A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Excel » Worksheet Functions
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Running Total



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 18th, 2009, 05:08 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.worksheet.functions
open a adobe file from a command button
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 21
Default Running Total

I have a spreadsheet that has 2 columns, column A grows, column B shrinks,
when column B gets to 0 or a negative number I want column A to be blank.

Thank You Very Much
  #2  
Old April 18th, 2009, 05:56 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.worksheet.functions
Fred Smith[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,386
Default Running Total

Use something like:
=if(b1=0,"",yourformula)

Regards,
Fred.

"open a adobe file from a command button"
osoft.com wrote in
message ...
I have a spreadsheet that has 2 columns, column A grows, column B shrinks,
when column B gets to 0 or a negative number I want column A to be blank.

Thank You Very Much


  #3  
Old April 18th, 2009, 06:43 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.worksheet.functions
open a adobe file from a command button
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 21
Default Running Total

Fred, Hi. Thanks that works great! What if I wanted 2 or more cells to be
blank if F5= 0?

Thanks Again!!

"Fred Smith" wrote:

Use something like:
=if(b1=0,"",yourformula)

Regards,
Fred.

"open a adobe file from a command button"
osoft.com wrote in
message ...
I have a spreadsheet that has 2 columns, column A grows, column B shrinks,
when column B gets to 0 or a negative number I want column A to be blank.

Thank You Very Much



  #4  
Old April 18th, 2009, 08:12 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.worksheet.functions
JBeaucaire[_92_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 196
Default Running Total

The answer is exactly the same. For every cell that you want to blank out
based on the value in F5, put the formula:

=IF(F5=0,"",yourformula)

--
"Actually, I *am* a rocket scientist." -- JB

Your feedback is appreciated, click YES if this post helped you.


"open a adobe file from a command button" wrote:

Fred, Hi. Thanks that works great! What if I wanted 2 or more cells to be
blank if F5= 0?

Thanks Again!!

"Fred Smith" wrote:

Use something like:
=if(b1=0,"",yourformula)

Regards,
Fred.

"open a adobe file from a command button"
osoft.com wrote in
message ...
I have a spreadsheet that has 2 columns, column A grows, column B shrinks,
when column B gets to 0 or a negative number I want column A to be blank.

Thank You Very Much



  #5  
Old April 18th, 2009, 04:32 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.worksheet.functions
open a adobe file from a command button
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 21
Default Running Total

Thanks, but I don't understand; my formula is =if(f10,"",employee*I66), but
now I want if(f10 G1,H1, & I1 are blank, how would that fit in or do I have
to nest if statements?

"JBeaucaire" wrote:

The answer is exactly the same. For every cell that you want to blank out
based on the value in F5, put the formula:

=IF(F5=0,"",yourformula)

--
"Actually, I *am* a rocket scientist." -- JB

Your feedback is appreciated, click YES if this post helped you.


"open a adobe file from a command button" wrote:

Fred, Hi. Thanks that works great! What if I wanted 2 or more cells to be
blank if F5= 0?

Thanks Again!!

"Fred Smith" wrote:

Use something like:
=if(b1=0,"",yourformula)

Regards,
Fred.

"open a adobe file from a command button"
osoft.com wrote in
message ...
I have a spreadsheet that has 2 columns, column A grows, column B shrinks,
when column B gets to 0 or a negative number I want column A to be blank.

Thank You Very Much


  #6  
Old April 21st, 2009, 01:15 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.worksheet.functions
Fred Smith[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,386
Default Running Total

You use either the And or Or function, depending on whether you're checking
for all to be blank, or any one. For example:

=if(and(f1=0,g1=0,H1=0,I1=0),"",yourformula)
=if(or(f1=0,g1=0,H1=0,I1=0),"",yourformula)

Regards,
Fred.

"open a adobe file from a command button"
osoft.com wrote in
message ...
Thanks, but I don't understand; my formula is =if(f10,"",employee*I66),
but
now I want if(f10 G1,H1, & I1 are blank, how would that fit in or do I
have
to nest if statements?

"JBeaucaire" wrote:

The answer is exactly the same. For every cell that you want to blank out
based on the value in F5, put the formula:

=IF(F5=0,"",yourformula)

--
"Actually, I *am* a rocket scientist." -- JB

Your feedback is appreciated, click YES if this post helped you.


"open a adobe file from a command button" wrote:

Fred, Hi. Thanks that works great! What if I wanted 2 or more cells
to be
blank if F5= 0?

Thanks Again!!

"Fred Smith" wrote:

Use something like:
=if(b1=0,"",yourformula)

Regards,
Fred.

"open a adobe file from a command button"
osoft.com wrote in
message ...
I have a spreadsheet that has 2 columns, column A grows, column B
shrinks,
when column B gets to 0 or a negative number I want column A to be
blank.

Thank You Very Much



  #7  
Old April 21st, 2009, 02:54 AM posted to microsoft.public.excel.worksheet.functions
open a adobe file from a command button
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 21
Default Running Total

I see said the blind man!! Thank you very much

"Fred Smith" wrote:

You use either the And or Or function, depending on whether you're checking
for all to be blank, or any one. For example:

=if(and(f1=0,g1=0,H1=0,I1=0),"",yourformula)
=if(or(f1=0,g1=0,H1=0,I1=0),"",yourformula)

Regards,
Fred.

"open a adobe file from a command button"
osoft.com wrote in
message ...
Thanks, but I don't understand; my formula is =if(f10,"",employee*I66),
but
now I want if(f10 G1,H1, & I1 are blank, how would that fit in or do I
have
to nest if statements?

"JBeaucaire" wrote:

The answer is exactly the same. For every cell that you want to blank out
based on the value in F5, put the formula:

=IF(F5=0,"",yourformula)

--
"Actually, I *am* a rocket scientist." -- JB

Your feedback is appreciated, click YES if this post helped you.


"open a adobe file from a command button" wrote:

Fred, Hi. Thanks that works great! What if I wanted 2 or more cells
to be
blank if F5= 0?

Thanks Again!!

"Fred Smith" wrote:

Use something like:
=if(b1=0,"",yourformula)

Regards,
Fred.

"open a adobe file from a command button"
osoft.com wrote in
message ...
I have a spreadsheet that has 2 columns, column A grows, column B
shrinks,
when column B gets to 0 or a negative number I want column A to be
blank.

Thank You Very Much




  #8  
Old April 21st, 2009, 02:16 PM posted to microsoft.public.excel.worksheet.functions
Fred Smith[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,386
Default Running Total

Glad I could help. Thanks for the feedback.

Regards,
Fred.

"open a adobe file from a command button"
osoft.com wrote in
message ...
I see said the blind man!! Thank you very much

"Fred Smith" wrote:

You use either the And or Or function, depending on whether you're
checking
for all to be blank, or any one. For example:

=if(and(f1=0,g1=0,H1=0,I1=0),"",yourformula)
=if(or(f1=0,g1=0,H1=0,I1=0),"",yourformula)

Regards,
Fred.

"open a adobe file from a command button"
osoft.com wrote in
message ...
Thanks, but I don't understand; my formula is
=if(f10,"",employee*I66),
but
now I want if(f10 G1,H1, & I1 are blank, how would that fit in or do I
have
to nest if statements?

"JBeaucaire" wrote:

The answer is exactly the same. For every cell that you want to blank
out
based on the value in F5, put the formula:

=IF(F5=0,"",yourformula)

--
"Actually, I *am* a rocket scientist." -- JB

Your feedback is appreciated, click YES if this post helped you.


"open a adobe file from a command button" wrote:

Fred, Hi. Thanks that works great! What if I wanted 2 or more
cells
to be
blank if F5= 0?

Thanks Again!!

"Fred Smith" wrote:

Use something like:
=if(b1=0,"",yourformula)

Regards,
Fred.

"open a adobe file from a command button"
osoft.com wrote
in
message ...
I have a spreadsheet that has 2 columns, column A grows, column B
shrinks,
when column B gets to 0 or a negative number I want column A to
be
blank.

Thank You Very Much





 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.