A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Button Event Procedure



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 20th, 2008, 10:41 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Mike from Moriches
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11
Default Button Event Procedure

While adding a form to a database, I couldn't get a button's "On Click"
Event Procedure to trigger. I went back to some previously working forms,
and their buttons now also won't trigger an event. Is there some master
setting that cripples events on forms? The buttons on the switchboards work
properly.
I'm a step up from a newbie in Access 2007, but this one puzzles me. Any
help will be appreciated.
Mike from Moriches

  #2  
Old August 20th, 2008, 11:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Damon Heron[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 237
Default Button Event Procedure

When you open the form in design view, and follow the event property to the
VB window, what is the code for the event?

Damon

"Mike from Moriches" wrote in message
...
While adding a form to a database, I couldn't get a button's "On Click"
Event Procedure to trigger. I went back to some previously working forms,
and their buttons now also won't trigger an event. Is there some master
setting that cripples events on forms? The buttons on the switchboards
work properly.
I'm a step up from a newbie in Access 2007, but this one puzzles me. Any
help will be appreciated.
Mike from Moriches



  #3  
Old August 21st, 2008, 12:46 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Mike from Moriches
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11
Default Button Event Procedure

In this example there is an unbound text box named Condo and a button named
Locate. Other forms that used to work, but no longer do, are similar.
* * * * * * * **
Private Sub btnLocate_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_btnLocate_Click
Dim gstrFindItem As String
Dim kondo As String
gstrFindItem = ""
'See if User entered a Condo number
If Not IsNothing(Me!Condo) Then
kondo = Me!Condo
gstrFindItem = "[CondoNo] LIKE " & Chr$(34) & kondo & "*" & Chr$(34)
GoTo work
End If
work:
DoCmd.OpenForm "frmOwnerArchitectural", , , gstrFindItem
Exit_btnLocate_Click:
Exit Sub
Err_btnLocate_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_btnLocate_Click
End Sub
* * * * * * * * * *
"Damon Heron" wrote in message
. ..
When you open the form in design view, and follow the event property to
the VB window, what is the code for the event?

Damon

"Mike from Moriches" wrote in message
...
While adding a form to a database, I couldn't get a button's "On Click"
Event Procedure to trigger. I went back to some previously working
forms, and their buttons now also won't trigger an event. Is there some
master setting that cripples events on forms? The buttons on the
switchboards work properly.
I'm a step up from a newbie in Access 2007, but this one puzzles me. Any
help will be appreciated.
Mike from Moriches




  #4  
Old August 21st, 2008, 02:25 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Linq Adams via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,474
Default Button Event Procedure

Were you originally running this app in an earlier version of Access? Have
you, perhaps, moved the database to a new folder on your hard drive or onto
another machine?

Code does not run in 2007 unless your database resides in a folder that has
been declared a “trusted” location.

To trust your folder, click:

Office Button (top left)
Access Options (bottom of dialog)
Trust Center (left)
Trust Center Settings (button)
Trusted Locations (left)
Add new location (button)

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000/2003

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200808/1

  #5  
Old August 21st, 2008, 12:09 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Mike from Moriches
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11
Default Button Event Procedure

Yes, it is listed in the "Trusted Locations" The application has been
working for many months. It's only been since I attempted to add a new
table with some new forms that the problem developed. The Switchboard
buttons do work, but none of the buttons on forms (at least all I tried)
work. It's weird.

"Linq Adams via AccessMonster.com" u28780@uwe wrote in message
news:88fa6f66694e3@uwe...
Were you originally running this app in an earlier version of Access? Have
you, perhaps, moved the database to a new folder on your hard drive or
onto
another machine?

Code does not run in 2007 unless your database resides in a folder that
has
been declared a “trusted” location.

To trust your folder, click:

Office Button (top left)
Access Options (bottom of dialog)
Trust Center (left)
Trust Center Settings (button)
Trusted Locations (left)
Add new location (button)

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000/2003

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200808/1


  #6  
Old August 21st, 2008, 04:16 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Linq Adams via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,474
Default Button Event Procedure

You're not approaching the 2 GB limit are you? Access starts doing all kinds
of weird things when this happens, literally running out of the internal
memory to do everyday things. If this isn't so, and with nothing having
changed, it sounds like some kind of corruption. I guess you need to do the
usual things. Import everything into a new, blank database; amazingly, this
simple act frequently eliminates corruption.

Do you have a backup copy, before the added table/forms, to go back to? If so,
back that one up and then try again, adding one object at a time, then
testing, to isolate the culprit, assuming it bombs again.

Good luck!

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000/2003

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200808/1

  #7  
Old August 22nd, 2008, 01:13 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Mike from Moriches
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 11
Default Button Event Procedure

It's 20,200 KB. Yes, I do have a backup, so I guess, I'll take that route.
If I do discover what caused the problem, I'll let you know. Thanks for
your time and help.
Mike

"Linq Adams via AccessMonster.com" u28780@uwe wrote in message
news:8901b0ecb6295@uwe...
You're not approaching the 2 GB limit are you? Access starts doing all
kinds
of weird things when this happens, literally running out of the internal
memory to do everyday things. If this isn't so, and with nothing having
changed, it sounds like some kind of corruption. I guess you need to do
the
usual things. Import everything into a new, blank database; amazingly,
this
simple act frequently eliminates corruption.

Do you have a backup copy, before the added table/forms, to go back to? If
so,
back that one up and then try again, adding one object at a time, then
testing, to isolate the culprit, assuming it bombs again.

Good luck!

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000/2003

Message posted via AccessMonster.com
http://www.accessmonster.com/Uwe/For...forms/200808/1


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.