A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Word » Tables
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Splitting Tables



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 5th, 2006, 07:34 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Splitting Tables

Thank you for reading this post.

I know it is possible to split a table horizontally. Is there a way a table
could be split vertically?




  #2  
Old July 5th, 2006, 09:23 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Splitting Tables

No, there is no "split table vertically" command in Word. But you can
use cut and paste to create a separate table out of selected columns
(or selected cells). Then paste at the location where you want the
table. Note that there must be at least two paragraph marks (¶)
between the location where you are pasting and the original table;
otherwise, the two tables will merge horizontally as you paste.

If you want the new table beside the old one, do the following to wrap
it: Choose Table | Table Properties. Click the Table tab, and choose
"Around" at "Text wrapping." Use the Options dialog box (click the
Options button) to position the table or drag it with the mouse.

Alternatively, you can create the illusion of a "vertically split"
table: Just insert a new column at the "break point" and remove the
horizontal borders of that column.

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP


"jpreman" wrote in message
...
Thank you for reading this post.

I know it is possible to split a table horizontally. Is there a way

a table
could be split vertically?














  #3  
Old July 5th, 2006, 09:37 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Splitting Tables

Hi jpreman,

If you need to split a table because you've changed the page size and the
table's now too wide, I have a macro I've coded to deal with that. It isn't
coded to handle tables with cells merged across columns, and is designed to
replicate the left-most column for each new table. If that's what you're
trying to achieve, let me know and I'll post the code.

Cheers

--
macropod
[MVP - Microsoft Word]


"jpreman" wrote in message
...
Thank you for reading this post.

I know it is possible to split a table horizontally. Is there a way a

table
could be split vertically?






  #4  
Old July 5th, 2006, 12:06 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Splitting Tables

Hi Stefan,

Thanks for your response and it solved my issue.


"Stefan Blom" wrote:

No, there is no "split table vertically" command in Word. But you can
use cut and paste to create a separate table out of selected columns
(or selected cells). Then paste at the location where you want the
table. Note that there must be at least two paragraph marks (¶)
between the location where you are pasting and the original table;
otherwise, the two tables will merge horizontally as you paste.

If you want the new table beside the old one, do the following to wrap
it: Choose Table | Table Properties. Click the Table tab, and choose
"Around" at "Text wrapping." Use the Options dialog box (click the
Options button) to position the table or drag it with the mouse.

Alternatively, you can create the illusion of a "vertically split"
table: Just insert a new column at the "break point" and remove the
horizontal borders of that column.

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP


"jpreman" wrote in message
...
Thank you for reading this post.

I know it is possible to split a table horizontally. Is there a way

a table
could be split vertically?















  #5  
Old July 5th, 2006, 12:10 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Splitting Tables

Hi macropod,

Thanks for your response.

Though it was not my immediate issue, I have faced what you have referred at
many a times. I am sure the macro you have will be of much use to me.



"macropod" wrote:

Hi jpreman,

If you need to split a table because you've changed the page size and the
table's now too wide, I have a macro I've coded to deal with that. It isn't
coded to handle tables with cells merged across columns, and is designed to
replicate the left-most column for each new table. If that's what you're
trying to achieve, let me know and I'll post the code.

Cheers

--
macropod
[MVP - Microsoft Word]


"jpreman" wrote in message
...
Thank you for reading this post.

I know it is possible to split a table horizontally. Is there a way a

table
could be split vertically?







  #6  
Old July 5th, 2006, 12:11 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Splitting Tables

Glad I could help.

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP


"jpreman" wrote in message
...
Hi Stefan,

Thanks for your response and it solved my issue.


"Stefan Blom" wrote:

No, there is no "split table vertically" command in Word. But you

can
use cut and paste to create a separate table out of selected

columns
(or selected cells). Then paste at the location where you want the
table. Note that there must be at least two paragraph marks (¶)
between the location where you are pasting and the original table;
otherwise, the two tables will merge horizontally as you paste.

If you want the new table beside the old one, do the following to

wrap
it: Choose Table | Table Properties. Click the Table tab, and

choose
"Around" at "Text wrapping." Use the Options dialog box (click the
Options button) to position the table or drag it with the mouse.

Alternatively, you can create the illusion of a "vertically split"
table: Just insert a new column at the "break point" and remove

the
horizontal borders of that column.

--
Stefan Blom
Microsoft Word MVP


"jpreman" wrote in message
...
Thank you for reading this post.

I know it is possible to split a table horizontally. Is there a

way
a table
could be split vertically?


















  #7  
Old July 5th, 2006, 02:29 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Splitting Tables

Hi jpreman,

The following macro vertically splits all tables in a document that exceed
the horizontal print margins, replicating the first column along the way.
Single-column and two-column tables, including any generated by the split
process, are ignored. Note the 6 lines marked with an '*'. You can delete
these if column 1 is not to be replicated.

You may have to fix the odd line that gets wrapped where it shouldn't as a
result of the posting, but that shouldn't be too difficult.

Sub TableSplit()
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Dim oLeftMargin As Single, oRightMargin As Single, oGutter As Single
Dim oPageWidth As Single, oPrintWidth As Single, oTableWidth As Single
Dim oTable, oCounter As Integer, i As Integer, j As Integer
If ActiveDocument.Tables.Count = 0 Then Exit Sub
With ActiveDocument.PageSetup
oLeftMargin = .LeftMargin
oRightMargin = .RightMargin
oGutter = .Gutter
oPageWidth = .PageWidth
End With
oPrintWidth = oPageWidth - oLeftMargin - oRightMargin - oGutter
oCounter = 1
Restart:
For j = oCounter To ActiveDocument.Tables.Count
oTable = ActiveDocument.Tables(j)
With ActiveDocument.Tables(j)
.AllowAutoFit = False
.PreferredWidth = 0
End With
oTableWidth = 0
If oTable.Columns.Count 3 Then GoTo SkipTable
For i = 1 To oTable.Columns.Count
oTableWidth = oTableWidth + oTable.Columns(i).Width
If oTableWidth oPrintWidth Then
oTableWidth = oTableWidth - oTable.Columns(i).Width
oTable.Columns(i).Select
With Selection
.MoveRight Unit:=wdCharacter, Count:=oTable.Columns.Count - i + 1,
Extend:=wdExtend
.Copy
.Columns.Delete
.MoveDown Unit:=wdLine, Count:=oTable.Rows.Count
.InsertParagraph
.MoveDown Unit:=wdLine, Count:=1
.Paste
End With
oCounter = j
'Delete the next 6 lines (marked '*) if column 1 is not to be
replicated
oTable.Columns(1).Select '*
With Selection '*
.Copy '*
.MoveDown Unit:=wdLine, Count:=2'*
.Paste '*
End With '*
GoTo Restart
End If
Next
SkipTable:
Next
Application.ScreenUpdating = True
End Sub

Cheers

--
macropod
[MVP - Microsoft Word]


"jpreman" wrote in message
...
Hi macropod,

Thanks for your response.

Though it was not my immediate issue, I have faced what you have referred

at
many a times. I am sure the macro you have will be of much use to me.



"macropod" wrote:

Hi jpreman,

If you need to split a table because you've changed the page size and

the
table's now too wide, I have a macro I've coded to deal with that. It

isn't
coded to handle tables with cells merged across columns, and is designed

to
replicate the left-most column for each new table. If that's what you're
trying to achieve, let me know and I'll post the code.

Cheers

--
macropod
[MVP - Microsoft Word]


"jpreman" wrote in message
...
Thank you for reading this post.

I know it is possible to split a table horizontally. Is there a way a

table
could be split vertically?









  #8  
Old July 7th, 2006, 04:40 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Splitting Tables

Hi Macropod,

Thank you very much for the macro. I am sure it will be of grate help to me.

Cheers

"macropod" wrote:

Hi jpreman,

The following macro vertically splits all tables in a document that exceed
the horizontal print margins, replicating the first column along the way.
Single-column and two-column tables, including any generated by the split
process, are ignored. Note the 6 lines marked with an '*'. You can delete
these if column 1 is not to be replicated.

You may have to fix the odd line that gets wrapped where it shouldn't as a
result of the posting, but that shouldn't be too difficult.

Sub TableSplit()
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Dim oLeftMargin As Single, oRightMargin As Single, oGutter As Single
Dim oPageWidth As Single, oPrintWidth As Single, oTableWidth As Single
Dim oTable, oCounter As Integer, i As Integer, j As Integer
If ActiveDocument.Tables.Count = 0 Then Exit Sub
With ActiveDocument.PageSetup
oLeftMargin = .LeftMargin
oRightMargin = .RightMargin
oGutter = .Gutter
oPageWidth = .PageWidth
End With
oPrintWidth = oPageWidth - oLeftMargin - oRightMargin - oGutter
oCounter = 1
Restart:
For j = oCounter To ActiveDocument.Tables.Count
oTable = ActiveDocument.Tables(j)
With ActiveDocument.Tables(j)
.AllowAutoFit = False
.PreferredWidth = 0
End With
oTableWidth = 0
If oTable.Columns.Count 3 Then GoTo SkipTable
For i = 1 To oTable.Columns.Count
oTableWidth = oTableWidth + oTable.Columns(i).Width
If oTableWidth oPrintWidth Then
oTableWidth = oTableWidth - oTable.Columns(i).Width
oTable.Columns(i).Select
With Selection
.MoveRight Unit:=wdCharacter, Count:=oTable.Columns.Count - i + 1,
Extend:=wdExtend
.Copy
.Columns.Delete
.MoveDown Unit:=wdLine, Count:=oTable.Rows.Count
.InsertParagraph
.MoveDown Unit:=wdLine, Count:=1
.Paste
End With
oCounter = j
'Delete the next 6 lines (marked '*) if column 1 is not to be
replicated
oTable.Columns(1).Select '*
With Selection '*
.Copy '*
.MoveDown Unit:=wdLine, Count:=2'*
.Paste '*
End With '*
GoTo Restart
End If
Next
SkipTable:
Next
Application.ScreenUpdating = True
End Sub

Cheers

--
macropod
[MVP - Microsoft Word]


"jpreman" wrote in message
...
Hi macropod,

Thanks for your response.

Though it was not my immediate issue, I have faced what you have referred

at
many a times. I am sure the macro you have will be of much use to me.



"macropod" wrote:

Hi jpreman,

If you need to split a table because you've changed the page size and

the
table's now too wide, I have a macro I've coded to deal with that. It

isn't
coded to handle tables with cells merged across columns, and is designed

to
replicate the left-most column for each new table. If that's what you're
trying to achieve, let me know and I'll post the code.

Cheers

--
macropod
[MVP - Microsoft Word]


"jpreman" wrote in message
...
Thank you for reading this post.

I know it is possible to split a table horizontally. Is there a way a
table
could be split vertically?










 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
splitting tables w an update or append query DawnTreader Running & Setting Up Queries 1 June 17th, 2006 09:43 AM
XP problem. Linking tables to more than one mdb. HELP cassie General Discussion 1 April 13th, 2005 02:42 AM
Many to many reationship design? Dave Database Design 4 January 19th, 2005 12:11 AM
Help with Junction Tables and Subforms Maureen Smith New Users 11 September 23rd, 2004 02:39 PM
Multiple Many-To-Many Tables Tom Database Design 7 May 15th, 2004 03:47 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.