A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Word » Tables
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Newbie Question on on tables



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 4th, 2006, 08:43 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 27
Default Newbie Question on on tables

I would like to print out a table which has the sequence in descending
alphabetical order in the first column as follows:-

1A
1B
1C

2A
2B
2C

3A
...etc until

41C

Thereafter , I would like the sequence to go:-
42A
42B
42C
42D
42E
42F

43A
....etc until
54F

Could anyone tell me how to arrange this , please ?


B.N.
  #2  
Old December 4th, 2006, 09:43 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Doug Robbins - Word MVP
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,239
Default Newbie Question on on tables

If you run a macro containing the following code, it will insert that
sequence of numbers into the cells in the first column of the table:

Dim i As Long, j As Long, k As Long
Dim atable As Table
Set atable = Selection.Tables(1)
k = 1
For i = 1 To 123 Step 3
For j = 1 To 3
atable.Cell(i + j - 1, 1).Range.InsertBefore k & Chr(64 + j)
Next j
k = k + 1
Next i
k = 42
For i = 124 To 201 Step 6
For j = 1 To 6
atable.Cell(i + j - 1, 1).Range.InsertBefore k & Chr(64 + j)
Next j
k = k + 1
Next i


--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP

wrote in message
...
I would like to print out a table which has the sequence in descending
alphabetical order in the first column as follows:-

1A
1B
1C

2A
2B
2C

3A
..etc until

41C

Thereafter , I would like the sequence to go:-
42A
42B
42C
42D
42E
42F

43A
...etc until
54F

Could anyone tell me how to arrange this , please ?


B.N.



  #3  
Old December 4th, 2006, 10:28 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 27
Default Newbie Question on on tables

On Mon, 4 Dec 2006 22:43:17 +0100, "Doug Robbins - Word MVP"
wrote:

If you run a macro containing the following code, it will insert that
sequence of numbers into the cells in the first column of the table:

Dim i As Long, j As Long, k As Long
Dim atable As Table
Set atable = Selection.Tables(1)
k = 1
For i = 1 To 123 Step 3
For j = 1 To 3
atable.Cell(i + j - 1, 1).Range.InsertBefore k & Chr(64 + j)
Next j
k = k + 1
Next i
k = 42
For i = 124 To 201 Step 6
For j = 1 To 6
atable.Cell(i + j - 1, 1).Range.InsertBefore k & Chr(64 + j)
Next j
k = k + 1
Next i



Mr Robbins ,

Thank you for the prompt reply.

However , I know nothing about running macros as I'm afraid I've
never used them before.

I have Word 2000 and have read the Help file which tells me to go to
Tools Macro Record New Macro but that's as far as I've got.

Could you tell me what to do after that, please ?

I would like to print out a page with the symbols mentioned running
down the left hand side of the page with each symbol , 1A,1B ...etc
separated from each other with a line across the page.

regards,

B.N.
  #4  
Old December 5th, 2006, 04:45 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Doug Robbins - Word MVP
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,239
Default Newbie Question on on tables

See the article "What do I do with macros sent to me by other newsgroup
readers to help me out?"
http://www.word.mvps.org/FAQs/Macros...eateAMacro.htm


--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP

wrote in message
...
On Mon, 4 Dec 2006 22:43:17 +0100, "Doug Robbins - Word MVP"
wrote:

If you run a macro containing the following code, it will insert that
sequence of numbers into the cells in the first column of the table:

Dim i As Long, j As Long, k As Long
Dim atable As Table
Set atable = Selection.Tables(1)
k = 1
For i = 1 To 123 Step 3
For j = 1 To 3
atable.Cell(i + j - 1, 1).Range.InsertBefore k & Chr(64 + j)
Next j
k = k + 1
Next i
k = 42
For i = 124 To 201 Step 6
For j = 1 To 6
atable.Cell(i + j - 1, 1).Range.InsertBefore k & Chr(64 + j)
Next j
k = k + 1
Next i



Mr Robbins ,

Thank you for the prompt reply.

However , I know nothing about running macros as I'm afraid I've
never used them before.

I have Word 2000 and have read the Help file which tells me to go to
Tools Macro Record New Macro but that's as far as I've got.

Could you tell me what to do after that, please ?

I would like to print out a page with the symbols mentioned running
down the left hand side of the page with each symbol , 1A,1B ...etc
separated from each other with a line across the page.

regards,

B.N.



  #5  
Old December 5th, 2006, 09:50 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 27
Default Newbie Question on on tables

On Tue, 5 Dec 2006 05:45:35 +0100, "Doug Robbins - Word MVP"
wrote:

See the article "What do I do with macros sent to me by other newsgroup
readers to help me out?"
http://www.word.mvps.org/FAQs/Macros...eateAMacro.htm


Thanks, I'll have a look.

B.N.

  #6  
Old December 5th, 2006, 04:00 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 27
Default Newbie Question on on tables

On Tue, 05 Dec 2006 09:50:48 +0000, wrote:

On Tue, 5 Dec 2006 05:45:35 +0100, "Doug Robbins - Word MVP"
wrote:

See the article "What do I do with macros sent to me by other newsgroup
readers to help me out?"
http://www.word.mvps.org/FAQs/Macros...eateAMacro.htm

Thanks, I'll have a look.

B.N.


Following the advice given in the URL above I arrive with the
following:-



Sub Macro1()
'
' Macro1 Macro
' Macro created 05/12/2006 by Bill Nelson
'

End Sub

Again following the advice as above , I deleted the two lines between
"Sub Macro1() " & "End Sub" into which I then pasted your code given
in your post after removing all the "" symbols which preceeded each
line.

I thus arrived at the following :-



Sub Macro1()


Dim i As Long, j As Long, k As Long
Dim atable As Table
Set atable = Selection.Tables(1)
k = 1
For i = 1 To 123 Step 3
For j = 1 To 3
atable.Cell(i + j - 1, 1).Range.InsertBefore k & Chr(64 + j)
Next j
k = k + 1
Next i
k = 42
For i = 124 To 201 Step 6
For j = 1 To 6
atable.Cell(i + j - 1, 1).Range.InsertBefore k & Chr(64 + j)
Next j
k = k + 1
Next i


End Sub

When I now attempt to run this -( by clicking F5 - is this correct ? )
- I get the error :-
"Run-time error '5941' the requested member of the collection does not
exist "

If I now click "DEBUG" I get the line "Set atable = Selection Tables
(1) " highlighted in yellow.

I'm afraid I don't understand any of this !

B.N.


  #7  
Old December 5th, 2006, 06:22 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Suzanne S. Barnhill
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 31,786
Default Newbie Question on on tables

In case there's not an error in the macro but in your implementation of it,
you might see http://www.gmayor.com/installing_macro.htm, which details a
different method.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

wrote in message
...
On Tue, 05 Dec 2006 09:50:48 +0000, wrote:

On Tue, 5 Dec 2006 05:45:35 +0100, "Doug Robbins - Word MVP"
wrote:

See the article "What do I do with macros sent to me by other newsgroup
readers to help me out?"
http://www.word.mvps.org/FAQs/Macros...eateAMacro.htm

Thanks, I'll have a look.

B.N.


Following the advice given in the URL above I arrive with the
following:-



Sub Macro1()
'
' Macro1 Macro
' Macro created 05/12/2006 by Bill Nelson
'

End Sub

Again following the advice as above , I deleted the two lines between
"Sub Macro1() " & "End Sub" into which I then pasted your code given
in your post after removing all the "" symbols which preceeded each
line.

I thus arrived at the following :-



Sub Macro1()


Dim i As Long, j As Long, k As Long
Dim atable As Table
Set atable = Selection.Tables(1)
k = 1
For i = 1 To 123 Step 3
For j = 1 To 3
atable.Cell(i + j - 1, 1).Range.InsertBefore k & Chr(64 + j)
Next j
k = k + 1
Next i
k = 42
For i = 124 To 201 Step 6
For j = 1 To 6
atable.Cell(i + j - 1, 1).Range.InsertBefore k & Chr(64 + j)
Next j
k = k + 1
Next i


End Sub

When I now attempt to run this -( by clicking F5 - is this correct ? )
- I get the error :-
"Run-time error '5941' the requested member of the collection does not
exist "

If I now click "DEBUG" I get the line "Set atable = Selection Tables
(1) " highlighted in yellow.

I'm afraid I don't understand any of this !

B.N.



  #8  
Old December 5th, 2006, 06:59 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Doug Robbins - Word MVP
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,239
Default Newbie Question on on tables

Seems like you do not have the table in the document or the selection
(Cursor) in the table. The macro also assumes that the table already
contains the required number of rows.

The macro can be modified to add the necessary rows, but it would be best to
start with at least one row in the table, which would probably be a header
row anyway. That row should contain the required number of columns and
probably the columns widths adjusted to the requirements.

The following modified macro will add the necessary rows to the table
inserting the required number in the first cell of each row. Once again,
the cursor must be in the table when the macro is run.

--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP

wrote in message
...
On Tue, 05 Dec 2006 09:50:48 +0000, wrote:

On Tue, 5 Dec 2006 05:45:35 +0100, "Doug Robbins - Word MVP"
wrote:

See the article "What do I do with macros sent to me by other newsgroup
readers to help me out?"
http://www.word.mvps.org/FAQs/Macros...eateAMacro.htm

Thanks, I'll have a look.

B.N.


Following the advice given in the URL above I arrive with the
following:-



Sub Macro1()
'
' Macro1 Macro
' Macro created 05/12/2006 by Bill Nelson
'

End Sub

Again following the advice as above , I deleted the two lines between
"Sub Macro1() " & "End Sub" into which I then pasted your code given
in your post after removing all the "" symbols which preceeded each
line.

I thus arrived at the following :-



Sub Macro1()


Dim i As Long, j As Long, k As Long
Dim atable As Table
Set atable = Selection.Tables(1)
k = 1
For i = 1 To 123 Step 3
For j = 1 To 3
atable.Cell(i + j - 1, 1).Range.InsertBefore k & Chr(64 + j)
Next j
k = k + 1
Next i
k = 42
For i = 124 To 201 Step 6
For j = 1 To 6
atable.Cell(i + j - 1, 1).Range.InsertBefore k & Chr(64 + j)
Next j
k = k + 1
Next i


End Sub

When I now attempt to run this -( by clicking F5 - is this correct ? )
- I get the error :-
"Run-time error '5941' the requested member of the collection does not
exist "

If I now click "DEBUG" I get the line "Set atable = Selection Tables
(1) " highlighted in yellow.

I'm afraid I don't understand any of this !

B.N.




  #9  
Old December 5th, 2006, 10:16 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 27
Default Newbie Question on on tables

On Tue, 5 Dec 2006 19:59:19 +0100, "Doug Robbins - Word MVP"
wrote:

Seems like you do not have the table in the document or the selection
(Cursor) in the table. The macro also assumes that the table already
contains the required number of rows.

The macro can be modified to add the necessary rows, but it would be best to
start with at least one row in the table, which would probably be a header
row anyway. That row should contain the required number of columns and
probably the columns widths adjusted to the requirements.

The following modified macro will add the necessary rows to the table
inserting the required number in the first cell of each row. Once again,
the cursor must be in the table when the macro is run.


Do you mean that to have the macro you quote create the table I
requested , it is first necessary to form a table with the initial
column headings created and THEN run the macro ?

I had assumed , in my total ignorance of macros , that your code would
have created the table from scratch without any preliminary work on
the original blank document.

I'll try this and see what happens.

B.N.
  #10  
Old December 6th, 2006, 04:44 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Doug Robbins - Word MVP
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,239
Default Newbie Question on on tables

Yes. I have no idea how many columns you need in the table.

--
Hope this helps.

Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of my
services on a paid consulting basis.

Doug Robbins - Word MVP

wrote in message
...
On Tue, 5 Dec 2006 19:59:19 +0100, "Doug Robbins - Word MVP"
wrote:

Seems like you do not have the table in the document or the selection
(Cursor) in the table. The macro also assumes that the table already
contains the required number of rows.

The macro can be modified to add the necessary rows, but it would be best
to
start with at least one row in the table, which would probably be a header
row anyway. That row should contain the required number of columns and
probably the columns widths adjusted to the requirements.

The following modified macro will add the necessary rows to the table
inserting the required number in the first cell of each row. Once again,
the cursor must be in the table when the macro is run.


Do you mean that to have the macro you quote create the table I
requested , it is first necessary to form a table with the initial
column headings created and THEN run the macro ?

I had assumed , in my total ignorance of macros , that your code would
have created the table from scratch without any preliminary work on
the original blank document.

I'll try this and see what happens.

B.N.



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.