A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Relink tables



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 28th, 2004, 06:17 PM
Ray
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Relink tables

I have a split database and need to send to other office to use. In that
office, they do not install link manager so they are unable to change the
table path. The back-end database is located in the folder of "Data" under
the front-end database. Can someone advise how to relink the table without
link manager installed.

Thanks,

Ray


  #2  
Old July 28th, 2004, 08:35 PM
Roger Carlson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Relink tables

On my website (see sig below) called "RelinkOnOpen.mdb" which illustrates
how to do this.

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot Org

"Ray" wrote in message
...
I have a split database and need to send to other office to use. In that
office, they do not install link manager so they are unable to change the
table path. The back-end database is located in the folder of "Data"

under
the front-end database. Can someone advise how to relink the table

without
link manager installed.

Thanks,

Ray




  #3  
Old July 29th, 2004, 08:42 AM
Larry Daugherty
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Relink tables

Hi Ray,

go to www.mvps.org/access and search for "relink tables" or some variant
thereof. You'll find some code contributed by Ken Getz. The solution may
initially seem cumbersome and overkill, but it isn't. You can copy that
code into a module in your project and modify it to suit. It will solve the
relinking problems beautifully, including bringing up a dialog for the user
to navigate to the back end if necessary.

HTH
--
-Larry-
--

"Ray" wrote in message
...
I have a split database and need to send to other office to use. In that
office, they do not install link manager so they are unable to change the
table path. The back-end database is located in the folder of "Data"

under
the front-end database. Can someone advise how to relink the table

without
link manager installed.

Thanks,

Ray




  #4  
Old August 2nd, 2004, 05:49 PM
Ray
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Relink tables

Roger,

Thanks for your advice and I have downloaded the sample program for trial
test.

I have two questions:

1. Is it workable on Access 97?
2. Do I have to put the back-end database in the folder of Privodata and
it is right under the front-end database?

Thanks,

Ray

"Roger Carlson" wrote in message
...
On my website (see sig below) called "RelinkOnOpen.mdb" which illustrates
how to do this.

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot Org

"Ray" wrote in message
...
I have a split database and need to send to other office to use. In

that
office, they do not install link manager so they are unable to change

the
table path. The back-end database is located in the folder of "Data"

under
the front-end database. Can someone advise how to relink the table

without
link manager installed.

Thanks,

Ray






  #5  
Old August 2nd, 2004, 06:29 PM
Ray
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Relink tables

Larry,

It sounds what I need. I visited the website and read the example but
unsure if I fully understand what should I do. Let me check my
understanding with you if you don't mind. Firstly, copy the codes of Relink
Access Tables from code in a new module. The example asks for running this
code at startup - how can I do it. Secondly, in Call the standard Windows
File Open/Save dialog box (GetOpenFileName) example, copy the code given in
a new module and set the module name as GetOpenFileName. Your further
enlightenment is highly appreciated.

Thanks,

Ray

"Larry Daugherty" wrote in message
...
Hi Ray,

go to www.mvps.org/access and search for "relink tables" or some variant
thereof. You'll find some code contributed by Ken Getz. The solution may
initially seem cumbersome and overkill, but it isn't. You can copy that
code into a module in your project and modify it to suit. It will solve

the
relinking problems beautifully, including bringing up a dialog for the

user
to navigate to the back end if necessary.

HTH
--
-Larry-
--

"Ray" wrote in message
...
I have a split database and need to send to other office to use. In

that
office, they do not install link manager so they are unable to change

the
table path. The back-end database is located in the folder of "Data"

under
the front-end database. Can someone advise how to relink the table

without
link manager installed.

Thanks,

Ray






  #6  
Old August 10th, 2004, 02:09 PM
Roger Carlson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Relink tables

Sorry for the delay in answering. I've been out of the office.

1. Yes, there is an Access 97 version
2. This particular sample DOES require that the back-end be in a folder
called Pivotdata underneath the folder where the Front-end resides.
HOWEVER, this is just a requirement of the sample because I programmed it
that way. The back-end can be ANYWHERE you want it to be. You just have to
set the paths correctly.

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot Org

"Ray" wrote in message
...
Roger,

Thanks for your advice and I have downloaded the sample program for trial
test.

I have two questions:

1. Is it workable on Access 97?
2. Do I have to put the back-end database in the folder of Privodata

and
it is right under the front-end database?

Thanks,

Ray

"Roger Carlson" wrote in message
...
On my website (see sig below) called "RelinkOnOpen.mdb" which

illustrates
how to do this.

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot Org

"Ray" wrote in message
...
I have a split database and need to send to other office to use. In

that
office, they do not install link manager so they are unable to change

the
table path. The back-end database is located in the folder of "Data"

under
the front-end database. Can someone advise how to relink the table

without
link manager installed.

Thanks,

Ray








  #7  
Old August 10th, 2004, 02:30 PM
Roger Carlson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Relink tables

Whups! I'm sorry, there is NOT a 97 version. I created it after I stopped
adding or modifying 97 samples. However, the method WILL work in Access 97
as I am using DAO and not using any 2000 specific actions. If you can open
it in 2000, you should be able to convert it backwards to 97.

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot Org

"Roger Carlson" wrote in message
...
Sorry for the delay in answering. I've been out of the office.

1. Yes, there is an Access 97 version
2. This particular sample DOES require that the back-end be in a folder
called Pivotdata underneath the folder where the Front-end resides.
HOWEVER, this is just a requirement of the sample because I programmed it
that way. The back-end can be ANYWHERE you want it to be. You just have

to
set the paths correctly.

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot Org

"Ray" wrote in message
...
Roger,

Thanks for your advice and I have downloaded the sample program for

trial
test.

I have two questions:

1. Is it workable on Access 97?
2. Do I have to put the back-end database in the folder of Privodata

and
it is right under the front-end database?

Thanks,

Ray

"Roger Carlson" wrote in message
...
On my website (see sig below) called "RelinkOnOpen.mdb" which

illustrates
how to do this.

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot Org

"Ray" wrote in message
...
I have a split database and need to send to other office to use. In

that
office, they do not install link manager so they are unable to

change
the
table path. The back-end database is located in the folder of

"Data"
under
the front-end database. Can someone advise how to relink the table
without
link manager installed.

Thanks,

Ray










 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
searching for "join tables" and "join word tables" Uncle Bill Tables 1 June 11th, 2004 09:33 PM
Limit to Number of Tables T'Kai Database Design 1 June 8th, 2004 03:44 PM
How do I design a database based on the information that will be stored? - Copy of Tables and hirearchies.zip (0/1) Jim Database Design 1 June 1st, 2004 01:44 PM
Separate database for tables? Holly Clifton Database Design 3 May 18th, 2004 06:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.