A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

"wherecondition" seems to be ignored



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 22nd, 2005, 12:26 AM
Bob Howard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default "wherecondition" seems to be ignored

Hi all (A2K win98se);

I have a main form with three button opening the same secondary form ---
each requires a different subset of the same data.

For "simplicity" I defined one query (with no criteria, hence no Where
clause was generated in the query itself) to be used as the RecordSource of
the secondary form. And I put a "wherecondition" in each of the three
openforms in the main form.

The problem is that the "wherecondition" is being ignored.

Here's an example of one of them:

DoCmd.OpenForm "Donation Process Form", , , "[Deposit Year Table].[Is Year
Open?] = 'Yes' AND [Deposit Batch Table].[Batch Type] = 'D'"

When this failed, I tried an applyfilter in the OnOpen event of the
seconrdary form (applying one of the three filters depending on which data
subset would be used --- I determined this from a parameter passed to the
secondary form). Here's an example of the applyfilter I coded in the OnOpen
event:

DoCmd.ApplyFilter , "Donation Process Form", , , "[Deposit Year Table].[Is
Year Open?] = 'Yes' AND [Deposit Batch Table].[Batch Type] = 'D'"

Please note in the above that I coded the comma so this would be treated as
a wherecondition.

This also accomplished nothing.

So I broke down and created three identical queries, set the criteria in
each, and now I set the RecordSource in the OnOpen event to point to the
correct query. I don't like that because it's a waste of resources and
makes subsequent maintenance difficult since if anything changes, I need to
reflect the identical change in three queries.

Any clues as to what I'm doing wrong??

Bob )


  #2  
Old May 22nd, 2005, 01:25 AM
Ken Snell [MVP]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Guessing that your [Is Year Open?] field is a "yes/no" field? If so, try
this:

DoCmd.OpenForm "Donation Process Form", , , "[Deposit Year Table].[Is Year
Open?] = True AND [Deposit Batch Table].[Batch Type] = 'D'"

--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP


"Bob Howard" wrote in message
...
Hi all (A2K win98se);

I have a main form with three button opening the same secondary form ---
each requires a different subset of the same data.

For "simplicity" I defined one query (with no criteria, hence no Where
clause was generated in the query itself) to be used as the RecordSource
of
the secondary form. And I put a "wherecondition" in each of the three
openforms in the main form.

The problem is that the "wherecondition" is being ignored.

Here's an example of one of them:

DoCmd.OpenForm "Donation Process Form", , , "[Deposit Year Table].[Is Year
Open?] = 'Yes' AND [Deposit Batch Table].[Batch Type] = 'D'"

When this failed, I tried an applyfilter in the OnOpen event of the
seconrdary form (applying one of the three filters depending on which data
subset would be used --- I determined this from a parameter passed to the
secondary form). Here's an example of the applyfilter I coded in the
OnOpen
event:

DoCmd.ApplyFilter , "Donation Process Form", , , "[Deposit Year Table].[Is
Year Open?] = 'Yes' AND [Deposit Batch Table].[Batch Type] = 'D'"

Please note in the above that I coded the comma so this would be treated
as
a wherecondition.

This also accomplished nothing.

So I broke down and created three identical queries, set the criteria in
each, and now I set the RecordSource in the OnOpen event to point to the
correct query. I don't like that because it's a waste of resources and
makes subsequent maintenance difficult since if anything changes, I need
to
reflect the identical change in three queries.

Any clues as to what I'm doing wrong??

Bob )




  #3  
Old May 22nd, 2005, 03:16 AM
Bob Howard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well, actually it's a required 3-character text field containing either
"Yes" or "No" (the validation rule specifies accordingly)...

I guess I'm sort of a simple soul....

Bob.

"Ken Snell [MVP]" wrote in message
...
Guessing that your [Is Year Open?] field is a "yes/no" field? If so, try
this:

DoCmd.OpenForm "Donation Process Form", , , "[Deposit Year Table].[Is Year
Open?] = True AND [Deposit Batch Table].[Batch Type] = 'D'"

--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP


"Bob Howard" wrote in message
...
Hi all (A2K win98se);

I have a main form with three button opening the same secondary form ---
each requires a different subset of the same data.

For "simplicity" I defined one query (with no criteria, hence no Where
clause was generated in the query itself) to be used as the RecordSource
of
the secondary form. And I put a "wherecondition" in each of the three
openforms in the main form.

The problem is that the "wherecondition" is being ignored.

Here's an example of one of them:

DoCmd.OpenForm "Donation Process Form", , , "[Deposit Year Table].[Is

Year
Open?] = 'Yes' AND [Deposit Batch Table].[Batch Type] = 'D'"

When this failed, I tried an applyfilter in the OnOpen event of the
seconrdary form (applying one of the three filters depending on which

data
subset would be used --- I determined this from a parameter passed to

the
secondary form). Here's an example of the applyfilter I coded in the
OnOpen
event:

DoCmd.ApplyFilter , "Donation Process Form", , , "[Deposit Year

Table].[Is
Year Open?] = 'Yes' AND [Deposit Batch Table].[Batch Type] = 'D'"

Please note in the above that I coded the comma so this would be treated
as
a wherecondition.

This also accomplished nothing.

So I broke down and created three identical queries, set the criteria in
each, and now I set the RecordSource in the OnOpen event to point to the
correct query. I don't like that because it's a waste of resources and
makes subsequent maintenance difficult since if anything changes, I need
to
reflect the identical change in three queries.

Any clues as to what I'm doing wrong??

Bob )






  #4  
Old May 22nd, 2005, 03:20 AM
Bob Howard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

BTW, my A2K is part of Office 2K-Pro, SR1... Bob.

"Bob Howard" wrote in message
...
Hi all (A2K win98se);

I have a main form with three button opening the same secondary form ---
each requires a different subset of the same data.

For "simplicity" I defined one query (with no criteria, hence no Where
clause was generated in the query itself) to be used as the RecordSource

of
the secondary form. And I put a "wherecondition" in each of the three
openforms in the main form.

The problem is that the "wherecondition" is being ignored.

Here's an example of one of them:

DoCmd.OpenForm "Donation Process Form", , , "[Deposit Year Table].[Is Year
Open?] = 'Yes' AND [Deposit Batch Table].[Batch Type] = 'D'"

When this failed, I tried an applyfilter in the OnOpen event of the
seconrdary form (applying one of the three filters depending on which data
subset would be used --- I determined this from a parameter passed to the
secondary form). Here's an example of the applyfilter I coded in the

OnOpen
event:

DoCmd.ApplyFilter , "Donation Process Form", , , "[Deposit Year Table].[Is
Year Open?] = 'Yes' AND [Deposit Batch Table].[Batch Type] = 'D'"

Please note in the above that I coded the comma so this would be treated

as
a wherecondition.

This also accomplished nothing.

So I broke down and created three identical queries, set the criteria in
each, and now I set the RecordSource in the OnOpen event to point to the
correct query. I don't like that because it's a waste of resources and
makes subsequent maintenance difficult since if anything changes, I need

to
reflect the identical change in three queries.

Any clues as to what I'm doing wrong??

Bob )




  #5  
Old May 22nd, 2005, 05:25 AM
Bob Howard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks anyway, but I just discovered this is a bug in SR-1 documented (along
with the workaround) in MSKB article 269380. Bob.

"Bob Howard" wrote in message
...
Hi all (A2K win98se);

I have a main form with three button opening the same secondary form ---
each requires a different subset of the same data.

For "simplicity" I defined one query (with no criteria, hence no Where
clause was generated in the query itself) to be used as the RecordSource

of
the secondary form. And I put a "wherecondition" in each of the three
openforms in the main form.

The problem is that the "wherecondition" is being ignored.

Here's an example of one of them:

DoCmd.OpenForm "Donation Process Form", , , "[Deposit Year Table].[Is Year
Open?] = 'Yes' AND [Deposit Batch Table].[Batch Type] = 'D'"

When this failed, I tried an applyfilter in the OnOpen event of the
seconrdary form (applying one of the three filters depending on which data
subset would be used --- I determined this from a parameter passed to the
secondary form). Here's an example of the applyfilter I coded in the

OnOpen
event:

DoCmd.ApplyFilter , "Donation Process Form", , , "[Deposit Year Table].[Is
Year Open?] = 'Yes' AND [Deposit Batch Table].[Batch Type] = 'D'"

Please note in the above that I coded the comma so this would be treated

as
a wherecondition.

This also accomplished nothing.

So I broke down and created three identical queries, set the criteria in
each, and now I set the RecordSource in the OnOpen event to point to the
correct query. I don't like that because it's a waste of resources and
makes subsequent maintenance difficult since if anything changes, I need

to
reflect the identical change in three queries.

Any clues as to what I'm doing wrong??

Bob )




  #6  
Old May 22nd, 2005, 05:29 AM
Ken Snell [MVP]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Post the SQL of the successful queries and let's see what might be the
difference between them and your "WHERE CONDITION" for the forms.

--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP

"Bob Howard" wrote in message
...
Well, actually it's a required 3-character text field containing either
"Yes" or "No" (the validation rule specifies accordingly)...

I guess I'm sort of a simple soul....

Bob.

"Ken Snell [MVP]" wrote in message
...
Guessing that your [Is Year Open?] field is a "yes/no" field? If so, try
this:

DoCmd.OpenForm "Donation Process Form", , , "[Deposit Year Table].[Is
Year
Open?] = True AND [Deposit Batch Table].[Batch Type] = 'D'"

--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP


"Bob Howard" wrote in message
...
Hi all (A2K win98se);

I have a main form with three button opening the same secondary
form ---
each requires a different subset of the same data.

For "simplicity" I defined one query (with no criteria, hence no Where
clause was generated in the query itself) to be used as the
RecordSource
of
the secondary form. And I put a "wherecondition" in each of the three
openforms in the main form.

The problem is that the "wherecondition" is being ignored.

Here's an example of one of them:

DoCmd.OpenForm "Donation Process Form", , , "[Deposit Year Table].[Is

Year
Open?] = 'Yes' AND [Deposit Batch Table].[Batch Type] = 'D'"

When this failed, I tried an applyfilter in the OnOpen event of the
seconrdary form (applying one of the three filters depending on which

data
subset would be used --- I determined this from a parameter passed to

the
secondary form). Here's an example of the applyfilter I coded in the
OnOpen
event:

DoCmd.ApplyFilter , "Donation Process Form", , , "[Deposit Year

Table].[Is
Year Open?] = 'Yes' AND [Deposit Batch Table].[Batch Type] = 'D'"

Please note in the above that I coded the comma so this would be
treated
as
a wherecondition.

This also accomplished nothing.

So I broke down and created three identical queries, set the criteria
in
each, and now I set the RecordSource in the OnOpen event to point to
the
correct query. I don't like that because it's a waste of resources and
makes subsequent maintenance difficult since if anything changes, I
need
to
reflect the identical change in three queries.

Any clues as to what I'm doing wrong??

Bob )








  #7  
Old May 22nd, 2005, 08:00 PM
Ken Snell [MVP]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Bob Howard" wrote in message
...
Thanks anyway, but I just discovered this is a bug in SR-1 documented
(along
with the workaround) in MSKB article 269380. Bob.


Yes, this applies to using macros for Apply Filter. (It also is an issue in
VBA for those versions of ACCESS too).

But it doesn't address your original issue... that the OpenForm action was
'ignoring' your "WhereCondition" expression.
--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP


  #8  
Old May 23rd, 2005, 02:49 AM
Bob Howard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks Ken!

I noticed that the article didn't apply to the openform, but since it did
apply to the applyfilter (too many apply's in this sentence) I "assumed"
that it was the same root problem. My assumption was based on my belief
that in the openform usage, Access was probably doing an applyfilter on my
behalf behind the scenes. I'll have the opportunity to test this with other
copies of Access shortly, so that will give me a better idea as to whether
my assumption holds water.

Meanwhile, I'm not in a position right now to persue this since I have a
workaround operating. I'm scheduled to deliver the next release of my
application in two days --- so I'll have to put this matter on the back
burner until after I close that out and burn the distribution CDs. Then
I'll have a bit more time to investigate this further.

I can test this using A2K Runtime on my test machine, and using Access 2003
(is this A23K, or A2K3 ?) at a client site. The application will not
function with anything older than A2K (that was the minimum design spec
level).

Thanks for your continued help. I'll keep eveyone posted in about a week
with what I find out.

Bob )


----- Original Message -----
From: Ken Snell [MVP]
Newsgroups: microsoft.public.access.forms
Sent: Sunday, May 22, 2005 12:00 PM
Subject: "wherecondition" seems to be ignored



"Bob Howard" wrote in message
...
Thanks anyway, but I just discovered this is a bug in SR-1 documented
(along
with the workaround) in MSKB article 269380. Bob.


Yes, this applies to using macros for Apply Filter. (It also is an issue in
VBA for those versions of ACCESS too).

But it doesn't address your original issue... that the OpenForm action was
'ignoring' your "WhereCondition" expression.
--

Ken Snell
MS ACCESS MVP



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
multiselect list box - Allen Brown code coachjeffery Using Forms 1 April 7th, 2005 05:07 PM
Setting TextBox value based on WhereCondition value: [email protected] Setting Up & Running Reports 3 April 6th, 2005 06:04 PM
WhereCondition newguy Setting Up & Running Reports 5 March 4th, 2005 04:35 PM
WhereCondition Ed the Redhead Using Forms 3 August 19th, 2004 12:41 PM
WhereCondition ignored when MS Access Form invokes Report yisraelharris Using Forms 1 June 1st, 2004 01:24 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.