End Sub


--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP

"ROB" wrote in message
...
I would like to select an ID number from cboPersonID and populate the
FirstName, MiddleName & LastName fields on the form with data from
tblPersons. Currently I can only populate one field. (FirstName or

MiddleName
or LastName).

I know this is a bad example. It's just a quick DB to learn how to

perform
this function, it has no other purpose.

FrmNewPersons (for data input to tblNewPersons)

cboPersonID
Bound Column.1
Column Count.4
Column Widths.1";0"
Row Source Type.Table/Query
Row Source.SELECT [tblPersons].[ID], [tblPersons].[FirstName],
[tblPersons].[MiddleName], [tblPersons].[LastName] FROM tblPersons;

After Update.
Private Sub cboPersonID_AfterUpdate()
Me.FirstName.Value = Me.cboPersonID.Column(1)
End Sub

TextBox1. FirstName
TextBox2. MiddleName
TextBox3.LastName

TblPersons; ID, FirstName, MiddleName, LastName

TblNewPersons; ID, FirstName, MiddleName, LastName



  #18  
Old November 1st, 2004, 04:39 PM
ROB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you.

"ROB" wrote:

I would like to select an ID number from cboPersonID and populate the
FirstName, MiddleName & LastName fields on the form with data from
tblPersons. Currently I can only populate one field. (FirstName or MiddleName
or LastName).

I know this is a bad example. It’s just a quick DB to learn how to perform
this function, it has no other purpose.

FrmNewPersons (for data input to tblNewPersons)

cboPersonID
Bound Column…1
Column Count…4
Column Widths…1”;0”
Row Source Type…Table/Query
Row Source…SELECT [tblPersons].[ID], [tblPersons].[FirstName],
[tblPersons].[MiddleName], [tblPersons].[LastName] FROM tblPersons;

After Update…
Private Sub cboPersonID_AfterUpdate()
Me.FirstName.Value = Me.cboPersonID.Column(1)
End Sub

TextBox1… FirstName
TextBox2… MiddleName
TextBox3…LastName

TblPersons; ID, FirstName, MiddleName, LastName

TblNewPersons; ID, FirstName, MiddleName, LastName

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessing a databse thru a webpage (newbie question) Chang General Discussion 1 August 23rd, 2004 09:10 AM
Data from Excel to Access Database Design 2 August 20th, 2004 12:53 PM
Useless Access 2003 tired, angry, sucidial and bored General Discussion 10 July 21st, 2004 11:52 PM
You do not have exclusive access... ERROR Robin General Discussion 1 July 6th, 2004 01:18 AM
Recommendations needed for installation order of Access XP, Access XP runtime, ... Mark Plantenberg Setup, Installing & Configuration 0 June 11th, 2004 11:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.