A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Bit more about adding a record....



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 7th, 2004, 11:00 AM
BruceM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Bit more about adding a record....

Similar to the other thread but just curious if when using a form to add a
record, how I can get the next blank record to open with the curser already
in the top entry space. At present if I stop on one record halfway through
filling out the form & then click on "new record" button, the curser on the
new form (record) is still halfway down through the list.
Also is there a key shortcut for hitting the "new record" button instead of
picking up the mouse to do it?
As you can tell I'm just trying to work things out but couldn't find these
answers anywhere.
BruceM


  #2  
Old November 7th, 2004, 11:25 AM
Brian
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"BruceM" wrote in message
...
Similar to the other thread but just curious if when using a form to add a
record, how I can get the next blank record to open with the curser

already
in the top entry space. At present if I stop on one record halfway through
filling out the form & then click on "new record" button, the curser on

the
new form (record) is still halfway down through the list.
Also is there a key shortcut for hitting the "new record" button instead

of
picking up the mouse to do it?
As you can tell I'm just trying to work things out but couldn't find these
answers anywhere.
BruceM


To do the cursor thingummy you need a bit of code. In the OnCurrent event
for the form:

If Me.NewRecord Then txtSomeTextBox.SetFocus

The keyboard shortcut for a new record is Ctrl+ (that's Ctrl plus "+")


  #3  
Old November 7th, 2004, 01:07 PM
BruceM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Can you be a little more precise with the cursor thingy please?
I entered it as I thought I should. I presume I change the "SomeTextBox" bit
to reflect the box I want it to go to?
OK, then I saved it but it said something about saving the macro or
something?
BruceM


"Brian" wrote in message
...
"BruceM" wrote in message
...
Similar to the other thread but just curious if when using a form to add

a
record, how I can get the next blank record to open with the curser

already
in the top entry space. At present if I stop on one record halfway

through
filling out the form & then click on "new record" button, the curser on

the
new form (record) is still halfway down through the list.
Also is there a key shortcut for hitting the "new record" button instead

of
picking up the mouse to do it?
As you can tell I'm just trying to work things out but couldn't find

these
answers anywhere.
BruceM


To do the cursor thingummy you need a bit of code. In the OnCurrent event
for the form:

If Me.NewRecord Then txtSomeTextBox.SetFocus

The keyboard shortcut for a new record is Ctrl+ (that's Ctrl plus "+")




  #4  
Old November 7th, 2004, 04:19 PM
Brian
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"BruceM" wrote in message
...
Can you be a little more precise with the cursor thingy please?
I entered it as I thought I should. I presume I change the "SomeTextBox"

bit
to reflect the box I want it to go to?
OK, then I saved it but it said something about saving the macro or
something?
BruceM


Yes, you need to use the name of your textbox. Where did you type the code?
Open the properties window for the form, click the events tab, click the
button with the dots on it, and choose "Code Builder". Note where the
cursor is flashing, and paste the code right there.


  #5  
Old November 8th, 2004, 05:38 AM
BruceM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks Brian, I ended up getting there.
It said something about disabling debug or something but, hey, it works.
BruceM


"Brian" wrote in message
...
"BruceM" wrote in message
...
Can you be a little more precise with the cursor thingy please?
I entered it as I thought I should. I presume I change the "SomeTextBox"

bit
to reflect the box I want it to go to?
OK, then I saved it but it said something about saving the macro or
something?
BruceM


Yes, you need to use the name of your textbox. Where did you type the

code?
Open the properties window for the form, click the events tab, click the
button with the dots on it, and choose "Code Builder". Note where the
cursor is flashing, and paste the code right there.




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
validating data when adding record Gerry Using Forms 1 October 5th, 2004 06:39 PM
Adding a Record to the Database Out of Sequential Order Lisa General Discussion 3 September 29th, 2004 04:59 PM
Adding a Record to a Form Out of Order Lisa Using Forms 3 September 29th, 2004 04:46 PM
Button to print current record only Fatz Using Forms 6 June 17th, 2004 01:58 PM
Avoid Creating A Duplicate Record Mark New Users 4 May 11th, 2004 01:52 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.