A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Word » Tables
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Merging Fields



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 6th, 2009, 09:40 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Paul A
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Merging Fields

Table exists. The info contained in col 4 should be combined with the info
in col 5, resulting in one less column overall. How do they do it in Word
2003?
--
Any response appreciated, Paul Archibald
  #2  
Old August 6th, 2009, 10:03 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Greg Maxey[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 649
Default Merging Fields

You can do it with a macro:

Sub ScratchMacro()
Dim i As Long
With Selection.Tables(1)
For i = 1 To .Rows.Count
.Cell(Row:=i, Column:=4).Merge MergeTo:=.Cell(Row:=i, Column:=5)
Next i
End With
End Sub


Paul A wrote:
Table exists. The info contained in col 4 should be combined with
the info in col 5, resulting in one less column overall. How do they
do it in Word 2003?


--
Greg Maxey - Word MVP

My web site http://gregmaxey.mvps.org
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org



  #3  
Old August 7th, 2009, 02:16 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Paul A
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Merging Fields

Greg, you solved the puzzle and I appreciate your efforts in my behalf.
However, I am almost 70, and have not put together a macro of my own since
maybe 1992, and so I am completely snowed. That's alright. I assumed there
was a function to do what I want, and you have successfully eliminated that
for me.
--
Any response appreciated, Paul Archibald


"Greg Maxey" wrote:

You can do it with a macro:

Sub ScratchMacro()
Dim i As Long
With Selection.Tables(1)
For i = 1 To .Rows.Count
.Cell(Row:=i, Column:=4).Merge MergeTo:=.Cell(Row:=i, Column:=5)
Next i
End With
End Sub


Paul A wrote:
Table exists. The info contained in col 4 should be combined with
the info in col 5, resulting in one less column overall. How do they
do it in Word 2003?


--
Greg Maxey - Word MVP

My web site http://gregmaxey.mvps.org
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org




  #4  
Old August 7th, 2009, 02:39 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
macropod[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,402
Default Merging Fields

Hi Paul,

You can do the same thing by select the two cells containing the data on a given row, then selecting Table|Merge Cells. You repeat
this for each row. That's essentially what Greg's macro does for you.

--
Cheers
macropod
[Microsoft MVP - Word]


"Paul A" (donotsp wrote in message ...
Greg, you solved the puzzle and I appreciate your efforts in my behalf.
However, I am almost 70, and have not put together a macro of my own since
maybe 1992, and so I am completely snowed. That's alright. I assumed there
was a function to do what I want, and you have successfully eliminated that
for me.
--
Any response appreciated, Paul Archibald


"Greg Maxey" wrote:

You can do it with a macro:

Sub ScratchMacro()
Dim i As Long
With Selection.Tables(1)
For i = 1 To .Rows.Count
.Cell(Row:=i, Column:=4).Merge MergeTo:=.Cell(Row:=i, Column:=5)
Next i
End With
End Sub


Paul A wrote:
Table exists. The info contained in col 4 should be combined with
the info in col 5, resulting in one less column overall. How do they
do it in Word 2003?


--
Greg Maxey - Word MVP

My web site http://gregmaxey.mvps.org
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org





  #5  
Old August 7th, 2009, 03:13 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Paul A
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Merging Fields

That, too, was very helpful. I was doing it "cut-and-paste" for awhile....
but HEY, this merge function you present, I take it, must be done
one-line-at-a-time? You can't take, say 5 on left and merge with 5 on right?
--
Any response appreciated, Paul Archibald


"macropod" wrote:

Hi Paul,

You can do the same thing by select the two cells containing the data on a given row, then selecting Table|Merge Cells. You repeat
this for each row. That's essentially what Greg's macro does for you.

--
Cheers
macropod
[Microsoft MVP - Word]


"Paul A" (donotsp wrote in message ...
Greg, you solved the puzzle and I appreciate your efforts in my behalf.
However, I am almost 70, and have not put together a macro of my own since
maybe 1992, and so I am completely snowed. That's alright. I assumed there
was a function to do what I want, and you have successfully eliminated that
for me.
--
Any response appreciated, Paul Archibald


"Greg Maxey" wrote:

You can do it with a macro:

Sub ScratchMacro()
Dim i As Long
With Selection.Tables(1)
For i = 1 To .Rows.Count
.Cell(Row:=i, Column:=4).Merge MergeTo:=.Cell(Row:=i, Column:=5)
Next i
End With
End Sub


Paul A wrote:
Table exists. The info contained in col 4 should be combined with
the info in col 5, resulting in one less column overall. How do they
do it in Word 2003?

--
Greg Maxey - Word MVP

My web site http://gregmaxey.mvps.org
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org






  #6  
Old August 7th, 2009, 04:06 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Greg Maxey[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 649
Default Merging Fields

Paul,

I you try it that way you end up with one cell containing the contents of
all ten. The macro is the only way that I know to do it automatically one
row at a time vice manually.


Paul A wrote:
That, too, was very helpful. I was doing it "cut-and-paste" for
awhile.... but HEY, this merge function you present, I take it, must
be done one-line-at-a-time? You can't take, say 5 on left and merge
with 5 on right?

Hi Paul,

You can do the same thing by select the two cells containing the
data on a given row, then selecting Table|Merge Cells. You repeat
this for each row. That's essentially what Greg's macro does for
you.

--
Cheers
macropod
[Microsoft MVP - Word]


"Paul A" (donotsp wrote in message
...
Greg, you solved the puzzle and I appreciate your efforts in my
behalf. However, I am almost 70, and have not put together a macro
of my own since maybe 1992, and so I am completely snowed. That's
alright. I assumed there was a function to do what I want, and you
have successfully eliminated that for me.
--
Any response appreciated, Paul Archibald


"Greg Maxey" wrote:

You can do it with a macro:

Sub ScratchMacro()
Dim i As Long
With Selection.Tables(1)
For i = 1 To .Rows.Count
.Cell(Row:=i, Column:=4).Merge MergeTo:=.Cell(Row:=i,
Column:=5) Next i
End With
End Sub


Paul A wrote:
Table exists. The info contained in col 4 should be combined with
the info in col 5, resulting in one less column overall. How do
they do it in Word 2003?

--
Greg Maxey - Word MVP

My web site http://gregmaxey.mvps.org
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org


--
Greg Maxey - Word MVP

My web site http://gregmaxey.mvps.org
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org



  #7  
Old August 7th, 2009, 04:23 AM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Paul A
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Merging Fields

Yeah, yer right, I went down that alley several times on my own, but I never
tried just one line, and that is why I could not figure out what was
happening. Thanks to you both; I have made a giant step. I worked all the
early word processing systems in early 1980's, including IBM Office System 6
(macros blossomed there), but thru disuse and fast-changing tech, I got so
far behind. This did a lot. Thanks again.
--
Any response appreciated, Paul Archibald


"Greg Maxey" wrote:

Paul,

I you try it that way you end up with one cell containing the contents of
all ten. The macro is the only way that I know to do it automatically one
row at a time vice manually.


Paul A wrote:
That, too, was very helpful. I was doing it "cut-and-paste" for
awhile.... but HEY, this merge function you present, I take it, must
be done one-line-at-a-time? You can't take, say 5 on left and merge
with 5 on right?

Hi Paul,

You can do the same thing by select the two cells containing the
data on a given row, then selecting Table|Merge Cells. You repeat
this for each row. That's essentially what Greg's macro does for
you.

--
Cheers
macropod
[Microsoft MVP - Word]


"Paul A" (donotsp wrote in message
...
Greg, you solved the puzzle and I appreciate your efforts in my
behalf. However, I am almost 70, and have not put together a macro
of my own since maybe 1992, and so I am completely snowed. That's
alright. I assumed there was a function to do what I want, and you
have successfully eliminated that for me.
--
Any response appreciated, Paul Archibald


"Greg Maxey" wrote:

You can do it with a macro:

Sub ScratchMacro()
Dim i As Long
With Selection.Tables(1)
For i = 1 To .Rows.Count
.Cell(Row:=i, Column:=4).Merge MergeTo:=.Cell(Row:=i,
Column:=5) Next i
End With
End Sub


Paul A wrote:
Table exists. The info contained in col 4 should be combined with
the info in col 5, resulting in one less column overall. How do
they do it in Word 2003?

--
Greg Maxey - Word MVP

My web site http://gregmaxey.mvps.org
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org


--
Greg Maxey - Word MVP

My web site http://gregmaxey.mvps.org
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org




  #8  
Old August 7th, 2009, 10:30 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Melody KirkWagner[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default Merging Fields

Paul, there's an easy workaround for this that doesn't involve doing
one at a time. You can convert the table to text, show formatting, use
the find and replace function to remove the character that tells the
table to move to the next column (commonly a tab) between columns 4
and 5, then convert back to a table. It still involves saying yes to
the change in the right places, so there's some labor involved, unless
you have a specific character at the end of the text in all entries of
column 4, but it would be faster.

OR you can pull out those two columns and do the conversion to text,
remove the spacing character, convert them back to a table, and paste
the new column into the original table. There are directions for
converting back and forth he
http://tribeofadmins.com/home/the-wi...ur-excel-table
or he http://tribeofadmins.com/home/the-wi...me-first-lists
It all seems a big fuss, but once you catch on to what you're doing,
it's the work of seconds. Sometimes Word gets contentious about
pasting that column back in - if so, use excel to put the whole table
together and then copy it into Word.

If it doesn't seem clear or you have trouble, email mail me via the
contact link on the site or here, and I'll be happy to help you with
it.

  #9  
Old August 7th, 2009, 10:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.word.tables
Paul A
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 5
Default Merging Fields

Melody, your response was quite clear, and most helpful, along with the prior
info I was given. I can handle the conv to txt, fix, and re-convert, I am
sure. It is a "big job" sector that I will address very soon, but not this
week; so I will save your contact, with grateful appreciation for all the
help. (first-time user!)
--
Any response appreciated, Paul Archibald


"Melody KirkWagner" wrote:

Paul, there's an easy workaround for this that doesn't involve doing
one at a time. You can convert the table to text, show formatting, use
the find and replace function to remove the character that tells the
table to move to the next column (commonly a tab) between columns 4
and 5, then convert back to a table. It still involves saying yes to
the change in the right places, so there's some labor involved, unless
you have a specific character at the end of the text in all entries of
column 4, but it would be faster.

OR you can pull out those two columns and do the conversion to text,
remove the spacing character, convert them back to a table, and paste
the new column into the original table. There are directions for
converting back and forth he
http://tribeofadmins.com/home/the-wi...ur-excel-table
or he http://tribeofadmins.com/home/the-wi...me-first-lists
It all seems a big fuss, but once you catch on to what you're doing,
it's the work of seconds. Sometimes Word gets contentious about
pasting that column back in - if so, use excel to put the whole table
together and then copy it into Word.

If it doesn't seem clear or you have trouble, email mail me via the
contact link on the site or here, and I'll be happy to help you with
it.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.