A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Duplicate a record from a form, then go to that new record



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 7th, 2004, 05:55 PM
Nicole
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Duplicate a record from a form, then go to that new record

I want to duplicate a record, clear out some of the
fields, then go to that record. I can duplicate the
record and clear out some of the fields, no problem, but I
am having trouble going to that new record that was
created. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!
  #2  
Old June 7th, 2004, 06:04 PM
Roger Carlson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Duplicate a record from a form, then go to that new record

I don't understand. After you duplicate it and clear out the fields, aren't
you already there? You'll have to explain further. (Using actual form,
table, field, etc names if possible).

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot Org


"Nicole" wrote in message
...
I want to duplicate a record, clear out some of the
fields, then go to that record. I can duplicate the
record and clear out some of the fields, no problem, but I
am having trouble going to that new record that was
created. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!



  #3  
Old June 7th, 2004, 06:19 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Duplicate a record from a form, then go to that new record

I have a form that the user doesnt want to have to type
the project number or the date again. So I was going to
copy the record, clear out the feilds that will be
different then go to that new record. However, using the
code below the record doesnt update until I leave it and
come back to the newly duplicated record.

DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 8, , acMenuVer70
DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 2, , acMenuVer70
DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 5, ,
acMenuVer70 'Paste Append

Me.Category = " "
Me.UnitAmount = 1
Me.OtherInfo = " "
Me.Notes = " "
-----Original Message-----
I don't understand. After you duplicate it and clear out

the fields, aren't
you already there? You'll have to explain further.

(Using actual form,
table, field, etc names if possible).

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot Org


"Nicole" wrote in

message
...
I want to duplicate a record, clear out some of the
fields, then go to that record. I can duplicate the
record and clear out some of the fields, no problem,

but I
am having trouble going to that new record that was
created. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!



.

  #4  
Old June 7th, 2004, 06:55 PM
Roger Carlson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Duplicate a record from a form, then go to that new record

Thanks. That helps.

Instead of using the dot (.) try the bang (!). Like this:

Me!Category = " "
Me!UnitAmount = 1
Me!OtherInfo = " "
Me!Notes = " "

This should show the cleared fields, but still leave it unsaved. If you
want the record saved, add this:

DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acRecordsMenu, acSaveRecord, , acMenuVer70

to the bottom.

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot Org


wrote in message
...
I have a form that the user doesnt want to have to type
the project number or the date again. So I was going to
copy the record, clear out the feilds that will be
different then go to that new record. However, using the
code below the record doesnt update until I leave it and
come back to the newly duplicated record.

DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 8, , acMenuVer70
DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 2, , acMenuVer70
DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 5, ,
acMenuVer70 'Paste Append

Me.Category = " "
Me.UnitAmount = 1
Me.OtherInfo = " "
Me.Notes = " "
-----Original Message-----
I don't understand. After you duplicate it and clear out

the fields, aren't
you already there? You'll have to explain further.

(Using actual form,
table, field, etc names if possible).

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot Org


"Nicole" wrote in

message
...
I want to duplicate a record, clear out some of the
fields, then go to that record. I can duplicate the
record and clear out some of the fields, no problem,

but I
am having trouble going to that new record that was
created. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!



.



  #5  
Old June 7th, 2004, 07:57 PM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Duplicate a record from a form, then go to that new record

That all works, Thanks, however, how do I get back to that
record that was just created minus the items I cleared
out. I can see the record duplicated, but it still has
the fields until I leave that record and come back.
-----Original Message-----
Thanks. That helps.

Instead of using the dot (.) try the bang (!). Like this:

Me!Category = " "
Me!UnitAmount = 1
Me!OtherInfo = " "
Me!Notes = " "

This should show the cleared fields, but still leave it

unsaved. If you
want the record saved, add this:

DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acRecordsMenu,

acSaveRecord, , acMenuVer70

to the bottom.

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot Org


wrote in message
...
I have a form that the user doesnt want to have to type
the project number or the date again. So I was going to
copy the record, clear out the feilds that will be
different then go to that new record. However, using

the
code below the record doesnt update until I leave it and
come back to the newly duplicated record.

DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 8, ,

acMenuVer70
DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 2, ,

acMenuVer70
DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 5, ,
acMenuVer70 'Paste Append

Me.Category = " "
Me.UnitAmount = 1
Me.OtherInfo = " "
Me.Notes = " "
-----Original Message-----
I don't understand. After you duplicate it and clear

out
the fields, aren't
you already there? You'll have to explain further.

(Using actual form,
table, field, etc names if possible).

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot

Org


"Nicole" wrote in

message
...
I want to duplicate a record, clear out some of the
fields, then go to that record. I can duplicate the
record and clear out some of the fields, no problem,

but I
am having trouble going to that new record that was
created. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!


.



.

  #6  
Old June 7th, 2004, 08:12 PM
Jim/Chris
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Duplicate a record from a form, then go to that new record

I don't know if this is what you want but "Cntl+" will
dulpicate the value in the same field as the prevous record.

Jim

-----Original Message-----
That all works, Thanks, however, how do I get back to that
record that was just created minus the items I cleared
out. I can see the record duplicated, but it still has
the fields until I leave that record and come back.
-----Original Message-----
Thanks. That helps.

Instead of using the dot (.) try the bang (!). Like this:

Me!Category = " "
Me!UnitAmount = 1
Me!OtherInfo = " "
Me!Notes = " "

This should show the cleared fields, but still leave it

unsaved. If you
want the record saved, add this:

DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acRecordsMenu,

acSaveRecord, , acMenuVer70

to the bottom.

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot Org


wrote in message
.. .
I have a form that the user doesnt want to have to type
the project number or the date again. So I was going to
copy the record, clear out the feilds that will be
different then go to that new record. However, using

the
code below the record doesnt update until I leave it and
come back to the newly duplicated record.

DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 8, ,

acMenuVer70
DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 2, ,

acMenuVer70
DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 5, ,
acMenuVer70 'Paste Append

Me.Category = " "
Me.UnitAmount = 1
Me.OtherInfo = " "
Me.Notes = " "
-----Original Message-----
I don't understand. After you duplicate it and clear

out
the fields, aren't
you already there? You'll have to explain further.
(Using actual form,
table, field, etc names if possible).

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot

Org


"Nicole" wrote in
message
...
I want to duplicate a record, clear out some of the
fields, then go to that record. I can duplicate the
record and clear out some of the fields, no problem,
but I
am having trouble going to that new record that was
created. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!


.



.

.

  #7  
Old June 7th, 2004, 08:55 PM
Roger Carlson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Duplicate a record from a form, then go to that new record

OK, try setting the focus to one of the cleared category fields, like this:
Me.Category = " "
Me.UnitAmount = 1
Me.OtherInfo = " "
Me.Notes = " "
Me.Category.SetFocus

You shouldn't have to move to another record and return.

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot Org

wrote in message
...
That all works, Thanks, however, how do I get back to that
record that was just created minus the items I cleared
out. I can see the record duplicated, but it still has
the fields until I leave that record and come back.
-----Original Message-----
Thanks. That helps.

Instead of using the dot (.) try the bang (!). Like this:

Me!Category = " "
Me!UnitAmount = 1
Me!OtherInfo = " "
Me!Notes = " "

This should show the cleared fields, but still leave it

unsaved. If you
want the record saved, add this:

DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acRecordsMenu,

acSaveRecord, , acMenuVer70

to the bottom.

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot Org


wrote in message
...
I have a form that the user doesnt want to have to type
the project number or the date again. So I was going to
copy the record, clear out the feilds that will be
different then go to that new record. However, using

the
code below the record doesnt update until I leave it and
come back to the newly duplicated record.

DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 8, ,

acMenuVer70
DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 2, ,

acMenuVer70
DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 5, ,
acMenuVer70 'Paste Append

Me.Category = " "
Me.UnitAmount = 1
Me.OtherInfo = " "
Me.Notes = " "
-----Original Message-----
I don't understand. After you duplicate it and clear

out
the fields, aren't
you already there? You'll have to explain further.
(Using actual form,
table, field, etc names if possible).

--
--Roger Carlson
www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Reply to: Roger dot Carlson at Spectrum-Health dot

Org


"Nicole" wrote in
message
...
I want to duplicate a record, clear out some of the
fields, then go to that record. I can duplicate the
record and clear out some of the fields, no problem,
but I
am having trouble going to that new record that was
created. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!


.



.



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.