A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Help with compacting db



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 11th, 2006, 05:23 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Help with compacting db

I have access 2002, when I was compacting the back end I got the following
message: "Could not find field 'Description'". The help button states the
following:
"A column name that does not exist is being referenced". How can I find
where this reference is? or how can I resolve this issue so that I can
compact the database.
thanks
Al
  #2  
Old June 11th, 2006, 07:24 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Help with compacting db

Hi Al,

have you compiled the code in your database?

Whenever you write or paste code, your should ALWAYS compile
it before you attempt to run it.

from the menu: Debug, Compile

fix any errors on the yellow highlighted lines

keep compiling until nothing happens (this is good!)

I do not believe this will check macros (I don't use them).
If you do have macros, you will need to open each one
yourself and check it. You can narrow the search by first
checking what runs when the database is opened.

Warm Regards,
Crystal
Microsoft Access MVP 2006

*
Have an awesome day

remote programming and training
strive4peace2006 at yahoo.com

*

Al wrote:
I have access 2002, when I was compacting the back end I got the following
message: "Could not find field 'Description'". The help button states the
following:
"A column name that does not exist is being referenced". How can I find
where this reference is? or how can I resolve this issue so that I can
compact the database.
thanks
Al

  #3  
Old June 12th, 2006, 06:50 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Help with compacting db

Hi Crystal,
Thank you for responding. You are right the code would cause such a problem,
however, this is a backend I only have tables in it I removed even the
queries. I am still getting the same message. any idea?
thanks again
Al

"strive4peace" "strive4peace2006 at yaho" wrote:

Hi Al,

have you compiled the code in your database?

Whenever you write or paste code, your should ALWAYS compile
it before you attempt to run it.

from the menu: Debug, Compile

fix any errors on the yellow highlighted lines

keep compiling until nothing happens (this is good!)

I do not believe this will check macros (I don't use them).
If you do have macros, you will need to open each one
yourself and check it. You can narrow the search by first
checking what runs when the database is opened.

Warm Regards,
Crystal
Microsoft Access MVP 2006

*
Have an awesome day

remote programming and training
strive4peace2006 at yahoo.com

*

Al wrote:
I have access 2002, when I was compacting the back end I got the following
message: "Could not find field 'Description'". The help button states the
following:
"A column name that does not exist is being referenced". How can I find
where this reference is? or how can I resolve this issue so that I can
compact the database.
thanks
Al


  #4  
Old June 13th, 2006, 04:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Help with compacting db -- decompile, hidden objects

Hi Al,

try decompiling the database

make an icon with this as its target:

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\MSACCESS.EXE"
"C:\path\filename.mdb" /decompile

if your Access program is not located in the directory
specified, make the appropriate substitution

you said you removed objects ... is EVERYTHING showing? You
may have a hidden object or a user-system object that needs
to be removed...

Tools, Options, View tab
check Hidden
check System
(ignore anything that starts with Msys as these are
Microsoft system objects -- user-system objects start with Usys)

Warm Regards,
Crystal
Microsoft Access MVP 2006

*
Have an awesome day

remote programming and training
strive4peace2006 at yahoo.com

*

Al wrote:
Hi Crystal,
Thank you for responding. You are right the code would cause such a problem,
however, this is a backend I only have tables in it I removed even the
queries. I am still getting the same message. any idea?
thanks again
Al

"strive4peace" "strive4peace2006 at yaho" wrote:


Hi Al,

have you compiled the code in your database?

Whenever you write or paste code, your should ALWAYS compile
it before you attempt to run it.

from the menu: Debug, Compile

fix any errors on the yellow highlighted lines

keep compiling until nothing happens (this is good!)

I do not believe this will check macros (I don't use them).
If you do have macros, you will need to open each one
yourself and check it. You can narrow the search by first
checking what runs when the database is opened.

Warm Regards,
Crystal
Microsoft Access MVP 2006

*
Have an awesome day

remote programming and training
strive4peace2006 at yahoo.com

*

Al wrote:

I have access 2002, when I was compacting the back end I got the following
message: "Could not find field 'Description'". The help button states the
following:
"A column name that does not exist is being referenced". How can I find
where this reference is? or how can I resolve this issue so that I can
compact the database.
thanks
Al


  #5  
Old June 13th, 2006, 05:56 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Help with compacting db -- decompile, hidden objects

Hi Crystal,
thanks again. Decompiling worked. do you have any idea why? there was no
code nor user objects. thank you
Al

"strive4peace" "strive4peace2006 at yaho" wrote:

Hi Al,

try decompiling the database

make an icon with this as its target:

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\MSACCESS.EXE"
"C:\path\filename.mdb" /decompile

if your Access program is not located in the directory
specified, make the appropriate substitution

you said you removed objects ... is EVERYTHING showing? You
may have a hidden object or a user-system object that needs
to be removed...

Tools, Options, View tab
check Hidden
check System
(ignore anything that starts with Msys as these are
Microsoft system objects -- user-system objects start with Usys)

Warm Regards,
Crystal
Microsoft Access MVP 2006

*
Have an awesome day

remote programming and training
strive4peace2006 at yahoo.com

*

Al wrote:
Hi Crystal,
Thank you for responding. You are right the code would cause such a problem,
however, this is a backend I only have tables in it I removed even the
queries. I am still getting the same message. any idea?
thanks again
Al

"strive4peace" "strive4peace2006 at yaho" wrote:


Hi Al,

have you compiled the code in your database?

Whenever you write or paste code, your should ALWAYS compile
it before you attempt to run it.

from the menu: Debug, Compile

fix any errors on the yellow highlighted lines

keep compiling until nothing happens (this is good!)

I do not believe this will check macros (I don't use them).
If you do have macros, you will need to open each one
yourself and check it. You can narrow the search by first
checking what runs when the database is opened.

Warm Regards,
Crystal
Microsoft Access MVP 2006

*
Have an awesome day

remote programming and training
strive4peace2006 at yahoo.com

*

Al wrote:

I have access 2002, when I was compacting the back end I got the following
message: "Could not find field 'Description'". The help button states the
following:
"A column name that does not exist is being referenced". How can I find
where this reference is? or how can I resolve this issue so that I can
compact the database.
thanks
Al


  #6  
Old June 14th, 2006, 03:36 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Help with compacting db -- decompile links

Hi Al,

you're welcome

As for info on decompiling, here are some links:

'~~~~~~~~~
Here's what I know about Decompiling:
http://www.rogersaccesslibrary.com/D...gDatabases.zip
The document is for Access 97, but it is still essentially
correct for Access 2000.

-- --Roger Carlson MS Access MVP www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
'~~~~~~~~~~

from

* WORKING WITH LARGE PROGRAM DATABASES IN ACCESS 97
from the October 1998 issue of Access/Office/VB Advisor Magazine

http://web.archive.org/web/200302040...om/largedb.htm


'~~~~~~~~~~

Decompile or how to reduce Microsoft Access MDB/MDE size and
decrease start-up times
http://www.granite.ab.ca/access/decompile.htm

Unless there is a symptom I'd suggest no more than every
month or so for a front end under active development.

Tony
--
Tony Toews, Microsoft Access MVP
Microsoft Access Links, Hints, Tips & Accounting Systems at
http://www.granite.ab.ca/accsmstr.htm

'~~~~~~~~~~

In addition to the other links you've been given, check out
what Michael Kaplan says at the following URL ...

http://www.trigeminal.com/usenet/usenet004.asp?1033

Always make a back up copy of your MDB or ADP before using
the decompile switch. It doesn't happen very often, but I
have personally seen the situation where a class module was
no longer recognised as a class module, but appeared to
Access and VBA be a standard module, after a decompile.

-- Brendan Reynolds

'~~~~~~~~~~

Warm Regards,
Crystal
Microsoft Access MVP 2006

*
Have an awesome day

remote programming and training
strive4peace2006 at yahoo.com

*

Al wrote:
Hi Crystal,
thanks again. Decompiling worked. do you have any idea why? there was no
code nor user objects. thank you
Al

"strive4peace" "strive4peace2006 at yaho" wrote:


Hi Al,

try decompiling the database

make an icon with this as its target:

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\MSACCESS.EXE"
"C:\path\filename.mdb" /decompile

if your Access program is not located in the directory
specified, make the appropriate substitution

you said you removed objects ... is EVERYTHING showing? You
may have a hidden object or a user-system object that needs
to be removed...

Tools, Options, View tab
check Hidden
check System
(ignore anything that starts with Msys as these are
Microsoft system objects -- user-system objects start with Usys)

Warm Regards,
Crystal
Microsoft Access MVP 2006

*
Have an awesome day

remote programming and training
strive4peace2006 at yahoo.com

*

Al wrote:

Hi Crystal,
Thank you for responding. You are right the code would cause such a problem,
however, this is a backend I only have tables in it I removed even the
queries. I am still getting the same message. any idea?
thanks again
Al

"strive4peace" "strive4peace2006 at yaho" wrote:



Hi Al,

have you compiled the code in your database?

Whenever you write or paste code, your should ALWAYS compile
it before you attempt to run it.


from the menu: Debug, Compile

fix any errors on the yellow highlighted lines

keep compiling until nothing happens (this is good!)

I do not believe this will check macros (I don't use them).
If you do have macros, you will need to open each one
yourself and check it. You can narrow the search by first
checking what runs when the database is opened.

Warm Regards,
Crystal
Microsoft Access MVP 2006

*
Have an awesome day

remote programming and training
strive4peace2006 at yahoo.com

*

Al wrote:


I have access 2002, when I was compacting the back end I got the following
message: "Could not find field 'Description'". The help button states the
following:
"A column name that does not exist is being referenced". How can I find
where this reference is? or how can I resolve this issue so that I can
compact the database.
thanks
Al

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compacting is Corrupting Table with PrimaryKey of DateTime [email protected] General Discussion 12 November 7th, 2005 11:46 PM
Problems with Compacting via command line J General Discussion 3 September 15th, 2005 03:50 PM
XP Home SP2, IE6, Automatic Newsgroup Compacting ... Jim Hughes Outlook Express 16 April 13th, 2005 11:11 PM
Compacting via button kabaka General Discussion 2 February 16th, 2005 06:11 PM
Compacting a Database Connie General Discussion 7 July 25th, 2004 01:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.