A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Excel » Worksheet Functions
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Can i create a macro to solve my problem



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 29th, 2003, 06:32 PM
Harald Staff
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Can i create a macro to solve my problem

Hi

Definitely possible and definitely macro work. But how can a macro recognize your "row 1",
"row 2" and "row 3" of data ? Blank row between ? Start on 3-multiple row numbers ? Border
? Selecting start, as you say, is an option, but pretty slow and may get boring after a
while.

Paste your recorded code here and I'm sure someone can modify it easily.

--
HTH. Best wishes Harald
Followup to newsgroup only please.

"Angie" wrote in message
...
I have a spreadsheet which has records pasted in which are contained on 3 different

rows(under each other)
I need to put all these rows which belong to the reocrd on one row and am presently

cutting and pasting them.
There are a lot of records in the spreadsheet and I want to make this very laborius task

quicker.

I would like to create a macro to do this but tried and it seemed to reference the cells

i used to record the macro and didn't let me change these for subsequent attempts using
the macro.

Is there a way i can reference the cell I am in and then work out which cells to cut and

paste to from there. Then i could just click in the first cell perform the macro and
quicken up this horrid task

Any help would be greatly appreciated



  #2  
Old December 29th, 2003, 06:59 PM
Harald Staff
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Can i create a macro to solve my problem

Hi

Stand in any "top cell" -the A cell in the resulting single row, in your
posted sample A278. Then run this:

Sub Macro3()
Selection(1).Offset(1, 0).Cut _
Selection(1).Offset(0, 1)
Selection(1).Offset(2, 0).Cut _
Selection(1).Offset(0, 2)
End Sub

--
HTH. Best wishes Harald
Followup to newsgroup only please

"Angie" skrev i melding
...
here is the code

Sub Macro3()
'
' Macro3 Macro
' Macro recorded 29/12/2003 by Nutstretch
'
' Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+n
'
Range("A279").Select
Selection.Cut
Range("B278").Select
ActiveSheet.Paste
Range("A280").Select
Selection.Cut
Range("C278").Select
ActiveSheet.Paste
End Sub


----- Harald Staff wrote: -----

Hi

Definitely possible and definitely macro work. But how can a macro

recognize your "row 1",
"row 2" and "row 3" of data ? Blank row between ? Start on 3-multiple

row numbers ? Border
? Selecting start, as you say, is an option, but pretty slow and may

get boring after a
while.

Paste your recorded code here and I'm sure someone can modify it

easily.

--
HTH. Best wishes Harald
Followup to newsgroup only please.

"Angie" wrote in message
...
I have a spreadsheet which has records pasted in which are

contained on 3 different
rows(under each other)
I need to put all these rows which belong to the reocrd on one row

and am presently
cutting and pasting them.
There are a lot of records in the spreadsheet and I want to make

this very laborius task
quicker.
I would like to create a macro to do this but tried and it seemed

to reference the cells
i used to record the macro and didn't let me change these for

subsequent attempts using
the macro.
Is there a way i can reference the cell I am in and then work out

which cells to cut and
paste to from there. Then i could just click in the first cell

perform the macro and
quicken up this horrid task
Any help would be greatly appreciated






  #3  
Old December 29th, 2003, 07:04 PM
Roger Whitehead
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Can i create a macro to solve my problem

Can you tell us how *you* recognise which records go together? Is there
common data somewhere in the records?

--
Roger
Shaftesbury (UK)

"Angie" wrote in message
...
here is the code

Sub Macro3()
'
' Macro3 Macro
' Macro recorded 29/12/2003 by Nutstretch
'
' Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+n
'
Range("A279").Select
Selection.Cut
Range("B278").Select
ActiveSheet.Paste
Range("A280").Select
Selection.Cut
Range("C278").Select
ActiveSheet.Paste
End Sub


----- Harald Staff wrote: -----

Hi

Definitely possible and definitely macro work. But how can a macro

recognize your "row 1",
"row 2" and "row 3" of data ? Blank row between ? Start on 3-multiple

row numbers ? Border
? Selecting start, as you say, is an option, but pretty slow and may

get boring after a
while.

Paste your recorded code here and I'm sure someone can modify it

easily.

--
HTH. Best wishes Harald
Followup to newsgroup only please.

"Angie" wrote in message
...
I have a spreadsheet which has records pasted in which are

contained on 3 different
rows(under each other)
I need to put all these rows which belong to the reocrd on one row

and am presently
cutting and pasting them.
There are a lot of records in the spreadsheet and I want to make

this very laborius task
quicker.
I would like to create a macro to do this but tried and it seemed

to reference the cells
i used to record the macro and didn't let me change these for

subsequent attempts using
the macro.
Is there a way i can reference the cell I am in and then work out

which cells to cut and
paste to from there. Then i could just click in the first cell

perform the macro and
quicken up this horrid task
Any help would be greatly appreciated






  #4  
Old December 29th, 2003, 07:21 PM
Angie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Can i create a macro to solve my problem

The data has been cut and pasted from a web phone directory. it arrives like this below. The first line consists of 3 columns. The middle column is deleted as not needed(Details). The 2 rows beneath belong to the record. It is consistant with every record
Studio 13 Details 01509 263808
216 Park Rd
Loughborough, Leicestershire LE11 2HJ


----- Roger Whitehead wrote: -----

Can you tell us how *you* recognise which records go together? Is there
common data somewhere in the records?

--
Roger
Shaftesbury (UK)

"Angie" wrote in message
...
here is the code
Sub Macro3()

'
' Macro3 Macro
' Macro recorded 29/12/2003 by Nutstretch
'
' Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+n
'
Range("A279").Select
Selection.Cut
Range("B278").Select
ActiveSheet.Paste
Range("A280").Select
Selection.Cut
Range("C278").Select
ActiveSheet.Paste
End Sub
----- Harald Staff wrote: -----

Hi
Definitely possible and definitely macro work. But how can a macro

recognize your "row 1",
"row 2" and "row 3" of data ? Blank row between ? Start on 3-multiple

row numbers ? Border
? Selecting start, as you say, is an option, but pretty slow and may

get boring after a
while.
Paste your recorded code here and I'm sure someone can modify it

easily.
--

HTH. Best wishes Harald
Followup to newsgroup only please.
"Angie" wrote in message

...
I have a spreadsheet which has records pasted in which are

contained on 3 different
rows(under each other)
I need to put all these rows which belong to the reocrd on one row

and am presently
cutting and pasting them.
There are a lot of records in the spreadsheet and I want to make

this very laborius task
quicker.
I would like to create a macro to do this but tried and it seemed

to reference the cells
i used to record the macro and didn't let me change these for

subsequent attempts using
the macro.
Is there a way i can reference the cell I am in and then work out

which cells to cut and
paste to from there. Then i could just click in the first cell

perform the macro and
quicken up this horrid task
Any help would be greatly appreciated

  #5  
Old December 29th, 2003, 07:41 PM
Angie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Can i create a macro to solve my problem

The function below moved the cell from row 3 to be in the colums next to the originally selected cell and then i get a debug message about cannot change part or a merged cell.
----- Angie wrote: -----

The data has been cut and pasted from a web phone directory. it arrives like this below. The first line consists of 3 columns. The middle column is deleted as not needed(Details). The 2 rows beneath belong to the record. It is consistant with every record
Studio 13 Details 01509 263808
216 Park Rd
Loughborough, Leicestershire LE11 2HJ


----- Roger Whitehead wrote: -----

Can you tell us how *you* recognise which records go together? Is there
common data somewhere in the records?

--
Roger
Shaftesbury (UK)

"Angie" wrote in message
...
here is the code
Sub Macro3()

'
' Macro3 Macro
' Macro recorded 29/12/2003 by Nutstretch
'
' Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+n
'
Range("A279").Select
Selection.Cut
Range("B278").Select
ActiveSheet.Paste
Range("A280").Select
Selection.Cut
Range("C278").Select
ActiveSheet.Paste
End Sub
----- Harald Staff wrote: -----

Hi
Definitely possible and definitely macro work. But how can a macro

recognize your "row 1",
"row 2" and "row 3" of data ? Blank row between ? Start on 3-multiple

row numbers ? Border
? Selecting start, as you say, is an option, but pretty slow and may

get boring after a
while.
Paste your recorded code here and I'm sure someone can modify it

easily.
--

HTH. Best wishes Harald
Followup to newsgroup only please.
"Angie" wrote in message

...
I have a spreadsheet which has records pasted in which are

contained on 3 different
rows(under each other)
I need to put all these rows which belong to the reocrd on one row

and am presently
cutting and pasting them.
There are a lot of records in the spreadsheet and I want to make

this very laborius task
quicker.
I would like to create a macro to do this but tried and it seemed

to reference the cells
i used to record the macro and didn't let me change these for

subsequent attempts using
the macro.
Is there a way i can reference the cell I am in and then work out

which cells to cut and
paste to from there. Then i could just click in the first cell

perform the macro and
quicken up this horrid task
Any help would be greatly appreciated

  #6  
Old December 29th, 2003, 10:20 PM
Harald Staff
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Can i create a macro to solve my problem

Where's the merged cell(s) ? Your original code would also err in those
cases. Un-merge them.

--
HTH. Best wishes Harald
Followup to newsgroup only please

"Angie" skrev i melding
...
The function below moved the cell from row 3 to be in the colums next to

the originally selected cell and then i get a debug message about cannot
change part or a merged cell.
----- Angie wrote: -----

The data has been cut and pasted from a web phone directory. it

arrives like this below. The first line consists of 3 columns. The middle
column is deleted as not needed(Details). The 2 rows beneath belong to the
record. It is consistant with every record
Studio 13 Details 01509 263808
216 Park Rd
Loughborough, Leicestershire LE11 2HJ


----- Roger Whitehead wrote: -----

Can you tell us how *you* recognise which records go together?

Is there
common data somewhere in the records?

--
Roger
Shaftesbury (UK)

"Angie" wrote in message
...
here is the code
Sub Macro3()

'
' Macro3 Macro
' Macro recorded 29/12/2003 by Nutstretch
'
' Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+n
'
Range("A279").Select
Selection.Cut
Range("B278").Select
ActiveSheet.Paste
Range("A280").Select
Selection.Cut
Range("C278").Select
ActiveSheet.Paste
End Sub
----- Harald Staff wrote: -----
Hi
Definitely possible and definitely macro work. But how

can a macro
recognize your "row 1",
"row 2" and "row 3" of data ? Blank row between ? Start

on 3-multiple
row numbers ? Border
? Selecting start, as you say, is an option, but pretty

slow and may
get boring after a
while.
Paste your recorded code here and I'm sure someone can

modify it
easily.
--

HTH. Best wishes Harald
Followup to newsgroup only please.
"Angie" wrote in message


...
I have a spreadsheet which has records pasted in which are

contained on 3 different
rows(under each other)
I need to put all these rows which belong to the reocrd on

one row
and am presently
cutting and pasting them.
There are a lot of records in the spreadsheet and I want to

make
this very laborius task
quicker.
I would like to create a macro to do this but tried and it

seemed
to reference the cells
i used to record the macro and didn't let me change these

for
subsequent attempts using
the macro.
Is there a way i can reference the cell I am in and then

work out
which cells to cut and
paste to from there. Then i could just click in the

first cell
perform the macro and
quicken up this horrid task
Any help would be greatly appreciated



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.